BMW to quit F1 after 2009 season

BMW F1 car

New shocker in the Formula One scene – BMW has announced that it will be exiting F1 at the end of 2009, after a 3 year run in the team’s current incarnation, the BMW Sauber F1 team. In the middle of 2005, BMW acquired the Swiss team Sauber and took to the starting grid under the team’s new name.

“Unfortunately, we were unable to meet expectations in the current season. Nevertheless, our ten years of Formula One experience have had a major impact on our development engineers. We have racing to thank for numerous technological innovations as well as the competitive spirit that drives us to develop mass-produced cars,” said board member Dr. Klaus Draeger.

NEW VIDEO: BMW withdraws from F1

“The main reason for this decision was not our current performance in Formula One racing or the general economic situation. It was solely the company’s strategic realignment. Premium will increasingly be defined in terms of sustainability and environmental compatibility. This is an area in which we want to remain in the lead. In line with our Strategy Number ONE, we are continually reviewing all projects and initiatives to check them for future viability and sustainability. Our Formula One campaign is thus less a key promoter for us. Mario Theissen has been in charge of our motor sports program since 1999. We have scored a large number of successes in this period, including some in Formula One racing. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to Mario Theissen and his team for this,” said chairman Dr. Norbert Reithofer.

BMW F1

Looks like the green movement killed yet another Formula One team, as similiar reasons were given by Honda when it decided to exit the sport. BMW will continue to participate in other sports like the ALMS, and of course, Formula BMW. These activities will continue to be supervised by Mario Theissen. The focus in the future will be more on programs like Efficient Dynamics.

I’m not sure what’s going to happen to the team. Perhaps someone will buy them over, and one man rumoured to possibly step in and take over the team is Peter Sauber, the man whose name is the other half of the team’s name. Whatever it is, BMW will work to find solutions for all current F1 employees, and someone else taking over is definitely one of them. Our national oil company Petronas could continue their F1 sponsorship with this new team and their new owners, if they choose to remain in the sport.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• adrianclw on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:20 am

No more BMW!!!!!!

• zulkarnain zainuddin on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:25 am

uhhhhhhhhhh wahhhhhhh

• madboy on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:26 am

There goes Petronas sponsorship money…

• jazzer on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:28 am

so what's the next team that petronas will sponsor??i hope petronas will get some of their tech in producing powerful engine,then share with proton..otherwise, what is petronas getting after spending millions dolar on them…just branding publicity???but i believe,all petronas officials already took it into their consideration b4 sponsoring this team…

• Ndmervin on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:29 am

It's sad.. but i believe its a turning point for BMW towards better and promising developments!

• MycarMylife on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:44 am

Less teams is not best in this case , high costs taking its toll on BMW !! and after Honda ,Toyota is also leaving the circuits sponsorship next year.

F1 has become too fast for some teams and too many other F races in tag with fewer sponsorship, the pickings will leaner, killing the sport except for Prancing Horse , Mclarens and Williams as these are true racing teams and perhaps with the USF1 team next year ( with their USDs) can hope to put back some life into F1 otherwise kaput with no stars like Schumi, Senna, and Hakinen,etc

• gokibin on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:47 am

This is sad news for me. Makes d whole season even sadder…

• Kambing Laut on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:58 am

i hope petronas can make their own car one day.

They have technology, so they can apply it.

They also have their own engine.

If combine with knowledge in aerodynamics, its must be a perfect car on the planet.

I know it takes a lot of money.

Just my opinion..

• THANK YOU BMW for yo on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:09 am

maybe PROTON-LOTUS will buy this team.. do you still remember Paul Tan wrote about TEAM LOTUS want to enter F1 next year but their bid rejected due to political reason..

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/06/11/lotus-not-…

next year 2010, most probably PROTON will be in F1..

LOTUS TEAM said PROTON already know about it, plus they have set the factory at Northfolk near LOTUS already.. PROTON and LOTUS only do psycho war..

CAMPRO in F1???

read here.. PROTON already knew about LOTUS development for F1 next season 2010..

"We've secured the lease to the RTN factory in Hingham near to Lotus and we've been in discussion with Lotus and [their parent company] Proton." – from BBC news, England

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsport/formul…

• leonardo on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:17 am

Jazzer – yes F1 is mainly about branding for the Global markets. Once countries recognize and know who and what is Petronas, it opens door for potential businesses – either in oil and gas exploration or related business. It is difficult to get business if someone or some company or some country started asking 'who is Petronas? What is their nature of business?' etc…etc..

