Peugeot 308 Malaysian specifications revealed, all set for 29th January 2009 launch

Peugeot 308

I have specifications for the new Peugeot 308 set to be unveiled on the 29th of January 2009. The specs look promising indeed and if Nasim decides to give the 308 some very competitive pricing like it did with the 407, it should have all it needs to be a killer product, the rest depends on the public perception of the brand and the marque’s support network.

Peugeot 308 VTi specifications
Engine
PSA-BMW Prince 1.6 engine
120hp at 6,000rpm
160Nm @ 4,250rpm
4-speed automatic

Exterior
16″ 10-spoke alloy wheels
Headlamps with follow me home function
Daytime Running Lights [DRL]
Auto Headlight Sensor
Auto Front Windshield Wipers
Electric Folding mirrors

Interior
Active carbon/pollen filter for dual zone air cond
6 speakers
MP3 CD player with aux input and remote control
Rake and reach adjustable steering
Underseat storage drawers for front and rear
Adjustable front armrest with storage compartment

Safety
4 airbags (Front and side)
ABS, EBD, EBA

And for the top spec model:

Peugeot 308 Turbo specifications (on top of VTi specs)
Engine
PSA-BMW Prince 1.6 engine
140hp at 6,000rpm
240Nm @ 4,250rpm
4-speed automatic

Safety
6 airbags (front, side, curtain)
ESP with Traction Control and Dynamic Stability Control

Exterior
Automatic electric folding mirrors
Body color side protection
5-spoke 17 inch alloy wheels

Interior
Rear air-cond vents
Auto dimming rear view mirror
Rear center armrest with storage compartment and 2 cupholders
Built-in fragrance diffuser

Apparently the turbo version only has 140hp and not 150hp as previously expected, because that is how Peugeot tunes the engine for the automatic transmission. The 150hp is only available on the manual stock from the factory.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:28 pm

1.6 turbo but got only 140hp only?

thats weird….

• Edmund Leong on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Hi there,

Does anyone know what is the proper channel to make a complain about NAZA?
      I have waited about 16 weeks for 308THP and today I am suppose to get my car but I have rejected it. This is because I have noticed the discrepancies between the showroom unit and the actual unit. There are 4 differences, the sport rim in the actual unit has no nut cover while the showroom has it; secondly, the front passenger and driver’s headrest has been downgraded to 308VIT’s spec. The headrest in 308THP suppose to be very handsome and curvy but now it is bulky and clumsy. Thirdly, 308THPhas sporty, white meter panel but now it is like VTi or Myvi (orange light)!!?? Fourthly, the rack at the back of passenger seat supposingly has a covered compartment but now it has disappeared!!??? Don’t you guys feel that now the interior of 308THP looks like a Iswara???
      This fact is, I just glance it through from outside the car, I am not allowed to check further in details!!?? Can’t you guys believe it? Am I not supposed to check thoroughly on what I am paying for?? What else is hidden?? Well, I’m not sure….
      Is it still worth for me to pay RM113,888.00 for a downgraded version???
      Anyone who is going to get his/her 308THP or will be going get it, do check your car!!According to the sales man, the new batch of 308THP are confirmed have the above changes, or we call it ‘’downgraded”. If it is real, let’s file a complaint together!!!

• Adrian Khoo on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Pls let me know where u buy it from. Gonna get my car soon. Need 2 check b4 i get it.

• a18 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:35 pm

autojohndoe said,

January 21, 2009 @ 9:28 pm

thats weird….
    ————————————————-
    Bro, as mentioned
    Peugeot de tuned to 140bhp due to its 4 speed auto.
    If it is 6 speed manual, d stock shd b4 175bhp

I really wish to see Nasim to launch 1.6 turbo with 6 speed manual transmission.

The 4 speed auto transmission probably wont give good FC.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:37 pm

automatic? yuck….manual transmission rulez

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:37 pm

i thought it Prince engine not Price ??!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:47 pm

a18 said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 9:35 pm

autojohndoe said,

January 21, 2009 @ 9:28 pm

thats weird….
    ————————————————-
    Bro, as mentioned
    Peugeot de tuned to 140bhp due to its 4 speed auto.
    If it is 6 speed manual, d stock shd b4 175bhp

I really wish to see Nasim to launch 1.6 turbo with 6 speed manual transmission.

The 4 speed auto transmission probably wont give good FC.

whats the diff? i cant see it… because… as i had been taught…. the power stated is measured direct from engine output before attach to the transmission….

hence, as i understand, the power is not determined by the number of gears… so, i think 4 speeds or 6 speeds has no diff in power….

• aliBaPa (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:57 pm

curious what’s the price

• Paul Tan on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:16 pm

about the 4-speed… because of the powerful and wide torque curve, this car will be less impacted by less gear ratios compared to normally aspirated engines narrow and peaky torque curve which will benefit from more ratios as it helps keep it in the narrow peak torque band.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:23 pm

The price please… the price!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:37 pm

automatic? manual?

the future is twin-clutch automated manual !!!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:00 pm

mitlanevo said,

January 21, 2009 @ 10:37 pm

automatic? manual?

the future is twin-clutch automated manual !!!

One example is the present Evo X.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:19 pm

peogeot…. 407 luks better with its pricing…. 308 should also be gud at its pricing soon….. i prefer the 6 speed manual version…

• juicer (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:25 pm

with auto , who care the price.
    total disappointment.

who care to pay thousand plus to service this euro car , with performance of compact saloon.

• jackson91 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:31 pm

autocar asean july 2008 issue have review of peugeot 308 thp. it was the one sold in singapore that they reviewed. it complains about the clunky shifting 4 speed auto. otherwise is considered good car (they say at that time la).

but then for its features, the car that comes close is the bmw 3 series or audi a4 but even then it lacks some features. but at over twice the price.

• kerelbort (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:52 pm

RM17X+K 407 CBU bring down to RM133K 407 CKD with more gadget
    RM159K 308 GT CBU can bring down to how much for a non-GT 308? if RM9XK… say good bye to all IMPUL tampal car from NISSAN. come come.. with manual transmission please!!

