Mitsubishi Lancer to be facelifted soon in Malaysia

Mitsubishi Lancer
Click for larger image

A new facelift for the Mitsubishi Lancer is scheduled to be released sometime this week and as a teaser, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia have posted a teaser image on the frontpage of their website. The teaser reveals the new Lancer through a moving shroud but I’ve managed to piece together the whole car so you can have a clearer view.

The Lancer sedan has a new front end with a cleaner front bumper, somewhat like the cleaner look that the Lancer Evolution’s bumper has. If you think it looks familiar, it’s basically the same bumper that can be found on the 5-door Lancer Sportback.

The original Lancer bumper put more prominence on the bumper area that flows between the upper grille and lower grille. Given that so many people just loves to paint the center piece black to emulate the Evolution’s style, Mitsubishi seems to have done this for them from the factory. The look is complete with a trim piece surrounding the grille as a whole, top to bottom.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tikus on Jul 27, 2009 at 11:56 am

hatchback?

• saki77 on Jul 27, 2009 at 11:56 am

laa..ingatkan dah nak jadi waja dah….

• Paul Tan on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:02 pm

sedan with hatchback bumper

• Analyzer on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:08 pm

Mitsubishi has really bastardized the Evo look. I hate that they took the front fascia and paste it all over their models.

• Paul Tan on Jul 27, 2009 at 1:25 pm

@Analyzer the worst so far has been the Colt.

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/10/03/2009-mitsu…

• gavin on Jul 27, 2009 at 2:12 pm

cars already in the country, stuck at kastam port, should be out soon, also new are blackened headlamps and smoked tailights and extra aux input for the HU

• caddilac on Jul 27, 2009 at 3:33 pm

An Audi wannabe…

• epal10 on Jul 27, 2009 at 3:43 pm

what can i say…nice sport sedan car.

• moha774 on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:01 pm

…..and I wonder how the Proton version would look like…. its nice though..

• windtunnelcar on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:05 pm

is this a trend that car maker going into sportsback design? looks odd and looks like a wagon/estate.

• MycarMylife on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Very Euro looking in design , hope they up the specs for the MY market otherwise it will be another all show and no go tin can.

• theanswer on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:52 pm

im looking fwd for the hatchback version here in msia. hopefully it can compete with focus,mazda 3 and new hyundai i30. lancer is a nice car..but sadly my dad is 50+ yrs old..he sed lancer is suitable for young ppl..haha i've to buy it myself la. aduh~ *owh maybe mitsu msia can introduce white as a new colour for lancer..it should be nice..look at white triton..reminds me of storm trooper.

• tikus on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Paul,

How come have 2 indentical ID "Tikus".Which I didn't comment on the first "hatchback".Please clear this up. Thanks.

Real tikus.

• azrai on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:46 pm

They should name it Mitsubishi Lancer 'Elite' because of its new front bumper. :-)

• potentialbuyer on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:07 pm

any idea will the price goes up? Thanks.

• as said the new WAJA will be based on the LENCER…. kind of step back to buy LENCER now as the WAJA should look like twin with less price.

• Lancermania on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:13 pm

i definately will buy 1 If i can affort it..

• GermanCarLover on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:19 pm

guys…its not gonna be sportback! its a sedan with new facelift – like the current sportback which not in m'sian market! read carefully, tikus, windtunnelcar, theanswer!

• mitlanevo on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:19 pm

good looking car just got better look, hehez….

but why not change the wheels too? kinda bored already….

• barca on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:23 pm

i really wanna see plenty of mitsus around….defintely sick of seeing T and H.

heck, i wanna see more of suzuki although lately there's a whole lotta suzuki (sx4/swift/sedan) out and about!

• KenKen on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:38 pm

i want the sportback instead… because can't afford impreza

• LancerGT on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:42 pm

aiyooo..

new facelift aa…just got this car last month…booking since March 2009..now facelift…and looks better…

but i heard got price increment too…how much aa ?..if alot then i'm ok laa…save alot..:)..if not alot..then …wa manyak lugi ooo…

• gattaca on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:48 pm

did they bring this hatch to our shore Paul? not the grey ones laa..

• How amazing that I remember seen this car beginning of the year? What happen then, wasn't this launch back then?

