Mitsubishi Outlander GT Prototype has a new face and adds a mind-blowing… 10 horsepower?!

Now which car do you think Mitsubishi is going to splice the Lancer GT’s nose on next. The Triton? The Colt has not been spared, despite it being a nice-looking tall-ish B-segment hatch originally. Now it’s a weird mini-me of the Lancer. The latest model to get the GT treatment is the Outlander.

Other than the new front end, the Outlander GT also gets new side mirrors. It has an aluminium polished roof panel that hepls lower the car’s center of gravity. it has been lowered slightly via a shorter and stiffer suspension system, and fitted with 19 inch OZ RAcing wheels hiding large Brembo discs and calipers behind them.

The little instrument panel between the two meter pods has been upgraded to a 3.5″ QVGA colour display. Mitsubishi is also using the vehicle to showcase its FUSE Handsfree Media Gateway, which features a Bluetooth handsfree with phonebook management and A2DP audio system, voice recognition, and a 40GB hard drive for Navteq GPS navigation data.

The SUV’s 3.0 litre SOHC MIVEC V6 engine has been upgraded from 220hp to 230hp, with the peak torque remaining the same but coming in earlier in the rev range. This is thanks to different camshaft timing and compression ratio. It is mated to a 6-speed auto with Idle Neutral Logic, which means it shifts to neutral automatically when you stop.

The all-wheel drive system has been upgrade to S-AWC, which features 3 selectable modes: “Normal”, “Snow” and “Traction”. This adjusts the power delivery according to various input data including throttle input, wheel speed, engine output, steering angle, gear selection, acceleration and yaw rate, and the data coming from the stability control sensors. Look after the jump for full gallery of the new shark-nosed Outlander.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=237]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cost efficient… one look for all models

• Tiadaid on Apr 13, 2009 at 12:44 am

Is this the replacement for the old Airtek?

• CRUDE on Apr 13, 2009 at 1:08 am

looks very odd!

• ameen (Member) on Apr 13, 2009 at 1:19 am

looks great..

but is that necessary to use the same design to all model?

lancer is a great car with a fierce look..

but for outlander, it looks more like wagon version of lancer to me..

hehe..

=)

• Paul Tan on Apr 13, 2009 at 1:20 am

Do you guys like the new gallery display where the thumbnails are much bigger now?

• Calvin De La Rosa on Apr 13, 2009 at 1:26 am

[quote comment="229079"]Do you guys like the new gallery display where the thumbnails are much bigger now?[/quote]

Yes, Paul.

The new thumbnail layout is better.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Apr 13, 2009 at 1:31 am

Btw, i have a question.

Is it more pros or cons for Mitsu applying the 'shark nose' front look to their entire product line-up?

What do you guys think?

p/s – personally i think it's a cons. I doubt, for example BMW will applied the 5 series front look, across their entire series product line-up.

• bmpower on Apr 13, 2009 at 2:11 am

ugly front look.

don't think lancer / evo look are suitable to all!

• better than subaru..ist same category? hehe. it looks like wagon.

• Analyzer on Apr 13, 2009 at 2:49 am

Paul,

I prefer the setup where after clicking the thumbnail, a popup appears and displays the full pic. Javascript thingy I think. Anyhow, that's my opinion. Don't know if anyone else shares my opinion. :)

I think they killed the evo's look trying to bring that front fascia to their lineup. At least in the previous gen models, there is a clear distinction between the models. The fierciest look is reserved for the Evo. Even the normal Lancer had a tame-r look. The evo now doesn't have that special fierce look. I think that's terrible. Mitsu is becoming more like Toyota now, copying the look to the entire lineup of cars. Bad idea.

• [quote comment="229079"]Do you guys like the new gallery display where the thumbnails are much bigger now?[/quote]

for me yes la coz easier to see the images… no need to go click it big…

• i guess the handling will sux…

love the new picture arrangement

• Calvin De La Rosa on Apr 13, 2009 at 4:04 am

I think they killed the evo's look trying to bring that front fascia to their lineup. At least in the previous gen models, there is a clear distinction between the models. The fierciest look is reserved for the Evo. Even the normal Lancer had a tame-r look. The evo now doesn't have that special fierce look. I think that's terrible. Mitsu is becoming more like Toyota now, copying the look to the entire lineup of cars. Bad idea.[/quote]

Oh now i know… the term is 'fascia'. thanks bro!

Btw, i agreed with you. Those who bought Evo X @ RM330K+ most likely felt their ride is undervalued knowing the fascia is now so generic.

Bad moves by Mitsu.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Apr 13, 2009 at 4:06 am

[quote comment="229096"]

I think they killed the evo's look trying to bring that front fascia to their lineup. At least in the previous gen models, there is a clear distinction between the models. The fierciest look is reserved for the Evo. Even the normal Lancer had a tame-r look. The evo now doesn't have that special fierce look. I think that's terrible. Mitsu is becoming more like Toyota now, copying the look to the entire lineup of cars. Bad idea.[/quote]

*EDIT

Oh now i know… the term is ‘fascia’. thanks bro!

