Terengganu Mercedes-Benz: What the industry says

What the people in the industry say…

• Something is seriously wrong. The figures are more than the cost of the car. The only way is if you’re completely rebuilding the car – changing the engine and gearbox and most of the body panels. Otherwise it’s impossible unless Terengganu has been using the cars to haul timber or as oil tankers to smuggle fuel into Thailand
  • Surely you have to sign the quotation before accepting service work. Are they signing with their eyes closed? Doesn’t the finance/accounts guy raise a red flag? RM3,500 per month for service? This car must be falling to pieces on a daily basis.

Read Shannon Teoh’s story at The Malaysian Insider

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:12 am

thats pretty true paul. i mean , heck, as much i agree proton is bad (and good in some ways), theres no way to rack up to the price of a car. if the logic prevails, should have sold the troubled car and buy a new one

• monkeysam99 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:22 am

Even if this is “legally” done, any human with average IQ know this is CORRUPTION!!!

Is our government so blind? or they really think Malaysians are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO STUPID!!!

So who is the dumb ass here? Government or the rakyat that voted for this government? hmm…. after all, maybe Malaysians are really this dumb!

• xseelan (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:35 am

its the bolehland…..
    we can sure expect this kinda off coments…. hahaha

• 2 dogs (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:43 am

One word – CORRUPTION, everything else is just Bullshit!

• ganz (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:49 am

now u know…what the hack of those in G do everyday :D

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:57 am

Orang BUta pun boleh lihat itu RASUAH lah kawan, MAKAN MINUM MAIN itulah kerja mereka!

• jaygan (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 12:24 pm

This is boleh land, anything is pun boleh ma. ha ha ha

• Cire (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 1:48 pm

Corruptions, needless to say more.

• raverus (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 4:32 pm

So what? Corruption is a norm here, because of..?

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Guys – first of all, I hope all of us can focus on the matter at hand and avoid trashing Proton. Whether or not the Perdana is poor value when it comes to servicing costs isn’t an issue to us. It is an old car and Govt are obliged to use it for official purposes as far as we can remember.

So it never was a case of Perdana vs. E200K as the Terengganu officials would want you to believe. They are just manufacturing a so-called justifiable reason to buy a luxury car with public funds.

In doing so they have recklessly damaged the image of the National Car company and place doubt in the state govt use of public funds.

Let it be a lesson to us so as to not be self-indulgent and reckless in carrying on our daily affairs. It has its ill consequences.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 5:15 pm

I say Everything is WRONG.

Waitminit!!

Maybe the high cost was due to custom made mod on each of the MERC. The state Govt. hired Chip Foose to OVERHAUL their cars…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 6:47 pm

Malaysia is a rich country, but so missmanaged I don’t actually understand how its still there surviving. We need to have a system like UK, all watchdogs. When we had a proposal to make a police watchdog, police reject. How to become 1st world mentality if cannot accept critisim

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 8:46 pm

merc?proton? both sux

• ckcheong (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 9:25 pm

This kind of corruption very common in our country. Don’t be surprise if you see more in other areas.
    I was wondering how much was Mr Abudllah and Mr Wajib’s kereta Poton maintenance cost?

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:21 pm

1st of all… congratulate to terengganu folks for choosing BN. they drive mercs while you drive kap chai. terengganu boleh.

• capeplates (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 1:38 am

Corruption is a way of life to this regime. Their actions against the own population are as bad as Mugabe but I dont hear demands for greater sanctions etc against them

• ericfoong81exe@ (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 10:54 am

MALAYSIA BOLEH…..what so ever, CORRUPTION also boleh mah….RM 3.5k maintainance fees and only 17% is lodged to service at the Proton Eon service center. Means the rest can all “buta buta” bill from nowhere since serviced their car out of the Eon service center. Think those money already taken to paid for their own mercz installment…..

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 12:21 pm

Trengganu citizen now get ‘punished’ even they are vote for BN.
    and in this 4 years to come.. they are living in ‘sakit hati to BN’ every day.
    but they have to wait 4 years more for PRU13.
    Such a pain.. indeed

• lwkon1 (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 1:24 pm

All govt cars are purchased tax and duty free. I think the purchase price of the mercs should be lower than reported in the press. It is definitely cheaper to purchase and maintain japanese or continental cars if they were tax free. I think it’s a no brainer choice. Imagine proton and perodua’s position if the free market were to rule our automotive industrY?

• torque (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 2:06 pm

Nonsense! :-( Nothing what they said can back up their excuses to purchase any luxury cars using the people’s money!!

• Archer (Member) on Jul 30, 2008 at 8:59 am

Why must the Mercedes be the lowest cost to maintain? At that monthly maintenance rate that they claim for the Perdana V6, any 15 year old banger will be cheaper not just a brand new Mercedes.

There is definitely some monkey business going on and surprised that the state financial controllers did not raise any questions prior to the last general elections. On the other hand do our Ministers really deserve such luxury cars? I don’t think so, it’s simply abuse of the tax payer’s money.