• torque (Member) on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Always liked the new Mitsu Lancer look and this new facelift is even better in my opinion as the front fascia is much more smooth and subtle. Since I'm looking for a family sedan in the near future, would love to have this in my porch but the asthmatic powertrain is somehow a downturn. Yep! Hoping that Mitsu will solve this problem and I bet they'll have a winner in the 2 liter range sedan market. If not, I'll just have to look at other brands.

Also, agree with Analyzer in the Mitsu issue about slapping most of it's model with the same front fascia…

• wallstreet on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:25 pm

I really wouldn't buy it…why pay more than 100k and put it together with Proton since it will be a new Waja soon….

• ricaza (Member) on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:35 pm

ermm..wallstreet..

i think the waja lancer only will be fitted with much smaller engine..

maybe 1.6..

• i think new waja should go for 1.8 & 2.0. let the persona maintain the 1.6.

As for this lancer, it looks better for me but my preference is still on civic 2.0 or mazda3 with additional 6K.

• paperpez on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Dear All,

anybody know how long msian version evo reach 0-100kmh in second? seem like we always served with downgraded car…compare with UK version and u'll know…funny things is, our car maker, including japanese not transparent enough to tell us in their official web…!!! WTF..!!! (pls enlighten me..)

• roti naan1 on Jul 27, 2009 at 9:01 pm

nothing done on the engine performance dept?

The engineers are getting lazy perhaps? and decided to slap some cosmetic stuff instead…

• tycoon88 on Jul 27, 2009 at 9:03 pm

wat lah…they are following the footsteps of Imprezza by going hatchback. D previous 1 surely looks better! mayb the waja replacement will be very soon coz they have to get d old 1 out 1st before rebadging it. if not present mitsu lancer owners will be fuming!

• barca_supporter on Jul 27, 2009 at 9:57 pm

waja Neo = Mitsu SiLancer… :)

• Analyzer on Jul 27, 2009 at 10:01 pm

@Paul

OMG, somehow, I missed the new Colt. Kinda seems like the designers of Mitsubishi are going the way of the BMW designers, the signature kidney grills. Only difference is, the kidney grills are signature BMW. Mitsubishi just got lazy with the design and stuck to one that works. The Evo has suffered because of this.

• Some leak info for you guys..

There will be only 3 choices of colour…

• mascodez on Jul 27, 2009 at 10:12 pm

hatchback ar.. WTF, named it so nice "sportback". really disappointed me. imaging how ugly an evo with hatchback looks.

• Domokun on Jul 28, 2009 at 1:40 am

Just went to the showroom last weekend. SA says price increase by only 1K!!!

• Bolehla…….. Menarik jugak…….

• tamaki on Jul 28, 2009 at 2:41 am

black headlight and projector look stunning in whiteeeeee!!

• tamaki on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:04 am

exo x headlight sweet

• Zidane on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:36 am

I Still prefer the sedan….

• Hanafiah on Jul 28, 2009 at 4:12 am

sorry please remove my comment just now.

look at the spoiler. it's totally different.

• slimershine on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:25 am

brera wanna be?

• not bad, cleaner looking.

• JackAss on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:02 am

Will it come with white color in M'sia?

• Anonymous 5815 on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:24 am

Booked this car since end of May, was about to get the black one when stock arrived in June. But luckily my salesman was good enough to notify me the new colour and facelift..so I waited until now…guess I am gonna be one of the first to drive the new version…cant wait really….

But Paul, do you know if the head light is 'projector' type – the picture you posted has an Adaptive Front Light…if yes then would be good

• themanulovetohate on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:25 am

I actually just cancelled booking of second hand 2008 lancer GT after seeing the teaser on mitsubishi website last night. Thanks Paul for showing the full image. Definitely this car has killer look.

Can anybody provide specification on this car? For extra 1K i guess it may not be face lift only.

I heard that Waja going to launch Lancer lookalike. Remember our Wira (also a Lancer lookalike)? U can bet yr last dollar that the feeling and driving a Proton will not be the same as Mitsubishi, no matter what upgrade you've done.

• Paul Tan on Jul 28, 2009 at 9:04 am

@Hanafiah: I never mentioned anything about the spoiler. What I am saying is the Lancer SEDAN now uses the Lancer Sportback's front bumper and grille. It doesn't mean we're getting the Sportback.

