Toyota Spider Concept based on iQ for Tokyo 2009?

Toyota iQ

The smart fortwo spawned the smart roadster, which was designed to give people the experience of old compact and light British roadsters such as the Triumph Spitfire and the MG MGB. The Japanese are at it again, taking an existing concept and innovating it for their own product.

Compact city car – check. Name that signifies intelligence (smart… iQ?) – check. You can probably already expect that the next step is for the Toyota iQ (shown above) to be followed by a compact roadster that’s designed to be both economical and fun at the same time, as long as you can fit in it of course! And after that came the smart forfour equivalent, this will come in the form of the next generation Toyota Yaris based on the iQ’s platform components.

Germany’s Auto Motor und Sport claims that the iQ-based roadster is in fact in the works and a concept version will be unveiled at next year’s 2009 Tokyo Motor Show in October 2009. An indicated name is the Toyota Spider Concept.

But its not like Toyota doesn’t already have such a product, its just not sold under the Toyota brand. It’s called the Daihatsu Copen.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• db8 (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:25 am

i hate cars dat have nose …

• CAKAP.Net (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 11:31 am

this car for sure can provide us more parking space and traffic jam friendly :D

• EnochKeng (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:24 pm

wow another Smart alike car..hope the price would be cheaper compare to Smart. RM40k anyone? lol

(*no prove or evidence of the price i posted is just a joke so dont ask me about “where’s the prove”)

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 12:43 pm

40K? are you kidding?
    It’s toyota! ‘so called’ better quality!.
    It must be sold over RM60K + another 10K for the T badge and don’t forget add somemore 10K for DVVT+i badge. Soo cheap what?

Paul. IMHO… The problem of car like this in Malaysia, if it sell well.. for the ‘city car’.. but I do believe.. many of the owner of car like this will use it for ‘Balik Kampung’ too..

But I really agree.. if more car like this in city, we might get less traffic jam, (parking space remain the same). but highway maybe jammed more (slow car on the fast lane as usual :D ) ..

For this kind of small car, below 500cc it should be price below 25K. Or smaller cc let say 250CC below 20K of price..

And gov must give some intesive for this (traffic jammed reducing what).. Roadtax cheaper.. insurance too.. toll 50% less etc… Sure..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:13 pm

frumpy looking car

• ignas (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 4:17 pm

db8 said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 11:25 am

————————
    yea, and it started first with yaris, then yaris sedan…looks…. well, not my cup of tea.

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:51 pm

db8 said,

October 22, 2008 @ 11:25 am

———–
    like face-lifted MyVi?lol~

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Stop throwing ur idea on price for Toyota to get their reference. You’re expecting that 80k from this mini car? Well, i’m not. It’s either not selling well on their “happy price”, or sell everywhere on consumer “happy+comfortable price”.I would say 60k.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:35 pm

a fiat 500 is much better

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:37 pm

n8cky said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 5:55 pm
    I would say 60k.

60K? for a small car like this?
    that’s still overprice.
    it’s should only below 30K.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 10:42 am

it is 30k. but when come malaysia its become 300k.