Volkswagen CrossPolo – 1.6 with 6 airbags!

CrossPolo

Volkswagen Malaysia has just launched it’s new CrossPolo B-segment vehicle. The CrossPolo, and it’s less cross sibling the Polo are slotted between the Volkswagen Fox and the larger Volkswagen Golf. There is even a GTI model. It shares a platform with other VW groups cars like the Ibiza and the Skoda Fabia, which I reviewed earlier.

The CrossPolo is available in 1.6 form only, and goes for RM124,888.00, which is about RM9,000 more than the Polo 1.6 litre. What you get for that extra money is the CrossPolo bodykit, more airbags, larger 17 inch wheels… and the removal of a 60:40 split rear bench. The unladen kerb weight of the Polo is 1,079kg, while the CrossPolo weighs in at 1,138kg, naturally because of all the extra stuff. This extra weight also brings down 0-100km/h acceleration to 12.4 seconds, down from 11.3 seconds in the Polo.

UPDATE: Volkswagen Group Malaysia is now selling the Volkswagen CrossPolo for RM108,888. Click for more details.

The CrossPolo bodykit includes the SUV-style kit as well as 17 inch wheels, up from the 14 inchers on the Polo. The interior is also reworked with a bright orange trim. The suspension has also been slightly raised. The most impressive feature of all is a set of 6-airbags – front, side and curtain – probably the only car in it’s segment and price which offers airbag protection for the rear passengers as well.

The 1,598cc 1.6 litre EFI engine has no FSI direct fuel injection, but it is a newer model than the old 1,595cc 1.6 litre Volkswagen Malaysia has put into the Volkswagen New Golf. It makes 105PS at 5,600rpm, and 153Nm of torque at 3,800rpm. This engine is mated to a 6-speed transmission, which is looking to be the new standard in gear ratios offering a good balance between ratios and overkill.

So yes, fans of premium B-segment hatchbacks, you now have an interesting alternative that has it’s specs on papers done up pretty well. As for how the car actually is… I’m having a bit of a problem reaching out to Volkswagen Malaysia, but will keep trying. Some might be disappointed the engine is not of the latest and greatest FSI variant that Volkswagen has become very noted for, but stuff like the 6 airbags and general Volkswagen build quality goodness are very relevant plus points.

More photos and videos after the jump.

Volkswagen CrossPolo 1.6 Test Drive
Skoda Fabia 1.4 Test Drive

CrossPolo

CrossPolo

CrossPolo

CrossPolo

CrossPolo

CrossPolo

CrossPolo

CrossPolo
The Cross family – CrossTouran, CrossGolf and CrossPolo

CrossPolo
The Polo family – GTI, BlueMotion, Polo, and CrossPolo

Video: Volkswagen CrossPolo – 1

Video: Volkswagen CrossPolo – 2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 12:42 pm

dont understand the std '17 rims on a 1.6 car….but ya its a good alternative…vw have generally very good build quality but NOT relaibility….i stil tink vw need more brand awareness…msian are glued to japanese alternatives…

• Paul Tan on Jun 04, 2007 at 2:01 pm

there will always be a market for this fully imported b-segment hatch kind of car at this price, look at how many honda jazz is on the road

• coolguru (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 4:26 pm

Continental cars are always better to drive class-to-class, in my opinion! However, when practicality kicks in, most of us will buy Japanese for it better resale value.

One thing Japanese cars would tend to miss is the expensive service cost compared to continental cars. The latter usually has a service interval of 20,000km @ RM350++ versus 10,000km RM300++; cost to cost it's still more expensive!

• cnc (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 4:32 pm

the car looks good but I really couldn't imagine ppl splashing RM125k to buy the car of this size.

• ab (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 4:38 pm

with so many airbags, it will be a waste of money if u didn't crash it. good car though

• acbc (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 4:39 pm

No AWD ar? On top of that, conti cars are PIA to maintain. Spare parts costs a bomb and not very easy to source. Jap cars however are opposite. U can find parts practically anywhere from junk shops to spare parts shops.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 5:52 pm

The car looks nice … but i think the main problem is the engine n the price …. 120k for the crosspolo …. 1.6 ~ 105ps with 6speed ?? and the 17 inch wheel … i think the power is suck … y not add supercharge or turbo … the ppl drive this car will feel low torque …. maybe the 6 speed is close massion transmission … but the 6 airbag design for family use i think … this car not complete …

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 5:55 pm

Well if VW come into Malaysia and bought over P1, i think expected after a few years the spare part of VW will be tons on the market… Why japanese spare part are a lot in Malaysia.. 1 is P1 using Mitsubishi parts, second junk or half-cut shop a lot.. third Thailand now manufacturing Toyota, Honda and Nissan new car and spare parts.. So almost arond malaysia is dominated by the Japs that why we have a lot of Japs spareparts..