I really want the 206.. but now it does look very small… I like Focus alot too, but I would choose a 1.6 over 2.0 everytime. eventho, fuel price has collapse but must be carefull choosing fuel efficient car… ;)

• jitoot (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:54 pm

i dropped by the peugeot showroom at bangsar during the weekend to check out the 206 offer, and at the same time i enquired about the price of this CKD 308. the sales agent told me the price should be around RM95k. he didn’t say whether it’s for the standard or turbo spec though. again, pls take this with a grain of salt :)

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:08 am

you guys say you prefer to have the auto but i’ll bet 100% you wouldn’t buy it if it was brought in. yes you’d buy a manual but i suppose you have the protons and peroduas to look forward to lah. all talk, no action. the decision to bring in the auto was probably the result of research which showed that almost all the target market wanted a turbo car but preferred an auto for daily use. this is probably the same case for brands other than proton and perodua.

again, just look at the other brands. japanese and european. manuals probably represent less than 10% of their sales.

but, if you want the manual, just buy the 6 speed 308GT.

also, when car magazines test the cars, they do it to the extreme and at those extreme points of testing, yeah even a porsche will be faulted here and there. but, if u use the car daily and for the occasional traffic light drag, the 4 speed auto is more than enough.

bear in mind, many japanese and european models, even those with 2,000cc are still running around with 4 speed autos. so stop talking like you’re jeremy clarkson cos you guys clearly are not.

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:09 am

The 6 Speed Manual is available; Nobody read this blog in the past? It’s called the 308GT, it’s CBU and comes with moonroof; but then, well, talk is one thing, can afford is another.

For the price of the car; be fair first, why not you guys estimate the price before finding out the “actual” price?
    1. This 1.6L VTi is competing against the 1.6L Altis, Mazda3 1.6L… Based on this,
    1.1 “Estimate” the price of this car
    1.2 Now look a the specs, compared, and re-estimate again.
    1.3 Then you compare your estimated price against the “actual” price.

Just fyi, the one sold at Singapore, the 1.6L VTi (lowest spec) is around SGD80K, slightly more expensive than the 2.0L Civic.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:13 am

believe me…most french cars dont have smooth shifting autos….and definatly clunky AMTs….dont expect japanese type smooth shifting….i tink if nasim shows us that thy really care abt after service for peugeot cars thn it will do well….from few stories i heard and read from the bestari experience….the servicing is a nightmare u dowanna go tro…..

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:23 am

6 Speed Manual is available; FYI, it’s called the 308GT and it’s a CBU which comes with moon roof. Did you guys actually read the previous posting before? But then again, talk is one thing, can afford is another.

To be fair, why not you guys “estimate” the price of the car before finding out the car price?
    1. Since this car is competing against the Altis 1.6L, Mazda3 1.6L; so, what would you estimate the price for this 308 1.6L VTi (being a european car; forget the specs for now).
    2. Now, after you have estimated, compare the specs, and re-estimate your price again.
    3. Finally, go find out the actual price for the 308 1.6L VTi…

Just FYI, in Singapore, the 1.6L VTi (lowest spec) was selling around SGD80K, and it’s slightly more expensive than the Civic 2.0L.

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:38 am

Doesn’t matter for those who are not interested; the point here is, finally, we have much much better spec’d cars and at a very attractive pricing; This bring tougher competition to the market and it’s good for us consumers.

Next time, other brand will think many times before introducing a new car and what specs and features to provide and at attractive price.

With the 407, we started to see some trend on other brand starting bringing in better spec cars and “forced” to provide attractive pricing (even tough they sell much much more units). With this 308, even the VTi have 4 Air Bags, Auto Headlights, Auto Wipers, etc… You don’t find it even in some higher class cars.

Time for the auto market to change and provides us car with better spec and features, and not some pasar malam spec (everything removed when reach bolehland).

So doesn’t matter if you’re not interested in the car or plan to buy, just support the move. Who knows, maybe next your dream car or the car you planned to buy will have better specs, features and attractive pricing in order to compete in the market =)

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:41 am

one reason for clunky french gearboxes is that the french really love manuals and want their autos to have a so-called ‘manual feel’ when changing gears.

e-nabilll, you have rightly said fron the ‘few’ bestari stories you have heard. but then, there are also a ‘few’ stories i have heard about toyota and honda and other so-called faultless japanese brands.

• figo (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:58 am

If they can price around below 80K for 1.6 basic spec than the chances to sell at large volumn is possible because most of the euro car price lower( by 10%) than the japanese. As an example how the 407(better spec) against the camry and Accord.

The 1.6 307 should compare to 1.6 Livina pricing at 82K OTR (after discount) if they really want to see every street running with Peugeot car rather than just another option like 407.

Hope they can price 78K OTR to make a big surprice to the public.

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:13 am

figo,

Do you know the 308 is under C-Segment car against Altis 1.6L, Mazda3 1.6L. Don’t compare against a “cheap” product like Livina/Avanza. Plus, those are MPV.
    Don’t just simply make ridiculous, illogical, insensible pricing. The 1.6L 307 CBU used to price above RM130K, now the 308 CKD (newer version, much better spec) is priced below RM100K, that’s more than RM30K drop; It’s already a good move.

If you don’t know how to appreciate, then just don’t buy; I don’t think any Pug owners wishes to see owners like this.
    When you launch a product with Pasar Malam specs, it’s destroys the brand and model. If you’re looking for such model, please, look elsewhere..

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:29 am

figo,

just goes to show how much you know about the 308 and the car market. look at the specs and dimensions then make an educated comment, please. don’t shoot off the hip without knowing anything.

• CR7 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:31 am

As ironic as it seems…we Msians are normally blindfolded by the price with interior/significantly reduced specs, compromised service, as compared to what has been offered in overseas for similar makes…and without taking serious consideration and research….we proclaim that we’ve hit a bargain…and disregard the rest that are being offered out there…why are we still having the mentality of our ex-generations?

