Euro-spec Mugen Honda Civic Type-R: first images

First two images of the Euro-spec Mugen Honda Civic Type-R have been released onto the Internet. The new Type-R features a 4-cylinder 2.0 litre i-VTEC powerplant that is expected to produce up to 240HP. The front wheel drive hot hatch is also expected to offered with a 6-speed manual transmission.

On the outside, the Mugen Honda Civic Type-R comes with new front and rear bumpers, blacked out front grille, wider fenders, a new hood with twin-scoops, redesigned sideskirts, a rear diffuser as well as a dual exhaust system. The new Mugen Honda Civic Type-R is expected to be priced anywhere between €40,000 and €50,000. Continue reading to view another image.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• hvannees on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:42 pm

wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• cam.shaft on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:53 pm

that jus looks…kewl~!

• Mufasahoo.com on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:55 pm

what da fuuu is this?

• Dazlee on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:02 pm

Beautiful babe…n I am the first

• izudeen on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:09 pm

look at the rear spoiler

nak sidai baju ke ?!?!

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:15 pm

type-R now getting bulky and FAT!

it should look sleek and strong!

not FAT FAT FAT!

• cool…..except the torsion beam

• l3ryan on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:34 pm

lol the torsion beam… the weak link of the euro civic, wonder how mugen can fix it.

looks ganas tho

• xatomic on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:45 pm

have a look at top gear's review on this…even worse than the previous generation model

• chaku on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:48 pm

super hideous spoiler…plus why hood vents look so cheap?

• PROTON MUGEN on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:49 pm

very very nice design!!!

I think Malaysia art & design students can take this MUGEN design into consideration to improve our national car project..

• I've already seen at GT Japan with singapore plate number. Cool..

• mohd hafizzul on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Civic ni masuk malaysia ke? Berapa harga? NAZA WORLD patut bawa masuk ni……………..

• BODOW on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:19 pm

Bloody bloated and ugly ..

Better get Renault ClioSports

• The rear is hideous

• Wak Rempit on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Yuck! never like the euro spec Civic… doesn't matter if it is type-R, mugen what so ever… hate that "telur" look. Our local type look much better… aggressive and sleek.

But how come the spec is different than our Type-R? tell you the truth the car above doesn't deserve such performance specification.

• Lavardo on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:55 pm

hopefully in malaysia market..

but its just hope only..

hmm..

• Lavardo1 on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:56 pm

nice one..I mean it..

• Nutszzz on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:29 am

Wow, nice……just simply WILD Looking.

• mitlanevo on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:35 am

totally HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! looks much better than JDM type-r, like usual and always…..

but 1 weird thing…. the triangular exhaust on the rear is now rounded, and the front bumper now got triangular shaped air vents….

if comes with twin clutch automated manual as option (and maybe other colors), then should be PERFECT!!!!

• Simon on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:38 am

Ugly as $hit

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:39 am

Honda's Europe offerings have the Accord and Civic one size smaller than the North American version (the same one we get)

Thier civic is basically almost the same as the City.

• roti naan1 on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:55 am

Canteeeeeek….tapi manyak mahal woooor…

• Luqman on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:04 am

Euro Spec ?

I never saw a Type-R in (continental) Europe.

The Audi S3 i.e. is cheaper in Europe (starts at 39800 Euros), is more powerful (265bhp) at lower rpms, is available with S-tronic dual clutch transmission and has a far better resale value than the Honda (in Europe).

The Renault Clio RS200 btw. (200bhp) is available for 17544 Euros. I would get two Clio RS for one Mugen Type R in Europe…

• Yg bising2 tak lawa tu sebenarnya pakai Iswara yg nak roboh bumper.

Takde duit, kata tak lawa …

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:26 am

They should opt for roofline spoiler instead of mid section spoiler. Current setup looks out of proportion.