Vw want to take over p1 market coz of the japs open market.. In the open market Malaysian car can sell less tax in Japan compare to others if the regulation are suit like emission control… That why VW want to take P1 car to rebadge and sell it to Japan.. If this really successfully then next time the chop shop also have a lot of spare parts from Japan coz they scrap car after 3-5years… Is a Karma way of going… think..

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:18 pm

I saw one in the exact same orange last week. Looks really nice!!! I wonder if they will bring in the Golf GT with the 1.4 Turbo and Super-charged engine. Who could imagine a production car with a 1.4 producing 170BHP??? Now, if they put this engine into the Polo, then it will really fly!

• ys (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:38 pm

small car, low powr with high price…..??

i dont think this will be malaysian choice.

6 airbags?? i prefer ASB with EBD

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:42 pm

looks smaller a bit…i think VW golf 1.6 FSi nicer than polo…it has great look, good engine and handling.,..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 7:45 pm

Looks better than a Fabia. But with this price tag, its a bit more expensive than its Japanese rival. No doubt it has 6 airbags which makes it a a first in this category in Malaysia. Bet most people would go, I can get a Medium/Large sized Japanese/Korean sedan car at that price.

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 9:07 pm

For 125k, there are lots, lots more better alternatives to this. Throw in a few more K and you can even get yourself a real off-roader.

• Charger (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 11:42 pm

Seen the roadshow of the new PoloCross. And the door shuts with a loud clunk of metal hitting together.

Beside, the hinge design (which was shared on many VWs / Audis) was too strong for the lightweight doors on Polo. Bad choice.

• acbc (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 1:09 am

This car will entice the 'kiasi' people because they can now brag to their friends on the number of airbags in their cars. Remind of my ex-boss from a well-known web hosting company who always argued that more is better.

I've driven many cars… majority are old 80s cars which do not come with any airbags such as the Mitsubishi Galant VR4, Audi CD200, BMW 730i E32 and even a Toyota Landcruiser VX. I however must admit that these are large cars (C to D segments). My conclusion? The bigger the cars, the better chance for u to survive in an accident compared to those driving smaller cars.

Then again, it also depends on how u drive it. Drive like a madman, and even God can't prevent death.

• arcana (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 3:15 am

well Paul has a point there…..plenty of Jazzie running around everywhere and honestly that car looks good, but what happened to No 1 Toyota brand and its Yaris doing? sales are as flat as a pancake and its cheaper than Honda. Suzuki is doing well at its initial launch of the Swift and now slowing down due to tax increase causing price to go up.

This is just another alternative for people with deeper pockets to buy but at a steep 20-30k more over the jap rivals….how many would actually consider this?

• transformer (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 3:31 am

well… another wrong move after Nissan Teana…. too expensive!

This CrossPolo would be as rare as diamond in Bolehland!

1.6L NA 105PS to move those 17" wheels…. ka ka ka…

Dont just think people in bolehland are in love with P1 only… we know things about cars too!

VW you can do better than this!

• 8918 (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 5:24 am

Yuk!…side view remind me of inokom(aka hyundai)matrix.

Not nice at all,very uncle type.

• kenfresh (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:15 am

I think it's a pretty good looking car.

• adrian (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 9:06 pm

For those who think its ugly, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

For those who think its lousy to drive, I hope you're speaking from experience

For those who think RM125k will buy you a nice sized japanese sedan, RM100k will get you a bigger korean MPV.

And for those who think there wont be many of this car on the road, you're absolutely right. That's part of the reason why its a unique car.

• crackho (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 9:10 pm

For those who think its ugly, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

For those who think its lousy to drive, I hope you're speaking from experience

For those who think RM125k will buy you a nice sized japanese sedan, RM100k will get you a bigger korean MPV.

And for those who think there wont be many of this car on the road, you're absolutely right. That's part of the reason why its a unique car.

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:12 pm

ab: you have a wicked sense of humour. Maybe someone will really crash it, then take a photo and show to friends :"See? SIX airbags!!"

• Kotelo on Aug 02, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Hi! I am Kotelo from Lesotho. I have just bought a VW GROSSPOLO 2006 model from Japan. So the problem I have just experienced is, when a gear is engaged,particularly reverse and drive gear, there is a jumpy movement on the engine. Transmission is automatic. What could be the problem?