Volvo Trucks doesn’t want Volvo Cars if Ford sells

Ford Motor Co has announced that it is considering selling its Volvo Cars marque, but a review of its current options would take several months to complete. Volvo itself is currently undergoing a restructuring plan under its new CEO Stephen Odell.

It was previously speculated that the Swedish government may be interested, but what about Volvo (the industrial group whose businesses include making Volvo trucks) themselves? Volvo sold Volvo Cars to Ford in 1999. But it seems that they’re not interested in revisiting the past. They’ve come out and said that they “absolutely do not want to buy Volvo Cars”, quoted verbatim from their chairman Finn Johnsson in a report from Swedish financial daily Dagens Industri.

However Volvo has stated they would gladly gladly finance joint projects such as sponsor projects or R&D projects, and could consider being part of various consortiums without actually being the main owner.

They’ve also publicly opposed calls for the Swedish government to take over Volvo because according to them, the government knows nothing about the car industry and Volvo needs a owner that has the ability to work on increasing sales and cooperate with suppliers on components and development.

Johnsson suggested Renault as a good potential owner.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:41 am

thats a big blow. its like a parent who disowned a child and not wanting it back even the child insists. lol

i hope volvo finds a new owner. ford totally ruined it. bad parenting

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:54 am

“the government knows nothing about the car industry and Volvo needs a owner that has the ability to work on increasing sales….”

so who is better now? our G or their G?….haha.. i think both

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:56 am

sorry…wrong sentences

so who more stupid? our G or their G?… i think both

• eagle707 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 8:53 am

si-fu…

Does proton has an interest to buy volvo cars?.. hehehe

• tikus (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:01 am

eagle707,

sure lar if volvo sell for 1buck USD.then we have Proton XC90 for SUV market.

• lchan (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:15 am

Proton better not have any interest in buying volvo and get G to start digging into our country’s reserve and EPF.

I thought BMW would be interested to buy volvo since they mentioned a couple of years ago their interest.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:26 am

If proton buy, gud la. No more tin milo, but kereta kebal ahaha. What say u, all proton bashers out there?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:06 am

I got a bit feeling that VW or TATA will snatch this deal.. Hmm… If i am a rich dude, i will buy Volvo for R & D in Safety and Chassis sharing platform so that i can share with other manufacturer and earn money.. Who dont want a safe chassis (backbone) from Volvo if it is proven to be the best around?

Volvo have a few engine which is good such like the T5 engine, but due to lack of excitement and refinement. Volvo is dull to drive.. I think Volvo need like RWD car to drive and not FWD.. Volvo XC90 is proven to be the best SUV around and i think the 4WD is quite good.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:45 am

if proton buy volvo
    proton get 5* NCAP
    Volvo get exciting handing

proton handles mass market
    volvo handles luxury n premium markets
    lotus handles performance market

good for all

• KF (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 11:29 am

‘Johnsson suggested Renault as a good potential owner”

Err…didn’t at one time Volvo and Renault merged in the early 90’s

• anak tanjung (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 11:31 am

if proton buy volvo
    proton get 5* NCAP
    Volvo get exciting handing

proton handles mass market
    volvo handles luxury n premium markets
    lotus handles performance market

good for all

all the politician get to move around in volvos

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 1:14 pm

Guyz !!!! i dont really understand whats goin on !!!! Does this means there will be no more volvo cars in the future ??????

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 2:40 pm

If Potong buy Volvo (not that they even had a chance) what will change? Answer is, very little.

Because its not in the know-how, which can be learnt or bought, but is the attitude of management and the mentality of the employees.

When Proton bought Lotus, what changed? Did their cars become better or did they still produce the same old junk? Judging from the fact they nearly went bust last year (but for taxpayer money, they would already be bankrupt) almost a decade after owning Lotus, I think their benefit, is minimal at best.

What did they actually gain from Lotus? CPS engine delayed god knows how many years until this year only belatedly release. What a joke. The so-called “Lotus Handling” is only inside the Potong driver’s head. The build quality of the cars – did it improve?

Judging from the fact that Potong is way behind “little brother” Perodua despite once being the undisputed leader in the local market, as well as its pathetic export sales, I guess you can say – Potong didn’t improve much, if at all, from buying Lotus.

Given their abysmal track record, IF they bought Volvo no guesses, it would be the same old rubbish.

• tikus (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 2:41 pm

Xx-Ferrari-Xx,

If Potong take over Volvo,it will call Provol or provolvo. :)

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:20 pm

I don’t think proton can buy this brand. Too expansive

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:44 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 2, 2008 @ 2:40 pm

tikus said,
    December 2, 2008 @ 2:41 pm

mystvearn said,
    December 2, 2008 @ 7:20 pm

————————————————–

Hey Guyz……………. Thanks for your explaination for me………… I can get the rough picture of it ….. Thanks again Bro !!!!

~ HaPpY MoToRiNg ~

• csv (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 11:28 pm

now thats sad, the father does not want the child. wonder why……whats their reason.

imagine if renault really bought over volvo cars, which means Volvo, Renault, Nissan crossplatform etce etc stuff.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 12:28 pm

Oh? So u’re denying the fact that Proton today is very much different than 3 years ago? To whom does it owe to if not for the new management team led by DSZ? TM, is no more n now he’s busy making real milo tins. A check at nestle’s msia website still show he’s one of their bod.

No Lotus handling, what a joke. Motor journalists, be it msian, british, singaporean etc can tell proton cars’ ride n handling benefits from Lotus’ experties. Yes, they may not be favoured in terms of build quality, but that’s no excuse to disregard what proton benefited from lotus.

So come on Sweden, give us a chance to own ur marque!! At the very least, msia’s death accident can be reduced by a bit, cuz our drivers are still very much insufficiently edcuated.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:00 pm

ford can close shop tomorrow

• fadelicious (Member) on Dec 06, 2008 at 3:06 am

proton = lotus handling + decent styling .. volvo = very safe + brilliant interior + that characterful engine.. imagine having a proton mpv which has lotus handling + nice design combined with volvo’s T5 engine + interior quality + safetyyyy ( long list ) catered for european market.. hmm.. they might enter that america market oso.. neway.. just curious..hw mch volvo costs ey ?

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 8:55 pm

now no more v50 t5 right in malaysia. they should bring volvo s60 t6

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 8:56 pm

now no more v50 t5 right in malaysia. they should bring volvo s80 t6