Ford Verve Sedan Concept unveiled in China

Ford Verve Sedan

There are now two Ford Verve Concepts, with the latest addition being a 4-door notchback recently unveiled at the 2007 Guangzhou International Auto Show, rather befitting as apparently the Chinese love notchbacks.

This small B-segment sedan could pose a mean fight to the likes of the new Toyota Vios and the upcoming Honda City replacement. while the 3-door Verve goes against the Jazz and the Yaris. They definitely have the looks.

The new Verve Sedan 4-door notchback joins it’s 3-door hatchback sibling unveiled earlier at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show and previews what the future Ford Fiesta replacement might look like.

More photos after the jump.

Ford Verve Concept previews 2009 Ford Fiesta
Mazda 2 Sedan launched in China

Ford Verve Sedan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• s60t (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:04 am

overall design is nice.i think the grille is too huge ..even bigget than the peugoet 407!looks loke a large fish mouth waiting to swallow you up.

• linuzri (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:08 am

nice looking car indeed. back design is superb as if it was designed by japanese car maker. yup agree the grille is too large.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:12 am

So EuropeStar how to fight in Dragonland?

• neurra (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:20 am

nice looking.. got that shell rigidity feeling to it

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:31 am

FORD is Always leading on MOST ulgiest MOnster Vehicle on EARTH! Kudo!
    SOrry Hyundai and Kia, THis year “most Ulgies car of the year” price goes to FORD already.

• rugaxp (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:49 am

nowadays ford design language seems to be that way already..
    the thing i felt weird is the rear end of the car looks identically to vios before facelift

• ndmervin (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:54 am

Its like a lowered Porsche Cayenne… I start to admire the Chinese to be able to savour the latest vehicle technologies and designs

• frossonice (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:59 am

So, I think in a way Proton is quite right using the Gen.2 as the way to break into China’s car market since Gen.2 is essientially a notchback. Not that I think the people there will like it but hey, at least those Proton guy know how to think. At least…

Nice car tho…

• cetakbaju (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:02 am

the front grill too large

• Paul Tan on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:06 am

hmm, maybe the chinese love big grilles. after all, all of us saw what the europestar gen2 looked like.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:26 am

the hatchback version is really nice…handsome and muscular…but dis one…like org cacat…i dun like it…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:34 am

Looks like a twin of Mazda2. The front grill looks like a exaggerated version of Aston Martin. LOL!!! I guess every market has its own fetishes. Seems that the Chinese does like big grills.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:57 am

Unfortunately this is how most new cars will end up looking.

The large grill is to camoflage the added “thickness” (or bonned height) of the front. This is so to satisfy new pedestrian crash standards dictating the need to have 4 inches of space between the engine cover and the bottom of the bonnet (don’t qoute me on this though, I might be wrong about the 4″ requirement)

The Pug 407 is the first of its kind to meet these new (pedestrian) crash standards.

Don’t know if you guys notice this, all new cars now took especially thicker in the front now, gone are the days of the extremly low hoodline of the EF Civic.

Subarus are the few that is bucking the trend, since by using a boxer motor, they have the clearance not to have to raise the hoodline.

• mTk (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:57 am

Did anyone realise that the side profile seems very much inspired by the Mazda Lantis? One of my favourite cars! =D

The rear lights look a bit strange, and overall the rear is very similar to the old Vios. Not that it’s a bad thing, the old Vios rear is quite good looking. The front reminds me very much of the Fiat Bravo, but that in turn was inspired by Aston Martin anyway.

• szw (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:01 am

really look like sth peugeot will build

• joeysis (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:02 am

Good lookin car…..but is Ford…..haisssss

• megadisc (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:23 am

i love violet…so cute

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:31 am

#
    rugaxp said,

November 29, 2007 @ 8:49 am

nowadays ford design language seems to be that way already..
    the thing i felt weird is the rear end of the car looks identically to vios before facelift
    ==========
    >>>Looks more like the current Mondeo IMO.

Man, this car is wicked sick!! Ford’s new concepts’ design always stir my heart….and soul :)

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:32 am

Wah Paul, I just noticed…..u stayed up all nite to post all these? Today cuti ah? ;)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 2:57 pm

very nice, but it looks like a peugeot

• bobdbilder (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 5:55 pm

There’s absolutely nothing wrong in having an Aston Martin as a role model. Clean lines is soooo sexy. And you can hardly see the B pillar. Just don’t tell me its a Volvo engine. Call it something lustful like Supertec or somethng. Bring back the Cosworth!

• proton GL (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 6:02 pm

wheelbase shorty

• tbcheese (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:08 pm

ooo yeah…this I like. though I feel the bootline should be lowered to improve rear visibility

• nmh (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:53 pm

The proportion of the angle and design just about the same with clarkson’s toyota baboon car in ‘the good the bad and the ugly’

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:38 pm

This car is much better looking then the Vios and City… but i prefer Latio…

• SuperBaby (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:58 pm

Why must all superb-looking cars like this be CONCEPT cars? Why are all cars in real life cannot look hi-tech and futuristic like the concept cars?

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 12:32 am

Aston Martin wannabe, I think I will have this. The looks are stunning

• joe203 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 9:16 am

The design is very nice i like it, but very unoriginal.
    What’s with this big grille thing? Nearly every new car concept model looks similar now, no matter what the manufacturer is.

Mental block perhaps? Come on car designers. Show me more creativity!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 10:28 am

ford 407

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 11:38 am

the design looks great, but it could look better with a longer wheelbase, and not let the rear end hang like that.
    otherwise, it looks like a very solid car.
    i even dig the peugeot grille resemblance!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 12:36 pm

dis is bcos of walter maria de silva who is starting the dsg trend of big grille…so…it attract many dsgner to follow him…quite a big loss for alfa who let dis genius guy go to vw group…uurrrggghhhh…..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 11:12 pm

alfa design will be good, once u breathe italian air, u get that sense of creativity