SPYSHOT: Proton MPV next to a Grand Livina

These two shots were snapped on the NKVE by reader Reza, who happened to be on the same route as the MPV from the Jalan Duta toll until the ELITE exit.

Proton MPV
Click for enlarged image

What’s interesting about the shot above is the fact that the Proton MPV is right behind a silver Nissan Grand Livina, who Reza said appeared to be travelling together with the Proton MPV. This allows us to estimate the size of the Proton MPV as compared to the Nissan Grand Livina. An estimation shows that the Proton MPV is slightly larger than the Nissan Grand Livina, but we can’t really be 100% sure about this as there could be some perspective errors.

Proton MPV
Click for enlarged image

This second shot shows the LEDs of the Proton MPV’s rear taillamps lighting up.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hypermount (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:40 am

If you find Honda oddysee interior’s already huge..be prepare for a big surprise to see this one!

• freeze (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:41 am

It is much much bigger than Livina. Better looking too, something like Wish…

• Archer (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:50 am

It’s huge, it’s ugly, small wheels… I hope when all that black masking tape has been removed on the actual production model it will not end up earning a nickname like Proton Badak?

• prince yeo (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:52 am

it look like bigger that the Livina.got rear LED taillamps…first time in Proton car…that’s great…..hope can see the car soon…looking for it interior,hope that it’s interior will give us a big surprise!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:53 am

Looks decent…

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:03 am

Can’t predict the size, yet.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:05 am

WOW…it dwarf the livina…

• shamel (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:26 am

MisterBenjo said,

November 2, 2008 @ 1:05 am

WOW…it dwarf the livina…

—-
    Definitely, dude. Livina actually a simply rework of Nissan Note, just lengthen then rear hangover without extended Note’s wheelbase. In this regard, even next Toyota-P2-Daihatsu small mpv is better effort than Nissan’s. The trio mpv based on not only extended Ractis wheelbase but also many dimensions, l believe.

Livina (very decent FC mpv), with a problem of build quality will be a major casualty if the competitions put a very reasonable pricing, especially Proton. And kudos must be given to Proton, their effort a enormous. Decent value mpv especially if FC is OK (area which Proton always neglect when they use their lower price as main draw).

My 2 kupang.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:28 am

LED~~

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:31 am

It sure is look big… and do remember that the camo test unit is fully loaded with added weight at the back… if not, it will surely look taller at the back than livina..

• BW (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:55 am

herm…. ok ok lah

• chap_de_x (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:08 am

this baby is definitely bigger and taller then livina, citra,wish…comfirm that…guys just wait…my opinion this gonna be one more greatest hit in proton history….

• V8 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:21 am

“…Nissan Grand Livina, who Reza said appeared to be travelling together with the Proton MPV…”

Proton will be competing head on with Nissan, seems proton mpv above cucuk angin with grand livina! hehehe.

• xenith (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:24 am

Nice rims…

• ideoteque85 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:27 am

So, what’s the winning name for the Proton MPV? is it Proton MPV? that’s cheesy…
    btw, Paul, you should create a tab/map on your site so that people can easily browse/search cars according to the make. like myself, i was trying to find your old reviews on Proton and perodua cars but was having a hard time doing just that. thanks!!!!

• csv (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:38 am

they used the livina and wish as a benchmark. maybe combine the features of the 2 cars.

wah, this “mix breed” car might just kill off the wish and livina.

oh damn.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:40 am

Sifu..we are expecting sumthing.

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:54 am

Cant wait for the price announcement…. hope it sits below avanza…

• shamel (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:59 am

Cheaper than 1.5 avanza version.

• peYno (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 6:01 am

yeah
    i do believe, the interior size slightly bigger than old honda oddysey, exterior size moreless same

• awak (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 7:56 am

this is a distant shot, so we can see its propotion fully without distortion of perspective view. The car is WELL formed and propotion although proton put its priority for roominous to this car,

it will become a favourite from its lineup.

a bit different from the saga as ‘function follow form’ kind of practice, but anyway saga is budget spacious small sedan develops by utilizing existing chassis for economic purpose,
    so saga is CUTE and FINE small sedan in character.

• awak (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 7:58 am

awak said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 7:56 am

this is a distant shot, so we can see its propotion fully without distortion of perspective view. The car is WELL formed and propotion although proton put its priority for roominous to this car,

it will become a favourite from its lineup.

a bit different from the saga as ‘form follow function’ kind of practice, but anyway saga is budget spacious small sedan develops by utilizing existing chassis for economic purpose,
    so saga is CUTE and FINE small sedan in character.

• skil2u (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:36 am

From the side, it look like citra and rear like avanza. I hope cps more powerful than livina

• awak (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:56 am

first of all you should understand what characterised the look of avanza.
    or avanza-ness,
    1st propotion – its undersquare, with narrow body
    2nd, tall ground clearence
    3rd very slim light cluster,
    4th wheel arch flare is almost nonexistence from the rear.
    5th mid section towards the rear is not much of sloping,

combination of those makes avanza look boxy,

may i ask you ,if any of the character is simmilarly to the proton mpv?
    if yes, then it qualify to said – look like avanza,

• awak (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:01 am

citra 1 look alike is certainly not? affirmative!

not even the rondo which is more a stretch up side sedan look, results from its big glass screen,

but certainly powerful (hp) than a livina,

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:32 am

Proton is showing a good progress in MPV segment !!!!!

• Mini_Mack (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 12:53 pm

go proton go…

make us proud…

• God.of.War (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 1:29 pm

Cant wait to see the launching, anyone got time machine that i can borrow?

• jazzer (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:21 pm

wow….so eager to wait its launch….kudos for the team

• jazzer (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:22 pm

hope it’ll be as hard as savvy

• hvannees (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:27 pm

looks very lowered. if add with skirting, pergh!! sporty siot..

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 3:47 pm

hvannees, it seems lowered bcz they road test the car with simulated weight added, i think tat convinced me tat the engine do capable of pulling this car…with new tensile steel, it will be strong n light as well! kudos proton! when will the name the mpv result release paul?

• amal850720 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 4:13 pm

considering the car’s huge enormous size as compared to its competitors, running on 1.6 campro cps might not be feasible. handsome peeps with the new mpv can only cruise but cannot draft behind others. anyway. it’s a stunner by the looks!

if i have this one, i’d bolt on a supercharger kit from powerzone and voila, i think proton can tapau wish, less to say grand livina. possibly caldina too? *lol*

• mzfnd (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 4:58 pm

Proton mpv traveling with a Livina? Anyone else thinking they’re doing this on purpose, inviting spy shots from the public for early comparisons?
    I wouldn’t be surprised if the next spy shots are of the mpv traveling with a Wish…

Anyway, I think it’s good looking. Can’t wit for the launch.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 6:00 pm

mzfnd said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 4:58 pm

Proton mpv traveling with a Livina? Anyone else thinking they’re doing this on purpose, inviting spy shots from the public for early comparisons?
    I wouldn’t be surprised if the next spy shots are of the mpv traveling with a Wish…

could be the livina is a test car also, run together as a comparison with the proton.. its no secret that manufacturers actually buy the cars they’re benchmarking against.

if you saw the recent documentary on discovery channel on the new nissan GT-R, you can see them testing their prototype together with a 911 turbo. likewise, porsche also bought a GTR after it was launched to study it.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 6:30 pm

some proton insider told me the price will be starting from rm 68,000 or 69,000 up to rm 76000…

proton also considering a baseline model to be around 64000…i am not really sure.. its just from information from some people in proton…

they said the car plastics and all feels like toyota wish and proton were very particular on switches and buttons…seating arrangement is said not as flexible as opel zafira or Mazda 5 but there is possibilities when the car was designed..but not during lauch for sure…so we can only fold the seats flat but not turn or move it around like sum flexible mpv designs…

aircond vent are all over the car and storage compartment aplenty..

leather seats option are not offer during the lauch..but higher quality seat materials are offered…

rim only 15 inch i guess:-( but we can always get secondhand civic rims..and it would fit now;-)

there is alot of possibilities of other engine option to be offered even a diesel and as early 2010…

so sifu plz confirm this details.. cause i m not 100% sure of this information cause it came frm marketing department i guess….

