Honda Fit Hybrid to arrive in autumn 2010?

Honda Fit

Japan’s Nikkei business daily reports that the Honda Fit Hybrid (Honda Jazz Hybrid) will be launched a full 18 months ahead of schedule in autumn 2010, which is about 5 quarters from now. Nikkei further added that Honda has set a target price tag of 1.5 million Japanese Yen, which translates to only about just over RM55k, and target sales of over 50,000 units annually.

That would make it Honda’s cheapest hybrid so far, with the Honda Insight starting from 1.89 million Japanese Yen while the competing Prius starts at 2.05 million Japanese Yen all the way up to 3.27 million Japanese Yen for higher spec versions. The old 2nd generation Prius is still on sale in Japan as the Prius EX, with a price tag that intentionally matches the Insight at 1.89 million Japanese Yen.

Honda’s most expensive hybrid in Japan is the Honda Civic Hybrid, which has a price tag starting from over 2.2 million Japanese Yen. As of end January 2009, Honda has sold over 300,000 Hybrid cars worldwide, with the bulk being the Civic Hybrid at over 255,000 units. Asia-Oceania (the region ASEAN and Malaysia is in) represented just 5,514 units out of that, with the most Civic Hybrids sold in US – over 191,000.

There was also an Accord Hybrid in the previous generation Accord family in the US which sold 28,471 units in the US, using a 3.0 V6 engine with variable cylinder management mated to a 14kW electric motor.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bmpower on May 28, 2009 at 4:56 pm

ok. i'll buy 1.

• dodgeviper88 on May 28, 2009 at 5:05 pm

It'll be interesting to bring this car over to malaysia as we have tax breaks on hybrids. Imagine Honda Fit Hybrid at only RM55,000. Perodua can close shop already.

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 28, 2009 at 5:06 pm

Paul,

I've started checking my bank acc when u stated RM55k. But in reality… RM55k + tax + import fees + porting fees + marketing fees + distributor fees + sales commission + insurance + roadtax (am i missin somemor?) = ….. sigh : |

• theanswer on May 28, 2009 at 5:07 pm

sure the price going to be 'crazy' in malaysia.

• auto price is too expensive (due to tax) in malaysia so the saving from hybrid doesnt make any difference to consumer at all. hope the revise automotive policy in sept will cut down the tax further!

• Jimmy on May 28, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Plus this and that, overall 75000 and I would like to get one.

• Annihilated on May 28, 2009 at 5:53 pm

Now that is a good effort. Maybe in near future, we could have hybrid or full EV options as an addition to ICE across all range of models.. be it Honda, Ford, Proton or VW. :)

• steven on May 28, 2009 at 6:00 pm

I will get one for replace my old wira if really selling 55k

• dodgeviper88 said,

May 28, 2009 @ 9:05 am · Reply with quote

It’ll be interesting to bring this car over to malaysia as we have tax breaks on hybrids. Imagine Honda Fit Hybrid at only RM55,000. Perodua can close shop already.

—————————————————————

Yes..tax break on hybrid ….this will be cheap…around rm60k!!

• See how Japanese can get a hybrid for RM55k. To put it in perspective, that price tag already includes marketing fees + distributor fees + sales commission, except only those costs associated with transporting to import them in. What can Proton sell at 55k? Gen2 hybrid? Perodua? MyVi hybrid?

• theanswer on May 28, 2009 at 7:03 pm

hopefully it can push p1 to come out with production hybrid car.

• GuChia Lian on May 28, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Malaysia Boh Leh!, i think there is a typo error, RM55k where got, it should be RM155k, Malaysia Boh Leh mah…

• peroempat on May 28, 2009 at 8:03 pm

I can buy 2, due to tax, buy 1 free 1 mah…

• San Peng Road on May 28, 2009 at 8:08 pm

Help the planet people!

• roti naan1 on May 28, 2009 at 8:19 pm

55k? Unlikely in Malaysia…Unless proton goes gulung tikar

• ong chin aun on May 28, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Haha.. Honda Jazz hybrid selling 55k ? Why can't Malaysia also sell own proton cars at resonable price ? proton cars exported to other countries sell

cheaper than in own country. Competation but still untong. Hai, all know once bitten twice shy. Honda,Toyota and Nissan still well know for reliability ,and perfer .

• bmpower on May 28, 2009 at 8:51 pm

hahaha…

do you believe Honda Malaysia gonna sell this at that price?

hahaha!.. Even without tax.. If I was the Honda CEO. I WONT!

• peroempat on May 28, 2009 at 9:13 pm

Fit Hybrid can't sell at RM55K cuz it will banned due to protect the Myvi. Myvi will be launch a hybrid… may it be???