Perhaps Proton has successfully altered our perceptions about cars…for those who have already realized the real value of this car….I suppose we, as comsumer should start making the first move to improve the health of our automotive industry…

• koinmove (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:34 am

seem like those who not well know peugeot… keep talking nonsense…

• kh23 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:39 am

May be some of the crowd here confuse with the Peugeot family. If you do a quick check on Wikipedia, you will find Peugeot cars has 5 classes, beside the MPV. They are all started with 1xx, 2xx, 3xx, 4xx, 6xx.
    The 206/207 is same segment as City/Vios. The 307/308 is same segment as Civic/Altis. Now, you will see the price discount you get with this CKD 308Vti or turbo. If you take 308Vti which is estimated to be around rm95K. And how much is the Altis 1.6(rm105K)? Civic 1.8(110K).
    If you want to compare with manual car like Golf GTi with DSG then you will have to compare with 308GT. This 308 article by this blog is about the family hatchback of 308 family. In 308, they have CC, RCZ, SW form-factor for different needs. So, please do not confuse and start comparing different cars with this most hot-selling family-hatch in Europe, i.e. 308 120VTi and 308 140THP.
    A good website to understand all the models I mentioned is the Peugeot Australia website, www.peugeot.com.au. They have heaps of video and explaination on different models and their features.

• tikus (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:44 am

Bolehland mind set just like katak dalan tempurung. Only T and H brand car is the best. Come on lar look at the spec and test drive it. Feel the differance compare with T n H.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:20 am

malaysian is brand concern… but too concern on some brands till they tend to bash other brand….

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:49 am

Well… its tough to say whether Malaysians can accept the brand eventhough the price hits rock bottom. Look at the 407; competitive pricing & impressive specs, but sales are still flagging.

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:09 am

this is one aspect about a particular type of blogger in Paul Tan that are irritating i must say. it might as well bring this blog down one day.

unrealistic immature comments, insincere judgement supported by wrong information.

some even dont know what they are talking about.

come on guys, don’t past comments just for the sake of passing it. do it with integrity. speak out responsibly.

regarding some comments:
    6-speed manual 308? its HERE since last year already. Donca know? what 120 with manual g/box. Nasim might bring in some later, it must have business case i.e. depends on response to the auto first. manual car sales is less than 10% nowaday… get it?

dual cluth g/box ala DSG for a car to be priced at around RM95K and less than RM110K? Only nuts will do that now. this g/box cost a bomb. it will make the car too expensive.

look at the spec and indicative price: as with 407 CKD:
    the spec for both type of the 308 CKD blow all its competitors away.
    the pricing for both also blow all its competitiors away.

manual lover should find the peugeot 308 auto g/box likeable, because it give the ‘manual g/box’ feeling to the drive. this gearbox is one of the best auto gearbox in mimicking manual gearbox driving experience (for car in sub rm110Kprice). combine with 240Nm of torque from around 1500rpm and MAINTAIN till 5000rpm, this is one hell of a great car to drive for rm95k/rm110k.

as for the ‘4-speed auto’, Paul Tan himself had commented on it.

as for FC, both the 120hp and 140hp will give good FC for a car for its statue.

The 308 is equipped with Prince engine that WON the world most prestige engine award, International Engine of the Year award (in 2008) for 1.4 -1.8L engine.

Basically, this is the BEST engine in the world of all the thousands 1.4L, 1.5L, 1.6L, 1.7L, 1.8L engine in the whole world. Isn’t that something?

also please stop comparing its FC with let say.. Viva manual. let compare with car with in similar power and weight or same car segment. having said that, the FC of this engine is very good, eventhough the 308 is a very heavy car for its size.

for a 1.6 turbo with ‘only’ 140hp, there nothing weird about it. its all about tuning. beside, there is a price tag for power. nobody wanna sell power for cheap. want more power, have to pay more lah.

as for price, it will not go far from what i’ve mentioned above. don’t dream of a sub-rm90k of the 120hp VTi. Nasim is a business entity, not non-profit NGO, bro. so you win some, you lose some. its a win-win situation for everybody.

• xatomic (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:25 am

how would this compare with the ford focus and mazda 3? reviews are saying generally it doesn’t handle as well as them, but the advantage being having a better engine and probably interior/equipment

• figo (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:39 am

1. Do you know the 308 is under C-Segment car against Altis 1.6L, Mazda3 1.6L. Don’t compare against a “cheap” product like Livina/Avanza. Plus, those are MPV.
    Don’t just simply make ridiculous, illogical, insensible pricing. The 1.6L 307 CBU used to price above RM130K, now the 308 CKD (newer version, much better spec) is priced below RM100K, that’s more than RM30K drop; It’s already a good move.
    If you don’t know how to appreciate, then just don’t buy; I don’t think any Pug owners wishes to see owners like this.
    When you launch a product with Pasar Malam specs, it’s destroys the brand and model. If you’re looking for such model, please, look elsewhere..
    – Quoted by Andy
    ——————————–

Sorry, I don’t really know how to appreciate a continental car even I have owned a Citroen before.

What so great above B or C segment car if the following still lacking:-
    1) Reliability?
    2) Resale value?
    3) Higher fuel consumption as compared to Japanese car?

Don’t compare to any CBU or CKD car price in Malaysia. This shows that you are really very naive and manipulated by our dump AP policy. Do you know the price for a Toyota Estima in Japan and Malaysia?

In Malaysia, car is expensive and please asks why the majority people opt for Toyota/Honda/Nissan below 80K range eventhough they are selling the C segment car?

If Pug really wants to make a big impact in Malaysia market than they really need to lower down their high profit margin (like Naza ria – becos they are the AP king and able to manipulate the tax structure ) . Otherwise, just depend on the few pug Owner like you to appreciate the antic.

Well, Price is the main factor for sale volume in Malaysia and not so on the reputation of PUG’s image.