Btw, i agreed with you. Those who bought Evo X @ RM330K+ most likely felt their ride is undervalued knowing the fascia is now so generic.

Bad moves by Mitsu.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Apr 13, 2009 at 4:07 am

[quote comment="229096"]Paul,

I prefer the setup where after clicking the thumbnail, a popup appears and displays the full pic. Javascript thingy I think. Anyhow, that's my opinion. Don't know if anyone else shares my opinion. :)

*EDIT

Bad moves by Mitsu.

• droll on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:10 am

so UGLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• SavvyTron on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:39 am

Side look like myvi..

• mitlanevo on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:54 am

very nice, but why must use the face of Lancer??????

• [quote comment="229079"]Do you guys like the new gallery display where the thumbnails are much bigger now?[/quote]

ya now is better i like it

• Black Dog on Apr 13, 2009 at 8:09 am

I feel it's really boring having the same fascia for the entire range. Looks odd on this outlander! Generic doesn't mean applying EXACTLY the same design, they should have variations. Look at Mercs. One look it's a merc but so different for different models. No offence but actually I feel Mercs have better designs than BMWs. BMWs image is only on performance. My 2 cents.

• ayum_biskut on Apr 13, 2009 at 8:22 am

urh…very ugly….

• kee2718 on Apr 13, 2009 at 8:44 am

for me: nice, can't u see front and back quite match ? this is called 'family face', think is a daring move, perhaps very soon elephant face will soon appear on a car?!

• azrai on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:00 pm

Macam keta mayat aje. Look like Mitsubishi's mimicing Proton effort in using the same face for Wira, Satria, Arena, Putra..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:59 pm

[quote comment="229118"][quote comment="229096"]

*EDIT

Bad moves by Mitsu.[/quote]

erm.. not trying to sound like a smartass, but the actual use of the word 'fascia' in a car is to describe the instrument panel and dashboard area.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 13, 2009 at 6:39 pm

[quote comment="229251"]Macam keta mayat aje. Look like Mitsubishi's mimicing Proton effort in using the same face for Wira, Satria, Arena, Putra..[/quote]

This is something all car manufacturers do to some extent. but the way mitsu is doing with this model, is different than how most others do it.

as for proton, all those cars you mentioned are variants of the same model. if you look at the wira as the base, it is the sedan, satria is the hatch version of the wira, arena is a pickup based on the wira, and likewise the putra is the coupe version of the wira.

its like the 3 series, having a 4 door, coupe, softtop, station wagon and with the same face.. the E36 and E46 also had a hatch version, but the E90 doesnt. but you do not usually change the face for variants of a model family.

• wisedriver (Member) on Apr 13, 2009 at 9:36 pm

[quote comment="229251"]Macam keta mayat aje. Look like Mitsubishi's mimicing Proton effort in using the same face for Wira, Satria, Arena, Putra..[/quote]

Hahaha… yer laaa :D

After we can put evoX bumper on outlander

but the tail light looks good for me :)

• Alifz on Apr 13, 2009 at 10:28 pm

I just about to say that..haha..

For me the hood styling curve which makes the front nose seems not suitable with all side windows. The back just look nice. Unless the headlight looks longer then it's will be nice (eg Alphard, elengrand..)

• – -'…no comment.

• lan87 on Apr 13, 2009 at 11:12 pm

this looks weird…

the evo looks might catch on its sedan segments…

but not on a 4wd for sure…

• nazrie83 on Apr 14, 2009 at 12:03 am

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! should I say UGLY???????????

• mitlanevo on Apr 14, 2009 at 2:07 am

[quote comment="229079"]Do you guys like the new gallery display where the thumbnails are much bigger now?[/quote]

yes!!!! at least i wont have to click every images then wait for a century for full size viewing….

• sixspeed on Apr 14, 2009 at 4:56 am

[quote comment="229267"]

erm.. not trying to sound like a smartass, but the actual use of the word 'fascia' in a car is to describe the instrument panel and dashboard area.[/quote]

actually fascia does mean the car's front end in american english. it refers to the dash in british usage. and yes you were :p

• Analyzer on Apr 14, 2009 at 8:26 pm

[quote comment="229408"][quote comment="229267"]

erm.. not trying to sound like a smartass, but the actual use of the word 'fascia' in a car is to describe the instrument panel and dashboard area.[/quote]

actually fascia does mean the car's front end in american english. it refers to the dash in british usage. and yes you were :p[/quote]

Lol, thanks for the heads up, BanyakMasukWorkshop, didn't realize until did a google search. Perhaps I must be reading too many American-authored car reviews then. :)