• Baron on May 28, 2009 at 10:19 pm

[quote comment="241725"]Malaysia Boh Leh!, i think there is a typo error, RM55k where got, it should be RM155k, Malaysia Boh Leh mah…[/quote]

please read before commenting. its write like this 'price tag of 1.5 million Japanese Yen, which translates to only about just over RM55k'.No type error there but the error is from yourself.

• PuiTAXTAXTAX on May 28, 2009 at 11:22 pm

so what if is 55k ….???? After import to Malaysia ….the price will be like 110k above … and not to forget the stupid interest bank rates in Malaysia…. They re doin this way to protect they proton …. the price is not even reasonable if we buy in Malaysia ….. double up the price from the original price …. they never wake up …

• Currently the Civic Hybrid sells for RM129,980 in Malaysia

when actual price in Japan is 2.2 mil yen = RM79.918

So the Fit Hybrid technically will cost

abt 50k + 50k = RM100k when it hit our shored.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 28, 2009 at 11:36 pm

[quote comment="241743"]Haha.. Honda Jazz hybrid selling 55k ? Why can't Malaysia also sell own proton cars at resonable price ? proton cars exported to other countries sell

cheaper than in own country. Competation but still untong. Hai, all know once bitten twice shy. Honda,Toyota and Nissan still well know for reliability ,and perfer .[/quote]

the answer is simple. toyota and honda sells millions of cars worldwide every year. whereas proton is still a very low volume manufacturer. to sell cheaper, it needs to build more cars, and to build more cars, it needs to increase its market penetration which it is doing right now. and it will take quite a few years more before any success is really visible.

• Hybrid car has recently been revised for tax structure…

A Honda Civic hybrid that cost ¥2,509,500 (local model looks like MX model); cost about RM130K on the road here. If we may do a direct calculation base on the above, you are likely to get a Jazz Hybrid from Japan somewhere below RM80K. Not only Proton and Perodua affected, even Toyota Thailand will be affected too.

This is the dawn of Hybrid Era for Malaysia and the region, Proton might be able to catch the train, not sure about Perodua.

• Paul Tan on May 29, 2009 at 12:32 am

the new hybrid tax structure is only for 2 years. i think 1 year has passed already, 1 more year to go.

• That means ¥2,509,500 to RM160K > ¥1,500,000 = RM95K… LOL

• Wak Rempit on May 29, 2009 at 1:33 am

I am tired of these topics about car prices in malaysia… those ungrateful brats

Sure the car price in Japan is cheaper than Malaysia but have been to Japan?

The accomodation and expenses especially food is like 5-7 time more expensive than Malaysia… so go there and buy your car, but you have to sleep in it every night though…

I am currently living and working in myanmar where the price of 15yr old corolla is USD50K, but the people here are not complaining so much since everything else is cheap! (or the military gov will shoot them if they complain of course)

Other than that I still see a lot of BMWs, Mercs, etc in malaysia… so people still can afford to buy. Hell even my friends from europe says malaysians are rich.

• mystvearn on May 29, 2009 at 2:05 am

1 year to go, but then it still does not pay to go green in Malaysia. Should make tax free then people will force to go green to save money. Malaysians can afford excesses??

• Tiadaid on May 29, 2009 at 5:35 am

[quote comment="241788"]I am tired of these topics about car prices in malaysia… those ungrateful brats

The accomodation and expenses especially food is like 5-7 time more expensive than Malaysia… so go there and buy your car, but you have to sleep in it every night though…

I am currently living and working in myanmar where the price of 15yr old corolla is USD50K, but the people here are not complaining so much since everything else is cheap! (or the military gov will shoot them if they complain of course)

Other than that I still see a lot of BMWs, Mercs, etc in malaysia… so people still can afford to buy. Hell even my friends from europe says malaysians are rich.[/quote]

For them, the grass is always greener on the other side. What to do?

• mak rempit on May 29, 2009 at 10:31 am

[quote comment="241788"]I am tired of these topics about car prices in malaysia… those ungrateful brats

Other than that I still see a lot of BMWs, Mercs, etc in malaysia… so people still can afford to buy. Hell even my friends from europe says malaysians are rich.[/quote]

What ungrateful brats

we are all taken for a ride paying exorbitant prices esp for quality cars.

we are the opposite, buy car @ 9 years loan and every month a large %

of salary goes towards paying for car..end up makan maggi mee,

roti canai and by the end of the month zero savings.

=At the end of the day most of us become slaves to the banks. =

I have been to Tokyo and Kobe. I find the food there cheap/good

and affordable.Asahi+Sapporo cheaper than our local brew!!

