Peugeot 207CC in Malaysia for RM158,888

Peugeot 207CC

The photo above is quite appealing isn’t it? A convertible, cruising by the seaside, in its “natural environment”. The cheapest brand new convertible that you can buy in Malaysia right now is the Peugeot 207CC from Nasim Sdn Bhd, priced at RM158,888.

For that price you get the variant powered by the normally aspirated 1.6L producing 120hp at 6,000rpm and 160Nm of torque at 4,250rpm (88% or 140Nm available from only 2,000rpm). This is the same BMW-Peugeot Prince engine found in the MINI Cooper. It has Valvetronic throttle-less operation and variable valve timing. Power goes to the front wheels via a 4-speed Tiptronic System Porsche gearbox.

Equipment includes 17 inch alloy wheels, automatic light-sensing headlamps, fog lamps for both the fonrt and rear, electrically adjustable and folding mirrors, dual zone climate control air conditioning, a 6-speaker MP3 CD player with AUX input, an auto-dimming rear view mirror, an air conditioned glovebox, 4 airbags (front and side) with a deactivation switch for the front passenger, and of course the very thing that allows Peugeot to call it a “coupe-convertible” – the one touch folding hard top. With the top up, boot space is 449 litres but when the top comes down its reduced to 187 litres.

5 colours are available – Thorium Grey, Aluminium, Obsidian Black, Neysha Blue and Asmara Red. The 207CC is a 2+2 seater – for those who need a true 4 seater convertible Peugeot offers the 307CC but unfortunately not in Malaysia, perhaps for the moment. Look after the jump for a photo gallery and a video.

PHOTO GALLERY: Peugeot 207CC
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:127]

VIDEO: Peugeot 207CC

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• theanswer (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 11:32 am

nice n pretty car. its hard to find small car with convertible..but the price..pheww..

• EddyHyip (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 11:32 am

Nasim is bringing in 207cc but not the 5 doors hatchback.
    It gives me a speculation that Nasim might be assembling 207 hatchback in Malaysia and sell them at cheaper price…. just like the 407.

what do you think?

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 11:45 am

the car looks good …… but pricing is on the high side, how much was the previous 206CC was selling ? about RM130K ??

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 11:50 am

Malaysian are always price sensitive. I don’t think such price will make this a hot cakes. I may say most malaysian may go for Camry or Accord for spending this much of money.

• generix (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 11:51 am

maybe u’re right EddyHyip…..

but i still remember when Peugeot produce the 206 version 180 hp. it was a damn fast car in the UK during that time. Nway i am looking forward for the 307 cc because 207cc is quite small laaa……

• ipohcurrymee (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 11:54 am

the interior seem small la… feeling like more suitable for ladies….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 12:01 pm

it wud make sense if a rich teenage guy or girl owns it…. for adults or for those got married, this car is a piece of crap at this price tag !!!! Most people wud prefer a camry or accord at this price !!!!!!

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 12:04 pm

If they assemble this locally it’d be cool… which brings us to the question, when is a 207 Bestari coming? >.<

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 12:26 pm

Buyers for this segment is looking for the “cool” factor, not so much for the price. Those who can afford this would probably use this for a relaxed Sunday drive or to a special event where they can be seen with the tops down.
    It’s on my “wish list” as with the new Mazda MX-5. Sadly it would probably not come true unless…….

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 12:27 pm

Y can;t Naza come out with a better name instead of Bestari? I would say Peugeot deserve a better name.

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 1:04 pm

I’m not sure how well this will sell with our weather.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 1:48 pm

There is one Peugoet 206cc in Kota Bharu. And as far as I have seen the car all the time, driving or parking, I have never seen it with the roof down. So not sure why buy this car really. Just to look different. Its not practical at all. Mat salleh will like this if they want to tan their skin. Everyone in Malaysia wants fair & lovely skin.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 1:55 pm

the first of 207cc is sold out, so it shows that there are quite a few malaysians who love the car for it’s looks. just go to any showroom, all the cars have buyers names already. anyway, it is not going to be a volume seller and nasim is just offering it as an extension of the range of peugeot cars here. more variety i guess.

last price of the 206cc if i remember correctly was about rm150k and it is less equipped compared to the 207cc.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 2:08 pm

oops, i meant to say the first ‘batch’ of 207cc is sold out.

