Europestar RCR (Proton GEN2) en route to China

Europestar RCR

348 units of completely built up Proton GEN2 cars are already on their way to China, having left the port today. This is the second shipment, with an initial batch of 60 already delivered earlier this month. Proton expects to ship a total of 1,600 CBU units by the end of January 2008. A total of 1,500 Proton GEN2s per month will be shipped over the next 20 months – a total of over 30,000 units. In addition, the first shipment of spare parts worth RM2 million has already been delivered.

The Proton GEN2 has undergone 6 months of testing in China in order to obtain the China Compulsory Certification, which includes build quality, crash test, safety, fitting, and component tests. It will be sold under the EuropeStar name in China – more details on that in the related posts linked below.

Bookings for the Europestar-badged Proton GEN2 in the Chinese market has reached 1,600 units so far.

Europestar RCR – rebadged GEN2 in China
Europestar GEN2 gets “unique styling”
Youngman to sell Proton GEN2 badged as Europestar in China

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• afroiq (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 6:55 pm

erm little confuse here..wat happen to the alien looking europestar gen2 ??

are they selling the weird looking gen2 or the normal looking gen2..

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:18 pm

This car which will be the same design as the current Gen-2. And as for the so call “alien” looking design..its not final and is being scrapped. See the other topics.
    1,600? seems ok.

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:24 pm

Hmm… build quality, crash test, safety, fitting, and component tests…
    Hopefully the testers are too busy enjoying the handling that they forgot about all the above…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:33 pm

haha… mzfnd u r very good!

Hei, Proton can u show out the result of the China Compulsory Certification. I wonder how much crash test & safety u get in China…

• bavarian (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:43 pm

if proton can pass china Compulsory Certification then it sould have low requirements

• vliam (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Is that a lion they are using as the logo for Europestar?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:42 pm

Ferrari = Pranching horse

Europestar = Pranching lion?

Don’t know whose idea. Do the lion can stand vertical just like the horse do?

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:57 pm

Gen2 pass their crash test? 1600 seems not bad

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:58 pm

The lion leg “kang-kang” some more! Very funny.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 10:00 pm

Bookings for the Europestar-badged Proton GEN2 in the Chinese market has reached 1,600 units so far.
    ———–
    Hope this booking nos. are all translated into registration on the road. So it is become Proton sales statistic.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 10:20 pm

I just saw the new Gen.2 limited edition near my place. I wonder all those old stock are shifted to china, while the newer CPS version will be sell to us next year.

Even the salesman told me that Gen.2 06′ still can be get at a great discount!!! O.O That why they got merdeka sales coz of old stock… Now luckily got the china to bail out, if not i think Proton more faster die..

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 10:25 pm

this car will contribute to china’s ever growing list of alternative family planning methods.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:22 pm

I am waiting to see export quality (China spec) gen2’s at some dealerships here.

• BW (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:37 pm

………..

• theking (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:37 pm

Gen2 in China is left-hand drive and not old stock from malaysia.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:56 pm

Left-hand drive – aiya modified only mah …………….

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 12:09 am

BigFish said,

December 28, 2007 @ 11:56 pm

It’s not as simple as that.
    You can’t just take the right hand drive dashboard out and put in a left hand drive.

• Dogster (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 12:19 am

Dunno, dun care , dont want to know. 3Ds. :P

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:02 am

The only thing to modified when right hand to left hand drive is the power steering shaft, brake servo & dashboard.

If Auto easy. Since Gen.2 is wire-less throttle, even easy to change. So in the end is also modified a bit only.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:04 am

hopefully it does well. Why need to hide under another brand in the first place?

• infinity (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:13 am

those gen2 are not old stock…it’s not so easy to modify right side to left side..it’s not like lego…and i dun think it’s economical…wat will they do with the right side driver dashboard if it were to change with the left side driver??throw it away??

mystvearn, it’s their agreement…rebadging proton gen2 to europestar RCR..like perodua rebadged daihatsu…

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:48 am

#topgunthang said,
    December 28, 2007 @ 10:25 pm
    this car will contribute to china’s ever growing list of alternative family planning methods.
    ————————————-

LMAO. good one. =)

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:50 am

Car made in Malaysia, Export to china, But name EUROPESTAR. Since when malaysia join EU?? konfius konfius….