Same applies to UK. Fuel may cost 90p but don't convert to MYR

cos to a local its like 90sen/litre.

U must understand the Per Capita Income of that country.

Malaysia US$15300

Japan US$34200

UK US$36600

Vietnam US$ 2800

Wak u living in an upcoming 3rd world country + i've

frens over there too so don't try to pull a fast one on us.

Honda City 2008 costs US40K & locals not complaining cos

they only ride kap-chai's which cost US$100-500

And the military scenario was way exaggerated.

Vietnams economy is on the rise next to China.

(lucky u if you're riding the econ boom!!)

So for a Japanese to own a 1.5 mil yen Fit Hybrid is

termed affordable + reasonable.

• turboKEV on May 29, 2009 at 11:10 am

I HAVE A QUESTION!! for all those car import taxes, where does it goes? any report (official or unofficial?) show that how many taxes the govt gain each year?????

i really would like to know the figure………………

• Tiadaid on May 29, 2009 at 3:12 pm

[quote comment="241867"][quote comment="241788"]I am tired of these topics about car prices in malaysia… those ungrateful brats

What ungrateful brats

we are all taken for a ride paying exorbitant prices esp for quality cars.

we are the opposite, buy car @ 9 years loan and every month a large %

of salary goes towards paying for car..end up makan maggi mee,

roti canai and by the end of the month zero savings.

=At the end of the day most of us become slaves to the banks. =

[/quote]

Malaysians always live beyond their means, that's why you end up eating mee maggi at the end of the day! It's not a question of expensive cars…but a question of people buy cars that they can't actually afford. I've seen a Mercedes owner haggling for a wiper. What's the case there? If you can afford a Mercedes, clearly you can afford a wiper! Live beneath your means and you'll see the difference.

• [quote comment="241888"]

Malaysians always live beyond their means, that's why you end up eating mee maggi at the end of the day! It's not a question of expensive cars…but a question of people buy cars that they can't actually afford. I've seen a Mercedes owner haggling for a wiper. What's the case there? If you can afford a Mercedes, clearly you can afford a wiper! Live beneath your means and you'll see the difference.[/quote]

And the reason why Malaysians can't afford? Drumroll please…… ah, you know the answer already.

• cant agree more with u irix n mak rempit..

enuff said..

hahaha..nice one irix..really nice one…

hope malaysian will start to think about spending their money the right way..

i mean, we consumers should not be cheated..

example :

lancer gt 2.0 only costs rm71800.00 (in langkawi – without tax, and since its CBU unit..dont u think all the transportation fares/international taxes are included in this price?)

but after taxes (IN malaysia), it becomes rm122980.00..

a total of rm51180.00 just for filling evribody elses pocket but not us..

WTH is that really huh? i dont mind if its only rm10k from the langkawi price, but over rm50k..? thats alot of money man…(more than 40% hike)

same like when ur ordinary roti canai rm0.80/piece been sold at (rm0.80+40%) = rm1.12

now what? stop eating roti canai?

how about if its a fuel price? (rm1.80/liter+40%)=rm2.52/liter can u accept that?

do enlighten me..

but please dont say that malaysian dont have to have better cars just because the G said so..ok?

another thing..imagine some ppl wif big family can afford only a kancil where as wif the money they paid for the kancil,they can get bigger n more comfortable drive..and much2 more safer…

do u agree with this?

• Wak Rempit on May 29, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Mak Rempit? dude u have to be a little more creative than that… hehe
    OK sure I admit some food in Japan or UK are cheap, but roti canai is also cheap in malaysia but do you eat it every day? morning, lunch and dinner too..
    You have your self to blame if you're enslaved due to the car you drive, heck its your money man… you decide. With our current income we still buy expensive cars and slap one set of bigger sport rims on them… is that the goverment's fault. I am not pro-gov here… but just to make apoint.

I agree with Tiadaid that malaysian live beyond their means. I've seen friends in UK who earns their UK salary but still drive a beat-up Focus, because to them cars are not everything… they are just cars man not heaven and earth.