Indirectly Petronas is also a brand ambassador for Malaysia too. Let's hope they will continue with the sponsorship in F1.

To kambing laut – no, car manufacturing is not their core competency. Besides, they still have a small share in Proton.

• droll on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:19 am

it's not the end of the world folks.

• this is motorsports on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:21 am

maybe BMW, PETRONAS, PROTON already have a deal what.. motorsports politic??

PROTON-LOTUS very eager to enter F1 next season.. BMW didn't like F1 management.. therefore PETRONAS exchange their FP1 superbike project with BMW so BMW can enter SBK championship next year.. PROTON-LOTUS can enter F1 next year..

look all this video where BMW S 1000 R vs BMW Sauber F1 cars.. all the drivers and riders there wear PETRONAS logo including the superbike riders.. BMW really eager to enter World Superbike (WSBK) championship next year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hg00ZBqNrd8 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBQcAmWWV-I

• yeah true. bwm will channel their money and expertise into cup prix.

• fauzistt on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:41 am

..welcome back Sauber-Petronas…

• fauzi on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:51 am

I think this the best time for PETRONAS sponsor another team that can transfer their technology back to us not just in oil industry. Like time they with Peter Sauber . We can see there is our engineer working with F1 team and PETRONAS also developed EO1 power plant that until now not available in production. With BMW I don’t see our engineer there. I don’t know la if they are there but PETRONAS don’t want to tell us like fist time they in FI with Sauber team they made documentary about their involvement in F1.If their involvement just for branding not for technology in auto industry go and buy MU football team la and change their jersey to PETRONAS green.

• ahmadmckk on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:05 am

what? what will happen to petronas? is this mean that we would not have a 'Malaysian" team in F1 anymore?

• gavin on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:07 am

Jesus, the reason he gave is so typical of management, string big words together that seem to make sense but is not saying anything at all. Just say not winning not making money time to go home lo

• Petronas could sponsor Team Lotus instead.

• nabil on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:21 am

its jus too expensive to remain in F1 . . ..unless u get the results which means a bigger part of TV revenues….thn it becomes unsustainable and economically not feasible….btw wat hapens to Petronas name ? will thy remain in F1 ?

• If Peter Sauber buys back the team it will be like the old days and rename the team back to Sauber PETRONAS..

• teamsleep on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:49 am

i prefer the old ways…..sauber petronas f1 team,with the old petronas livery!!

• FYI

ni petronas nye vision..

"To be A Leading Oil and Gas Multinational Of Choice"

ni petronas nye mission..

"We are a business entity"

"Petroleum is our core business"

"Our primary responsibility is to develop and add value to this national resource"

"Our objective is to contribute to the well-being of the people and the nation"

xcaya tgk kt website dieorg

• 'BMW really eager to enter World Superbike (WSBK) championship next year'

What ? Troy Corser and Ruben Xaus are driving the BMW S1000RR in the 'Superbike World Championship' already this year. Check it out: http://www.worldsbk.com/en/teams-e-riders/sbk/200…

• mystvearn on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:31 am

If this meant cheaper Beemers as they don't need to subsidise their F1 division is better. But then again, its not going to happen.

• windtunnelcar on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:34 am

shock! i have been supporting this the BMW team since Juan Montoya time, but now this team is gone, left with Ferrari, McLaren, and a bunch of no name teams. This business is not interesting any more….and people will focus on Alonso's complaints more…

• Good job that BMW quit. The can now channel their money to build better cars.

• stephenstreets on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:41 am

Oh no…………….

• BMW SAUBER become PE on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:02 am

then it will be a new team called PETRONAS SAUBER F1 TEAM??

PETRONAS and SAUBER have invested alot for this F1 project, even created one of the best wind tunnel for aerodynamic research.. the advance wnd tunnel in Hinwill, Switzerland during the initial setup has a 462.5-foot loop where the air, accelerated by a 3 MW fan, can reach a speed of 186 mph.. and it also have SUPERCOMPUTER just to compete in F1.. the SUPERCOMPUTER Albert 3 can operate at 50.7 teraflops!!!

http://www.intel.com/cd/business/enterprise/emea/…

1 Teraflops = 1 trillion floating-point operations per second, a benchmark measurement for rating the speed of microprocessors

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teraflop

hopefully the team will continue.. even though without BMW, if PROTON want to buy this ex-BMW team .. it will be a huge advantage to PROTON engineering future..