• ENZO (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 3:54 am

infinity said,

December 29, 2007 @ 1:13 am

those gen2 are not old stock…it’s not so easy to modify right side to left side..it’s not like lego…and i dun think it’s economical…wat will they do with the right side driver dashboard if it were to change with the left side driver??throw it away??

==============================================
    throw it away, no no no all plastics can be recycle, after recycle, then use it to make new dashboard for new BML and coming 2nd gen Gen-2 [i think]

• cole planet (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 4:37 am

Just hope that it will do well in china… and hope that the quality issue will not cause the people of china to lose faith on proton like what happen here in malaysia… GOD JOB PROTON…

• linear_system (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 10:45 am

#
    LittleFire85 said,

December 29, 2007 @ 1:02 am

The only thing to modified when right hand to left hand drive is the power steering shaft, brake servo & dashboard.

If Auto easy. Since Gen.2 is wire-less throttle, even easy to change. So in the end is also modified a bit only.
    —————————————————————

why u like to talk like u are the most experienced engineer in automotive industry..all your comment regarding about modifying cars u will said it’s very easy..or are u ah beng-modify-wannabe..

• linear_system (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 10:48 am

#
    BigFish said,

December 28, 2007 @ 9:42 pm

Ferrari = Pranching horse

Don’t know whose idea. Do the lion can stand vertical just like the horse do?

—————————————————————

that’s not proton idea la bigfish…wah,u never saw lion can stand like that aa??poor u..and one more..horse can stand vertically aa?for how long?even my cat can stand vertically :D

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 11:41 am

Er Pranching lion? remember peugeot? bigfish, u duno that?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 12:43 pm

fastcx, don’t copy blindly! there are many “pranching beast” in our gov dept logo, be it tiger, kancil, lion, etc, but i observed the front leg is hold on something and it is symbolic.

To depict lion standing vertical like black bear or elephant show in circus, ahaa, …………… never mind Iet the Chinaman buy it.

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:33 pm

LOL… china got crash test?? I wonder at what speed they do it. 10kmph maybe? Since some of other china cars that tested in EuroNCAP fail miserably. Never even able to get above 1 star

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:45 pm

Look like from Youngman perspective, this Gen-2 rabadge car is just simply Proton act as original equipment manufacturer (OEM) only.

https://www.automotiveworld.com/VMSI/display.asp?contentid=62067&vmsiid=20

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:50 pm

Er bigfish, what’s ur point of argument? peugeot do have a lion standing straight, so are u making fun of that marque also? see the logo ur self, n the lion isnt holding anything… http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/2/28/Peugeot_logo.svg/625px-Peugeot_logo.svg.png

ur previous comment

“Ferrari = Pranching horse

Don’t know whose idea. Do the lion can stand vertical just like the horse do?”

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 7:04 pm

fastcx said,
    December 29, 2007 @ 1:50 pm

Er bigfish, what’s ur point of argument? peugeot do have a lion standing straight, so are u making fun of that marque also? see the logo ur self, n the lion isnt holding anything… http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/2/28/Peugeot_logo.svg/625px-Peugeot_logo.svg.png
    ——————
    OK lah, Peugeot logo is “a-go-go lion”!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 7:16 pm

OK lah, “a-go-go dancing lion”!

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 9:54 pm

vliam said,

Is that a lion they are using as the logo for Europestar?

———————————————-

No….. it looks like Jar Jar Binks to me!

• DrA (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 10:42 pm

1600 units each month is not too bad. Proton’s quality is always better than any Chinese car anyway. It should do well.

• indigo (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 11:01 pm

I don’t know what the China men are thinking. The Gen.2 is known to be a Lotus than a Proton. If you guys know Chinese, better check out the stupid website from Youngman which uses funny direct chinese translated english. Hahaha a big laugh for Youngman

• feeze26 (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 12:03 am

I think this is good move for proton….. maybe next time we will see proton cars in China’s movies… so they will getting large market commercial value… i’m just imaging… think positive..

