Low-res BMW X1 undisguised photos uploaded!

BMW X1

BMW probably assumes the BMW X1’s buyers will mostly be younger folks who are very active on the internet so they’re releasing teaser bits of the X1 slowly by slowly on the internet. A whole gallery of camouflaged photos of the X1 snapped at the media preview drive in Spain was released onto the internet a couple of days ago, but the latest is a set of 4 low-res undisguised photos that zoom into specific details of the car. These 4 photos were uploaded onto the X1’s official Facebook page.

The photos show the kidney grille, the badge on the boot, the light bars in the rear tail lamp, and there’s also the angel eye headlamps you see above. You’ll immediately notice some kind of weird square thing in the inner headlamp lense, anyone have any idea what that might be? It was also visible in the headlamps of the X1 in all of the camouflaged photos. Is it some kind of an LED array headlamp or something?

Anyway, it really shouldn’t be hard to imagine what the new X1 will look like, as it will probably be very close to the Concept X1. The new BMW X1 will be the latest compact SUV by BMW and will be about the size of a RAV4, while the next generation X3 will grow larger in size and slot in rightfully between this X1 and the 2nd generation E70 X5.

Look after the jump for the remaining 3 photos.

BMW X1

BMW X1

BMW X1

[cpg_album:104]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SaGa NGV on Jun 05, 2009 at 3:07 pm

nice german design…not like 3series before…

• redwings on Jun 05, 2009 at 4:04 pm

Looks huge and musculer… much prettier than X3.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 05, 2009 at 4:57 pm

My first impression of this car was to be honest…. Ugly!

But its a typical BMW's design, they kinda grow on you gradually… just like the 3 series.

• size is almost X5 …..

replacement model to X5?

• Thomas on Jun 05, 2009 at 5:35 pm

I like the 7 series look in front and the Audi Q5 look at the rear

• ong chin aun on Jun 05, 2009 at 5:37 pm

Sure, BMW Germany is one of the top Brand in Automotive industries. Well, Only the rich and the privilated majority can afford to buy new BMW. Just compare when Mini took over by BMW, The MINI is fantastic ; Fast and solid safety. However, the price is also increased. If and only if BMW also have a Brother Company produces Autos with prices comparatively to Japanese model. Then, perhaps more people may have the chance to own one BMW(Cheaper Version). The X 1 one is very sporty and NICE LOOKING.

• gangully on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:31 pm

i see they using the rear lights from the E90 LCI…

based on the 3 leaked photos, they have really improved on the concept… i think…

• its nice. at least we can choose conti or jap ,rav4 size suv. more to choose when conti we have are tiguan and q5. any date when it will release? tq bro

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:42 pm

My guess is the headlight insert might be BMW's radar cruise control.

There is little sense for that to be a housing for headlights, since on Bi-Xenon equipped cars, you only have 1 projector lens per headlight, and in North America (where these are most likely headed to) , their head light legislation only allows a maximum 4 front headlights (including foglamps on at any one time)

Maybe on regular non HID equipped models, they have a hi/Lo beam assembly – which probabky don't have the radar cruise control as an option.

• sick and tired on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:10 pm

its suppose to be cheaper then the X3 rite? Around RM200K?

• knight_templar on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Yup seems like radar cruise control or some sort of park distance sensor gizmo. Maybe even a camera on each side…..hehehe just gettin imaginative

• adrianclw on Jun 05, 2009 at 8:12 pm

Another nice one from BMW.

Like their rear light. Cool….

• bmw SUV size of a RAV4

this should be interesting.

cheers!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 05, 2009 at 9:30 pm

or, IR camera…..but to think that these "could" be available on the baby X speak volumes about technology filtering down to the "lower end".

• nothing to cheer about….same old design

• abrablog on Jun 06, 2009 at 6:19 am

ehm. same design. The colour was nice.

• kalar on Jun 06, 2009 at 6:52 am

BMW designer should have taken a leaf out from the Volvo XC60 designer

The C pillar with the side glass window looks ” unattractive ” at all in another word ” UGLY”

Not my cup of Tea anyway !

This X1 BMW products lack maturity in looks and though . Only appeal to people upgrading from Japanese cars and malaysian cars it seems .

Nothing to shout about …..

• arcryliss on Jun 06, 2009 at 8:02 am

nice!

i wish i can have it~

haizz~~

• turboKEV on Jun 06, 2009 at 9:41 am

so many new model coming out from bmw~ wat else it will reveal the next…

• tasha on Jun 06, 2009 at 2:43 pm

The rounding up of the C pillar with the glass looks very 'UGLY'

Suggest the BMW designer take a lesson from Volvo XC60

• lalola on Jun 07, 2009 at 5:28 am

I think its totally weird! Same size as the rav4! It would look totally ugly. I think it will cost more than 250k. No way its gonna be cheaper than that. & I believe people saying its nice bcos its a bmw. How can it possibly not nice. Just my two cents

• ImeanSeriously? on Jun 07, 2009 at 5:41 am

Weirdo. That's all I can say. I'm 20 years old & the last thing I want is to be seen driving a SUV. SUV's are for people with babies. Easier to install the car seat yada yada yada. & its a size of rav4 & maybe some people think its 'cute' . Well 'cute' isn't my thing, I'm more into 'hot' stuff