Subaru Impreza WRX STI and 2.0 S-GT: A Very Short Test Drive Experience

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

Motor Image is looking to reignite the Subaru brand in Malaysia with the introduction of the new Forester and Impreza hatchback between June to August. This includes the highest factory spec Impreza possible, the 2.5-litre, 16 valve, turbocharged WRX STI.

Shannon Teoh was in Singapore to get an introductory feel of the two new Imprezas that will appear on our shores this year.

Read more after the jump.

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

The problem with a launch in Singapore is the lack of any feasible area to test a car outside of everyday driving situations. While this might be fine for any normal family car – which the plebeian versions of the Impreza definitely are with its sedate new styling – the 247hp 2.0 S-GT, let alone the 296 in the STI, demand a more clinical challenge.

Motor Image did locate a short slip road with a couple of switchbacks but due to the fact that there were only two STI testers and media from the entire region were here for the one-day only event, we were each limited to one pass each way, hardly allowing us to build towards the limits of the STI’s adhesion.

In under eight minutes with either car, a few snap judgments had to be made. If motoring journos in Malaysia are fortunate enough to get their hands on a test unit when it finally arrives here – prospectively in August – then you’ll probably hear more about the STI’s performance on Malaysia’s more “liberal” roads.

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

What I can tell you is that the two cars are worlds apart. The S-GT is basically a WRX spec car and a twin-scroll turbo results in it producing 247hp at 6,000rpm and 333Nm at 2,400rpm. Despite these figures actually trumping the 2.5-litre WRX (224hp and 306Nm), it certainly doesn’t feel that way. It doesn’t even feel like it could outrun, say, a Volkswagen Golf GTI.

Although this might be due to some sort of transmission lag with the rather unsatisfying four-speed auto ‘box. Certainly, it didn’t seem like peak torque was coming at 2,400rpm and in fact, was closer to 4,000rpm before the car seemed to make haste.

If there is a manual version, it’s not coming here, which is a shame since apparently, the manual 2.5 WRX beats the 2.0 S-GT in the 0-100km/h sprint by two seconds with the S-GT coming in rather unimpressively, just under 8 seconds.

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

There was no real opportunity to test the symmetrical all-wheel drive – where weight distribution of the drive system is evenly balanced between left and right thanks to the four-pot boxer engine – although the ride seemed decent enough.

Motor Image will be bringing this car in as the ‘warm’ family car, with the auto ‘box making it simple enough for non-enthusiasts while the Sportshift would allow some scrolling through of the four ratios for a more involved drive. Early indications are that it will be priced at 170 grand plus change, making it a cheaper and more sedate alternative to the Golf GTI or Honda Civic Type-R.

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

But if cheap and sedate are not words in your dictionary, it looks like the acronyms WRX STI will be in the next few months.

With 296 ponies charging in at 6,000rpm and 407Nm coming through at 4,000rpm, the UK spec STI will be a real steal if it does come at the RM300,000 mark that Motor Image Sdn Bhd general manager John Lim is trying to price it at. Reported to do the 100km/h sprint in under 5 seconds, it’s about half a second quicker to the ton than its longstanding rival, the new Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X (the Evo IX was priced at RM284,872 without warranty).

It’s interesting to note that the UK-spec STI is different from the Japanese-spec STI. The JDM car uses a 2.0 litre boxer-4 engine with a twin scroll turbo good for 304 horsepower, while the UK-spec one we are getting uses a 2.5 litre engine with a single scroll turbocharger.

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

The thing that’ll strike you first when you climb in is how the interior doesn’t look or feel like the traditional rally-derived performance car. Subaru have tried to make this feel like a car that’s priced in its range.

With the as-confusing-as-an-M5 electronic dials and switches to adjust your Driver’s Control Centre Differential and Subaru Intelligent Drive, it definitely lends itself to the idea of state-of-the-art.