• king (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 2:49 am

BigFish said,
    December 28, 2007 @ 11:56 pm

Left-hand drive – aiya modified only mah …………….

gen2 is not like vios centre console, cheap to modify right hand drive to keft hand drive

• king (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 2:55 am

btw, the logo looks more like a unicorn than a lion….but without a horn

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 4:35 am

if it’s named proton chinese will call it PLOTON!!!!
    now europestar, EULOPESTAR!!!!
    HAHAHAHAAHAHAHA

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 12:24 pm

what a disgrace!!!

where is the pride? marke it as p1 lah if p1 claims it can stand on its own.

scarp the stupid nap lah, since p1 can survive on its own already.

• szw (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 3:27 pm

build qualities ?
    hahaha !!!

• _xXx_ (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 9:45 pm

Pranching lion is a copy cat. Refer to Peugeot’s emblem.

How bout a pranching donkey for this bintangeropah?

• nmh (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 9:46 pm

I think C-NCAP is abit easier than NCAP. Can pass laa

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 10:06 pm

any persona have bad experience? still didnt receive any bad comment about persona? improve alot i guess. any comment?

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 11:42 pm

yes. its the most reliable and fastest car i’ve owned. actually, its the only car ive ever owned so im going to defend it to the grave no matter how crap it is.
    did i mention its tuned by lotus. who needs a ferrari???

• KelvC (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 12:34 am

I simply do not see the relevance of discussing Europestar’s logo, if they feel they can sell more with Crouching Tiger Hidden Tiger emblem so be it. Therefore likewise if Afghanistan wants a poppy logo, so what’s the discussion? Proton logo would not be recognised anyway in these countries. I would interpret the entry to the Chinese market via Europestar as a backdoor entry before bigger (if any) things to come.

If the “standing” lion/unicorn has a copyright issue therefore it is the onus of the copyright holder to file a suit against Youngman. From where i can see, Proton just slap in the badge based on the “customer” (in this case Youngman) direction and instruction. To put it in the simplest term, Proton is basically the OEM provider. Youngman is the Malaysia’s equivalent of Naza today (as you all know, Naza buys from Kia, Peugeot and another Chinese car and slap a Naza badge on it…please don’t do it to Mazda too).

• DrA (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 12:47 am

KelvC,
    Well said. Totally agree with you.

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 2:33 am

waht about fuel consumption of persona? pls give comparison with ur previous car for reference.(city use/travel use , car age,cc) thx in advance

• shaif (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 7:57 am

At least they are still rationale comment like KelvC , bravo…

• supernan9 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 9:58 am

nevermind proton.don’t care what type of logo will be used..just how much figure you can sell.

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 12:06 pm

never mind the badge lah proton also use karnivor mah but the use cat err i mean tiger hehhehehehhe thunder thunder thunder cat hoooooooo now the thunder car is calling thier friend from china the lion king……. i hope jackie will use gen 2 in movie soon hehehehhe

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 12:09 pm

hey proton why dont u change the badge into bat or spider maybe u can sell it to american market they will call it bat mobile or spidey mobile…. my opinion only dont get mad k just for laugh

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 12:18 pm

As usual if it comes to foreign market the Proton quality is far more better then the local, reliability is at the top to compete with any other brands, it’s normal.

This is how they’ve been doing all the time.

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 2:18 pm

more shipment..more $$?

• e-by (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 4:34 pm

1,600 bookings maybe looks big to Malaysian but it is actually a very fraction numbers of the market size. Even 30,000 also not significant..perhaps around 1% of the total annual market share.

China has a very big potential market. If Proton can concured 5% of total market share, that will be enough to keep Proton factory busy all the years. That’s why I wonder why Tg. Mahaleel choose to ignore China market.

China market got more potential than Europe since the customers are not demanding like Europe or US. Affordability is still main factor. Proton is quite clever when they capitalise Lotus branding since Chinese prefers Euro brand rather than Japan.

The certification is not a problem since China has a lower standard compare to Europe.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 5:24 pm

adunadun said,
    December 30, 2007 @ 10:06 pm

any persona have bad experience? still didnt receive any bad comment about persona? improve alot i guess. any comment?

