UMW Toyota Motor gets new managing director

Kuah Kock HengUMW Toyota Motor has a new Managing Director – Mr Kuah Kock Heng, who was previously the Executive Director of the Groups Industrial Equipment Division, the division which handles the Toyota forklift franchise in Malaysia, Singapore, Vietnam and also in China – Shanghai and Zhejiang Province.

“Mr Kuah has had an excellent track record in managing the Industrial Equipment Division prior to his appointment to UMW Toyota Motor. I am confident in Mr Kuahs capabilities in carrying out his new duties as the Managing Director and to lead UMW Toyota Motor to face future challenges in the competitive automotive industry,” said Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin, Group Chairman of UMW Holdings Berhad and Chairman of UMW Toyota Motor Sdn. Bhd.

Mr Kuah has been with UMW for 25 years. He replaces Dato’ David Chen, who has retired from the managing director position, a position he has held since June 2004. Dato’ Chen has been credited with increasing Toyota’s market share as well as establishing the Lexus brand.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BW (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 6:08 pm

Oh i see

• jhuan (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 6:59 pm

Hope this new guy can improve the services render by their sales advisors. Imcompetent and rude SAs are all over toyota showrooms. Very suck-up SAs :(

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 7:13 pm

I wonder what car he drives….maybe a Honda??? LOL!!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 7:59 pm

No! He drives a PROTON!

• outspoken (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 8:24 pm

every topic will be somehow forced related/connected to Proton..I am thinking of setting up a website protonbashers.com… i am sure it will be a hit.. So Paul, it’s my idea ok.. :-)

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 10:21 pm

So, when will new Altis be released? Why wait so long ma… ppl already bought new cars especially Persona. I was waiting to this new Baby Camry, but since Persona came out first (with so good features), I could say no to P1 salesman; so now driving Persona already.

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 10:24 pm

So, you already miss 1 customer already….
    Don’t wait-wait ma, nanti many other people buy Persona.

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 10:24 pm

Or new Proton BLM

• ragnahse (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 11:06 pm

seems like toyota is bringing in the new corolla sooner than expected….coz altis is missing from their product lineup in their website …..no more altis…..wonder what they gonna sell of that category until new corolla arrives…

• tyt_988 (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 11:30 pm

hear that the altis will be CBU…hmmmm

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 11:39 pm

looks honest

• BMW fan (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:03 am

Looks Singaporean

Go UMW?
    No, Go BMW! lol

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:06 am

he looks to hv a bit of ‘fear factor’ – good for the toyota guys – they must work hard to impressed him or else might just work for proton lor..

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:16 am

A little bit serious, no “senyum kambing”!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:25 am

sure he drives a proton?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:38 am

Drive a Proton, its ajoke!

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 8:21 am

New Altis is coming in 1Q 2008. It will be CBU from Thailand…again. Then Camry will become CKD..price may go down loh..so will be the quality. If cannot jalan then give discount like the All New Vios..just 3 month already can get discount. Good la for us.. toyota is a blood sucker anyway..taking the advantage of this bolehland high excise tax regime. New CEO please do something abt your car line-up la..i’m a Toyota lover but now broken hearted already..UMWT is moving backward. New Altis is yet another uncle car big brother to the fugly untie car Vios. Come on Toyota…bring you JDM line up here!!

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 8:31 am

Cheers to King Samurai!!

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 12:09 pm

he drive merc lol noway he going to drive camry i think after few month appointed as MD he will buy ferrari or maybe maybach wakakakakka

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 7:04 pm

His official car will be Lexus LS similarly goes to Perodua MD’s. They are under the same group though.

No doubt UMW Toyota can bring in the creams of their brands line up but at the end of the day, it’s not them who decide what car can be sold in Malaysia..it’s all determined by those in the big G. They can come up with tonnes of proposals and good models but the last say (approval) is reserved for the officials in the G. This applied to all car manufacturers/assemblers in Malaysia including Perodua…except the only one which has been enjoying a total freedom–> Proton. It’s sort of protectionism.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 11:29 pm

isnt the approval process and tax excise process based on the fact that any competitor of proton like car engine or class etc that is same as any car in the proton line up will be taxed higher.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 6:44 pm

Yup you get it right topgunthang…

• seizai (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 7:44 pm

anybody know his contact number and office address?

• Tony Hanna on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:56 pm

To Toyota Management,

I bought a 2008 Toyota Hilux new in Malaysia in 2008. I have since moved back to New Zealand and want to ship my car home but first I must have the manufacturer complete a Statement of Compliance to show what standards the car was manufactured to in various categories such as lights, brakes, seatbelts and so on:
    http://www.nzta.govt.nz/resources/statement-of-compliance/docs/statement-of-compliance.pdf

I am not asking Toyota to confirm if the vehicle meets New Zealand standards – I am asking for Toyota to tell me what those standards are so I can show the authorities in New Zealand and they will tell me if it meets their requirements.

I contacted Toyota New Zealand who told me that as per New Zealand government regulations for importation of vehicles, the Statement of Compliance must come from the country where I bought the vehicle so I contacted Toyota Malaysia on a number of occasions by e-mail and phone and they refuse to tell me what the manufacturing standards are. I do not understand the secrecy and am REALLY VERY DISAPPOINTED because all I want to do is check to see if I can take my Hilux (which I am very happy with) back to New Zealand. I checked back with Toyota New Zealand who tried to help me but ultimately they were unable to get access to this information.

Who can I contact to send my VIN number so they can then verify the manufacturing standards and return to me? I’d appreciate any assistance you can provide because Toyota Malaysia have been a big disappointment in what to me seems a very simple request.

Melinda Tang’s (Toyota Malaysia Customer Service??) response during my last phone call was that it is manufactured to Malaysian standards and that was a sufficient answer is unacceptable. The vehicles when manufactured were not just thrown together with whatever parts were available, they were assembled according to a plan and up to certain standards. What are those standards? Simple question.

I will take this further with Toyota HQ and will not let the matter rest until I get what I consider to be a reasonable response – cc’d to other Toyota dealerships elsewhere via their websites in the hope someone can assist.

Regards,

Tony Hanna
    [email protected]