Taped up Nissan Bluebird Sylphy spotted again!

Nissan Bluebird Sylphy Spyshot 1

Reader NathenNod snapped these photos of another Nissan Bluebird Sylphy on test in the Segambut today. This is the second photographed sighting of the Civic-sized car on this blog this year. Will we see the Nissan Sentra replaced with an aptly-priced new Nissan Bluebird Sylphy next year?

More spyshots after the jump.

2006 Nissan Bluebird Sylphy
Nissan Bluebird Sylphy spotted in Malaysia!

Nissan Bluebird Sylphy Spyshot 2

Nissan Bluebird Sylphy Spyshot 3

Nissan Bluebird Sylphy Spyshot 4

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• altis_fan (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 9:59 pm

Somehow, the backside looks like corolla. However, the frontlight is something
    different, which is quite unique.

• acbc (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 10:01 pm

Yucks! Latio wannabe!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 10:02 pm

During the launch of the Nissan Livina. I get a bit briefing from the CEO of Nissan Datuk Ang about the new Bluebird. He said already got 10 bluebird testing in KL, only 2.0L will be sale in Malaysia.

I think they maybe take this model to fight against 2.0L Civic & Lancer. Sentra will be phased out, leaving this to replace? I think the current cefiro also need to replace wif a cheaper teana. Anyway Fuga is also coming in 2009, said by Datuk Ang himself…

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 10:47 pm

If the price is right, the Bluebird should be a big seller as the interior space is more spacious than Camry while the fuel consumption is lot better… Hope that Bluebird Sylphy can beat Civic, Altis, Lancer and also Camry and Accord!

• arcana (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:00 pm

i doubt that the fact nissan can give honda and toyota a beating.
    but however it doesnt hurt to eat up some share of theirs so that they can offer more value for money cars in the future.
    just that somehow nissan tends to go overboard with their pricing and scare away potential customers.
    they need branding 1st before commanding such high price…..which toyota can do that anytime.

• drM (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:04 pm

you guys are sooo good. its like sneak here, there, etc. etc

skodeng people.hahhaahah..good pervert i must say.

now with ETCM bring this one, my father would be very crossed. why? because to him, Camry is the ultimate car for his retirement drive. and for all these weeks, only Civic and Accord have come up with somekind of 3 selection headache.

can someone convince me, why my father should think of this as another choice for his after 55 years old drive thing?

it looks good and luxury enough to me. apart from the tapes…and the bold rims..

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:17 pm

Saw this car going around in Kelana Jaya last Sat. Didn’t what was it. Thnx for telling me that it was a Bluebird.

• indigo (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:21 pm

Malaysia always being the last to get this not so new model.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:04 am

Happy new year, new model from Nissan. Good job.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:25 am

Old thing, by the time it reaches the market, people will say the design is outdated…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:31 am

Anyway, I like Nissan Grand Livina, plan to buy one. Good car at afforable price. 1.8L at RM 95K is high, compare to Indon selling at least RM 20K lower! Crap to you NAP!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:32 am

This car front light shape is odd.

• skywalkers (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:49 am

I’ve seen this Nissan Slyphy in Singapore on the road before.
    The body design is very nice actually and what i like most about this car is on the rear brake light, well design and advance.

The price will be very nice too huh….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:54 am

those rims are the best…! actually in real life it looks very round n bulky

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:57 am

Nissan is known for ugly..except skyline though..

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:00 am

We always the last one to get the new model…especially from Nissan…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:18 am

Looks like Nissan Fuga, but dunno when will launch in Malaysia.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:49 am

I’d seriouly think they should chose some other model…like…hmmm… a Renaultsport 197…Sorry, it just doesn’t wag my tail. Maybe when I am 55, with dull senses and lost any glimmer of artistic taste in automobiles. Maybe. Who are they expecting to buy this?