What so special about 407 and 206/306 even the price lower than Camry/Accord and City/Vios? Can they sell even with higher spec?

This market has proven that the reputation or image of this PUG still behind Toyota/ Honda/Nissan or the korean even with lower price and higher spec.

The pricing of this PUG need to change regardless B or C segment OR continue to be the failure.

They really need to price lower than the Japanese in term of CC specification and not on which Segment(B/C/D).

Ya, Keep up the new car price above 95K and I will appreciate this pug 308 after 4 years when the price hit 30K (like Citroen C5 from 150K to 35K after 5 years).

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:08 pm

whats the price of the car?

• figo (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:10 pm

Yes, beside 308 Pug. I also appreciate the following old continental make:

1) Citroen Piccaso C4 at RM 45K after 5 years from RM110K.
    2) 206 pug at RM 35K after 4 years from RM 80K
    3) AlFa 2.5 156 at RM 50K after 5 years from RM 190K
    4) 307 Pug at 40K after 5 years from above RM 100K
    5) 407 Pug at ……….etc.
    6) 308 Pug at RM…. after 4 years from RM 95K.

• koinmove (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:42 pm

figo,

u forget about bmw and benz….

u just go buy your high resale value car….
    beside of jap automalers… there are no others automakers suitable for u…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:01 pm

to me, peugeot in malaysia is very much a niche brand. most people who buy them already know about it, and have a liking towards the brand, or have owned them previously. there will certainly not be many first time buyers.

i do agree with figo on good 2nd hand value, and its not just about bmw and merc.. its also important when buying any type of car. only people with money to spare money can afford to buy a car with poor 2nd hand value. how do you sell your 3-4 year old car to buy a new car if you still need to pay the bank after you’ve sold off your car? Sadly, its a fact that the french makes, and usually also, the italians and now the koreans that suffer the worst 2nd hand value. many people especially who bought korean cars are now stuck with them, unless they’re prepared to pull out cash to pay off the bank loans.

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:33 pm

i think its no use to engage blogger(s) who will always use reliability, resale value, higher FC issue everytime a new promising conti car is detected.

no matter how many time you say that reliability issue is the past, they won’t listen. because they will keep use past bad experience to predict the future.

Peugeot model starting from 207 & 308 have improved reliability. check out european car review website for details.

resale value – this car is a CKD. no CBU import tax, excise tax, AP fee to pay. so price is purely of the car + small CKD tax. same like honda city etc… depreciation rate should be 10~12% per annum only. anything more is not fair.

higher FC than japanese? emm.. nampak sangat tak tau apa pasal euro car.
    or at the very least, this simple mindless statement was so obviously irresponsible and was made with sour intention.

even the blogger figo himself admitted he don’t know how to appreciate a continental car even he claimed have owned a Citroen before.

Then why should we listen to you?

or why are you even posting your piecemeal here? The negativity are so obvious, i think the objective (the 308) is all lost.

come on, most blogger here that celebrate the Peugeot are much ethical in comparing the Pug against its competitors, using spec and price as benchmark.

are you so piss off that your Citroen got so low resale value when u sell it (or that why you still don’t), that you still hold a super duper grugde against all conti car, especially french… so that why your posting are so full of negativity?

Have you evaluate the car, the 308, objectively before passing your remark?

remember, we are discussing about the all new 308 here. not 10-15 year old car.

and its not fair to say Pug have lower image than T&H in Malaysia w/out a fair explaination.

We KNOW that. everyone KNOW that. the sales figure confirm it. everyone also know that it is due to combination of unfortunate events over the years, not because Pug vehicles are THAT poor compared to T&H models.

Nasim is in the start to revive, re-built the Peugeot brand image.. do you know that? Why won’t you give it a chance?

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:41 pm

figo,

Don’t have to show off what car you own before; To be honest, it’s more dissapointing knowing you own a contis and have to be a Citroen, and how you value these cars. Pathethic.

What are you talking about CBU and CKD with Estima; Like I mentioned, be more realistic when you estimate price for cars; The Altis 1.6L CKD cost over RM105K, and it’s a Japanese, sold by Toyota, sold in many units per month. If you don’t understand simple business and maths, then I can’t say anything.

Since you talk so loud and no action, why not you do some action? Why not you bring in the 308 with RM80K.
    Who doesn’t know cars in Malaysia is way overpriced, even if the 308 is selling at RM80K, it’s still overpriced.
    But be more realistic and logical, if any company plan to CKD and sell the 308, do you think we can even think of getting below RM110K for the VTi?

You also mentioned with higher spec and cheaper price, yet still not selling so well; So, obviously, it’s not the matter of pricing now, it’s the matter of the public’s perception on the car, the after-sales services, the spare parts, etc.

The fact remains, the 308 has drop a great amount of value from previous RM130K for 307 CBU. (more than RM30K drop; excuse me, but how many cars do you see such things happen? And here you still wanna give pressure to these people who already make the first move and tried; obviously you’re just trying to find trouble or sorry to say, jealous?)

Like I said, you don’t know how to appreciate, then don’t buy;
    You can think it should be priced RM80K, heck, everyone also one, I wish it’s was priced below RM50K; but be more realistic and logical la. Who doesn’t want good things with cheap price.
    You don’t think it’s cheap for you, just don’t buy lo; For many of the buyer, this is a very good buy with the specs. Cmon’ the 1.6L VTi specs and features can even compete with Camry/Accord, except “mainly” it’s size and smaller cc engine. Many other C Segment cars are not even in it’s league or even come close.

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:45 pm

figo,

Another point, do you think Nasim-Peugeot “must” price this car below RM100K; For all they care, they could just price it RM120K for the 1.6L VTi and let only those who can afford and appreciates buy it; No money ar, don’y buy lor.