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 6:37 pm

another thing is the interior size..its larger than toyota wish…not oddesey or ria or alphard or anything like that..

first and second row expect it to be similar to wish and third row maybe slightly more leg room than similar class…but has way much higher headroom..thats all…

• nyawere (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 7:20 pm

hi all,

It certainly looks bigger than the Grand Livina but is it…? If u see the rear overhang (distance between the end of the car to the rear wheel) it seems as if the Proton MPV has a shorter tail. Unless the proton MPV’S wheel base is longger than the livina, than i would think that it will be of similar size, not bigger.

Just my 2 cents.. Please comment…! Sifu..?

• db8 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 8:41 pm

sifuuu..we need youu..

• transformer (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 8:45 pm

size and price doesnt matter these day…. quality and reliability does!

after 2-3 years here and there tanggal… rattle here and there…

does anyone here wants china made milk products ?
    buy 1 free 1…

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 8:50 pm

hi to all forumers!

excited to see how the interior look…
    can explain something,si-fu or said?…
    huhu

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:02 pm

I dont think Sifu would release any more info on the MPV for now, since i think he got his own family and future to take care of… give him breathing space… lets just wait for the official launch or press release from Proton CEO himself… but if he deemed the info asked is not that sensitive… we are waitingggg…

• claxxion (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:05 pm

From the pictures, looks like theyre benchmarking against the grand livina 1.6. So expect the MPV will be fitted with a 1.6 engine as well?

Too many spyshots already out there. looks like theyre really working and testing on the reliability of their new MPV. cant wait for its launch..

• kucau (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:09 pm

mzfnd said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 4:58 pm

————————————————-

yup, i aggre it maybe a marketing ploy by proton. I am impressed Reza could get a clear picture of the MPV on lateral AND posterior view on a busy 3 lanes road ( hint! hint! ).A good hype building effort. It was succesful for BLM. the icare campaign + bagaikan roda program in TV 3 really help them . i think anyone can notice increasing proton supportive tone on paultan compare to 5 yrs ago , of course this is not merely marketing but accompanied with improved quality in recent models.

Prem3377,

no option for leather seat? An MPV is a car for family . U know children when they are happy and playing inside an MPV , it will be a mess. Please proton, at least make it an optional item . Just look at how nissan did it.

• szw (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:35 pm

i can see people start appreciating it…
    woohoo !!!
    or the proton bashers all dead d ?
    hahaha !!!
    better for those useless critiques which most of dem are lack of knowledge wan get lost into their dream world…

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 9:46 pm

wow… LED sounds nice and trendy… it would even be better if Xenon for the headlights since the new Waja nowadays are using projector Xenons…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 10:17 pm

This is getting more and more exciting… =D

• busy_walk (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:08 pm

wow… its almost the same size as the red lorry… man its huge! even the Livina looks like a normal Sedan… if being compared to this new Proton MPV that is…

• ob8 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:10 pm

r u guys sure rear lights use LEDs?if u examine the pic.. nway, whts the name of the mpv? really wan to know. the 1st pic is the best spyshots of them all, so far.

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:25 pm

Hi guys! Looks like u guys having fun in here without me! Hahahahahahahaha……as for the interior, trim levels, colours and so on, i can’t reveal anything yet! Sorry guys! But try to read between the lines of my comments, u might get something…;p
    Just to inform u guys on the effort that P1 has been putting to this new baby, we are very detail and particular in everything that we r doing regarding this MPV, especially the quality both from our side and also the numerous vendors (which we r trying to continously monitor their product quality) which is our major concern currently. We wanna make it right the first time itself this time. So the support, and patience of u guys is much appreciated! Thanks!

Cheers!

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:46 pm

hm..vios j type or wait for this mpv?

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 3:21 am

vios J?

laughing stock.

• ideoteque85 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 4:04 am

So, what’s the winning name for the Proton MPV? Proton MPV?????

That’s frustrating. Proton has been inconsistent with naming it’s vehicles.

• HO (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:35 am

LED taillight….
    Hmn interesting!
    Size does really matter, but is there enough power to run this MPV?
    Will it be underpower….? Lets wait & see…

• keyboard.rosak (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:24 am

As usual, we’ll only know the winning name during the launching ceremony

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:43 am

sifu,
    pasal vendor yg xtau ikut standard, jangan renew contract diorg.

kali ni launching buat kt KLCC lg ke?

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:51 am

keyboard.rosak said,
    November 3, 2008 @ 9:24 am

As usual, we’ll only know the winning name during the launching ceremony
    ————————————————————–

Or wait for them to call you to collect the new MPV as the winner of the Car naming contest..heheheh..

• madimat (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:11 am

ideoteque85 said,

November 3, 2008 @ 4:04 am

So, what’s the winning name for the Proton MPV? Proton MPV?????

That’s frustrating. Proton has been inconsistent with naming it’s vehicles.

—————————–

bro, kenapa you cakap Proton inconsistent pulak?? Kenapa you frust gilerr pulak..??? Padahal Proton pun belum announce apa-apa lagi nama MPV tu,… you dah cakap camtu. Rilek laa broo.. tunggu la nanti bulan March 2009 kot baru diorang announce. Lepas tu kalau nama tu tak cool & you tak suka then baru la you kutuk habis-habisan.

Before that please don’t leave any foolish comment like this just for the purpose of condemning something that we’re not even sure yet. Can we just reserve all our condemnations and curses until the launching day..??? just a few months more… sabar yeaa..

.peace!

• aminbotak (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:19 am

Came on… desperately need the basher now.. where are you guys????

• mr42 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:20 am

Hi to all…

I got a funny feeling, our friend SiFu is the CEO himself..:)

BTW Proton…way to go…

• ideoteque85 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:21 am

bro madimat. i apologize. never my intension to be one of the many proton bashers. well, coz one of the posts on proton MPV naming contests says that the result will be announced sometime in Oct 2008, and I was wondering whether MPV was the winning name since everyone keeps on using that.
    oh i didn’t curse or anything like that, did i?

anyways, thanks for responding.

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:38 am

Bravo Proton!!