–yes, a simple bad experience about persona. the aircond control knobs r too far, no sense of ergonomics. when driving fast too risky to reach the knob and difficult to adjust the blower speed or thermostat. too loose. never been improved since gen2. still don’t understand why??? for the manual version the centre console is an obstruction because whenever changing gear the elbow usually hit it. damn, once forgotten really painful on left elbow. afterall the car ride is ok.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 5:29 pm

don’t put so high hope of the sales in china, 5%? overthere have so many local cars or ckd cars. most of the chinese do like vw or audi. dongfeng also manufactured cars, nissan, citroen, etc. look at their cars market is not that simple.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 6:42 pm

hope u like the car..we can send the new SAGA too if you want..

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 7:39 am

hangat hangat tahi ayam je…
    remember the news potong also export to thailand. now no news anymore.
    maybe the sales has drop 99%… kah..kah…kah

• rexis (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:10 am

Wahh, if one in every million of china rakyat buy eurostar each month, we will have 10k sales monthly!

Anyhow, still feel a bit disgusted about the prouching lion, cant they at least use a tiger?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:14 pm

well done proton. at least you’ve proven that cars are being sold to youngman and are already on their way to china. a good start. i remember someone mentioning a couple of weeks ago in this forum that this whole china deal is faked, and will not happen.

• drwho (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 7:54 pm

The Chinese crash test is called C-Ncap at the speed of 56km/h. The recent re-test of the Chinese Brilliance BS6 got 3 stars in the EuroNcap. And the best score Proton car got so far in EuroNcap is also 3 stars. Good luck to proton, I don’t know how long Proton will survive in that fierce competitive market.

• drwho (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:24 pm

Sometimes when I think about proton, the only thing I can think of is disappointment. After more than twenty years in operation and with alot of help from the Japanese, proton has yet made any remarkable achievement even on the world stage, now it is in crisis, sluggish sale, low quality. It really makes me doubt about Malaysian auto industry (maybe the only thing we can be proud of). I am not trying to put Proton down (I take pride as well) but if you look at the Chinese Brilliance BS6, c’mon it is only merely 5 years old and it got 3 stars in the Euro Ncap something which Proton only managed to achieve recently. We say Chinamen cars got lower quality than Proton but their sales is doubling every year in the Middle East, Russia and other developing market, not to mention their own country, and look at Proton, models after models but still fail to meet the target sale.

And if we look at Hyundai, we can see how little Proton is, and both started to gain some grounds at the same time (around 20 years ago), both received help from the Japanese. And look at Hyundai and Proton now, Proton is in tatters and Hyundai we can say that it is a global brand now. Sometimes I think we Malaysians need to reassess ourselves, and get Proton to pull themselves together.

• drwho (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:28 pm

Heck, even that bastard Jeremy was laughing at our national car on British television.

So I really hope the best for Proton in China, even if Proton can just grab a small market share there, it could help Proton make a big turnaround.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 5:46 am

Sometimes when I think about proton, the only thing I can think of is disappointment. After more than twenty years in operation and with alot of help from the Japanese, proton has yet made any remarkable achievement even on the world stage, now it is in crisis, sluggish sale, low quality. It really makes me doubt about Malaysian auto industry (maybe the only thing we can be proud of). I am not trying to put Proton down (I take pride as well) but if you look at the Chinese Brilliance BS6, c’mon it is only merely 5 years old and it got 3 stars in the Euro Ncap something which Proton only managed to achieve recently. We say Chinamen cars got lower quality than Proton but their sales is doubling every year in the Middle East, Russia and other developing market, not to mention their own country, and look at Proton, models after models but still fail to meet the target sale.

And if we look at Hyundai, we can see how little Proton is, and both started to gain some grounds at the same time (around 20 years ago), both received help from the Japanese. And look at Hyundai and Proton now, Proton is in tatters and Hyundai we can say that it is a global brand now. Sometimes I think we Malaysians need to reassess ourselves, and get Proton to pull themselves together.

i love this story. every single point is straight forward.
    so just close potong and the story will end…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 10:16 pm

PTAllTheBest

“i love this story. every single point is straight forward.
    so just close potong and the story will end…”

a story thats straight to the point doesnt mean its accurate. hyundai motorcars was established in 1967. that makes it 40 years in business.. and until today, jeremy clarkson still laughs at them.. so what does that mean???

• ah liew (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 2:05 am

If Chairman Mao is still alive, I think he’ll say : What the F*CK!