Nissan develops “ECO pedal” for fuel economy

Nissan ECO Pedal

Most manufacturers encourage fuel efficient driving behaviour by rewarding the driver with a little indicator whenever the driver is driving in a fuel efficient manner. Honda uses a little green ECO light, and BMW has the classic real time fuel consumption analog meter to show how much fuel you’re using.

Nissan Motor Co is taking this one step further by developing an “ECO pedal”, which is an accelerator pedal that will push back the driver’s foot when it senses excess pressure according to driving conditions that could lead to poor fuel economy. This may annoy the driver if he is really in a hurry to go somewhere so this ECO pedal feature will have an option to turn it off.

According to Nissan, the ECO pedal combined with a real time fuel consumption display on the instrument cluster could reduce fuel consumption by between 5 to 10 percent depending on driving conditions, purely by encouraging better driving habits.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:08 pm

i think the eco light will be useful and simple enough for most of us. eco pedal seems too complicated, and its reliability and maintanence, IMHO isnt as good as the simpler ECO LIGHT.

just my 2 cts

• torque (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Paul, I have to agree with you on the option to turn it off. If not then no fun la driving it…might as well let the damn car drive itself la like that! Man, technology does comes with “price”.

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:23 pm

all the bhp point will be at waste.. for this ECO pedal will not let u use all of it

• ly60 (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 5:33 pm

Nissan Motor Co is taking this one step further by developing an “ECO pedal”, which is an accelerator pedal that will push back the driver’s foot when it senses excess pressure according to driving conditions that could lead to poor fuel economy.

For driver who like rev, no syok already liao. The accelerator like lawan tauke only.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 6:11 pm

brilliant

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 6:23 pm

Some drivers really have no “skill” in driving lightly that Nissan had to come out with this kind of device. I will be totally annoyed when my car decides how much I can use the pedal. Imagine getting stuck in some lumpur where you need to press fully with people pushing at the back of the car to get you out of it. This device will not allow you to do that then :P

• rt (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 7:41 pm

I have this idea or a while.

Instead of having eco pedal, we could opt for “sticky pedal”.
    This will really redefine drive-by-wire.

User would be able to choose from sticky pedal and normal pedal.
    when they choose sticky pedal, the could also choose the “eco mode” or “power mode”.

At the dashboard, there will be 2 speed indicator:
    1. actual speed
    2. intended speed

For example, in sticky pedal mode, if I am driving at 20kph and want the car to go to 50kph, I press the pedal until the intended speed goes to 50kph. My car will slowly catchup with the speed depending on my mode – eco or power.
    When I release the pedal, the car will maintain at its actual speed at the preselected intended speed.

This would be similar to Acceel and Decel mode in “cruise control”,
    As such, if I put on the brake, the sticky pedal will be turned off.

The sticky pedal could also replaced by a rotary knob or similar stuffs.

anyway, on the nissan “eco-pedal”. I think it is not necessary.
    We could just have the car in std mode or eco mode switch.
    If I put in the eco-mode, no matter how I slam into the accelerator, the car will just accelerate at the optimum fuel-saver acceleration.

No need to push back the driver’s foot. Just ignore it!

rt.

• csv (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:29 pm

it’s innovative and stupid at the same time. pedal is there for us to accelerate.

if we need to overtake, how? or got emergency situation like kena mat rempit chase? or robbers chase?

i also think eco light good. or a voice that says “you’re driving uneconomically, please slow down.”

woohoo, i patent it! carmakers please buy from me.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:38 pm

This feature is done purely for the noobs. I think a proper training for accelerating and car control is better than this feature if u want to encourage better driving habits. For example, I can notice some drivers like to brake for no reason when driving on a straight or cutting corners when the speed is ridiculously slow. There’s no joy of driving except if u want to get a mode of transport la…

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:16 am

Porkbutcher, give some face la. Are we so different from noobs when we first started driving?
    Some of the driver really have heavy foot and they got use to it. However,
    Eco pedal wouldn’t sound good if one really needs to go fast for some reason. i would rather want them go come out a new fuel source or new engine that is powerful and yet fuel economy.
    Disobeying the master’s comment is one of the annoying yet dangerous thing to happen on the road. We all think about how it function as normal, but if we put it to the extent when the sensors are broken, that car just don’t move at all despite pushing hard on the pedal because the push back was jammed.

Why don’t Nissan/ G come out with any special training and educate their driver on how to drive economically.