Now they have make an effort, a move by lowering the value at such price; It’s a good move; If you don’t agree and think otherwise, then I can’t do anything; Perhaps you can prove and show what you can do, do some action instead of just “typing” what the price should be because you think so.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:46 pm

it’s really simple, if you like it, buy it. but if you want to think so much, then you don’t really understand what it is to buy an emotional product. i’d say ‘don’t buy’. an emotional product is something that you would want to sneak out from your room at night just to look at being parked in your porch. if you really need to think about resale values, aftersales, then go ahead and buy your rational brand car. you’d save some money too in the long run, although i don’t think the arguement of resale value holds much water these days. you won’t go wrong taking that path though. afterall, it still gets you from a to b but without the panache, style and image… but then, that’s not what you look for in a car right?

forget the prices overseas. this is malaysia and we have to live with what we have now. you want to do something? then let the next election results show it. but for now, get off your high horse and live a malaysian. if you’re not happy, i suppose other countries that sell cars cheaper would be very happy to take you in.

• CR7 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:09 pm

The comments made by Figo are exactly what I referred to as our typical Msian mentality inherited from our ex-generation….

Keep sticking to your Jap mades and the situation in our automotive industry will remain in its pathetic state for 2,3,4,5 decades…simply because not many Malaysian’s are willing to accept the fact that they’re paying for inferior goods with compromised quality…and have the courage to make the change…

To bring up the resale value of conti cars like Pugs, requires a collective effort from all of us…as ultimately…it is the consumer demand the strongly influence its 2nd hand value (mind you…certainly not because the car is inferior to the Japs)….if Nasim has already made the first step of bring in a car that has been widely appreciated and recognized by our EU counterparts in terms of quality and reliability…and if they are able to improve their subsequent service qualities….I do not see any reason that should hold us from making our moves…to me…it’s a chicken and egg scenario…

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:19 pm

Give that figo guy a chance. Some of his points are correct, in terms of depreciation. That’s what made Malaysians so scared of Frenchies. Not only us, but Singaporeans too prefer the T & H brand over Pug/Ren/Cit (according to media report).

But, resale value is not an issue if u plan to use the car for the long term. Frankly speaking, the 308 is so so much better compared to all C-segment Jap competitors (technological-wise). Ride, handling, FC, EuroNCAP safety, and Refinement. Its several years ahead of the Japanese counterparts.

I’m sure the reliability thingy has improved greatly, and the only thing that Nasim needs to do is to raise the image & brand awareness. For those who appreciate the niceties that Conti cars can offer, price is not an issue.

• CatDawg (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:20 pm

heya all…after reading all of the comments, i would like to voize out my 2cents worth of opinion.i drive a 4years old 206cc, and true to some of your comments, the 4speed auto gearbox is clunky and jerky, but i have never thought that this is ‘purposely’ done to give the feel that “the french really love manuals and want their autos to have a so-called ‘manual feel’ when changing gears”, as explained by lowprofile.it is not a pleasant feel, especially when you’re stuck in a heavy jam like our roads here, coz it tires/irritates you out quickly & easily! i’d anytime prefer a smooth gear (not neccesarily a japanese brand, my other car which is a waja will already do!) so why do i still drive one, taking into account your comments of the resale value,high maintenance, overpriced-lah, not a practical car in msia weather-lah, lotsof problems-lah, blah blah blah….? (i’m always amused that most people,being typical msians, give their comments like as tho they own one,let alone sit in one, altho in most cases they hear these comments from their friend/neighbour/relative/colleagues/blogs/mags, whom coincidentally, also heard from their friend/etc etc etc. isn’t that amusing? or…are they just pure sour grapes coz can’t afford?) well, here’s why….the handling is superb; the suspension’s so stiff those pot holes on our roads like takda rasa and high cornering ability (m mind is often somewhere else until i see the speedometer and freak out!) but above all is……the attention, stares & gawks!!! this is a beautiful car, and it never fails to grab attention anywhere, anytime. it was the hand gestures i noticed first. this was not the usual sign language that has, on rare occasions, been offered in response to what the uncharitable might interpret as overenthusiastic driving on my part. this time there was no hostility among the animation. i was at a set of traffic lights in my 206cc,and what the bloke behind was clearly trying to communicate to his evidently rapt family the brilliance of my car’s folding tin roof. looking at him in the mirror, you’d have thought he’d just invented the bread slicer. nor was this an isolated incident. wherever i drove, the usually instinctively indifferent fellow msians would stop, stare and point. not even any vwgolf/merc/beemer/ah beng cars with loud exhaust & hideous spoilers could grab that attention away from my 206cc! and with that i conclude,boys and gals, the pride and feeling of driving one is like what the mastercard advert tag says : “priceless”. isn’t that what we all (secretly or openly) want out of our cars? to stand out from the rest? to feed our obnoxious egos? oklah, i rest my case :o). gong xi fa chai to all & be safe on da road!!!

• tikus (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 7:12 pm

figo,you are the guy i mention katak dalam tempurung..oh sorry now anjing dalam tempurung.Simply barking without fact finding.All 2nd hand car price is control by used car dealer.They like to goring T&H brand then it went sky high.

• tikus (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Toyota & Honda brand not so graet after all dont know why 2nd price so high.
    Any used car dealer here to explain?

• s60t (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 7:46 pm

I had a 307SW 2004 and swapped for a toyota wish in 2007 when the gearbox started to give problems.The best thing about the pug is the level of comfort. My whole family complained that the seats in the wish are nowhere as confy as the pug.Hopefully the new gearboxes are more reliable.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:28 pm

These specs are something you find on D-segment cars. Very nice indeed.

Rear air-cond vents
    Auto dimming rear view mirror

What is this?
    Body color side protection

Is it those rubber protection you get when you buy cars? Those RM2 things you can find in accessory shop

• kh23 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:09 pm

If you have not seen the car physically, then you better hold on to your horse on writing any comments. Once you have seen, seat and better still test drive the car, then you would understand what is meant by the 206cc owner-CatDawgb. And you would know this gorgeous 308Vti is worth more than its suggested price in the market, i.e. around rm95K. You will get to see and touch it after 3:08pm on Jan 29th.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:43 pm

My first real taste of the Pug was a 405GL 1.6 imported from the UK. In the UK, automatics have a bigger depreciation. That’s is one helluva car to drive coz its a manual. That was 1999. I still remenisce with a sigh at the end.

