Kart Vader: through the streets of Quebec

kartvaderSome of you may have heard of Ghost Rider. No, not the comic book one, but motorcycle stunt rider Patrik Furstenhoff, who rose to infamy with his high speed journeys through cities like Stockholm where he is based. Stuff he does includes weaving through traffic at 300km/h. There’s also another dude who drove different cars through a city with a similar pace, called Getaway in Stockholm. However, that was done mostly at night with not much cars on the road.

But what about a Go-Kart? Kart Vader drives his 125cc shifter go-kart through Quebec City in Canada in the middle of the night, through both streets and highways, at speeds up to 160km/h. In a go kart! He’s selling DVDs of his 44 minute journey online. He has a free teaser trailer available though, and I’ve put it up after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 1:27 pm

Man, that things quick! Fabulous acceleration and quick shifts, everything you would expect from a cart. If I counted correctly, it had at least 6 gears! Should be a custom built shorter ratio motorcycle transmission.

Trick stuff. Keep em coming!

• normaluser (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 3:39 pm

I don't know that a cart can go that fast. Well, i might just buy one and use it for balik kampung journey using PLUS for free since its not a car. Some more, can tailgate a BMW (driving at legal speed). LoL.

• aesthari (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 4:39 pm

160 km/h? Wow, I thought that carts could only go 70, max, just proves how wrong and clueless I am ehhe.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 6:01 pm

Well most go kart are limited in the max speed to prevent anything stupid happened on the track.. In malaysia the go kart is expensive for a new one.. almost a kancil.. If u want to buy 1 better go to thailand or Singapore and get 1.. They have suzuki, yamaha, subaru engine to choose.. but mostly the engine is from the superbike.. If from a superbike, why cannot go until 160km/h? Easy job..

• Charger (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 7:10 pm

Our fellow Malaysian should've make 1 similar video, which includes cruising in Smart Tunnel (yeah, show off, hehe), The Sprints. At least our city highways are more interesting than his normal streets.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:41 pm

it is go kart or bike engine ??? looks like bike engine on go kart !!! fast then my wira man !!! …. want to try it !! 160 km/h only a while … but go kart drive on high way …. die faster …

• engtaokia (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 11:46 pm

wow! if not mistake his go-cart got HID!!!

• I my (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 1:25 am

crazy…. ppl.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 3:47 am

So if u have lights, signals … why not use it for road? Hmmm!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:22 pm

sxe10r said,

May 21, 2007 @ 2:41 pm

it is go kart or bike engine ??? looks like bike engine on go kart !!! fast then my wira man !!! …. want to try it !! 160 km/h only a while … but go kart drive on high way …. die faster …

——————

Go-Karts run on bike engines…some on lawn mover engines.

These 125cc shifter Karts can be scary. I took one up to 80kmh before I backed off, way off from the 120++ top end. Although its not really "fast", It feels a whole lot faster because everything is direct feel and you are 3 inches off the road.

Good way to learn car control on one of these things.

Funny they would tell you it was shot in Quebec where the police is more "forgiving". If this was in neighbouring Ontario, the OPP will be all over this fella by now, especially Peel regional.

• lembagatanah (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 5:59 pm

hahaha, real maniac but it's cool

• johnyong5933 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 9:39 pm

LOLX…he got iron balls man…

salute!