• awak (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 2:21 pm

valvetronic,
    valvematic,
    a vtech,

these all are capable extracting torque at a very low engine revolution,
    this type of engine design is expensive, but probally worth an investment,

eg: 120 newton meter at 2000revolution/min

• abtm (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 2:34 pm

I once i saw 2 adults at the back of a 206CC, how? they must have no legs…

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 2:56 pm

car for ladies… :)

• droll (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 4:19 pm

nice but beyond the reach of mere mortals. sigh…. :)

• torque (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 4:22 pm

For me…I’ll rather go for the 308 GT which Nasim sell around RM159,999 for extra paaaaaaaaaaaaawaah (175 bhp and share the same engine as the Cooper S) and manual some more….fuh! That one is damn cun liao…

• lchan (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 4:59 pm

convertables are never cheap anyways. But I dont think it’s wise for naza to bring in the the 207cc because of our weather. Plus convertables are normally bought by wealthier people, and if they plan to buy a convertable, it would most like be very much more expensive brands/model. Of course there are exceptions, but i dont think it justifies it. The sales quantity just doesnt cut it.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 5:11 pm

in actual fact, i think we have some of the best weather for open top motoring. we get a lot of sun, which is exactly what you need.

in places like the UK, they sell tonnes of convertibles, and you see them everywhere. but the problem is, its cold, gloomy, cloudy and raining 80% of the time… even in summer. They’re all waiting and dying for that 20% window of good weather where they can get to enjoy top down motoring.

I think we’re lucky here, coz there are more opportunities for us to drive top down then they do in the uk.(southern californian weather would be best)

so i suppose its highly subjective what good and bad weather is for owning a convertible.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 5:43 pm

weather is the smallest factor when considering a convertible. it’s the ‘coolness’ factor that is valued most. also, for MOST convertibles, outright power is not a major consideration. looking great is a greater importance. the only other major consideration that i found out when considering a convertible is how many will fit into it. for the 207CC, it’s 2 adults in comfort and 2 very small kids in comfort. for more space, the 308CC makes more sense as it is sized like the VW EOS, the Megane CC and the Volvo C70 CC. but then again, the 308CC isn’t launched yet.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 6:31 pm

I really wonder when will Nasim will assemble the 207 and 308… By the way, 207CC is a very very good looking car.

• zoomming (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 6:56 pm

how much? 159k? hmmm..may be i just wait another 3 years and get 2nd hand one…2nd hand price? 50k may b…:)

• droll (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 7:47 pm

even if rich people buy convertibles for fun, i think this car might still sell – for the rich children of the rich people!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 9:33 pm

It’s amazing how Peugeot could make the good looking 206cc into another laughing shark with square teeth form France. sigh.

I’m sure this will be much better in terms of interior build quality, the 206cc had a mamak stall table plastic laden interior (albeit comfortable), and the best thing about the 206cc is its handling, you really got to drive one to experience it, it handles better than a bmw e46 3 series.

Gosh its ugly.

Bobby
    WheelsWeekly

• lchan (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 9:45 pm

its not so much the sun…its the humidity.

• maxtek (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 9:46 pm

Hey Paul… I think you’ve made a slight mistake… The Peugeot 207CC isn’t the CHEAPEST, NEW CC you can get in Malaysia, the Smart ForTwo Cabrio (though isn’t exactly “brand new”, been around for years…) retails for around RM90k… ;)

• maserati (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:01 pm

I rather save more money and get a Volkswagen Eos which is so much better.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:04 pm

droll said,
    October 28, 2008 @ 7:47 pm

even if rich people buy convertibles for fun, i think this car might still sell – for the rich children of the rich people!

I dont think so !!!! or maybe for rich people’s “girly” daughter but not for son !!!!

• gey2718 (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:46 pm

wow, my stream in singapore = 307 convertible price!!! attractive

• gey2718 (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:48 pm

gey2718 said,
    October 28, 2008 @ 10:46 pm

wow, my stream in singapore = 307 convertible price!!! attractive

sorry! should be 207 convertible, my previous ride – daihatsu copen also cheapest convertible in singapore, but think 207 more practical as it’s a 4-5 seater car, copen is 2 seater, no diff from bike….

• gey2718 (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:57 pm

pls don’t compare this car to any normal car, to construct a convertible is much tougher than a normal car, as a,b c pillar all missing, steel reinforcment should be done to different parts of the car to equalise back the stability, it’s definitely not chopping off the top of a kancil that simple…. pls learn to appreciate the technology, what same money for extra paaaaaaweh la (Mr torque mentioned)…. really naive.