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

There is in fact a tangible difference between the three SI-Drive modes – Intelligent, Sport and Sport Sharp – each getting progressively happier to give you all the power you want. There was no time to fiddle with the DCCD though, which will decide the locking behaviour of the differential, giving you either more traction or more turning capability with its rate of response in re-channeling torque.

What I do know is that the AWD works in Auto well enough. Variations of throttle input in corners translated to minimal under- and oversteers in the cornering line which was held to firmly otherwise.

The only dodgy bits are the slightly under-communicative steering and the styling. If the non-STI versions are just plain boring, the STI tries to counter this with some adjustments to the front and rear end and most tellingly, bloody huge fender flares.

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

The wheel arches are so huge now that you certainly can’t call them boring – it’s more love it or hate it. Whatever the case, you can’t ignore it when it’s there in the flesh.

With the rather short drive time, perhaps the thing that was most impressive was the damping of the ride and low noise levels. Unlike the Evo, which usually tells you it’s a fearsome car by rattling your bones and booming out a loud four-pot harmony, the new STI is nearly disappointing in how well it reduces its 2,500cc engine to a drone rather than a roar and the way it handles bumps, holes and inconsistencies in road surfacing.

In any other RM300,000 car it’d be applauded. In an STI, well, I’m happy that my bum is comfortable in its bucket seat, but I’d have liked a bit more music.

VIDEO: New Subaru Impreza WRX STI TV Commercial

VIDEO: Unveiling of the new Subaru Impreza WRX STI

VIDEO: The new Subaru Impreza WRX STi doing donuts

VIDEO: Subaru Impreza Rally Car

VIDEO: Two Subaru Impreza Rally Cars doing donuts

VIDEO: Subaru Impreza WRX STI – 001

VIDEO: Subaru Impreza WRX STI – 002

VIDEO: Subaru Impreza WRX STI – 003

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 7:01 am

WoW! Very Im…pressive lei

• jtshin (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 7:04 am

I have to say the WRX STi version is far better looking than the base model. It’s not that horrible looking at all after looking at it for some time. Maybe it’s just me??

So Singaporeans can only buy then put in garage. Lucky Malaysians still can race around in it.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 7:06 am

Hatchback is disadvantage on handling especially on CORNERING, because the body structure is not as good / strong as SEDAN. I think Mitsubishi EVO is far better that IMPREZA.

• altimi (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 8:54 am

auctioncenter2u said,

April 13, 2008 @ 7:06 am

Hatchback is disadvantage on handling especially on CORNERING, because the body structure is not as good / strong as SEDAN. I think Mitsubishi EVO is far better that IMPREZA.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Try saying that to Sebastian Loeb. Mitsubishi is not even in WRC anymore.

• altimi (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 8:55 am

There’s no replacement for displacement………

• charles27 (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 10:20 am

er.. hatchback is more advantage in cornering. less overhang, and cause back is less weight momentum at the back is less against ur turning direction. which mean u can clear the corner faster without ur butt bringing u to oversteer… and slow u down at higher speed corner. The aim is simple, clear the corner at fastest time, and shorter the car, u can intercept other car with less space as well. Dang… got advantage actually.

haiya… buy sport car oso not many place to race on it laa. Last time at sungai besi road, UKM side, got a ah beng.. so lou drive sti like a idiot at my back. i trying to pull left and let it through, half way already, he still cut from inside somemore. fork. lucky not kiss. Driving fast is OK, but driving SIAO is not OK at all.

subaru is a very good car. actually been admire this car long time since. sadly, those ah beng is giving it a bad name. So, no subaru for me. When look for fast car, look for with class.. even a golf, or bmw 1 series, these are giving u a civilized impression. Mature at least!

• White Jack (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 10:24 am

Confused here…

Is the Imprezza WRX 2.0 S-GT price expected below RM170K ?
    And, it’s 247 HP ??
    And 4-Speed Auto gearbox ?