• madimat (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:14 am

ideoteque85,
    bro, don’t need to apologize lar… you did nothing wrong, well I will be a Proton basher myself if Proton never learn to improve. But lately they have proved that they are willing to improve. Just look at their Persona and Saga series,.. I haven’t got any chance yet to test drive any of those but from what I see they are all out trying their best now to please the world’s most demanding and cerewet market – the Malaysian drivers.

I suggest we just wait for the launching, if the THING is okay and built better than a Toyota and other competitors so why not we praise them and give them another chance? Hopefully this latest products is their best in and out, if not their MD can eat his own tounge. Hopefully better than all those cars built in our neighboring countries. Bro, lets count until the launching day and lets go see it live.

.peace!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:51 am

the livina looks better, and it is definitely the better van

• darkwizard (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 12:00 pm

Thanks for the new spy shot…it looks good in size (just nice-not too big and not too small)

Hopefully there will be a spyshot for the interior…

• Mini_Mack (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 12:06 pm

helo encik alpina bukard bovensiepen gmbh + co. kg…

you must be good in giving first impression kan?

sekali you compare spyshot of this p1 mpv dgn livina you dah boleh kata it looks better…very good…
    livina a van…you are getting better man…

you dah tgk ke final outcome p1 mpv ni yang kata livina ni looks better?
    you dah naik ke p1 mpv baru ni yang kata livina ni “the better van”?

van? ahahaaaa…kesian livina dah jadi VAN!

go mpv go!

• modusoperandi (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 1:11 pm

I wish to get one…
    but must wait until 2nd version keluar laa…
    takut banyak problem…complain sana complain sini…
    coz this is the very 1st time proton produce a kind of MPV…
    As everybody knows, 2nd version will be better and better…
    No matter what, always support Malaysian car!

Kalau bukan anak Malaysia yg support Malaysian car,
    nak harapkan siapa lagi?
    Bravo Proton!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 1:54 pm

haha.. funny la you all…

• bernal (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 1:57 pm

here basher come ! :-)
    –> can anybody/expert tells what is the dimension of this car?
    wheelbase, please.
    From the picture, I can guess:
    width : > 1800mm
    length : > 4550mm
    height : > 1600mm
    wheelbase: ~ 2800mm
    weight : ~ 1500kg. If use hi-tensile steel, then ~ 1350kg.
    Somebody in a website show the photo comparison side by side that this mpv = eastar, ~ 80% similarities. Eastar might be based on mitsu, and this proton mpv also be similar I guess.
    Head from that site also, the 1.6cps might get light bar turbo-charge or compressor charge, to boost a bit more torque/hp.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 2:15 pm

Mr bernal…

seems like u miss Si-fu mentioned in the other post…

eastar@easter (dont know which one.. haha) is not even taken as a benchmark…

with the camo, u can only judge by a ‘maybe’ thnking…

just like when u look at perdana real lamp at night, than u think it ‘maybe’ a skyline.. (its a maybe)

• Apathy (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 2:23 pm

my main concern is the FC as this proton mpv maybe using a 1.6 engine. imagine loading this mpv with full occupants……i wonder how many km/liter will this baby will go. umm i will never associate proton with good built quality. sorry but i was twice bitten by proton.

• ob8 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 3:21 pm

potong cars never good with fc nway except sawy.

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 3:38 pm

aminbotak said,
    November 3, 2008 @ 10:19 am

Came on… desperately need the basher now.. where are you guys????
    —————————————————————-
    They are still watching porno at the other websites….

ob8 said,
    November 3, 2008 @ 3:21 pm

potong cars never good with fc nway except sawy.
    —————————————————————-

yes savvy was a proton car and already have a good FC car… never bother about using a renault engine, as long we can get a better FC….

• Mememe1337 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 4:21 pm

I think the RIMS are gonna be great. The picture isn’t really clear, but from what I can make out, it looks great. I hope that the car will look great.

• bernal (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 4:26 pm

the econ expert will say : having proton in bolehland is a joke, as we don’t have scale of economy, but the rakyat sacrify only. All the FDI in automobile went to tomyamland, as a result we lost > 1 juta of jobs.
    Scale of economy, as example: look at spain,sweden,austria, australia,taiwan,swiss,finland,arab-countries which has lesser population, are not dare to enter again into automobile industries, as they know they do not have chance to be successful. Look at ford & GM, from USA, also kalah in competition, so where got chance for bolehland ??????????? Continue using rakyat as white mouse again for the betterment of cronies?
    The politician(BN) will say: proton good for bolehland(while cronies made all the $$$).
    For the rakyat: we lost to use right amout of money to have better & safer cars right now in the world.

• madimat (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 4:27 pm

How many units of Eastar have been sold so far..? Given the very attractive price and ‘over the top’ safety features and specifications and everything,.. people should be pushing each others’ over the shoulders to get in line to buy one of those Chery people carrier. But living in central KL area strangely I haven’t seen any of those on the road so far. I am trying not to be biased, but as far the looks goes by for me the Eastar is a design disaster.

just my 2 sen.

• bernal (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 4:39 pm

eastar is not good in the area of the interior material & fitting.
    Overall is good, especially the sleek look, and not bad power engine.
    Space is good too, better than livina/citra/rondo/advanza.
    But it’s brand is not T/H/N/V/B, so suffer to get sales.

• madimat (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 4:54 pm

bernal said,

But it’s brand is not T/H/N/V/B, so suffer to get sales.
    ………………………

so, the best thing for Chery to do is to paste their Eastars with a Toyota emblem or Kia or Honda, and maintain the price. Sure people will go and buy one.., hmm…? I think this time around people will even kill each other to get in line for one of those, don’t you think, ..?

my another 2 sen karat.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 5:26 pm

bernal.

you’re so tipical . you had to learn and read more. You must have more wide political view.. dont stuck with a such limited view. Peoples nowaday are more uptodate than than.

Being skeptical on everything wont bring you forward. You will stuck with in the line. Good thing.. positive thing.. must be looked on the bright side. Bad thing no need to be bad till death.. Revive it.. make it better.. until it become profitable.. that’s the great thing beside wearing like many useless people outside there.

Proton. How bad you’re before.. Im giving you 2nd chance as good as it you do now. Please dont make us regret twice.. because after that.. It will hard for anyone to give you any chance… It’s (downtime before) a step to be matured.

All the best proton

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 5:28 pm

bernal.

you’re so tipical . you had to learn and read more. You must have more wide political view.. dont stuck with a such limited view. Peoples nowaday are more uptodate than than.

Being skeptical on everything wont bring you forward. You will stuck with in the line. Good thing.. positive thing.. must be looked on the bright side. Bad thing no need to be bad till death.. Revive it.. make it better.. until it become profitable.. that’s the great thing beside swearing like many useless people outside there.

Proton…. How bad you’re before.. Im giving you 2nd chance as good as it you do now. I believe many will be the same too… Please don’t make us regret twice.. because after that.. It will hard for anyone to give you any chance… It’s (downtime before) a step forward to be matured.

All the best proton

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 6:03 pm

mr.42, i wish u were right! Hahahahahahaha…..but unfortunately i am nt the CEO, just someone normal. If i were the CEO, then u guys will be the luckiest fella’s in M’sia especially Paul for this wonderfull and informative website! What i am trying to say by lucky is that, if i were the CEO, i might bring u guys to P1 itself to view the car and see the effort we put in making it in REAL TIME, that means not through some open day like the one we had recently. Hahahahahahha…..just my thoughts if were ever gona be the CEO one day!

