TC Eurocars previews Malaysia-bound Renaults

TC Eurokars Sdn Bhd had a public preview of four Renault models at its Jalan Semangat showroom on the weekend of the 21st to the 23rd of March 2008. The models displayed were the Renault Megane R26 Renault Sport, the Renault Megane Coupe-Cabriolet, The Renault Clio RS and the Renault Grand Espace. Reader Al Maarof shares with us some photos snapped of the cars.

The Renault Clio RS has a different 2.0 engine than the one found in the normal 2.0 litre Clio III. While the Clio III used new 2.0 litre Renault M engine (essentially the Nissan MR20DE), the Renault Clio RS uses the F4R – an older 2.0 litre engine in the Renault stables, but one that revs high and produces 197 horsepower at 7,250rpm, and 215Nm of torque at 5,550rpm. Matced to a 6-speed manual, it hits 100km/h in 6.9 seconds.

The other hot hatch is the Renault Megane R26 with a torsion beam rear, powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine making 230 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 310Nm of torque at 3,000rpm. 0 to 100km/h takes 6.5 seconds with a 6 speed manual. If you look after the jump you’ll see the car’s huge brakes at the front. TC Eurokars indicates this one will come in at about RM235,000 in the second half of 2008.

The less hot Megane you will see after the jump is the Megane Coupe-Cabriolet which features a foldable hard top. It’s 2.0 litre normally aspirated engine makes 135 horses at 5,500rpm and 191Nm of torque at 3,750rpm, paired to a 4-speed auto.

The last car is an MPV – the Renault Grand Espace. This is a replacement model of the NGV-powered third generation Espace used as KLIA taxis we see here in KL. Its turbocharged 2.0 litre engine puts out 170 horses at 5,000rpm and 270Nm of torque at 3,200rpm. It features 6 airbags and seats 7 with independent seats for all passengers.

Check out more photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nanashisan (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 4:40 am

welcome to bolehland!!

it is good to have Renault here. summore they previews the niche models here. im hoping the Megane R26 is priced closer to VW Golf GTI. however, Megane R26 is way much better than VW GTI. hehehhe

Clio RS is kinda cute but powerful. i wonder what is the price range it will be. RM130k?

• ys (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 5:40 am

too expensive for malaysian market.
    not sure if it can sell well….
    we shall see…

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:37 am

Pehh!!! Mahal gilerr!! Lagi baik aku beli kereta Jepun dengan harga tuh! Lagi best. Spare part pun mudah dan murah. Kalau macam ni punya harga la, kereta Eropah takkan dapat bertakhta di Malaysia ni. Bukan tak minat kereta Eropah tapi tak tahan dengan harga kereta sekali dengan spare part dia tuh. Tolong la! Jual la murah2 sikit.

• azolkipl (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:52 am

Paul, the full name for the Megane R26 is Renault Megane RenaultSport 230 F1 Team R26. And the Clio 197 is actually the Renault Clio Renaultsport F1 Team R27. Heheh…. berbuih mulut nak cakap.
    The R26 gets an uprated suspension and engine horsepower from the previous RenaultSport model, Megane 225
    While the Clio R27 only get uprated suspension, but keeping the same engine.
    Clio R27 is being sold at 225k. Memang mahal la. Apa bleh buat, serpihan AP dari Rafidah era masih ada lagi.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 8:17 am

kakilubuk, stop talking crap like a blind basher.

Nothing comes cheap when it comes to new continental cars (except the CKD 407 & Bestari). At that price u want to buy Jap cars? Technological-wise, continentals are more advancely engineered & solidly built. But reliability-wise and running costs, the Japs are better. Pick either one, its hard to get the best from both worlds.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 9:10 am

Sometime ago I lambasted Carlos Ghosn for not bringing the Clio here and settle for the Latio. Now, I’m shocked to see the Clio and Ghosn all in the same week.

I feel the frustration emanating from kakilubuk. Most petrolheads I know actually want a continental. But since the total cost of ownership of a continental is too high, we tend to put it aside when we make a decision to buy. We gawk in the showroom, talk about it, dream of it, play sims of it, but then reality bites and actually own something else. And the reality of it is; they will not bring in the 3 door hatch. Even if they do, it’s gonna be too expensive for anybody who desires one.

Sucks doesn’t it?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 9:31 am

OMG OMG OMG OMFG… I’ve always been lamenting the lack of Renault performance models in Malaysia and now we have the R26 and Clio RS!