• 39013 on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Mitsu's taking the cheap route because they haven't got any money. The Japanese financial press has reported that they are discontinuing the Grandis after cancelling the replacement and word from Japan's supplier network is that the Colt replacement is being canned as well.

When the last employee at Mitsubishi leaves will they please turn out the lights?

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Is it only me or all those stuck on enhancements really makes the car looks "El Cheapo". Come on Mitsu. You can do a better job. Looks like skirtings and spoilers being outsourced to a cottage industry. Wonder of the material itself. Are they add ons or factory fitted. Most bodykits offered by dealers in Malaysia are outsourced, color will be different from the body and will start to fade away/peeling off after a year. Better buy a standard body and save money.

• Wormnachia on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Aeroback ?

• To Mitsubishi! Bring the manual version to bolehland,i'm sure the sales will go up liked hell.

• Wak Rempit on Jul 28, 2009 at 9:31 pm

It does look better with the cleaner look. But I can't help to feel this car is inferior with the launch of the recent Mazda3… M3 rocks!

Checked the reviews made on this car on other sites, they're not as impressive as the big brother Evo especially on performance side.

I mean why the disparity? shouldn' t it share some of the Evo's performance ability since they came from the same genes.

• namiras on Jul 28, 2009 at 10:40 pm

burok la…sedan better.

• jhuan on Jul 28, 2009 at 10:47 pm

the white colour new lancer obviously turn heads, lot of heads..

• prefer this better than the civic 2.0, Mazda 3 and the altis. Looks more devilish than the rest, that is how its suppose to be, but i noticed that many car makers now a days are copying the Audi look. kering otak i guess..

• mukhri88 on Jul 29, 2009 at 12:38 am

there's something off about this car.. but I can't put my finger on it. Maybe cos it's number two to all models.. Looks, 1. Mazda 3, 2. Lancer. Power, 1. Civic, 2. Lancer. Comfort, 1. Altis 2. Lancer. Get my drift? Somehow Lancer can be the overall winner without being the number one for anything… Am I making sense to you guys?

• mitlanevo on Jul 29, 2009 at 12:48 am

3 colors?

so what its gonna be? red + white + black? or silver + white + black? or other new colors? can't imagine a purple or bright green lancer, haha

i think should leave the red for evo model…

• mitlanevo on Jul 29, 2009 at 12:51 am

looks is very very subjective….

power, i agree civic has slight advantage, but somehow lancer fans wont favour for the "smoothness" of civic's transmission….

and comfort = altis? definitely a big NO from me…..

• wochomi on Jul 29, 2009 at 1:10 am

I tot it comes with paddle shift… so still can shift 'manually'?

• apeng on Jul 29, 2009 at 1:34 am

still like the sedan one….

• MBX Boy on Jul 29, 2009 at 3:37 am

I like this sportback better than the sedan lancer.

• Zidane on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:56 am

When do you guys think the waja lancer will come out?

• spyrostudio on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:59 am

buy this one you got both caldina n stream look! back look like caldina, front look like stream, but i loike it. really subjective kind of car… huhuhu

• themanulovetohate on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:00 am

guys, this is not sportback edition! Only the front bumper looks like sportback. Its still a sedan.

I got a reply fm mitsubishi motors that the car will be officially available in dealer showroom on 31/7/09. 2 more days to go!!!

Look no.1 is Mazda3? How many of you like the wide grin bumper of it (though the rear design is superb)? Altis for comfort? I am 1.83m and for me Altis is really small (my Wira is more spacious leh).

• front view is damn hell nice,holla mitsubishi..

• themanulovetohate on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:01 am

Guys, I just booked my lancer GT facelifted limited edition (white) which only 10 units available in Malaysia, 1 unit for Johor. It cost me extra RM1,500 only. So anybody spot lancer GT with standard18"alloy rim in gunmetal colour in JB, its mine!

• pokleh on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:52 pm

A beautiful pet!

• alamak on Aug 01, 2009 at 8:54 pm

White is so 2008…

• italian freak on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:58 pm

Mr Zhang go n buy this cheap car that u soo damn like….

p/s If ur lancer gt soo fast go find an alfas…..see how ur cheap plastic can fly or not….

• Angah on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:16 am

Kenaper takder sunroof? Dashboard juga nampak macam terlalu simple. Jauh sangat ketinggalan dengan pesaing terdekat (tak payah mention lah ye).