To the guys out there still in dreamland thinking this car has to do something with Cherry Eastar, or any other MPV’s, please just go away frm here!!!!….i think this bunch of people dont know to READ my post, and also what Paul has posted sometime ago about the Eastar got nothing to do with Proton MPV.

Cheers!

• bernal (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 6:38 pm

Mr si-fu, prove to public that proton mpv is based on nothing, please.
    No prove, no talk. U can deny anything, but please, solid data show, don’t need to be too technical.

bmpower, good comments, u r different.
    But somehow we need to be in logical sense. Ask any people that want to be sacrified for the sake of proton success(might or might not), i think majority will be opted for their own goodness. No point wasting time to do something that never be successful, but use rakyat’s goodness as price.
    I like proton only they emphasize on handling & control, but not the hi price charge to it’s own rakyat bolehland.

• tec96248 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 7:21 pm

bmpower,

haha, very sarcastic what u mentioned. u r kind enough to give second chance. i thought chances not to be given, you suppose work it out or earn it, don’t u agree? i believe proton and other manufacturers are improving and work out to earn that chance. to meet the customer needs and expectation. don’t u think reliable car is more than just supporting? is it good enough just supporting by us? it will be very difficult to move forward then……luckily to me i guessed. hahaha……

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 7:26 pm

bernal, ur last comment just cause u some trouble ;) read previous paul’s post, dont be lazy, pls. dimension is different, how can they be same? like i said b4, nokia n95 n nokla n95 looks almost the same, but are they? put some senses n study the topic ur going to comment well b4 u being shoot back, cause im sure there will be more to come.

if any1 still thinks open market is good for developing countries, really need to study politic 1st, not economic…

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 7:32 pm

bernal said,

November 3, 2008 @ 6:38 pm

Mr si-fu, prove to public that proton mpv is based on nothing, please.
    No prove, no talk. U can deny anything, but please, solid data show, don’t need to be too technical.

bmpower, good comments, u r different.
    But somehow we need to be in logical sense. Ask any people that want to be sacrified for the sake of proton success(might or might not), i think majority will be opted for their own goodness. No point wasting time to do something that never be successful, but use rakyat’s goodness as price.
    I like proton only they emphasize on handling & control, but not the hi price charge to it’s own rakyat bolehland.
    ———————————————————————-
    for the sake of its 500,000 workers, 3 million people have to suffer.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 7:40 pm

bernal said,
    November 3, 2008 @ 4:26 pm

the econ expert will say : having proton in bolehland is a joke, as we don’t have scale of economy, but the rakyat sacrify only. All the FDI in automobile went to tomyamland, as a result we lost > 1 juta of jobs.
    Scale of economy, as example: look at spain,sweden,austria, australia,taiwan,swiss,finland,arab-countries which has lesser population, are not dare to enter again into automobile industries, as they know they do not have chance to be successful. Look at ford & GM, from USA, also kalah in competition, so where got chance for bolehland ??????????? Continue using rakyat as white mouse again for the betterment of cronies?
    The politician(BN) will say: proton good for bolehland(while cronies made all the $$$).
    For the rakyat: we lost to use right amout of money to have better & safer cars right now in the world.

economist will say a million thing man..but we have to think far ahead…if we dont have proton some economist will say malaysia is lacking in term of R&D and manufacturing capabilities…

another thing is you are selfish…without proton what makes you think cars sold here will be better and safer??

how do you know we can afford cheaper car when the market will be controlled by foreigner..since you yourself have said we dont have the market capacity???

ok think this way..and say which one you prefer…its not on short term basis but maybe another 15-20 years or so..

just assume toyota,honda,ford and whateva operating in thailand or indonesia now choosed malaysia as their hub..as you said 1 juta orang can dapat kerja and all…

why do they come to southeast asia??cause CHEAPER,educated and skill labours,stable politics and new market..and some tax benefit..am i right??

but in 15 to 20 years time our economics will be better labour cost will be higher and etc..and african national will be the next hub because of its central location and population plus cheapest labour cost…so do you honda,toyota,ford and all will still be in malaysia,thailand and indonesia???nope they wont…they will always seek for better return..for them rm 10 per car profit is alot already…

and what will happen to the satu juta people who were working there????
    plus FDI will be controled by developed nation…and they dont give a damn for malaysians..all they want is PROFIT..and buying toyota honda or other foreign makes is like giving larger protion of money to Japan..not Malaysian G or wat..understand..

secondly just assume the situation is like now…we have proton….we have many posibilities…we can make proton a regional brand for countries like thailand,indonesia and etc…we can make cheaper cars since we have AFTA we can sell it cheaper too..and when toyota,honda and etc..close shop and run to africa..proton will gain advantage..

we might get more R&D in and produce better cars..we can grow bigger and contribute to our economy…the satu juta people you say might work for proton someday and in 15 to 20 years proton wont be running away from us..but growing with us..simple as that…

so which one you prefer??trusting some companies which dont give a damn of our economy or investing on something which might have great potential??/

and remember when you but a proton nearly 90 % money stays in the country..10% still using japanese gearbox mah!!.

and many foreign assembly plants do not encourage R&D so we will only know how to fix cars but never will learn how to make them..so we dont learn anything..

like the old saying..if you give a man a fish everyday he learns nothing..but if you teach a man to fish..he lives forever…(sounds something like tat..sudah lupa)

another thing is..these assembly plans are not meant to be here for 50 years or so..many have been designed for 10 to 15 years only..and can easily be transfered..

so Mr bernal…make your choice man!!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:02 pm

to bernal….get lost

what proof u want more. paul has post argument about your chery long time ago and you the want that so ignorant to accept it.

i am no somebody in proton and coincidentally saw those MPV uncamo….. i can sure you, the look exterior and interior is nothing like chery your “a**”tar… and one more thing you should learn about engineering before you make yourself stupid by give stupid comment…benchmarking is a norm in engineering field…every manufacturer do benchmarking on similar class item….

i always hate someone mix up everything with politic…plzzz go to politic blog dont do it here…here is for automotive lover only…

one more thing… mayb econ xpert say proton is a joke…but for me in automotive engineering field, proton give chance to malaysian to use their talent in research, design and engineering to make a car for malaysian and for the world…we the true malaysian dare to take challenge to compete with other develop country and believe one day we can be better then them..not sit on a safe chair and praise everthing come from them like a god….

once again bernal get lost

• ideoteque85 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:19 pm

i hope this mpv has a factory installed touch screen navigation and LCDs so that i can watch NFL or college football while auto cruising on my way back to kampung up north har har har.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:29 pm

will still be sometime before it comes out. Hope proton don’t screw it

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:46 pm

Mr. Bernal….before asking from me proofs, u should provide proof for ur statement first! Because all that u telling is that the looks of the car (which u have not seen because its camou’ed) is similar to the Cherry Eastar? So how on earth can u compare something that u have not even seen and say it’s similar?
    I can give u all the proof u wan, everything including the official drawings of the chasis (which is already revealed to the public by the MD himself, hope u go n have a look at it be4 commenting) but why do i wanna put my job on the line to proof to a such ignorant person like u? Please understand what is platform, chasis, engineering design, styling and development be4 giving any comments blindly! Understand wat is platform development and platform sharing. Do a lil bit of research be4 commenting. Dunt be so sure of what u THINK u know cause it might be wrong. Always get opinion from others who r more knowledgable in the particular field that u wanna know. Then u can give constructive and intelligent comments.