• necro on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:52 am

Hahaha..loser!

• common sensor on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:58 am

next year 2010, most probably PROTON will be in F1..

hey friend, wake up .. PROTON can't even make decent profit in Malaysia and you are talking about PROTON into F1, dream on.

• so what happens to petronas sponsorship? move to new team?

• bobdbilder on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:14 am

Some people cannot read or just claim ignorance just to be popular (sounds like Malaysian politics);

Lotus has released a press statement that they will not be in F1. That other company got the rights to the name 'Lotus Team'. It won't bear the logo. Same like Brabham.

I like Lotus as they are; niche market players that churns out benchmark driveable cars, off and on the track. Hot on the heels of Porsche. F1 would only dilute the brand.

As to Petronas; really don't care about them. They have to find another marque for next year's adverts. Right after they get a new President/CEO.

• bobdbilder on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:40 am

Guess what, last week Petronas had this microwebsite PETMOS e-store. Great way of letting go of overpriced, overstocked team stuff.

I'd really hope they don't get involved with Proton. Please guys! If ever there was a time I need to be heard by Proton fellas is now! I am totally deadly serious. Proton is better off without their involvement.

• ambipur on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:32 am

is BMW business going bad?

for a big company to pull out of F1 seems like same situation with Honda last year. company having money issues so cant play around for technology.

hopefully no other ones pull out of F1.

reminiscing the days where subaru and mitsubishi were WRC contenders.

• kimmy on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:39 am

(1) PETRONAS did develop the E01 engine based on F1 technology. And PETRONAS did offer the engine to Proton, but it was declined (although apparently at the time PETRONAS owns around 27% of Proton) because Proton was adamant that Campro was the way forward. The rest is history, and we all know what happened to Proton since then.

(2) When Proton bought Lotus, it brought the car company. However, the purchase did NOT include the naming rights to LOTUS F1. So folks, stop dreaming about it.

(3) Proton bought Lotus more than 10 years ago. What have they done with the acquisition? Why are we still paying too much money for crappy cars which are supposedly tuned by Lotus?

• khimfoh on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:39 am

BMW has finally admitted that Formula 1 is an expensive form of motor-sport. But I am quite disappointed at their decision to pull out of Formula one and I think it was quite a rash decision to do so. I honestly felt that BMW should stay in Formula one not as a constructor but as an engine supplier. I think they had more success as an engine supplier with Braham and Williams rather than as a constructor.

• bmpower on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:41 am

That Lotus Team was not the real Lotus one lah you all. It's a litespeed that wanna change their name to Lotus Team. but the F1 them didn't allow them. If not.. the Lotus itself will damage (and real Lotus can sue FIA btw).

Easy for petronas.

JUST SPONSOR BRAWN!!!

Brawn Mercz : Richard Branson : Air Asia X : Tony Fernandez : Malaysian : Petronas .. there's already available connection what?

• good, petronas shud invest in Rally Motorsport. Just setup back PERT(or rename it to PRT) and buy Neo S2000 car then race again.

Kimi Raikonen also giving a sign leaving F1, coz he already testing Arbath owned by Tommi Makinen Racing.

Rally much more interesting!

• petronasracingfan on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:56 am

I am crying… BMW Sauber F1 Team is a great Team,

3 years involvement in F1 project BMW Sauber F1 Team improve from time to time just this year always not have a good luck.

I made a special video for BMW Sauber F1 Team

TRIBUTE to BMW SAUBER F1 TEAM ENGINEERING / PENGHORMATAN KEPADA BMW SAUBER F1 TEAM!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Siop6-uRYpQ

last year BMW Sauber F1 Team win the first grandprix, and produce so many weird invention, the wing design, downforce, aerodynamic, so many.. I include it in that video.. hopefully PETRONAS will continue their involvement in F1 project.

• CocoBear on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:12 am

I have no hard feeling on BMW quitting F1. I can't name any BMW success in F1 and I can only remember the glorious days when Juan Pablo Montoya was in the seat. Personally, I believe beautiful cars should win and ugly ducklings will always be losers. This explains why BMW F1 car doesn't attract publicity.

BTW, I dun give a damn thing about Petronas advert or their global-lavish-wasteful-nonsense sponsorship. It is better for them to sponsor Malaysian kids for education!