For a note, I live and work in Myanmar dude not Vietnam. Remember Aung San Su Kyi? yeah that country…. so I wasn't exaggerating

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 29, 2009 at 7:39 pm

what happened to discussions about hybrid cars and technology? ;)

• PUIPUIPUI9TAX on May 29, 2009 at 9:05 pm

yes i agree with some one the people here who leave comment…. i cant even accept the price selling here compare wit langkawi ….. 40% that is alot …. where is 40% gone ?? seriously i do not see any progression eventhough all citizen in malaysia except langkawi paying 40% more they car … where is the 40% goes ? tell me, i would like to know … this is so unreasonable …. price is already top up 40%, still wanna increase bank rate for non national car, do u think fair for citizen ?? i dont think so …… some of u guys can speak so noble for the 40% is because you guys got so much extra money for those … imagine for those pay everything for they own life and they salary is just enough every month … but 30% of the salary have to spend on car …. did u realise this point ? why does germany buy BMW is cheaper ? is because they own country car … at the same point … i think malaysian should buy P1 car cheaper than other country as well … but why do other country citizen buy our P1 car is cheaper than our P1 price in Malaysia ? explain that … i do not think whatever ur reason is … fair to malaysian …. Malaysia definitely have the potential to go further …. well this is just my opinion … if i am wrong in anything … correct me then …..

• Tiadaid on May 29, 2009 at 11:35 pm

[quote comment="241902"][quote comment="241888"]

Malaysians always live beyond their means, that's why you end up eating mee maggi at the end of the day! It's not a question of expensive cars…but a question of people buy cars that they can't actually afford. I've seen a Mercedes owner haggling for a wiper. What's the case there? If you can afford a Mercedes, clearly you can afford a wiper! Live beneath your means and you'll see the difference.[/quote]

And the reason why Malaysians can't afford? Drumroll please…… ah, you know the answer already.[/quote]

I'm sorry, but where else in the world where you are given subsidized healthcare, subsidized education, subsidized food even? Does America do that? Do Japan do that? Do the UK do that? No right? If you want cars to be cheaper, then fine, be prepared to pay a lot of money for food and healthcare and school fees and school books. Besides, do we need to give access to fast cars to Malaysians who can't even drive safely in a Proton, let alone a car like the Evo?

• peroempat on May 29, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Haiyah, we also have subsidized vehicles, citizen can essy get a car with 10% downpayment over 10 years loan. if don't accept to pay >40% taxed, buy proton or perodua lorr, only <10% taxed.

• [quote comment="241949"]

I'm sorry, but where else in the world where you are given subsidized healthcare, subsidized education, subsidized food even? Does America do that? Do Japan do that? Do the UK do that? No right? If you want cars to be cheaper, then fine, be prepared to pay a lot of money for food and healthcare and school fees and school books. Besides, do we need to give access to fast cars to Malaysians who can't even drive safely in a Proton, let alone a car like the Evo?[/quote]

subsidized healthcare? Check Australia and Canada, and check their car prices. Subsidized education? Even America has state-funded schools and universities. Subsidized food? America has some subsidies indirectly to food producers. Drive safely in a Proton? Without traction control, crash-test proven bodies and other safety features that are basic these days, who can drive safely in a Proton? Safer foreign cars can be bought at the price of Protons, e.g., see rfsx comment, where Lancer GT 2.0 in Langkawi is cheaper than a Perdana outside Langkawi, and with the money difference you can stuff up the Lancer with loads of safety features. If you want to pay high prices for cars where the money don't end up in the cars, fine. We have to agree to to disagree on that.

• sixspeed on May 30, 2009 at 1:39 am

[quote comment="241949"]

I'm sorry, but where else in the world where you are given subsidized healthcare, subsidized education, subsidized food even? Does America do that? Do Japan do that? Do the UK do that? No right? If you want cars to be cheaper, then fine, be prepared to pay a lot of money for food and healthcare and school fees and school books. Besides, do we need to give access to fast cars to Malaysians who can't even drive safely in a Proton, let alone a car like the Evo?[/quote]

Err, wrong. All the countries you mention have subsidized education, all subsidize public healthcare to varying degrees, all those countries offer subsidized food to poor people. And since when are these things solely dependent on auto taxes anyways? Seriously, are you just making things up and hoping nobody notices?

• bmpower on May 30, 2009 at 1:44 am

blame yourself lah poor man!.

Poor people, poor minded, poor attitude bla bla bla..

Just be rich!. so then you can buy any car you want!.

That's IT!

• [quote comment="241975"]blame yourself lah poor man!.

Poor people, poor minded, poor attitude bla bla bla..

Just be rich!. so then you can buy any car you want!.

That's IT![/quote]

Until everyone is rich, or reach high up there, then only they will understand the pain of paying tax like one Proton saga or Myvi every year.

• Tiadaid on May 30, 2009 at 5:40 am

[quote comment="241974"][quote comment="241949"]

Err, wrong. All the countries you mention have subsidized education, all subsidize public healthcare to varying degrees, all those countries offer subsidized food to poor people. And since when are these things solely dependent on auto taxes anyways? Seriously, are you just making things up and hoping nobody notices?[/quote]

Aha..poor people. That's the key. Here EVERYONE'S SUBSIDIZED, not just the poor! That's the difference!