Cheers!

• szw (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:46 pm

bernal , screw u man…
    people already say that the car doesn’t base on anything , then take it as a fact…
    you wanna dig so many things out for what ?
    do u like people say that “you look like some superstar , but you just look way uglier than him/”her” ?”
    think it yourself.
    its proven , means its proven.
    so how bout u give us some fact that proton is base on cherry ?

• Reza (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:04 pm

kucau said,
    November 2, 2008 @ 9:09 pm

yup, i aggre it maybe a marketing ploy by proton. I am impressed Reza could get a clear picture of the MPV on lateral AND posterior view on a busy 3 lanes road ( hint! hint! ).

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Managed to get a clear rear picture as I was behind the MPV just before the Duta toll. As I was driving a Kelisa, could “cilok” quite easily despite the evening traffic for the side view. Unfortunately could not get the front view as I was alone in the car and the MPV was quite quick to overtake me on the right after the toll.

But now more alert on my daily journey home ! :)

• arie1968 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:49 pm

When the MPV launching next year, then PROTON should make a documentary
    in TV to tell them about this new baby asspecially PROTON BAsher……………
    Tell them from A to Z, how they produce this MPV.

• madimat (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:44 pm

Mr Bernal,

The Clown of the Year Awards is undoubtedly yours. Man,.. you’re so funny I think I broke parts of my intestines just by reading comments from you. he he he … I think rather than wasting time here posting nonsense base on your kind of ‘facts’ you better go out somewhere and do your stand-up comedy. Go , man,.. go start your comic career now..!

:-P

• ... (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 1:23 am

The malaysian automotive industry in particular is not something that is of no use to the rakyat…

How many malaysians have gained the knowledge to design, test and build cars?

How many malaysians have got jobs, either directly or indirectly in vendors, suppliers, logistics, sales, aftersales etc etc by the development of malaysian automotiv industry?

How many people can say that they have designed a car?

Knowledge gained is something priceless and cant just be bought, but has to be build over the years. And nobody can deny that it has created hundreds and thousands of jobs for the rakyat.

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 9:06 am

Prem3377, well written :)
    SiFu, chill bro :)

could some1 ever read or at least go thru past articles before commenting?

• tec96248 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 9:13 am

since so many talking about automotive manufacturing in malaysia, how many car manufacturers have closed down or left malaysia since proton started? creating jobs or retaining jobs? based on what, population growth, or demand growth? but so far i know is some of my friends lost his jobs because of proton. is up to individual to justify. the bigger players like VW no more interested here, ford left, mazda left, mitsubishi left, toyota and honda having models assembled in thailand one after another or more. their some new model with small scales like hyundai, kia come in but can it really drive. i believe only using locally or supporting from locally is just not good enough. last ten years and now are just the same or almost. ever wondering why we r so depending on our oil? are we moving forward? i think i am….hahaha, just like owning and driving.

• Mini_Mack (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:16 am

arie1968…you have great ideas! kita buat documentary untuk the latest version of this mpv…coverage from ground up! intial conception to final detailing…tunjuk what proton really have! must be cool man! discovery channel style…

masyuk punya la!

• DC5H14 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:35 am

totally agree with the documentary stuff. definately gonna open our beloved malaysian.

konfem woaaahaaa..!!

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 11:34 am

I QUOTE:
    jazzer said,

November 2, 2008 @ 2:22 pm

hope it’ll be as hard as savvy

Hahaha. Reminds me of that Savvy’s advertisement; with that Godzilla-like monster trying to crush Savvy, still the car is undamaged. If Proton can produce such ‘strong’ car as oppose to their previous model make of ‘tin milo’, I would recommend Proton to start-up its own military version vehicles such as tanks, apv, humvess etc. God knows, in few years time, if proton is sincere in its work, they could produce military-spec vehicles in the not-so-distant future.

*sigh* If only Proton did not sell the Agusta Company (heck, for RM1 only!), the main idea is to get the technology and expertise from them, accelarate the process of R & D. Agusta Group do not just produce cool motorcycles, they even produce helicopters. Why Tun Dr. Mahathir is furious about it; the Agusta should have been a stepping stone for Proton to venture into another territory, super bikes, helicopters and etc. just to name a few. In 50 years time, maybe Proton could produce Veritech Fighters; an imaginary variable fighter jet that can transform into Gerwalk, Battloids and Fighter plane courtesy of Robotech and Macross. Haha, I guess I’ve got carried away a little bit.

*disclaimer* I’m one of the leading Proton basher, so I’ll wait until the MPV is offically released, so for now, on stand by mode.

• ob8 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 11:46 am

talking perspective, even US carmakers are suffering on their own soil by japanese counterparts for the past couple of years. the involvement of toyota in nascar definitely ruffle some feathers. proton of msia to compete the likes of japanese cars? then comes the BN gov. if no subsidy on fuel means gov should let markets decide the price of non national cars. thats why paklah is a moron bcos he increase the petrol to 2.70. oil goes down but nothing else follows except him. talking perspective.

• JL@ipl (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 12:36 pm

Si-fu,

I just can’t help it. The roof (i mean side view) of the P1 MPV look identical with the Cherry! So, If P1 MPV not base on the Cherry, may the Cherry based on P1 MPV! I don’t……we won’t know.

Anyway, i’m P1 supporter. I owned LMST and Gen-2(belong to my wife) and very happy with both of them.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 1:06 pm

is that mpv carrying water dummies? it seems the rear look sinking. or is it just me?

• awak (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 1:24 pm

ok ,the rear wind shield has a different slope from cherry,
    light casing is also different form cherry,
    the different slope angle, different light clustering, really need different mould, this is a major difference, apart from that this is the most structurally involve part,

so if proton took chery, those important should be mantain,isnt it,

if you have time there pictures taken of the proton mpv chassis almost entirely during the exhibition to the public,
    bring those pictiure ,bring it to the chery eastardealer ,open the door and look for yourself, the door pillar at least.

if different, then youre CHECKMATE,

• madimat (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 1:28 pm

JL@ipl said,

I just can’t help it. The roof (i mean side view) of the P1 MPV look identical with the Cherry! So, If P1 MPV not base on the Cherry, may the Cherry based on P1 MPV! I don’t……we won’t know.

————————————

Bro,
    Mr Sifu said million times already that Proton MPV has nothing to do with Chery or other MPV models. Perhaps on the earlier stage they use Toyota Wish as their test mule model. And as a benchmark maybe. Other than that, I can’t see which part of this MPV got any resemblance to the Chery Eastar.

My opinion is, the Chery Eastar is not better than Proton in term of design and built quality BUT the plus point is it has a bigger engine. From all the spyshots I believe Proton’s MPV is have a more balanced, better proportioned and way much better overall design. Looks a lot more handsome too even with all those tapes hide the actual body.