• bavarian (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 11:03 am

the price wouldn’t possibly be around RM170k
    thats a little too low

• IsaacVky (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 11:55 am

8k red line only?
    The GDB version has a 9k rpm redline!

• knight_templar (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 12:10 pm

hmmmm, im not sure about the 4 speed gearbox.’The JDM car uses a 2.0 liter boxer-4 engine with a twin scroll turbo good for 304 horsepower, while the UK-spec one we are getting uses a 2.5 liter engine with a single scroll turbocharger.’ Why the difference?
    This car has personality issues…

• nanashisan (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 1:28 pm

paul, what is the differences between these WRX STI?? between 5 spokes STI wheels (black and blue color) and 12 spokes STI wheels (silver color).

i saw differences in wheels, brake caliper n disc and lastly the front grill.

btw, the 2.5L STI single scroll turbo can be upgraded to twin scroll turbo or not??

• Alvin on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:12 am

This is what I wan to ask too. Because now I’m confusing 2.0 n 2.5…which is worth to take. Anyone?

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 1:55 pm

Isaacvky, higher rpm doesnt mean good, it only mean u need to rev more to reach optimum power! doesnt mean it has more than others. powerful engine dont even need to rev like hell! but F1 is totally different tho, its damn light they can rev till hell break loose to get the most power as posible

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 3:00 pm

Wow Paul damn lucky lah you!!!

Paul Tan says: Er… Shannon Teoh lah, not me.

• danie7 (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 3:18 pm

Nice ride really… but i think the butt is still more sexy than the head le… Its like doesnt match. What do you all think?

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 3:26 pm

For the which body style is better doo-daa’s…

It comes down to personal preference which matters most… :P ..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 3:29 pm

still nothing compare to Evo X……

• charles27 (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 3:51 pm

about the 170k.. that is WRX.. without STi as current model selling. about 225hp in current model.

STI is sport upgraded gain.. and its much much more power than the normal wrx. but year 2008, seem like subaru have badge change for the ‘sti’ thing. haiz.. not know laaa. Have to compare hp and price to know.

basically, subaru is cheaper and more powerful. the 170k can get you 225hp.. wow. Keep in mind turbo car need regular oil change. Not to mention the tyres as well. And they use hack lots of petrol when u rip it. usually i use the torque to get an idea of the petrol usage, some 2.0turbo can give u very nice torque, but when you rip it, its sucking petrol tank after tank, and you still not reach your destination. haha. Its nice to have 400nm, but when you hitting this figures, lots of petrol need to be burn to reach the explosive power to hit the density, and giving so much pressure/torque.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 7:02 pm

fastcx said,

April 13, 2008 @ 1:55 pm

High redline doesn’t mean you won’t have a nice torque graph.
    Higher rpm means you can tarik more on the straight line, don’t need to change gear on corner, and lots of benefits.

Even European cars are going higher and higher. Look at the BMW M series.

• crasher7 (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 7:19 pm

nice… I wonder when Mitsubishi will launch the EVO X here to compete with this car

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 8:15 pm

Say what you want about compact Japanese sports sedans, but the fact is they represent the best bang for the buck in the marketplace today. And they’ve quickly developed a loyal following from a new generation of car enthusiasts who appreciate their style, performance and affordability. Two cars that have defined this segment, the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution and Subaru Impreza WRX STI, are poised to take their game to the next level, extending their rivalry. While details about the all-new versions of these machines remain sketchy, we’ve uncovered a bagful of information that’ll give you a good idea of what to expect when they hit their respective dealerships in early 2008.

• charles27 (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 10:27 pm

talked about evolution… hai.. this car no warranty.
    how to buy neh. not sure about the spare part.

at least subaru got dealership, warranty, and parts.
    not so scare for these.

haiya… y i still like evo x more neh! :(

• L (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 11:50 pm

wow.. More like last last generation corolla without the tail to me. Still prefer the old impreza coz to me they have character that scream ‘boxer’ rather than this one. I’ve seen it in person and sorry subaru design wise, not impressed. Nexxxt!