• csv (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:08 am

eh no thank you, i can get 2nd hand one from 80k. i prefer eos. then again i never really liked convertibles. haha.

• food_fan (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:09 am

for those who are concern about the convertible car price, i got other option for you.. just wait for P1 that will roll out satria neo convertible.. hahahah.. its sure will go for below 100K… “you’ll get what you pay for”
    BTW: 308 GT much handsome looking for me.. ;)

• mukhri88 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:53 am

It’s a chick’s car, much like the miata. So if you’re a girl, and your dad has 150K to blow, then this is a cute car. On a clear day after 5:30pm it shouldn’t be too hot for a nice drive around the hood. Waving and high fiving with the neighbours.
    But if you guys in here want one, it’s okay too. Not that there’s anything wrong with being gay.

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:35 am

wah .. now sexist comment pulak.

keep it focus guys.

all in all, many people would find the 207CC is a desirable piece of engineering / social symbol / coolness status..

• waheng (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:03 am

convertible car ….. cause of bad weather at all time in Malaysia, i guess its machine will get rust after few years, owners pls stock WD-40 during hardware shop sales.

• torque (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:31 am

gey2718 said,
    October 28, 2008 @ 10:57 pm

pls don’t compare this car to any normal car, to construct a convertible is much tougher than a normal car, as a,b c pillar all missing, steel reinforcment should be done to different parts of the car to equalise back the stability, it’s definitely not chopping off the top of a kancil that simple…. pls learn to appreciate the technology, what same money for extra paaaaaaweh la (Mr torque mentioned)…. really naive.

Aiya! Always got people who never really understood what someone trying to point out….sigh! :-( Halo Sir, in which sentence did I ever wrote that indicate I’m comparing those two?! You expect ME to do a “silly” comparison between a coupe-convertible and a hatchback? It’s the PRICE la dei! All I just said is IF IT’S ME meaning…MY STINKING CHOICE, which there for what I’ll choose to spend my money on that price range…kapiss?!

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:34 am

need to mask your face if you are driving one behind a Felda lorry or a Transnasional bus on trunk road.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:03 pm

I quote:

mukhri88 said,

October 29, 2008 @ 8:53 am
    It’s a chick’s car, much like the miata. So if you’re a girl, and your dad has 150K to blow, then this is a cute car. On a clear day after 5:30pm it shouldn’t be too hot for a nice drive around the hood. Waving and high fiving with the neighbours.
    But if you guys in here want one, it’s okay too. Not that there’s anything wrong with being gay.

LOL, now I can’t buy this car, don’t want to be labeled as gay. Hahahaha.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 12:19 pm

cheh, nothing gay about the car. just slap on some sweet 18″ alloys and a mean body kit from rcline and it will not only be cool, it will also look downright mean, just specify black colour though.

http://www.rclinebyirmscher.de/index.php?todo=car&detail=exterieur&root=1&carid=20701

not sure where to tune the car though.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 2:20 pm

lowprofile, still a sotong in engineer boots. Go for 207GTi instead la.. rough it up a bit. Wait, is there a 207GTI? How much ar?

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 2:31 pm

hahahahaha!! good one mukhri!!!! hahahahahahaha!!

207gti? dunnolah. how much do u think it should be sold at? i think last time the 206gti was about 140k. got people who will buy meh? so small?

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 7:51 pm

so i guess the peugeot 207 can be priced at RM100,000?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:31 pm

All I can say about the pricing is…WTF??? Seriously…a gay car for 160k???

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:35 pm

Okay…sexuality issues aside…but still…do you really wanna fork out 160k for this…er…thing?

• gey2718 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 10:09 pm

torque said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 11:31 am

Aiya! Always got people who never really understood what someone trying to point out….sigh! Halo Sir, in which sentence did I ever wrote that indicate I’m comparing those two?! You expect ME to do a “silly” comparison between a coupe-convertible and a hatchback? It’s the PRICE la dei! All I just said is IF IT’S ME meaning…MY STINKING CHOICE, which there for what I’ll choose to spend my money on that price range…kapiss?!

torque said,
    October 28, 2008 @ 4:22 pm

For me…I’ll rather go for the 308 GT which Nasim sell around RM159,999 for extra paaaaaaaaaaaaawaah (175 bhp and share the same engine as the Cooper S) and manual some more….fuh! That one is damn cun liao…

—————————————————————-

………. if u r not comparing, why mention 308GT and the price ?? extra paaaaaaaawahh!!