So, I think we better wait for the official launch date next year. Reserve our critics and comments. In the meantime just leave to the Proton engineers and designers to do all their tweaking and testing jobs.

.peace!

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 7:14 pm

now i got it, P1 design mule model as close as Cherry easter, so people will think P1 copy cherry…..but when launch day , it will look totally different from Cherry,,,P1 on their own hahhahaha tough job, design mule and real model untuk memperdayakan rakyat malaysia…

• awak (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 8:51 pm

chery eastar is a full size mpv, with big engine displacement,
    i have seen it infront of my eyes.have you?

the way how the rear door cut, is different from the proton mpv.
    did you know that?

goodness,
    still want to say proton is chery,

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 9:42 pm

SY0H said,
    November 4, 2008 @ 11:34 am

*disclaimer* I’m one of the leading Proton basher, so I’ll wait until the MPV is offically released, so for now, on stand by mode.
    —————————————————————-

Watching a porno when on the “stand by mode” :P

• bernal (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:14 pm

ok, now i know, those blindly-pro proton people are the “expert” who like to say others “stupid lah, silly lah, ignorant lah”, but just cannot take others opinions, but simply super blindly support without reason(though they knew proton project is just for muka, and political-linked-cronies goodness).
    YOU HAVE YOUR POINTS, OTHERS have theirs!
    si-fu thought everybody is ordinary novice layman biasa lazim common punya orang about cars knowledge, and being arrogant now.
    One thing: We malaysian no choice need to be “stayed” together with the joking NAP / AP, plus proton, which took “lifes” from rakyat. If proton still be there(as long as BN exist), many of course would HOPE proton doing good, including me. Otherwise if proton doing bad, then it will beg for more protection again from govenmnt, then we rakyat further bleeding again endlessly. I bless u must doing good, please, enough suffers, otherwise you will see Livina selling at RM100k & over. Why only I said livina is affected? Because it is from tan-chong, no cronies backed, not like honda-DRB, UMW-T,chevy-drb… semua cronies cronies goodies sweeties sama sama makan.
    Note: begging usually appeal by cronies, cause their “income” reducing already. Remember, why proton rejected VW finally though VW the final hope ? –> cronies won in the talks, and so for the profit takers in share market to goreng proton share price, in which they have insider news!

• awak (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:20 pm

chery eastar v5 is a full size mpv, with big engine displacement,
    i have seen it infront of my eyes.have you?

the way how the rear door cut, is different from the proton mpv.
    did you know that?

if u take toyota wish to compare its size to chery eastar v5
    chery is 100mm longer than wish
    chery is about 100mm wider than wish,

this chery is big man! it need 2.0 or 2.4, i mean its LONG and WIDE!

so i would recommend, like sifu said ,do some reasearch, before jumping into kedai kopi talk style kind of conclusion,

• bernal (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:25 pm

also, wait till proton mpv launching, and let me squat down to have a look underneath for platform/suspension design, then all the answer reveal directly.
    Very easy to know platfrom got copied over from others, just use your eyes can tell roughly 70% of overall pictures. One can based on a platform and do tweak & mod, then claim that it is their 100% design, but it is cheating ! I support based on a successful platform to further improving, but that need to get permission from the original idea provider. Pls, do not get anything from T.WISH, nothing good except its GOA body. I guess, mitsu(grandis/savrin) again previous mule model will be refered.

• bernal (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:37 pm

“the way how the rear door cut, is different from the proton mpv.
    did you know that?”
    I thought si-fu or some news said proton mpv is trying to make the rear more boxy, so that to improve head room ? So it is still smelly that eastar rear is slopier, but p.mpv is boxier, just matching somehow! The side view of them just sooo identical! One can not forcefully say p.mpv is similar to t.wish lah, livina lah, vw lah, this lah, that lah, but eastar –> yes, so similar!
    100mm longer or wider doesn’t mean totally different things. Example, t.altis previous gen compare to current gen, same ajer, wheelbase same, suspension setup same. Camry lagi best, since 199x till now, never changed in their suspension design, but keep making the car bigger only.

• awak (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 11:22 pm

bernal,
    chery eastar v5 use rear independant multilink,
    proton mpv use rear torsion beam,

• Bbingbong (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 11:25 pm

basher always like this lar..when got nothing to defend himself..always bring the political issues to covered his mistake/ fake statement eventhough that thing already been told many times…. =(

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 11:50 pm

bernal said,

November 4, 2008 @ 10:14 pm

ok, now i know, those blindly-pro proton people are the “expert” who like to say others “stupid lah, silly lah, ignorant lah”, but just cannot take others opinions, but simply super blindly support without reason(though they knew proton project is just for muka, and political-linked-cronies goodness).
    YOU HAVE YOUR POINTS, OTHERS have theirs!
    si-fu thought everybody is ordinary novice layman biasa lazim common punya orang about cars knowledge, and being arrogant now.
    One thing: We malaysian no choice need to be “stayed” together with the joking NAP / AP, plus proton, which took “lifes” from rakyat. If proton still be there(as long as BN exist), many of course would HOPE proton doing good, including me. Otherwise if proton doing bad, then it will beg for more protection again from govenmnt, then we rakyat further bleeding again endlessly. I bless u must doing good, please, enough suffers, otherwise you will see Livina selling at RM100k & over. Why only I said livina is affected? Because it is from tan-chong, no cronies backed, not like honda-DRB, UMW-T,chevy-drb… semua cronies cronies goodies sweeties sama sama makan.
    Note: begging usually appeal by cronies, cause their “income” reducing already. Remember, why proton rejected VW finally though VW the final hope ? –> cronies won in the talks, and so for the profit takers in share market to goreng proton share price, in which they have insider news!

saya cadang baik mr bernal buat 1 emel
    and then compile with the evident if you have one…
    sendlah ke stesen t.v swasta tu….
    mana tau nanti appear 1 malaya pendedahan yg u buat…

aiyak….
    mr bernal saya tak mahu nafi u punya statement
    but,ini mau bincang proton mpv progress maa….
    tolong la jgn mix with political…
    yg ada kat paper,t.v,radio,blog semua
    parlimen lagi,duh…
    cukup2lah….

• madimat (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 11:54 pm

Weyy guys,

aku rasa la kan, si mamat Bernal ni dia tensen pasal dah terbeli Chery Estar tu kot.. lepas tu dah menyesal pasal dia baru perasan Proton MPV ni lagi hensem. tu la pasal nampak macam angin satu macam. Sebab tu la kot dia macam tahu seribu satu benda pasal Eastar dia tu, sanggup mencangkung lagi nak bagi puas hati. Huh huh huh lu memang raja lawak laa mamat….. Tak habih habih dengan isu politik kroni BN AP NAP NEP segala macam mak nenek.

Nampak gaya berdosa basar sangat la kot kita kita yang dok cuma mampu beli dan pakai kereta Proton je nih..? kenapa Proton je yang beli dapat dosa..? Beli Perodua kurang sikit dosa kita kpd si Bernal ni kot…. isk sk isk tak penah pulak aku curik duit ko buat bayo installment bulan bulan keta Proton buruk aku tu.

lantak ko la Bernal. Maleh dah aku layan orang macam ko ni.