I still drive a manual today coz I like to overtake waggling autos up and down Karak highway in my manual Waja. I like the twisties. taking that racing line, power out the corners, keeping needle on the optimum band range. It’s neat. It’s a rush. Can’t do that in an auto.

Fact is, foreign makes want to get the bigger share of the pie; non car people. That’s why the 408 would outsell the other models. Its a bit of a parody no? Non-car peeps care about resale value. Non-car peeps make up the most of bankers who tell us what our car value is. Banks are controlling 2nd hand car prices for what? Insurance? Lost asset? Really, can somebody tell me what the valuation are based on? Maybe becoz Non Car peeps bankers like to be driven and not drive an M5. Non car peeps bankers are stupd no?

Non-car peeps care about resale value. Car peeps value the drive. Pugs were meant to be for Car peeps. Now its all about EBIT. Car peeps would buy a car he likes and try as much to keep it. Non car peep think its an investment (Haha!).

• mct (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:07 am

try to correct something
    ALL car are subject to excise duty , 75% of excise duty will charge if the car were 1800cc and below, higher capacity , higher tax

altis is cbu btw

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:30 am

mct,

cbu from?
    CKD vs CBU Japanese does it makes difference in the first place, 1st of please explain the prices between CBU Lancer from Japan and CKD Civic in Malaysia; How can a CBU from Japan cheaper than a CKD Civic In Malaysia; Clearly, something is wrong with the car pricing for these markets; It never drops, but it increases (when CBU turn CKD, sometimes, you didn’t see any price changes or even increase in price; or maybe when local content goes up higher, the model quality drops, but actually increase in price more). BUT, people still buys it (not really because they appreciates it, but because of the “name”), that makes them “no need to drop price”, logically, if you can sell higher and people still will buy, what for you want to sell cheaper? When you can earn more, why not?

Another fact that many Malaysia values a car is by it’s price, it’s ironic and pathethic; A more expensive car = a better car; they totally forgot and overlook the class of the car. (Example: the 407 CKD the low specs are even better than a Camry high specs (even feels more class); but people take it and compare it with Lancer/Civic just because the price is close to a Civic)
    Oh, another ironic fact, the BIGGER the car, the more value (doesn’t matter the material quality, chassis strength, etc).

• CR7 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:54 am

This is for those who hasn’t got sufficient understanding abt the car, not to mention, the experience of seeing, feeling, touching, smelling or driving the car….simply by clicking on the link below…you will realize how the jap mades fare in the INTERNATIONAL pecking order…whereby I can’t spot more than 2/3 familiar Jap names available in our country making the top six…and guess who’s at the top of its class? This is an assessment on the heart of a car….and I need not mention abt other aspects of the 308, as I suppose most of our uninformed readers have already got a better understanding of what this car is all about..

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/winners_08/14_18.html

• figo (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:24 am

Based on all the comments, I can conclude that “MOST” of the Pug followers are like a barking dog without facing the fact and reality.

Is there any problem to highlight and propose an affordable pricing (80K) for NASIM to consider if they intend to sell this car in” BIG VOLUNM” or out beat those Vios/City/Latio? Or just sell it 95K and maintain the volume as what they had achieved for CKD 407?

Is there anything wrong to say continental car are not so reliable, low resale value, higher fuel consumption if compared to Japanese? Or can I add further lower pickup due to heavy body, higher maintenance cost?

To all the Pug follower, Please face the reality for owning a continental car and I can say most Malaysian having the same perception ( sale has confirmed my fact) as what I am trying to highlight except those guys still dreaming and trying to tell the world how good the Pug can perform in term of (1) Road holding (2) better seat (3) better interior quality (4) more stylist design (5) solid feel…etc. I’m not in dispute on these good characteristic of continental car but what need to improve to change the majority perception on continental car? And why the Japanese car selling like a hot cake even without the item 1 to 5?

They need to throw a “surprise” package like what the Honda City did during 2003 when they launched the City DSI at 78K OTR to capture the higher market share. By doing this then the Pug able to prove to the whole Malaysia how reliable the 308 engine can perform. Without that or just based on you guys promotion, the Pug will not able to improve the “sale and image” and just like the “Katak dalam Tempurung” forever which is similar to the follower.

Can you see any improvement on Conti Car for the past 10 years? Or change the perception on the majority people in Malaysia? The answer is “NO”

OK. If propose an affordable pricing is consider an insult to Pug 308 then I would like Nasim to sell it RM 115K and make this car more prestige/class to “OWN” one.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:40 am

figo,

nasim never said they want to outsell their eastern competitors. their strategy is to offer customers an alternative to what is available in the market. understandably, 90% of customers will buy east and it is an accepted fact. anyway, to those who dare to take a step out from the herd instince that guides us all, they would find that owning a pug is really pleasant. for this, no amount of advertising can help. it must be a realisation of the customer that he or she wants something more in life than to follow the herd. to want something better in life with what they pay for. i guess that is the customer nasim is looking for. afterall, owning an european car (excluding merc, bmw and audi) is always going to be a left wing choice that family and friends will frown upon. but it is the owner’s desire to have something better that drives them. not the opinions of their friends and family.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:31 am

The 308 article is here. http://paultan.org/archives/2008/09/13/new-175hp-peugeot-308-gt-for-rm159999/

Resale value? FC? This is the propaganda pushed by T & H salesmen on a daily basis. They’ve got a vested interest in this and their used car partners do to, as their main supply of trade-ins come from these guys. Furthermore its always JUST A FEELING. OH WHAT A FEELING! ….

When you ask the resale value guys to present some sort of comparison table, or the FC guys to give a comparison of CURRENT MODELS, they are stumped. Reliability? OK where’s the comparison of warranty claims for each model? IQS? OK what’s the sample size? Oh they didn’t disclose that, did they? I wonder why.

