2009 Honda Fit for US market unveiled!

Honda Fit

Okay, so we’ve seen the Japanese market Honda Fit and Fit RS with the 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre engines, and the UK market Honda Jazz with the 1.2 litre and 1.4 litre engines and i-SHIFT gearbox. Before we see the Malaysian/ASEAN spec Jazz introduced here sometime this month, Honda has also unveiled the US version of the Honda Fit.

If you notice they are all basically the same car but with different engine and transmission options as well as minor styling changes here and there. The Japanese, UK and American models all have different front bumper designs. If you exclude the Japanese Fit RS, the American 2009 Honda Fit definitely has one of the more sportier styling elements out of the whole international range.

While the Japanese and UK cars have similiar tail lamps, the tail lamps of the US version have the same shape but a different lense design. The Thai version also has a different tail lamp design with more red than crystal as compared to its twins from the other regions, which is likely the version we will get.

Only one engine options is available in the US – a 1.5 litre i-VTEC inline-4 engine with either a 5-speed manual or a 5-speed auto, although it’s expected that a next generation 1.3 litre IMA gasoline-electric hybrid will be dumped into the Fit at a later date. Paddle shifters are available, and Honda also offers a sat nav system with the car.

More images after the jump.

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

Honda Fit

PHOTO GALLERY: 2009 Honda Fit (USDM)
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:36]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 1:43 am

front bumper reminds me of Civic Type R

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 6:01 am

US version looks nice too. Interior panel recycled from other Honda’s-should bring cost down

• abtm (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 7:43 am

the front actually looks like a DC5 Integra

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 9:05 am

Malaysia is the so called biggest market for passenger cars.

Is this a true or valid statement ? We Malaysians will always be the last in line compared to our buddies in Singapore and Thailand when coming to car launches.

Honda even have assembly plant in Melaka but I already saw the 2009 Jazz in Singapore for 2 months. And even when launched, the specs are already altered to meet the pricing….and we even have to pay higher based on your salary per capita. WTF.

Paul,

Can u explain, if can why we always be the last to get the car launched in Malaysia….is our G not friendly enuff or the TIGER is scaring other car makers away.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 9:24 am

Actually, having been in the US for two years USDM Japanese cars always get the worst specs along with the hideous red colored signal lights albeit they’re the cheapest even after conversion. As for why Malaysians are always the last to get the car launched, I believe it’s because of our overly inflated car prices. As a Honda Fit/Jazz in Malaysia is considered a luxury car rather than a basic car, they have to change their marketing strategy and make the Fit feel abit more high class.

• altimi (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 9:40 am

Wow, this one sure looks way better than JDM version………….

• KF (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 10:22 am

From the pics, I notice the 2009 Honda Fit USDM doesn’t have a flat floor ? I wonder why ?

• ignas (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 11:56 am

drool….drool and drooling…

what to do, there are even other malaysians are so proud of national cars that tell us to give national car ‘company’ another chance, after all those fantastic screw ups. buy national cars, support national car industry and protect national car industry. tax other cars ridiculously expensive because malaysia boleh! we even come out with our own 1.3 Saga! its better, it has state of the art design, with the modern and advancing technologies, better fuel economical, and best part of all, its the car we malaysian can afford! yeah!

• altimi (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:12 pm

“KF said,

August 6, 2008 @ 10:22 am

From the pics, I notice the 2009 Honda Fit USDM doesn’t have a flat floor ? I wonder why ?”

4WD tunnel…..?

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 2:25 pm

Looks more sharp aihn’t it?
    A great change.
    Love the US bodykit design.

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Certainly looks attractive – if it performs as well as the UK Jazz it could have a bright future stateside

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 4:24 pm

the us version is the worst

• 3S (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 5:20 pm

New Honda Fit look fantastic, but if the price is about RM 110k, then i will buy Honda Civic 1.8.

• yippi33 (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 10:09 am

“KF said,

From the pics, I notice the 2009 Honda Fit USDM doesn’t have a flat floor ? I wonder why ?”

>u mean the one below the passengers seat?? i think its flat once the back seat is fold back to position..

• KF (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 10:31 am

yippi33 said,

August 7, 2008 @ 10:09 am

“KF said,

>u mean the one below the passengers seat?? i think its flat once the back seat is fold back to position..

No. I was referring to the transmission tunnel hump which was not present in the previous Honda Jazz. I remembered it not being there hence the term flat floor.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 12:19 pm

Just another LOW COST Budget car from JAPAN. WHat so good about it?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 12:21 pm

This fit is mostly target for low budget people at Japan mainly use for ladies and old felow, why RM110K at MALAYSIA? GILA.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 7:02 pm

yea. should be 60k rm. not 110k. what a whopper.

not a bad car. just that guys shouldnt be seen driving it.

• me8311 on Dec 14, 2009 at 7:13 am

not a bad car. just that guys shouldnt be seen driving it.<——y not?

i dream to hv one since last 5 years..when i was in college..white colour.

how much ? i hope i will buy it by this year..