• bernal (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 11:56 pm

awak, chery eastar cheat in the catalog, I aquat down and check, eastar is torsion beam if not mistaken. Go check yourself to confirm 100%.
    And now more clear, might be: p.mpv susp setup ~ eastar, both use about same. What is the front setup for p.mpv ? mac-pherson ? eastar wheelbase = 2800mm, what is p.mpv?
    Bbingbong : politic does matter in bolehland automobile industry aka proton. Politic plays figure games and greedy and muka terpenting, just like proton.
    Let’s see recently case: valuecap –> use 5 billions to bailout GLC. Actually might use this amount to pay for the incoming soon 5.1 billion debt/bond for PNB/Khazanah/KWAP. Pity rakyat lagi this year.
    Eurocopter scandals. 2.3b for 12 cops ? 1 for nearly the cost of a F16 !!!!! crazy freaking expensive !
    Silterra wafer fab investment –> lost 4.4 billions since setup 2001.
    Submarines, warship(Amin shhah sudah lari lah dengan puluh billions $).
    Port klang FTZ- satu lagi project BN terunggul –> 4.x billions hancur.
    .. banyak lagi projects kebanggaan BN untuk tampung muka terpenting dan cronies cronies punya BMW,Benz,istana-zakarria,private jet….
    So, lets hope proton doing better to not further losing people’s money for bailouts & protection!
    Questions: how many more billions malaysia has to bail for those brainless investment/expenses? Why don’t using the money for hospital build or univercity establish?

• Bbingbong (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 12:05 am

bernal,
    important note this is automotive blog..not political blog…
    paul pls la remind this type of ppl..when this type of ppl bring the issues ..make me or other ppl boring to read..this thread..we just wan to read about the auto news..not political..

• chap_de_x (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 3:26 am

wah we have one more joker more worst then mr Alpina BMW….mr bernal…stop talking crap and politics la…no body want to hear it here…don’t make yourself stupid…if you have proof of those stated above…plzz go to BPR and present your fact…i guess none because u just state what you read in political blog…speculation that made by politician,fool again by politician…if you feel suffer live in malaysia plzz migrate outside ok because i don’t feel any suffering live in this peace country…at other country you can buy any car you want anything you want without G protection (in your dream) hahahah….

• awak (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 6:28 am

well bernal,
    eastar use torsion beam, a hollow tabular bar swing arm is seen,ok

SIMMILARLY, its look like savvy, simmilarly its look like smart for 2,
    and who elses usng this system, not to mention honda or others, could be the suspect,

not just to check the SUSPENSION , how about the floor mould, how about, door frame and pillar, strut housing, frontal frame, seperate unit for front suspension sestem , roof structure itself,

can you confirm those list above?
    if yes then you are qualified to say proton=chery.

• bernal (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:21 am

i believe proton can do better than eastar, just from past history proton was very emphasize on handling department(which need solid support from varies points of body/frame). Yes, torsion beam design is used in various cars setup too, to save some spaces for the rear.
    If proton/NAP can do like what korean/china provided to their people, which make the car price substantially lower than imports, then many will support.
    But ask rakyat to sacrify for 20 + 20 years at higher price, then still sorry.
    For example as analogy, our astronaut at space station, can we call this national pride? Even china/india efforts to the space/moon recently were also at minimal mean(cause USA/russian can do it 30-40 years ago), but the political sense is much much more useful. Got it ?

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:29 am

mr bernal…i think ure not proton basher… but a G/policitic basher..
    if u have some knowledge bout auto engineering..so plz share with us…
    but its not…NAP lah, korea china lah..astonaut lah.. Whats actually u want to say? give proof!!.. ur comments show u know nothing about auto engineering… what a shame!!

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:34 am

yawn~

offtopic>>
    mr. bernal, plz don’t forget to show us the “copied” parts of eastar that u would find in the proton mpv. hmm..i think u will have circa 5months to accomplish that :)

offtopic>>
    err..will proton come out with SUV? i really like the APX design :)

• bernal (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:43 am

haha, better cabut now, otherwise proton blind-supporters all come and taruh me.
    If proton fails, we rakyat also fail too because proton will ask for more protection, so better proton lulus & bagus ! Unless BN runtuh, then proton will be crying!

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:08 am

Why need to cabut bernal? The topic here is bout mpv proton, not politic… Did u know that the proton engineers also review this blog? they would very much appreciated if the customer/basher give the postitive comments/feedback so that they can make improvement for their next model. So lets work together!!…dont la give nonsense comment.. politic la…apa la…

SPIRITS OF ACHIEVEMENT

bernal…im not blind supporter- i drive accord

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:15 am

haha… funny la u all…

mr bernal… i think u r very dissapoint with the G not proton… some of us do… about tax and all that…

but maybe we r bit lucky here, tax on the car, subsidize on something else, fuel, rice, education adnd some more i cant think rite now…

and someone said about other country fail in automotive industry… then , u want us malaysia just follows to fail to.. what a third class mind that does not have the desire to gain and improve… thats why la malaysia always going backward, because some of us compete to be lower than the lowest… haiyaa… what a waste if life, live but doesnt have the aim to be the best…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:20 am

owh… and my point is… even people say everything…proton will try at their best… bravo!!!

am i blind supporter?

i think not… im studying automotive eng… even a little to master but o know it is very complex to design a chassis… even to design a steering rack needs detail study on the road surface, centrifugal force, ackermann angle, anti-ackermann.. haha, whateverla… off topic a bit…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:37 am

hi nakal

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:48 am

I think Mr. Bernal was a future superman… he can see both of mpv proton & Chery have a similar chassis, similar wheelbase, torsion beam suspension, bolts, rubber tyres, glass windscreen, 12volts bulb, and etc with his X-Ray sight… that why he still assuming that proton mpv was based on chery eastar… come on dude, be open minded… tak semestinya keta proton yg terdahulu agak teruk dari segi kualiti masih jugak nak dibandingkan dgn keta proton yg berada di bawah management baru ni… look for the future, let’s together go straight forward and just leave the past bad nightmare left behind… susah sgt ke nak buat??

“hasrat hati nak memeluk gunung, apakan daya tangan tak sampai…. hasrat hati nak memilki Proton MPV baru, apakan daya duit tak mengizinkan utk mr Bernal kot??”

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 12:02 pm

what if the name happens to be ‘proton bernal’… kidding…

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 1:41 pm

offtopic again>>
    if mr. benal is no more, then who is going to show which parts of proton mpv is copied from eastar? i’m eager to know, engineering wise.

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 2:38 pm

Hi,im very new here.(since reviewing this site for 2yrs)

from the first sight of this mpv, P1has a very impressive move.

i believe, giving a constructive comment will drive our auto-industry to the highest achivement.

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 5:20 pm

like i said before, ppl likes to see things as how they wan2 believe it to be, mr. bernal wan2 believe what he said, let him be, when time comes, he’ll know the fact. if he cant accept it, then its his own matter, waste time talking to him

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:39 pm

haha..Mr bernal you are funny…but nothing is original nowadays in automotive industry…always remember this k..

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:16 pm

Bernal = B0d0h sombong (that’s Malay’s word suit you)

I think you overdosed exposure to the Anwar’s and PR propaganda. BTW, not all of what they said are true.. Unless you;re blinded to them. Politician all the same.

all fact already given, and also.. you must learn about the suspension too.. because you really didn’t know much about it.

