New Daihatsu Sirion SX 1.5 liter

Daihatsu Sirion Facelift

The new 2008 range of the Daihatsu Sirion in the UK will include a new top of the range 1.5 litre model called the Daihatsu Sirion SX, priced at £9,495 on-the-road. The 2008 Daihatsu Sirion gets new bumpers and grills, new wheel designs, revised, grippier front seats, plusher cloth trim and an improved rear torsion beam suspension for better handling across the range.

The 1.5 SX in particular has a deep front spoiler with a mesh grille (this is essentially the TRD bumper), front fog lamps, side skirts, a rear tailgate spoiler, a red trim interior, alloy wheels, climate control, power windows for all four doors, four SRS airbags, a radio/CD player and remote central locking. It also boasts Vehicle Stability Control, something not offered on any previous Sirion models.

The engine is the 3SZ-VE, something familiar to us already as it is the same engine used in the Toyota Avanza 1.5 litre, but probably slightly different in the Sirion installation as it will be installed in a FF configuration instead of the Avanza’s FR configuration. It also makes less power than the version in the Avanza 1.5, putting out 103 PS at 6,000rpm and 132Nm (138Nm for auto) of torque at 4,400rpm versus 109 PS and 141Nm. 0 to 100 acceleration time is rated at 10.1 seconds.

Will these new features, especially the Vehicle Stability Control trickle down to the Malaysian market and provide extra safety features for a new highest-line specification Perodua Myvi model?

More photos after the jump.

Daihatsu Sirion Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:32 pm

Aiks?! A/T has more torque than M/T?

• azolkipl (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:47 pm

Demit, I’m wondering when a japanese halfcut would be available. Then just swap it with my current myvi. hahahaha!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:59 pm

the front bumper is available in most accessories shops……

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:06 pm

just as i expected. 1.5L version on myvi body.
    this will be available in myvi range too. insiders info.

• Xoomie (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:09 pm

Wey, the dashboard is different from Myvi

• Skyline (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Guys,

Look at the price £9,495 on-the-road. I think too expensive.

• acbc (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:52 pm

Ai-yo-yo… why they kept the ‘for blind people’ radio la?

• ICER (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 7:32 pm

Hopefully Our Myvi got 1.5L soon

• arcana (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:01 pm

looking forward to this since a long long time rumours came about….

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:10 pm

this should be good for perodua.
    can’t wait!

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:27 pm

New Myvi perhaps?

• haroldz (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:29 pm

y would perodua release 1.5 myvi?
    vehicle stability cntrol will take time 2 implement in myvi.
    if one local carmaker have one, d rest would follow.
    same goes to ABS n airbags.

need vendor n expertise to do this kind of thing.
    i am still waiting for our biodisel…
    well, i guess it is just a political talk 2 calm down d rakyats (as usual)

• avanza (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:54 pm

Those look like Avanza 1.5 alloys. This Toyota really knows how to mix and match, even across to Daihatsu and Perodua.

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:19 pm

Nothing to shout about.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:15 pm

If affect Persona sales, Proton may back to table to talk to VW for tie up!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:16 pm

Anyway, it is good for MyVi if they has this engine.

• ah liew (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:28 pm

The current 1.3L Myvi is already a fuel guzzling car, 1.5L is even worst my friend….. forget it lar…. our Protong wira is the best!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:49 pm

Nop, u r wrong! I have seen ppl in KL transplat the 1.5L VVT-i engine into a myvi and even YRV 1.3L DVVT Turbo and the answer is depend on ur driving style, the 1.5L VVT-i engine from Vios belta in Japan are mated wif the original 4-speed auto of a customer Myvi. The customer told me that the engine have better torque to move around city and he save more fuel compare to 1.3L coz he no need to rev high to move it; Same as the Turbo version. So dont think 1.5L will be fuel gruzzlling car, u must see it in different way and also tune the car in the way u suit.

Anywayz i already seen ppl transplat in KL, so i prefer it can be available since the avanza is using the 1.5L engine in Malaysia.