• awak (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 7:48 am

in malaysia this thing is more a status quo,
    some time they what is the engine capicity of the car,
    dont even know to unlatch the bonnet,

..whats that ASMARA RED, (love making red)?

• torque (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:39 am

gey2718,

Dumb smuck! Nuff said!

• johnson wong (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 5:35 pm

GILA ka?? 158888….. can buy modd kao kao evo

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:16 pm

johnson,

if u say like that, clearly u don’t understand the purpose of this type of carlah. the evo buyer (aka, you) will never buy this as the evo buyer is only interested in one thing. straightforward performance. this sort of car is not for those interested in power. definitely cannot be modded easily also. they are not interested in being first off the traffic light race. they are interested in looking classy, elegant and upmarket without looking like they came out off the fast n furious movie set. it’s all about looking upmarket with their branded suits and designer clothes without looking like a kid with a car on steriods. in this market, 160k is nothing. there will be evo lovers and lovers of other types of cars like suvs mpvs etc. there is a place for all types so peace.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:48 pm

Akazamabamaboo said,

October 29, 2008 @ 9:31 pm

All I can say about the pricing is…WTF??? Seriously…a gay car for 160k???
    —————————
    gay it may be, but these days, there’s a lot of rich girls, and rich man’s daughters

• gey2718 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 7:00 pm

torque said,
    October 30, 2008 @ 11:39 am

gey2718,

Dumb smuck! Nuff said!
    ———————————————————-

torque,

extra paaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawaaaaaahhhhh!!! cheah!

• erichigc (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:16 pm

My concern is pretty much on safety. With the top down, passengers may easily become the victim of snatch thiefs and Mat Rempit. Pollution of exhaust gas by heavy vehicle is another concern as well.

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 8:08 am

Admittedly it looks a bit better than its predecessor the 206, but at that price (and being a man) I rather have the 307.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 2:06 pm

you do know there’s a 308 right?

• emailtoid.net/i/aff3 (Member) on May 27, 2009 at 1:27 am

I think I rather buy this than the 308, because it is a convertible. At the same time, it has the same price and the same engine. Why not have the convertible instead of the hatchback? Haha!

• 207 cc is my dream car!!!!

• Seriously convertibles are not suitable for Malaysian people because of hot weather, always rain, bad pollution and increase the chance of being rob is high. I like this car a lot plus is the 2nd cheapest convertibles in Malaysia, 1st was the Smart Cabrio (Pulse). To me i rather buy 308 VTi instead of 207cc for you guys who plan on which to buy. I going to wait for RCZ my dream car

• This car is not available anymore? cant be found on PUG website malaysia

• emi8221 on Feb 16, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Just joined guys,read all d comments.Luv 207cc despite pros & cons. Agree with gey 2718.. U pay 4 d tech & engineering. Just saw a 2nd 207cc price@95k,dark brown.really nice.. also 2nd blue 207cc in klang @85k nw…really thinking hard whether to trade my swift…. Opinions guys…….

• TurboMan on Feb 17, 2013 at 12:12 am

Its a nice car. Put the roof away and drive it at dawn or early morning. That never fail to put a smile on my face.

However do understand that this is a 1.6 NA car pulling quite a substantial mass. So don’t expect to win any traffic light drag race. Or take corners at a zillion km/h. The key word with this car is “slow is fast, and fast is slow”. Do plan ahead if you want to overtake anybody.

Reliability is OK. My eldest sister had it for 3 years with no problem whatsoever. Good price now. I say go for it but don’t expect it to be a tarmac burner. Also do prepare some money just in case the automated roof goes. I heard the repair bill if your roof goes is going to be very high. But so far, they are pretty reliable as long as you use them often. Like any electro-mechanical systems, the key to reliability is to use them often.

• emi8221 on Feb 16, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Just joined guys,read all d comments.Luv 207cc despite pros & cons. Agree with gey 2718.. U pay 4 d tech & engineering. Just saw a 2nd 207cc price@95k,dark brown.really nice.. also 2nd blue 207cc in klang @85k nw…really thinking hard whether to trade my swift…. Opinions guys…….btw, @ d same shop,206cc is priced @ 45k. Green color… Ok juga