Skoda to put Skoda Yeti into production

Skoda Yeti

Skoda has confirmed that it will be putting the Skoda Yeti into production, after the Skoda Yeti Design Study displayed at the Geneva Motor Show was quite well received by the public. After the success of the Yeti concept, Skoda also produced a two-seater pick-up version that used a hard top that could be removed for an open top driving experience.

The name for the new car has not been decided yet, so the production version could use the Yeti name again, or an entirely different name could be used. The production Skoda Yeti will be a unique Skoda in the sense that will use some parts from the Volkswagen family parts bin much like how the Skoda Roomster was developed – it used the Polo chassis front and the Mk4 Golf chassis rear.

You may think why bother when the Volkswagen Tiguan is there for Skoda to use, but the concept Yeti was a little SUV-like thing smaller than the Tiguan. Think of it as something positioned somewhere between a CrossPolo and a Tiguan.

Three more images after the jump.

Skoda Yeti

Skoda Yeti

Skoda Yeti

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 1:50 am

whats up with the gear shift?

remove the roof rail.and a soft version of the Honda crossroad can be seen.

• azrai (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 6:54 am

Son of Kangoo and Hummer.

• waimak (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:26 am

Well, some say, Skoda to Volkswagen is like a beautiful lady with hairy armpit!

• LHQ (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:48 am

The rear is sort of Renault-ish and most Skodas I’ve seen here aren’t as good as this.

• DtG (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:56 am

i love the looks of this car… in fact, one of my main objectives of visiting klims06 was to take a look at it and i wasn’t let down…

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 3:45 pm

what made the design ‘potong’ to me is because its a 3 doors type
    if its 5 doors also i dont like

wahahahahaha ehem hmm sorry…

• raptorclans (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 4:18 pm

waimak, why do u say Skoda to Volkswagen is like a beautiful lady with hairy armpit? hehe well, i think they’re pretty decent, after all they rate as one of the more reliable brands in the world :)

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 4:57 pm

nice…i dun mind to buy sumting like this

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Me too. Still a beautiful lady with hairy armpit is scary.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 10:10 pm

Its a Skoda version of Honda Element. Why Honda has not marketed the Element world wide? It does work well. Now Skoda capitalise on this market.Thats just it. Looks the same everywhere. Auto transmission very hard to shift is it? Need stick like plane throttle there. LOL

• I think the Look of the car is nice and interior is coolllll…..