• hamster (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 11:59 pm

VW Golf GTI vs This Impreza on track and the Golf won. 197 FWD beat 4WD 224hp?? Subaru screwed up somewhere…. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwJa1fftrr0

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 12:47 am

hamster…

bro…we already talk about it b4…under naza story…dat one wrx bro…not this wrx sti…dat wrx is useless…dis one still ok but i still prefer evo x la…more handsome n i think better than this…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 12:56 am

Paul Tan says: Er… Shannon Teoh lah, not me.
    —————————————————————-

What I meant was you are lucky cos you got Shannon as your eyes and ears sometimes, sorry man…

Paul Tan says: all in efforts to get stories to you guys! :D

• lchan (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 9:50 am

basically the screw up of the car is the tyres (other then the 4-auto and 5-man). OEM provides tyres that do not seem to fit the cars ability (A repeat on all previous wrx..). It is a waste, that is why possibly fifth gear tested the golf to be the faster car round the track.

• I my (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 11:13 am

Still don’t like the rear tail light…. prefer red then white/clear light. but for the new DCCD & SI-Drive the car should hv more fun in the corner.

• azlan87 (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 9:41 pm

woohoo.. my fav car.. i love boxers engine.
    the silver looks nice and very petite but ‘garang’ at the same time.

• Kaboda (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:16 pm

Damn Ugly La !

• TLE (Member) on Apr 23, 2008 at 3:37 pm

Good review and pictures.

• mrbola2 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 10:25 pm

yes the new WRX STI are ugly in the pictures
    but try to see it in front of your eyes
    the car is like nothing that ever see
    even the EVO X is boring to see in front of the eyes
    coz the car is sedan for a very long time
    i don’t what other people think but i like the new WRX STI style
    more like WRC car

• i bought one. advice to potential buyer is, buy AP car (imported). not from franchise, screw up service on sales and after sales. they will try to void warranty anyhow. good car end up with wrong company and wrong people!

• WRX STI on Jul 02, 2009 at 12:20 am

charles27 said,

April 13, 2008 @ 10:27 pm

" haiya… buy sport car oso not many place to race on it laa. Last time at sungai besi road, UKM side, got a ah beng.. so lou drive sti like a idiot at my back. i trying to pull left and let it through, half way already, he still cut from inside somemore. fork. lucky not kiss. Driving fast is OK, but driving SIAO is not OK at all.

subaru is a very good car. actually been admire this car long time since. sadly, those ah beng is giving it a bad name. So, no subaru for me. When look for fast car, look for with class.. even a golf, or bmw 1 series, these are giving u a civilized impression. Mature at least! "

Some ah beng with very rich dads drive STIs, yes.

NOT all STI owners are ah beng, All right?

But some car lovers like STI like me and driving STI is all about the handling and yes i admit i like the boxer sound. yes, i own an WRX STI…

If you see a guy driving EVO siao, then you classify them ALL as ah beng also?

I like EVO also, dont get me wrong…

If you see a guy driving BMW siao, then wat? not ah beng?

( no offenders to any BMW owners)

Just because you see STI, EVO cut here and there then all ah beng la?

Pls grow up a bit here, there is bound to be ah bengs driving all sorts of cars from local makes to sports cars…

If you like a mature BMW or golf GTI, go ahead buy it.. ( If you can afford)

Talk is Cheap and action always speaks louder than words…

Think before you criticise …

• Calvin on Jul 24, 2010 at 12:08 pm

A lot of ubiquitous people posting random and unrelated remarks here. LOL.

Nice review, paultan, but the photographer didn’t do a good job :P the pan shots were a little blurred out. HEHE. =D

• alfar on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:08 pm

fantastic

• I was looking at the 2008 S-GT and noticed that the Max on the speedometer is 180KM/h. Is that a joke/error? A 247bhp car can only make 180?

I read that the top speed is about 240Km/h so why limit the speedo?