If armchair feelings and ass-backwards OPINIONS is how you buy cars, I’m scared of you. If this is how we do our research, I’d be very, very afraid if you’re a doctor or banker.

Peugeot is IN MALAYSIA now. They have a new Distributor, Regional HQ and Regional Technical Help Desk. Competitive parts pricing, nationwide service network (with diagnostic tools), toll-free number. All they have to do is prove the Brand, Network and Products to people who want to buy. The armchair guys with itchy fingers are NOT customers. They demanded manual transmission 206s, but how many went out and bought one once they came in? They demand a sporty 6-speed manual 308. OK there’s one here now, substantially cheaper than a Civic Type-R. How many went out and bought one?

Car companies can’t move to the whims and fancies of fanboys. They have to build a successful BUSINESS to support CUSTOMERS. As Henry Ford once put it, a company is not about money power, it’s about SERVICE POWER, and that service is not to jump around for the entertainment of people who aren’t going to buy.

The ones who don’t do their research, and prefer to keep going on and on about what the T & H salesmen have brainwashed them with, can’t be easily swayed. Cognitive dissonance leads to people trying to justify why their Latio/Jazz is better. Hence the C-Segment, higher-specced European-origin 308 (hence 30%/10% import duty for CBU/CKD vs 5%/0% import duty for Thai/ASEAN origin) MUST be at that level to be a good buy? Why? Oh the brand, network, parts, FC, etc. of course!! Facts and figures don’t matter to them. Arguing is pointless.

• figo (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:47 am

Lowprofile,

I don’t argue about your perception “Nasim never want to outsell their eastern competitors”. If given the oppurtunity to outsell, Why not? Are they talking about business and Profit? or are they just to produce the Pug to have an options?

You should know the answer from your past experience dealing with “NAZA car”. What are they going to do if sale drop? As I’m aware, they will give discount like nobody business and no corporate responsibility to the 1st Owner. Are you agree?

I’m not here to condemme the continental car. As an Ex-continental car Owner and my intention is how to improve perception on Conti car by asking the NASIM to go for lower profit margin (I’m sure they have the margin to play with) and let majority people in malaysia to try out this 308 beauty and confirm the reliability on engine thus changing the overall perception on conti car in malaysia. Its may not be easy but need “surprise” package.

If we keep talking like a dead man as what those Pug follower said then how are we able to promote the car without asking them to own one?

Don’t waste your time on talking and promoting. The best way is let them try out the product with a price that they cant resist.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:58 am

Without prejudice, figo it’s disparaging to post stuff you presume someone will do. If you’d bothered to check, 407s have been selling stubbornly with ZERO discounts. Nasim Peugeot is Nasim Peugeot and no one else. You’re also assuming they have a profit margin to go as low as YOU want it to be positioned at. On what basis?

The MINI Cooper starts at around RM195,290 OTR and the Cooper S is RM239,290. The only difference between Bukan ASEAN (MFN) CBU and CKD is 30% import duty vs 10% import duty. Excise Duty (75%) and Sales Tax (10%) remains the same.

Please stick to the brand and product, not assumptions and competitor propaganda, creating hate statements and ‘folk demons’.

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:14 pm

figo,

What suprised?
    City surprise with 78K OTR; Honestly, there’s nothing to surprised AT ALL; Funny that you find that a surprised when it is so expensive; Well, that explains your “perception” of things.
    The 206 CBU 1.4L previously for close RM100K; when it is said to be CKD, most “realistic” owners were speculating around RM80K (that’s already about RM20K different between CBU and CKD); But the surprised is, RM68,888.

For those who doesn’t appreciate, just let them; For those who has been always wanting the Pug 206 would appreciate to be finally be able to OWN it as a NEW car.

Back then a 206 1.4L cost almost RM100K (for newer models with Tiptronic edition, not the old 1st version), while the 1.6L cost around RM116K; and it’s a B-Segment car against Vios/City. Because of it’s expensive value, people look upon the car. After it sells cheap, suddenly, everyone compare it with lower class car. (Sounds familiar? *COUGHS*)
    The 307 CBU cost over RM130K (still more expensive than any Jap CKD/CBU).

Now, just because the 308 CKD, someone mentioned to YOU, that it’s around RM95K estimated, you pruposely say it should be lower; Ah, common; that’s why I’ve been telling many people that Nasim shouldnt’ release any bits of information on pricing, if they want, just tell people higher (maybe RM110K), then people like you will say, it should be priced RM90K; then Nasim guys can be there laughing cheekily on your statement.
    Another plus point on this is, when they launch the “ACTUAL” price, they can give a BIG surprise to those who has been expecting RM110K, suddenly the actual price is just RM95K, the SMILE on their face will STAYED ON and cannot be removed.

Anyway, as I’ve mentioned, be fair, any company can CKD the car, do they need to sell it low price? NO. They have their choice.

Now, this is a very good opportunity for those who can ONLY dream of owning the Pug 308 able to own it NEW, and with good specs and features.
    If you don’t know how to appreciate, Oh I’m SO GLAD. At least we all know you won’t buy it and we don’t have these types of owner/member/customer, who doesn’t know how to value/appreciate, and only cause problems.
    Oh, thank you again!!!

• figo (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:24 pm

Dear all,

No need to argue for a suggestion made and don’t really need to prove something you also can not confirm.

1) can you prove to me 407 not having any discount? What a stupid statement. Are you sure they are selling like a hot cake?
    2) Can you prove to me Nasim unable to sell RM 80k for 308?

I wonder why those people unable to prove their statement and ask other to prove?

Typical mind like BN against ISA detainee. Can not prove other quilty and ask them to prove why they are not quilty?

