Naza upgrades staff skills with Motorola University

Naza Motorola

The Naza Group of Companies wants to move from being a family owned institution of management to that of an organization of 23 companies adhering to a multinational organization culture of focusing on improvements.

The latest in a series of steps taken is an effort to “upgrade” its human resources or staff – a signing with Motorola University, where 1,000 of the Naza Group’s employees will be trained and developed to improve their skills focusing on increasing productivity and revenue. The training will be provided by Motorola University based on programs that Motorola has developed on the way of becoming a Fortune 500 company.

Naza will offer these programs to employees of all 23 Naza companies under SM Faisal, which will include leadership development, lean manufacturing, customer driven total solutions and the Motorola Six Sigma Program series.

There are many big companies who are actually family-owned but are managed and run by trained professionals. One example very close to Naza is the BMW group, which has been majority (about 46%) owned by the Quandt family since the 50s. It is a proven formula that works.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Good for them. But expect some bashing in 3… 2… 1…

• fiat's also a family owned firm, although their situation is much more bleak than BMW.

I guess they just have to conform to corporate governance measures for the general public to accept them in better light.

• mystvearn on Apr 23, 2009 at 11:44 am

Hmm, good move. If I were them, I would strive to be the Quandt family. Let other people do your work. You just get the rewards

• It is simple. Give the best people the job/reward they deserve; regardless of family relation.

• alihms (Member) on Apr 23, 2009 at 4:13 pm

Another German auto related company, Robert Bosch has an interesting model. After Robert Bosch (the man himself) died, his family members donated most of their shares (I believe more than 90%) to charitable foundations.

As a charitable-foundation owned company, it avoids many taxes and has special privileges in Germany. Morale of the employees (especially in the Germany homeland) is also kept high knowing that they are working for the benefit of every German citizens.

Wonder if any Malaysian family owned corp. dared to do the same…

• barca on Apr 23, 2009 at 4:42 pm

seriously, it's about time.

naza needs to seriously take card all marquees under their wings professionally and not let several marquees become "anak tiri" and die a slow, humiliating death.

• osh_kosh on Apr 23, 2009 at 4:52 pm

good move… at least they r doing something about it & willing to improve

• helmi on Apr 23, 2009 at 7:50 pm

Good, after so much complain and bitter experience when dealing with Naza such as flip-flop decision, not consistent, unprofessional, lack of technical knowledge on car especially on the lower brand and APs lineup and the negative perception that Naza is just want to make profit as much as possible and 'untung atas angin' and knowledge about car is ZERO.

• superman on Apr 23, 2009 at 8:19 pm

great move by SM Faisal. Totally opposite of what his late father and uncle practiced, when they were keeping things only in the family, which dettered the corporate growth of the group, and causing better qualified minds to leave.

Not just BMW is a family owned , but run by professionals. Porsche too are family owned, but ably run by professionals.

• Environmentalist on Apr 23, 2009 at 10:23 pm

there is a saying "the empire will not last 3 generation"..

• Picard on Apr 23, 2009 at 10:24 pm

I was an ex employee of naza, it's good for them to start doing this, because when i was with naza, the company was runned like s#$t, they were only thingking of their profit, the welfare of the staff are neglected, when they launched a new model (308), they promised the car can be delivered in 3weeks, ended up being 7 months, please naza, improve your performance, with the way it was runned previously, u r running the company to the ground, n just wondering, why are they employing so many indian nationals in naza, if u don't trust me, check out the peugot service center in glenmarie, more that half of the mechanics ore of indian nationality, previously, even the senior manager was an indian national, i'm not being racist, but if u want to employ indian only, there is a lot of unemployed indians in malaysia who really need the job & are qualified to do the job, can't the big G look into this?

• really work?

improve ur customer service n technical

• AndrE on Apr 24, 2009 at 12:26 am

personally i think this guy like to show off

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Apr 24, 2009 at 12:30 am

Yeah, let's just hope the effort bear fruits i.e. INCREASED CUSTOMER SATISFACTION, then only you can talk about INCREASED REVENUE! What I've experienced with NAZA is less than satisfactory….

• Bodohland on Apr 24, 2009 at 12:33 am

Yaaakh ………. AP King go to Motorola U!!!!

• Great Mind on Apr 24, 2009 at 4:02 am

I think this one of the steps which other companies should take, from a company perceive of receiving favor from the govt to a independent company which does not need any "tongkat".

• doesnt matter what he doing for the company, but he still the owner. dont blame people for what u cant get. history prove that family business will long lasting rather company called BHD !

• Bravo123 on Apr 24, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Hopefully NAZA will realize who they are… last time my friend got his brand new 206 delivered with tayar mati oooo… the tire was nearly 3 years oledy…

How come they make business, cheat here cheat there?

Do they really learn how to develop cheating skill or what?

• bdute on Apr 25, 2009 at 5:59 pm

I wonder whether this sigma program is relevant to the company's core business afterall. It's main purpose is to control the process to minimize defects in manufacturing using statistical tools.

Most of the vehicles that the company sells might have already gone through this process during the manufacturing line at their base plants. Since the core business is oriented towards sells and services, the focus of the company should be more on the betterment of after sale service as well as cheaper but realiable maintenance.

• suhaimi bin harun on Apr 03, 2010 at 12:56 pm

saya ada terdengar dalam berita di TV mengatakan yg Naza Group akan buka sebuah universiti automotive, katanya akan beroperasi pada march 2010.
    kalaulah benar berita ini, soalannya macam mana nak memohon untuk masuk belajar .
    harap dapat penjelasan dari tuan