• AzaniLaiho on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:39 am

"But how come the spec is different than our Type-R? tell you the truth the car above doesn’t deserve such performance specification"

This FN2 civic already in various touring racing and rally.. i dont think so this car as bad as u assume

That is why this civic is for European only, European prefer much modern and 'attractive' looking cars..it s not an American and Asia Pac. taste

However, this is a Mugen touch, so it will be rare and limited product…

Just saw used Mugen spoiler (for EK sedan/coupe) for RM1800..dem

• arcryliss on Jun 24, 2009 at 4:13 am

macam murano pon ade

• fauzi on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:32 am

When it comes from Mugen or other tuner always more good comment when done by proton or R3 to our national car like Neo always said like 'ah beng' or 'kedai abang'

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 24, 2009 at 6:42 am

JDM Mugen Civic RR is so much cooler

• bobtutipoli on Jun 24, 2009 at 6:44 am

will we have this model coming to our shore……….? i don't think so…….LOL

• maybe now you can finally look out of the rear view mirror without that previous spoiler blocking the view.

• m9000 on Jun 24, 2009 at 10:15 am

not bad but still prefer dc5 type-R

• bmpower on Jun 24, 2009 at 10:42 am

too many blind spot

• knoxx on Jun 24, 2009 at 3:54 pm

malas nak gaduh dalam forum nie.. tapi kereta nie boleh masuk dalam movie transformers 3: team decepticon sebab ada rupa jahat skit.. hahahah… just joking only dont marah-marah honda fanz..

• Says who that the R3 bodykit by Proton Motrosport is not good looking? Just that Malaysian in general can not afford the kit and rather, they go for imitation… it is the imitation from pirates that gave bad quality to the kit, the original kit from R3 is anytime higher quality than most premium brand from Japan. To the extend, its finishing is on par with the top bodykit from Japan. And it only selling less than RM4K for full set of kit, not stick on, better value than TRD, Modulo, Impul and etc stick on kit selling currently!!!

Btw, this bodykit is so awful at the back… Mugen could just stay away from this.

• Says who that the R3 bodykit by Proton Motorsport is not good looking?

The R3 kit is better looking than CPS!!!

Just that Malaysian in general can not afford the kit and rather, they go for imitation… it is the imitation from pirates that gave bad quality to the kit, the original kit from R3 is anytime higher quality than most premium brand from Japan. To the extend, its finishing is on par with the top bodykit from Japan. And it only selling less than RM4K for full set of kit, not stick on, better value than TRD, Modulo, Impul and etc stick on kit selling currently!!!

Btw, this bodykit is so awful at the back… Mugen could just stay away from this.

• mitlanevo on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:18 pm

u guys very lame lah….

why everything also proton here proton there??

• Darren on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Paul, I have seen this car since last year at Brunei and sometimes even at Miri, it's really a sweet car.

• Michael Ammot on Jun 24, 2009 at 8:03 pm

R3 body kit is ok, but the NEO itself is suck, small car with oversized wheel arched..kononnye instant way to look sporty… and also the sportrim…indeed, it looks 'ah beng'?

• mystvearn on Jun 25, 2009 at 2:46 pm

I've not seen this car on the Honda UK website yet. Finally ditching triangles for something round at the back. I prefer triangles though

• PROTON MUGEN on Jun 26, 2009 at 1:17 pm

mitlanevo wrote..

u guys very lame lah….

why everything also proton here proton there??

——-

everybody is very patriotic like Paul Tan what.. you don't like PROTON then can look for another blog la.. LOL

PROTON MUGEN way more better than R3 which never make high performance engine part! LOL

• master of designer on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:13 am

wow.. i like this car

• civic for civic minded, not for proton minded, but if u don't mind just drive yr proton…it is more reasonable car……

• Sengz on Dec 02, 2009 at 8:10 pm

apa proton proton ni???

here is civic la…

if d R3 is tat 'HEBAT'…

y till now cant beat other such as TRD,MUGEN those all???

those japanese already manufacture car even u haven getting birth boy…

u juz use proton n honda to compare their quality…

c'mon… those stupid or 'cacat' oso noe hu is better…

u und me wat i talking about???

• wow cool…

how much this car??

can i found this car in indonesia? where can i buy this car?