Sorry, don’t waste time on nousanse and to those not going to improve themself.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:28 pm

i’m pretty sure the team at nasim know the pitfalls of discounting and have been assured that they will do no such thing which will severely affect the resale value and reputation of the pug brand. to this i dont agree with you. nasim may be under naza but they have a new team of people. if you don’t believe me, just as any sa if they are throwing any price for the 407 in view that the new one is already coming. pricing low is not the way to go for premium or aspiring premium european brands. it will cheapen the brand further. yes, there will be a short jump in sales but after that…? it’s back to square one.

surprise package is more usable for japanese makes or those which neeed critical mass. and, even if the price is lowered, there’s no guarantee of sales right? someone earlier pointed out about the 407 ‘price lower than camry and accord but still not showing numbers’. so why go that route again? might as well sell to those who really want it and use the margin, whatever there is left, to beef up aftersales. No point trying to sell to ppl buying only on price. they will grumble wholesale if they are unhappy over a small thing and say their old car is still better etc. what nasim needs are more mavericks and opinion leaders. not the followers.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:33 pm

figo,

anyway, chill lah, you will never agree to european makes because of your past bitter experience with the re-sale value and spare parts and servicing.

at this point, i would say, ‘to each his own’ and ‘let’s agree to disagree’.

there will be pug fans and there will be pug haters. let’s co-exist.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:36 pm

I know cos my friend and wife went to the showroom twice to check out the 407. Initially and a week ago. Still no discount. They are not desperate to throw prices at all and said if they throw it won’t be fair to all customers.

As for the 80k you didn’t get my point. The MINI has the same powertrain. Body is B-Segment with no rear legroom. How much do you think a Euro source car costs? It’s absurd to justify the price that YOU want, that was my message.

Would you go to Toyota and ask them to PROVE why they can’t sell a Vios for nearer to Proton Persona prices? Why set different rules for Peugeot unless it’s just plain hatred and prejudice?

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:44 pm

maibatsu,

as i said, there will be euro haters and euro lovers.

your points are totally valid though. why have prejudices between the european makes and japanese makes? btw, you are right, the 308 and mini cooper share the same engine. how much more do you think the mini’s development cost is over the 308gt? i don’t think very much unless their engineers are paid super lots and they actually need to make back that amount of money. otherwise, it too, is just overpriced and milking the public for the mini’s past glory that was developed by the british. smart germans though.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:54 pm

I’ve driven the MINI Cooper S. Got invited to the launch too at that auction place. It’s not a bad car and I won’t knock it but I’ve owned a 1975 Mini and to me that’s the real deal. I’ve also driven Camry, City, Civic (I know it very very well) and the 407. Have also continuously visited Toyota, Honda, Peugeot, Kia, Hyundai, Proton, Lexus, Perodua, etc. I know how they welcome customers, how they treat people and what they say so Mr. FIGO, I believe you owe me an apology for saying, “what a stupid statement”.

That’s really unfair and hateful of you, and has nothing to do with the topic we’re discussing. If I did seem rude or disparaging to you I humbly apologise. If at all I seemed rough it’s because we’re passionate about the cars we discuss but why insult someone else’s intelligence. I never said any of your comments were ‘STUPID’ but could probably post some sort of debate to say it is. Not gentlemanly at all though, eh?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:32 pm

kerelbort said,

January 21, 2009 @ 11:52 pm

RM17X+K 407 CBU bring down to RM133K 407 CKD with more gadget
    RM159K 308 GT CBU can bring down to how much for a non-GT 308? if RM9XK… say good bye to all IMPUL tampal car from NISSAN. come come.. with manual transmission please!!

I really want the 206.. but now it does look very small… I like Focus alot too, but I would choose a 1.6 over 2.0 everytime. eventho, fuel price has collapse but must be carefull choosing fuel efficient
    car… ;)
    ——————
    yes and good more french cars here. im sick of korean and japanese(mostly made in malaysia or thailand) cars

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:36 pm

hehehehe..

i thought so.. i thought so….

nobody was safe from the uncivilised way of mr. luis figo comments. winning an argument is everything, who cares about ethics, huh?

nevermind, let’s tarok him till end of the world. and other who would put unfair comments here.

sadly, his selfish actions has, to certain extent, tarnish this thread.

we all want to celebrate the coming of a new generation european car.

of course, the jury is still out for this car, even in Europe, where it should gardner bulk of of its sales. but initial comments and review from EU are encouraging. many have been surpise by the significantly improve build quality etc. all that left, is for the 308 (and 207 too) to prove their reliability, which is unknown as it is a new car.

can’t expect the 308 to topple the segment leader (i.e. the vw golf for the unknown). the prices are quite similar in EU, so Golf should win there. But its a different ballgame for these two cars here in Bolehland. the price of equivalent 308 vs. golf here is huge, heavily favouring the 308, the CKD and Nasim pricing strategy helps a lot. VW don’t need to lower the Golf privce at it is a CBU and buying a Golf doesn’t need ‘encouragement’ if money is there. we all know its status.

however, if the 308 is let say, 85% as good as the Golf but priced only 70% of the Golf, doesn’t the 308 give you more value? this is the kind of stuff that some of us here wish to highlight.

on other note, critic is part of the deal, but not mindless one please . if you are happened to be ‘charmed’ by T&H ‘greatness’, it would be good if you stay in your circle and not venture here. we want no trouble with you guys. T&H is the best. whatever may come.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 5:59 pm

inter,

well put! :)

• e.pang (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 1:59 am

hmm when i buy a car i never tot of resale value..(is that bad?) coz i dont think there is any ‘Value’ to sell your ‘used’ car when you are actually losing money.. if wana talk about resale value.. i think.. buy a house you got better chances of making money which i would consider as ‘got value’

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 1:56 pm

well, today the car was finally launch at shangri-la kl.

i was made to understand that the OTR price is:
    rm96,500 for the 120vti and;
    rm111,000 for the 140thp

i don’t know the confirm spec yet.

lets wait a new post about the 308 by Paul.

until then..

• the pug 308 turbo's first gear is retarded, this is for longer turbo lifespan and gearbox preservation. the engine is capable of 175hp if tuned properly. enjoy driving this bugger on the road.. stand still loses to a 2.0 civic k20.. but feels more fun to drive then a civic.