I saw this comment during the Livina launch that they were concentrating on the other markets before coming for us; the Non Japan Asian market. Why doesn’t Ghosn admit that they were happy selling G35s/350Zs for the Americans and was hoping GM would jump into the Renault-Nissan bandwagon that we are only a flicker in the rearview mirror. We are an afterthought. So is it a wonder that we should give it a nanosecond of thought. Hmmm. Enough.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:54 am

as usual, someone will announce pre-launch booking received of 1800, 3000 blah x10 real soon….Bolehland style.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:56 am

in usa, is a sentra with different front and tail, in singapore is sylphy. with the 2.0 and 1.5 engines. only japan call it bluebird sylphy. and the n16 sunny/sentra/pulsar still selling in lot of countries. i guess they will call it sylphy.

• megadisc (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:33 am

oh my god

the japanese cars are invading malaysia boleh

wooo hoo

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:55 am

Good, more choices, mor competition, good bargain for consumers.

• szw (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:04 am

new car frm nissan…
    i think nissan is waking up finally.

• s60t (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:35 am

We see some of these cars from Singapore especially during the holidays. Looks OK but to be realistic it is more of a competitor to the civic 2.0/altis 1.8 rather than accord or camry.I find it hard to believe that the interior space can beat a camry(as mentioned by hyundai) which is as big as an E class and even bigger than a 5 series.

• schdmitz (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:27 pm

dissapointed with the look…..just like another renault……G Livina…..rather go for innova…..more muscle…..n power……

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:40 pm

I rode this car in 2006 Singapore Motorshow… The interior and boot space is a big shocked to me! Even current Camry and Accord cannot match it…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:32 pm

The front part looks like Nissan Fuga, but then still prefer the Renault Megane bacause it has more “class”.

• amad_a (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:52 pm

agreed with MyviKiller.. looks like Fuga..
    more info: http://www2.nissan.co.jp/FUGA/Y50/0712/index.html
    more pictures on menu 2

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:53 pm

I don’t get it. Why is TCM taping them up for. I’ve been seeing lots of Singaporean plated once running all around town for months.

Front looks half decent, rear however could use some work on the placements of the rear tail lights.

As for retirement drives, nothing really could beat the Camry..or any Toyota for that matter. You can almost garantee it to outlast the driver…..

• rushmode (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:57 pm

saw this a few times on my way back from work. looked kinda ugly like latio.

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:58 pm

huhu saw this many time before..singapore plate..

just like the teana..weird from lamp..just like CLS..or skyline v35..

• mytouch (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:07 pm

Emm…The exterior is q normal,but the interior is very nice…check it out at http://www.worldcarfans.com/3051221.001/nissan-bluebird-sylphy-sedan

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:15 pm

Anyone here can give an indicative price for this car?

• bavarian (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:25 pm

to be more competitive they should price it around 120k but i dont think it is going tobe a big seller

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:39 pm

replace Sentra with this? possible, if the price is not too high….. its good because the Sentra has been quite outdated (but still nice though).

The new Sentra in USA is not nice (my opinion lah).

Nissan should (and must) bring in more models, don’t let the jap market here dominate by just Toyota and Honda.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 5:29 pm

Sentra line have been replace by Latio if u realize for now. Why TCNM want to sell another car which have the same category + price line?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:03 pm

I still find the car has a good looking exterior eventhough the head lamp look like more suitable for 4WD.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:05 pm

One more thing, let it be price a little bit higher than current Sentra. If the engine is 2.0L, and if they sell at around RM 100K++, it shall be very attractive.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 10:45 am

Latio is not in the same league as Sentra… Latio is same category with Vios & City.

• Alifz (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:31 am

Bluebird is Back !!

The last Bluebird series that ETCM brought in to Malaysia is U13 Altima, and then it dissapeared for almost 10 years..and now it’s back.

Used to owned U11 Bluebird, quite good in handling, performance and surprisingly fuel comsumption if compared to it’s size.

Welcome Back Bluebird !!!

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:02 pm

Is not a bluebird replacement. taiwan called it bluebird sylphy same to japan. whereas china and singapore called it sylphy. us and canada called it sentra with different looks but same car.

• electron (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:09 pm

I think the sylphy looks good and will provide welcome competition to national and non-national cars alike. It’s nice to see consumers getting more choices

• transformer (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Originally Nissan Sylphy was targetted at female drivers in JDM, same as to Toyota Belta(New Vios 2007 in Bolehland)…

There are many femanine features in both of these car natively(JDM)!

• swong (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:58 pm

I do hope nissan will bring in Qashquei