The blind one was you.

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 2:02 pm

The patented Proton MPV at UK Patent Office:
    http://www.ipo.gov.uk/rs-bin/RightSite/formexec?edition=All&main=12&sub=08&subsub=All&proprietorname=&pstype=S&andor=LOC&DMW_SEARCH_TEXT=&TPO_CHUNK_SIZE=32&DMW_INPUTFORM=tpo%2Flocarno_results&DMW_ATTRIBUTES=object_name&DMW_TYPE=design&PREVIOUS_FORM=SEARCH&TPO_HITS_SO_FAR=0&BROWSER_TYPE=ie4&PREVIOUS_SEARCH_FORM=EDITION7

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 4:24 pm

omg, that is one interesting stuff.

• cars-addict (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:43 pm

wow!!i like this mpv…so big and so stylish!!!this is what i want from proton…any front and interior spyshots???

support proton 100%!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:08 pm

yucks, looks like rihanna(i think rihanna is ugly)

• YK Nalsa on Feb 25, 2009 at 5:38 am

Hi all,,,,I was staying in UK now. Just want to tell you all a true story happened in UK…proton was export our Gen 2, Savy & Satia Neo to UK. People here was give a lot of nagative comments regarding the car's Performance, Engine noise, refinement & safety of the car are too bad…I was too surprisingly to read all the comment on the Car Magazine. Anyway, we got no choice…the only cheaper cars that we effort to buy is either Proton or Perodua. BUT!!! the problem is the selling price in Malaysia are more expensive than UK.

Product made in Malaysia suppose need to be cheaper if we buy it locally right?? Finally, what I can said is " Buying Car in Malaysia are very expensive" compare in UK.

Anyway, I was own a Honda Civic (I-VTEC new model) in UK just only RM 58K….I plan to send my car back to malaysia…huh…still worry about the Custom will tax me again 300%…..huh…WHY!!!! If they tax me then, no choice…I got to sell the car…then take the money to buy proton MPV car. Yeah!!!!! Malaysia Boleh!!!!

• Justin on Feb 25, 2009 at 8:35 am

[quote comment="215166"]Hi all,,,,I was staying in UK now. Just want to tell you all a true story happened in UK…proton was export our Gen 2, Savy & Satia Neo to UK. People here was give a lot of nagative comments regarding the car's Performance, Engine noise, refinement & safety of the car are too bad…I was too surprisingly to read all the comment on the Car Magazine. Anyway, we got no choice…the only cheaper cars that we effort to buy is either Proton or Perodua. BUT!!! the problem is the selling price in Malaysia are more expensive than UK.

Product made in Malaysia suppose need to be cheaper if we buy it locally right?? Finally, what I can said is " Buying Car in Malaysia are very expensive" compare in UK.

Anyway, I was own a Honda Civic (I-VTEC new model) in UK just only RM 58K….I plan to send my car back to malaysia…huh…still worry about the Custom will tax me again 300%…..huh…WHY!!!! If they tax me then, no choice…I got to sell the car…then take the money to buy proton MPV car. Yeah!!!!! Malaysia Boleh!!!![/quote]

Yes….I have to admit….buying cars in Malaysia indeed is much2 more expensive….the price is exorbitant…..

But I was extremely shocked when I read ur comment…..Frankly speaking….I couldn't embrace the fact that the comment was written with full of grammatical errors and doesn't reflect a person who is staying in the UK….The command of English is extremely BAD!Please improve….I'm not an English expert but It's a shame, really……

• YK Nalsa on Feb 26, 2009 at 8:58 am

Hi Justin,

Sorry about my english is bad. I am a Chef here…..Chef only responsible for cooking. Anyway, i still able to communicate with british people. However, I will try improve it. Thanks. I am not a car engineer or expert. but I know which car is good which is bad.

• kumar on Feb 26, 2009 at 11:24 pm

The model it ok but the price is quit expensive cause this car are malaysian make.The car price is 80k…….local made but Nissan Grand Livina Japan made price almost same…. see the diff……..

• Well, the head look small and the body look big.

Overall comment about the size ok lah………

Design it seem like a bit funny and overall ok lah…….

interior look not so beauty.Look very comment.

Any way, any how, Proton is malaysia manufacture. What i can say is

PROTON STAFF, PLEASE DO YOUR WORK PROPERLY.All this years you

people gave very bad impression because of your poor quality.So,

friend, please don't be proud to be a PROTON STAFF IF YOU CANNOT

PRODUCE GOOD QUALITY.

• rubapoison kiss on Feb 27, 2009 at 1:16 am

wow it's nice than the livina and it has more larger space . proton done a great job . keep it on proton

• joe labu on Mar 16, 2009 at 1:31 am

kesian mr. bernal…

kan dah cabut…tu lah…ni pasal korang sume lah…yang dia nak bagi tau,kenapa harga keta kat malaysia ni mahal sangat…tapi korang semua hampeh!! kata dia ni gila lah…pro pkr lah…aku pon pelik ngan perangai korang ni…nak kata bebal tapi celik IT…

cuba2lah korang survey harga vios/nautica/rush/innova/livina dll. kat indon tu…compare ngan harga semua kereta tu kat sini…nanti baru korang tau maksud mr. bernal tu…

ni tidak…tau nak mengamuk jer…kita ni kat malaysia bukan kat s'pore yang gaji kerani jer sampai 8ribu…

baru pakai vios dah lagak macam pakai celica…tak tau yang vios kat indon dia orang pakai buat teksi jer…mana tak nyer…kalau toyota rush kat sana rega baru rp100juta(rp10.000=rm3.10) kalau vios lagi lah murah…takpe lah labu…biar lah korang pakai proton cabuk tu…kalau nak ranggi sikit tampal lah emblem mitsubishi kat depan/belakang keta korang tu…kalau tampal kat wira kira ok gak…ni ader plak aku nampak tampal kat gen2/waja siap letak emblem evo plak tu…hihihi evo12 kot…

anyway…proton exora memang mengancam…rase nak jer aku trade in wish yang bini aku pakai tu ngan exora ni…ye lar kan tengah gawat ni…hehe

• jo labu ngko tau tak.berapa arga nasi goreng kat singapura tuh…apa yg ko beli kat sini adalah sama dgn malaysia beza nya just dolar…dolar dolar…sama jer….i give u example 1 tae ais=rm1.00 n nasi goreng ayam rm4.00… total.=rm5.00…kat singapore singdolar 5.00 juga…bukanya 2.50sd…hu hu hu…

• Size bigger doesn't mean quality is better. Let's wait and see….

• Elta Monogga on Apr 14, 2009 at 8:24 pm

[quote comment="185721"]this baby is definitely bigger and taller then livina, citra,wish…comfirm that…guys just wait…my opinion this gonna be one more greatest hit in proton history….[/quote]

hah? ONE MORE greatest hit? How come i never know Proton ever created something hit?

• John Tsien Fah Loi on Oct 01, 2009 at 3:28 am

Guys all out there! You gonna believe on Proton Vehicles again? This beautiful machine will fascinate you but after three or six months usage, it will show its old ugly history, believe me.