Mitsubishi Racing Lancer wins its maiden race

Mitsubishi Racing Lancer

The Mitsubishi Racing Lancer has emerged tops in its maiden race at the Baja Portalegre 500, piloted by Stéphane Peterhansel and Jean-Paul Cottret from France. It finished 515.16km of stages in 6 hours, 11 minutes and 48 seconds, winning by a margin of 4 minutes and 3 seconds.

According to Peterhansel, the 280 PS 3.0 litre V6 motor in the Racing Lancer is a huge improvement in all areas especially the strong torque that helps bring the Racing Lancer faster out of slower turns. He also commended the chassis and the suspension, which apparently was set up very well by Mitsubishi engineers.

Second and third place were BMW X3 SUVs. I wonder if those are actual X3s or tube frames with X3-like body panels just like the Racing Lancer.

Look after the jump for two more shots of the Racing Lancer.

Mitsubishi Racing Lancer

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the stik (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:06 am

looks kinda gen2 from rear…

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:12 am

which race was this?

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:17 am

so this is the car that mits ll use for next dakar rally…using lancer batch instead of pajero evolution for previous race.

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:37 am

Aiyo, they copied the Gen2 lah *wink wink*

Wait till Proton prepares a more powerful car and tah-pau these Mitsu *more winks*.

LOL

• Jaybond (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:23 am

Real test is when this car face the Volks Tuoareg Dakar. BMW X3 normally playing catching up, I suppose..

• kai_stereo (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 1:59 pm

so what about the king of desert PAJERO??? they can’t be continue again???

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 4:18 pm

dakar here we come

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:11 pm

itz a monster !!!!

• Ford-man (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:33 pm

Ralliace said,
    November 5, 2008 @ 9:37 am

Aiyo, they copied the Gen2 lah *wink wink*

Wait till Proton prepares a more powerful car and tah-pau these Mitsu *more winks*.

LOL
    ————————————————
    Wah you very smart la….. you are such a halarious person …so funny until cannot tahan….

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 9:47 pm

so rite now there re 2 car manufacturers that copy gen2 exterior look…the x6 and this dakar rally version lancer …
    i really hope this is true hehehe

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 11:51 pm

Ford-man said,
    November 5, 2008 @ 9:33 pm

Wah you very smart la….. you are such a halarious person …so funny until cannot tahan….

————————————————————–

Thanks! I really hope you didn’t get you pants wet with all this excitement of me being funny.

• car_craze (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:20 am

Tube frames for sure – both for the Lancer and BMW, clothed by composite body for strength and light weight.

The Lancer don’t like anything like the Lancer!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:20 am

soon karamjit singh will have a proton version of this

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 10:38 am

fighter_B2500 said,
    November 5, 2008 @ 9:47 pm

so rite now there re 2 car manufacturers that copy gen2 exterior look…the x6 and this dakar rally version lancer …
    —————————————–

well, the gen2 was launched in 2003 way before the X6 and this car just came out recently.. likewise the 1series..

i wouldnt say copy, but cars all generally look alike nowadays.. there is no such thing as truly original design anymore. its just mixing and matching different design elements in a way that matches your corporate styling.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 5:02 pm

fighter_B2500 said,
    November 5, 2008 @ 9:47 pm

Mitsu and X6 sure NOT ENOUGH HEADROOM!.
    I am 7 feet height *wink wink* wahahahahahaha

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 7:36 pm

what so gen-2 about this, what so special about gen-2?

• AM2 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 2:45 pm

“Second and third place were BMW X3 SUVs. I wonder if those are actual X3s or tube frames with X3-like body panels just like the Racing Lancer”

Unlike the Racing Lancer which looks nothing like the production Lancer, BMW tried to make their racing X3, the BMW X3CC (Cross Country) resemble the production X3 (at least from the outside).

This is how the BMW X3CC looks like:
    http://i367.photobucket.com/albums/oo118/AM2_album/X3CC04.jpg