• syanas (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:35 pm

I drove 1.3L (auto) myvi last 3months, it’s ok but when it climb up the hill, i feel the car’s very2 heavy…so i think if the myvi comes with 1.5L it’s very good news

• nmh (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:56 pm

does it come with rear disc brake?

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:05 am

Don’t think so. Malaysians want their car cheap, gov want to place car prices high.

• azrai (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 6:39 am

I don’t think there will be any 1.5l MYVi for our market. If there’s is one it will be a 65k K-car? Someone should try swapping 1.5 engine from ViOS or Avanza because it is the same engine between two of this if they need more power or even a 1.3 YRV engine can do it.

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:39 am

i wait for that dash board too long have wait for it. hey mine is 1.0 myvi when i go to kuching that the road have lots of bukit i can climb it easy and most importan its fuel saver lor sugestion what type off engine is better if i want to replace my 1.0 myvi cause here if iam not mistaken i saw a men with auto turbo engine dun nknow what type lah n its powerless so pity with that guys wakakakaka waiting for that half cut dash boardddddddd

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:55 am

Hope those extra features WILL trickle down to Malaysia.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:28 am

Ugly speedometer but nice dashboard tray.

• Alifz (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:45 am

All out there,

MyVi will be coming in 1.5L engine, but going to be a sedan model, to fight with Pesona model..

Cheers..

• kanazai2001 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:31 am

it is a new car…
    so early talking bout the transplant…
    but i like the idea…

ori vios 1.5AT into myvi…
    celica 1.8 VVTLi 6sp into vios…
    let fly…

• szw (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:33 am

let me see , if myvi coming out with 1.5L car , means the price have to go up .
    which means its going to cost 60k .
    whao !
    what a nice price for a small car .
    sorry myvi lovers , proton persona will still have the edge when it comes to pricing .

• nuajon (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:03 am

boring same like myvi….boring design.

• carsut (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:42 pm

i reckon P2 will copy this model bulat2..
    n new P2 model will be release soon..huhu
    what a shame!!

• ctawyong (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 2:05 pm

myvi facelift!! hahaha its a better than persona that add few cm to the back!! and said is a totally different design, u just need to spot it with microscope!!! if P2 really come out with this design better said is facelift from myvi rather that like his big bro P1 the persona totally a new car that plan for 2 years!!!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:14 pm

ah liew said,
    November 20, 2007 @ 10:28 pm

The current 1.3L Myvi is already a fuel guzzling car, 1.5L is even worst my friend….. forget it lar…. our Protong wira is the best!
    ———–
    I hope this is not the case as 1.5L come with fuel saving tech!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:15 pm

I hope 1.5L will be sale at not more than RM 55K, and current 1.3L reduce their price for not more than RM 45K.

• timber8115 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:48 pm

Insider news said Myvi 1.5 is in line and also a facelift myvi also coming soon.
    In year 2009, P2 rolling out MPV. So, let wait and see.

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 6:29 pm

not so nice

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:22 pm

I tot P2 factory already rolling out MPV which is call Toyota Avanza… :P

• SupaCarFan (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:34 pm

If this is going to be the future myvi,than it is a waste to import this.

You could like change a 1.5l engine for a lower price than this

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:49 pm

agree with littlefire…dun think it is fuel guzzling…

• king (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 11:49 am

nuajon said,
    November 21, 2007 @ 11:03 am

boring same like myvi….boring design.

when i am driving i look left i see silver myvi, look right silver myvi, look front black myvi ( with ultraman style brake lights), look back silver myvi….booring

somemore this car sure gonna be above 60k…..dun u ppl have better taste on cars then to waste 60k on this same old design ?

change the boring design lar…..sick of seeing the same old thing everywhere.

• danoneism (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 3:41 pm

nice maaa myvi….
    nw all city bz with myvi`s…hahahaha…
    even school parking lot pun…hahahaha…
    full with myvi…
    teacher n student…
    gila eh…

• king (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 11:44 pm

nice little froggy everywhere eh…