Daimler to introduce two electric cars in 2010

smart ed

Daimler AG is planning to launch two electric vehicles in 2010 – an electric-powered smart and an electric-powered Mercedes-Benz. These electric vehicles will be powered by batteries, but a limited run of fuel-cell powered vehicles will also be introduced in 2010.

You can expect these vehicles to be smaller models such as the next generation Mercedes-Benz A-Class or whichever vehicle replaces the A-Class as we know it in Mercedes-Benz’s model line-up.

There is currently a batch of 100 electric-powered smart fortwos crunning in the UK, modified by Zytek Electric Vehicles. It is called the smart ed (ed = electric drive). These are powered by a 30kW (41 horsepower) electric motor at the rear, with sodium-nickel chloride batteries. It can travel a maximum of 110km on a full charge, and can charge up from 30% to 80% in four hours, or 100% in eight hours. It goes to a top speed of 120km/h.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:41 am

i can imagine a time in the future when more of us use electric cars. and like how we use our handphones today, AAM will probably be getting a lot of calls that go “I need a tow, forgot to charge my car last night la…”

• amer (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:52 am

like last topic, only rich people can have car like this.. poor like me?.. petrol je lah…

• Cedric Ang (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 11:05 am

No longer can we have stop and refuel in 10 minutes in Shell station anymore. Now, any “refuel” would have to be done at home. I wonder by then, would they sell powerpacks, perhaps extra batterie cells?

What is interesting is to calculate how much power that a car would need to travel say, 300km at 110km/h. Convert that power to the cost to generate that, either via solar power, or fossil fuel. Perhaps it would be more damaging to the environment than to have petrol itself.

• azrai (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 11:57 am

To generate electricity, we still need those fossil fuel right. Think about it.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 12:57 pm

well yeah.. and some like in sarawak and sabah use hydro powerplants.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 3:28 pm

unless we go nuclear of course..

when everything is running well.. nuclear is the most efficient, and zero emissions.. the only problem then of course, is having a special containment area to store the nuclear waste after its used up by the powerplant.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 4:30 pm

Yes, but power generating station uses fossil fuel way more efficiently than what our engines will do. Ok, some will argue there are transmission losses…but even then, its still more efficient than our engines that does what? 20% efficiency?

Besides, we have alternative sources like hydro.

As for support calls, its just a matter of planning and awareness. Back then we used analogue mobiles that lasted barely 8 hours per charge on standby (am I showing my age? lol)….. battery technology will improve. These ranges are not even using better (but more expensive) lithium ion batteries, so you can expect bettery range with them.

As for the poorer not getting electric cars….it leave to our own local inventors to come out with one instead of relying on Proton or Perodua. Look at it this way, ask any electrical engineer….pure electric cars are really not that complicated. I’m surprised no one actually came out with retrofit kits for our kancils yet. JPJ problems maybe?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 8:17 pm

Will it burst our TNB power plant when we all switch to electric cars. In fact TNB=Total National Blackout. We may end up no electricity more often.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:40 pm

Just tot of an idea. If electric cars really take over in future. I wonder how those ppl stay in apartment, flat or condo gonna charge their car? Mabbe tat time will have electric station rather than petrol station? How fast they can get the technology in to fast charge the car? Average now we take 10 mins to fill up full tank at petrol station. If charging? Take same 10min or >10min? It’ll then cause congestion like NGV now.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:49 pm

The first electric car was already dead. Now new electric cars? Need fossil fuel to make electricity, looks clean where you are, but dirty where the power is coming from

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 5:03 am

ya, how about those living in kampung and do not have electricity? They need to use bicycle dynamo to generate it? hehe,…

• rexis (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 11:14 am

jolly_idiot,

In theory, no, it wont burst TNB. If everyone only go to work during day time, and charge it up at night. Night time is off peak bour and TNB should have more to spare. It can even utilize off peak power generation capacity.

Electric car efficiency?
    Electric motor can run up to 90% efficiency, and battery can be recharged at 90% efficiency, while coal fired power stations generate power at more then 60% efficiency. Which means we will have total heat converted to mobility efficiency of >49%

Normal petrol car efficiency is a bout 25% from the chemical energy of petrol to kinetic energy.

Furthermore, we are able to generate electric energy from a lot of energy source, therefore enabling a more diversified source of mobility energy, rather then petroleum alone.

It is said that the Tesla electrical sport car running cost is lower then motorcycle.

Why not electric?