New Ford Focus Zetec S for the UK market

Ford Focus Zetec S

Ford has spiced up the Ford Focus Zetec for the UK market with a single alphabet suffix that means a few things, namely a full bodykit, 17 inch alloy wheels, aluminium-look foot pedals, and an S badge on the front cover. This new equipment level is called the Ford Focus Zetec S and is available for both 3-door and 5-door bodies.

The Zetec engine range (125 PS 1.8L, 145 PS 2.0L, 115 PS 1.8L TDCi, 136 PS 2.0L TDCi) is maintained, with the addition of the 115 PS 1.6 litre Ti-VCT engine. Ti-VCT stands for Twin Independent Variable Cam Timing, which uses variable valve timing on both the intake and exhaust valves of the engine. It’s got a pretty punchy torque curve, as although peak torque of 155Nm is achieved at 4,200rpm, Ford claims that alot of that is already there from 2,000rpm onwards, though a percentage is not stated.

Each Zetec S model costs approximately £750 above the equivalent Zetec model, while Ford says the Zetec S accessories such as the bodykit and wheels would typically cost over £1,600 if purchased separately.

As usual, more images after the jump.

Ford Focus Zetec S

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redwings (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 8:08 am

The front doesn’t look clean enough….Looks very complicated…

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 8:17 am

Exterior still the same….:(

• lchan (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 9:18 am

its really a ashame that ford just couldn’t sell the focus, or is it the typical malaysian honda/toyota mentality that killed them?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 11:09 am

Malaysian market always on Jappy or German. Just look at other brand like Audi, VW, Saab, Alfa, Fiat, Peugeot, Alado, Cherry QQ etc etc. All not doing well in Malaysia. If we were to buy these Msia infamous brand, then we’ll have to bear for the extremely steep depreciation value on it.

Imagine those Alfa or Fiat owners, how much they bought their and how much they sell their car? The car itself is as good as BMW or Toyota, but depreciation is HUGE!

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 12:11 pm

Face lifted…0_o?

• jen (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 1:02 pm

Quality aside, Ford is overpriced with poor design.
    Just look at the front grille.
    Image without those aerokits…the design is plain and outdated.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 1:30 pm

I’d throw away those front bumpers.

It’s too much.

But,
    IMHO
    Ford looks like they’ve run outta ideas with their car designs.

Every bit looks almost the same.

And With that, fells awfully dated.

• jinks (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 3:10 pm

jolly_idiot said,

October 24, 2008 @ 11:09 am

Malaysian market always on Jappy or German. Just look at other brand like Audi, VW, Saab, Alfa, Fiat, Peugeot, Alado, Cherry QQ etc etc. All not doing well in Malaysia. If we were to buy these Msia infamous brand, then we’ll have to bear for the extremely steep depreciation value on it.

Imagine those Alfa or Fiat owners, how much they bought their and how much they sell their car? The car itself is as good as BMW or Toyota, but depreciation is HUGE!

As much as I agree with you, you sort of missed the fact that Audi and VW are very much German as BMW or Merc. The more accurate statement would be that Msians prefer Japanese makes or the good old ‘father’s luxury’ car.
    No prize on guessing why ppl go for the jap cars over their euro counterparts, but the reason behind most ppl buying BMW/Merc is that these marques carry the word ‘luxury’ and ‘exclusivity’ to the average Msian. And I can’t blame them as they don’t have much to compare to, its a clear cut choice between paying a huge tax for ‘exclusivity’ vs ‘good-build-quality’ jap cars vs ‘homemade-milo-tin’ local cars.
    It would take time & money for companies like Ford, Audi, VW and the likes to break into the Msian market but the main thing holding them back is probably the potential of our market. If they don’t see many ppl buying their models locally, they won’t commit those funds explicitly. They’d rather concentrate on expanding other markets and let this relatively ‘small’ market go.

Aside from all that, I’m all ears when it comes to a new Focus Zetec! :D
    It checks all the boxes for a typical Zetec S, but they styling… oh my..
    Is it just me or do those front and back bumpers look a bit plastic.

• lchan (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 3:59 pm

I dont doubt this zetec s really stands to “sucks”, but if you have driven a volvo S40, the focus has almost a similar ride and slightly less on quality. Its firmish and quiet like a european car.Unfortunately, all the talk about Malaysian liking european car is really sort off like a misconception because in reality, we still go for the soggy japanese rides. Partly, it was Ford’s stupid marketing department who priced the car at 130k initially before dropping the price.

It was a case of “yeah..the focus can whack corolla/civic…so…fair what if we price it against them. Should have an edge since ours is new model and toyota/honda are old”. This is typical stupid marketing thinking. Another example….VW R32 priced against BMW 130i.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:08 pm

still one of the all-time best looking hatchback besides Clio and Civic 3-dr…

sad to say that most rakyat dont appreciate Ford and many other good manufacturers like Audi, Alfa Romeo and Volvo…..

still thinking Merc and BMW (and the Toy-otak for some) are the best…. typical mentality….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:33 pm

THIS CAR IS FOR PEOPLE WHO WANTS A FORD FOCUS ST BUT CAN’T AFFORD 1

• szw (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 7:36 pm

when is RS coming out ?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 7:48 pm

TOPGEAR SAID 2009

• csv (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 11:37 pm

haha, i prefer the Kuga and the RS.

wowowowow. pocket rocket demon man, that RS. nice bodykits also.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:42 am

Not a very nice upgrade to me

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:37 am

that chequered flag sticker is very cheap looking

• shooter (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:08 pm

it would be a better package if it had a factory tuning option that boosts the angine output a bit (10-15%), to go with the looks and the superb dynamics.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 3:57 pm

there is, its called montune

• generix (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 11:18 am

In m’sia, whenever i saw a ford focus sedan or the hatchback, i really respect the owner becoz they have the guts to own a ford focus. imho, ford focus is one of the good car to drive compared to the japs..

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:14 pm

are the ford focus in malaysia from philippines or germany

• AM2 (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 2:00 pm

From Ford Philippines:
    “The Santa Rosa facility produces the Ford Focus and Escape, and the Mazda 3 and Tribute, and exports to ASEAN markets that include Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia and Vietnam. Over the five year period, revenues for Ford’s vehicle exports total more than US$635 million.”

The Ford Philippines Assembly Plant is located at the Greenfield Automotive Park in Sta. Rosa, Laguna, Philippines.

Ford recently invited the media (local and from other ASEAN countries) to test drive the new 2009 Kinetic Design Ford Focus, the main feature of the even was the 2.0 TDCi Powershift model.