For the R26, at rm235k, it may be abit step though considering the Civic Type R and Golf GTi are some rm35k cheaper. Guess this one will be a niche model, especially seeing how there’s so many GTis running around these days.

And how much is the Clio RS?

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 9:38 am

I have a price list somewhere, but seem to have misplaced it. I will try to get it from my uncle who has one too and send it in to Paul Tan.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 10:16 am

the megane rs is still too xpensive…they will lost a potential buyers if they still keep selling with dat kind of price…people will go to golf gti or civic type r…dats not worth…

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:14 am

Normaluser! You are right. But I still prefer Japanese car. Heh! Heh! Heh! Nothing can change my mind.

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:46 am

i love clio sport recaro seat. any 1 know which half cut shop offer 4 sale? how much asking?

• KF (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 12:31 pm

Hmmmmmmmmmmm…the Clio Sport is for me only whereas the Espace Turbo for is me and me wife and me kids..:-)

• lchan (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Bravo for TC Euro for bring in cars like this and thats about it.

1. Why did they bring the F1 version when it cost so much more then just then normal R26? Stupid!

2. Considering the option list included in our VW GTi , why the hell is the Renault priced at RM235k? Stupid! (Megane R26 are cheaper then VW GTi in almost every country)

The normal megane RS R26 should be price at 180 ~ 190k. I amazing how the price cars in Malaysia without even looking at the competition and to top it off..they bring the F1 version…*faint*

Well….good luck to TC Euro!

• h2k (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 5:59 pm

wat a surprise to c TC bring in more renault models…remember previous post we mention TC not bringing in any renault models coz not selling well in M’sia…they read our post??
    luv the clio rs…looks hot…bet the price would be hotter :P

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:20 pm

RM235k. You choose which one you want. A beemer for same price or this “race” like car. Sure people choose Beemer. Badge is everything

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:29 pm

Problem is Renault has not established themselves in this country, so introducing sports editions is not a very wise thing to do. They should take it slow, introduced the 5-door Megane first and maybe the Espace, then slowly work their way up. Only a small minority will purchase these cars, those who really know about cars. The rest of the Malaysian market only knows Kangoo and probably doesn’t even realise that Renault makes the Kangoo.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 12:33 am

finally, dream come true….

although still can’t get the Clio V6, but the Clio RS is just great enough…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 7:40 am

mit…

gray importer oredi bringing the clio v6…i saw one at the bangunan tan & tan car showroom…a few years back…silver in color…i think clio v6 gt a few here in bolehland…but its hard to c it…very very rare…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:54 am

raybrig85, any info about the price? i mean the Clio V6…..

i just love that car :-)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 1:38 pm

i dunno…jz saw d car frm outside onli…

• frequencymaniac (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:52 am

The interior looks kinda cheap.. Cheap Platic all over the interior.. But the price tag is above 200k.. especially the escape MPV.. Almost 300k.. this is ridiculous…

• droll (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 7:55 pm

ugly car but a hoot to drive – testament to renault’s f1 experience. too expensive. i’d swap my savings for a type-r anyday over this renault because of the pricing that seems to come out of valhalla (someone trying to barge their way into your pocket and look heroic??). pity!

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 12:36 pm

Nuts…Grand Espace at RM300K….hahahaha…definately x laku, most ppl will definately buy those alphards/estima/elysion instead of this 50% depriciation after drivin out of the show room kind of thing….

• adamccl (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 10:29 pm

Well, if you’ve driven a Savvy (Renault Clio 2nd generation), then this RS Clio shouldn’t be a problem. I truly understand why Clio came to Malaysia, because it was so popular in Singapore. Malaysian market got attracted to it as well and ta-dah! Here you go! I’m signing up for a test-drive soon! Woo-Hoo!
    Megane, by the way, was rated the best super-compact in the UK (5-Star EURONCap)…
    And for Espace… well… no comments…

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 10:13 am

me say no to renault.

• ismail on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:42 am

memang mahal

klu dibandingkan ngn kerete yg same kt pasaran UK kenapa terlalu mahal sedangkankan kt UK tak le semahal disini.

1 ini kerana tax yg terlalu mahal , oleh kerajaan malaysia , rakyat di dahulukan

2. renault malaysia , under tan chong motor , for sure depa nak jual kereta depa dulu , and kereta renault depa bawak yg high end punya .

3. malaysia boleh