• Tiadaid on May 30, 2009 at 5:46 am

[quote comment="241974"][quote comment="241949"]

Err, wrong. All the countries you mention have subsidized education, all subsidize public healthcare to varying degrees, all those countries offer subsidized food to poor people. And since when are these things solely dependent on auto taxes anyways? Seriously, are you just making things up and hoping nobody notices?[/quote]

Secondly, can you go to Yale and pay only $2000 per semester? Can you go to hospital and pay only $1 in the US? You can't, can you!

• what?…toyota prius high spec cost more than two fit hybrids?……now thats what i call a overhyped piece of crap!!!

• peroempat on May 30, 2009 at 7:17 am

[quote comment="242009"]

Secondly, can you go to Yale and pay only $2000 per semester? Can you go to hospital and pay only $1 in the US? You can't, can you![/quote]

They earn US dollar and pay US dollar. LOL.

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 30, 2009 at 8:52 am

[quote comment="241931"]yes i agree with some one the people here who leave comment…. i cant even accept the price selling here compare wit langkawi ….. 40% that is alot …. where is 40% gone ?? seriously i do not see any progression eventhough all citizen in malaysia except langkawi paying 40% more they car … where is the 40% goes ? tell me, i would like to know … this is so unreasonable …. price is already top up 40%, still wanna increase bank rate for non national car, do u think fair for citizen ?? i dont think so …… some of u guys can speak so noble for the 40% is because you guys got so much extra money for those … imagine for those pay everything for they own life and they salary is just enough every month … but 30% of the salary have to spend on car …. did u realise this point ? why does germany buy BMW is cheaper ? is because they own country car … at the same point … i think malaysian should buy P1 car cheaper than other country as well … but why do other country citizen buy our P1 car is cheaper than our P1 price in Malaysia ? explain that … i do not think whatever ur reason is … fair to malaysian …. Malaysia definitely have the potential to go further …. well this is just my opinion … if i am wrong in anything … correct me then …..[/quote]

Heheheh… have u been to Langkawi man? Hypothetically speaking… if u drive bimmer 3 series… on the 5th gear u pusing the whole island already! Hahahah. Who wants to drive car on that tiny island if they have to pay full price! LOL

As one poster below said… if u want to drive expensive car… BE RICH! heheh. Take that as encouragement, and you will go far in life, seriously.

• sixspeed on May 30, 2009 at 1:00 pm

[quote comment="242008"]

Secondly, can you go to Yale and pay only $2000 per semester? Can you go to hospital and pay only $1 in the US? You can't, can you![/quote]

[/quote]

Yale is a PRIVATE university and is not government funded. There are plenty of state-funded universities and colleges that have low fees. And students are also eligible for government grants and loans for study at all accredited universities that can reduce or eliminate tuition costs (yes even at Yale)

As for hospitals, if you don't have money, you can still go for emergency treatment and the state will absorb the cost if you can't pay, happens all the time in the US, though most people get health insurance through their work.

So, now it's suddenly only about the US and not UK and Japan…Look, you're really grasping at straws here. Why not just admit you were talking out of your backside when you said Malaysia is the only country in the whole world that subsidizes its citizens, and we'll move on.

• [quote comment="242067"][quote comment="242008"]

[/quote]

Yale is a PRIVATE university and is not government funded. There are plenty of state-funded universities and colleges that have low fees. And students are also eligible for government grants and loans for study at all accredited universities that can reduce or eliminate tuition costs (yes even at Yale)

As for hospitals, if you don't have money, you can still go for emergency treatment and the state will absorb the cost if you can't pay, happens all the time in the US, though most people get health insurance through their work.

So, now it's suddenly only about the US and not UK and Japan…Look, you're really grasping at straws here. Why not just admit you were talking out of your backside when you said Malaysia is the only country in the whole world that subsidizes its citizens, and we'll move on.[/quote]

Right on! You make in RM, you spend in RM. RM55k got hybrid jazz, but earn in yen… such a good life. Their sales costs are also in yen, with the high japan salaries and all, still RM55k gets them hybrid jazz. Regular jazz here already RM100k+.

Why do we need to be rich to buy regular econobox like this jazz? At the price of Myvi, can get jazz hybrid. If that's possible there, why not here?

• mekatoronikusu on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:51 am

I'll buy green car (like this jazz la) for the sake of environmental issues. But due to the high taxes, maybe i just buy 2nd jazz.

Yeah, i also wanna know where all the taxes used for…ada masuk itu kocek ka?? LuLz…

I think maybe i should use public transport???