Besides, what's so proud of having BMW-Petronas partnership? It makes u feel like driving a BMW after pumping fuel into ur Proton? Hahaha…Malaysia

• techtitan on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:36 am

BWM is out but Schumacher is in…. wohooo…

• techtitan on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:37 am

BMW is out but Schumacher is in…. wohooo…

• PROTON SAUBER PETRON on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:39 am

maybe this explain why PROTON develop single seater car F1 look-alike with CAMPRO engine.. and don't want Litespeed to use the name of LOTUS in F1 next season..

here is the video.. uploaded by Paul Tan youtube channel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W_e218nvJL8

and link of Paul Tan review on PROTON F1 wannabe project

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/08/03/proton-cam…

I wanna bet, PROTON will buy this ex-BMW Sauber F1 Team (chances really high!) but must produce at least own V8 engine.. I think can be done with LOTUS engineer and SAUBER PETRONAS ENGINEERING AG (SPE) and PETMOS (PETRONAS MOTORSPORTS).. maybe further develop the YAMAHA V10 based engine (PETRONAS now have strong link with YAMAHA and Valentino Rossi in MotoGP).. bring back the Japanese Osamu Goto (the legendary Ayrton Senna engineer) to team-up with the new team PROTON SAUBER PETRONAS (PSP) F1 Team

http://www.petronas.com.my/internet/corp/centralr…

the F1 project will continue next season with PROTON SAUBER PETRONAS (PSP).. the new name sound like SONY Playstation Portable product, can use the SONY technology what.. did you know the #1 fastest supercomputer in this world was powered by the SONY Broadband Engine processor!

LOL.. maybe SONY also will join the F1 project with PROTON, PETRONAS and SAUBER..LOL

• Analyzer on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:58 am

this is so very unfortunate. would've thought bmw would be one of the teams that would stick around F1 for a long time. I've been supporting Sauber Petronas ever since 1999 and was delighted BMW bought it over. Hopefully, Sauber Petronas will return.

• sir s on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm

I think it is not wise for PROTON to join F1 in this current economy climate. Even BMW withdraw from F1. Better PROTON stay with current situation whereby they already sponsor the Malaysia A1 GP Team. It is a huge decision to join F1 and consume a huge sum of money. Better spend money on car development and to boost up company's performance. However, I hope in the future, IF PROTON profit or company performance are on par with other international OEM, they can join F1. For now just forget it. Hey, how about we ask PERODUA or NAZA to join F1. Hahaha. Just kidding. :)

• azrai on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:48 pm

Instead of sponsoring glamorous F1 team, Petronas should pull the plug and sponsoring our rakyat or the toll concession. malaysia boleh.

• Mercedes is the better engine supplier!

• Petronas gain global recognition of their brand by sponsoring F1 etc. Probably gain knowledge through R & D using oil and lubricants (syntium) in motosports. Proton also gain "ride and handling" when they bought Lotus. I can testify to that as my proton cars have better ride and handling than the other Japanese and Korean cars in their categories.

• Najib on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:45 pm

cheap BMW – Sauber merchandise coming soon then hahahahahaha

anyway i believe that PETRONAS didn't gain much from the BWM sponsorship unlike during Sauber time….no technical transfer or anything as obviously BMW wouldn't want to share their awesome technologies

• weirdo.. y ppl keep suggesting proton to buy the sauber petronas?.. proton dont make money laaa… i think pensonic in better position to buy the team.. go pensonic .. go pensonic

• nighttrain on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Hopefully Lotus and Peter Sauber will team up, with Proton and Petronas backing them. The Lotus name alone is capable of generating a tremendous amount of interest in viewership and sponsorship. Don't worry about money. They can raise $100million every year at least for the next 6-7 years. Should be enough to run an F1 team.

Just to be in F1 is already enough to get profits upon your investment. Do you know the number of viewers for F1 races? Example, although they never win, have you ever heard of Kingfisher before they entered F1? That's 340million people right there.

Even if you never win, just stir something up(on or off track) and 340million people will notice you even for just a little bit, and hopefully, thay'll notice the ads on the cars too. That's the reality of business in F1, folks.

• huiyyyoooo on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:59 pm

my favourite team is gone…. huhuhuhu

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Yeah. BMW is so attached to the heart of Malaysian as it's Petronas sponsored making it some sort of a national pride. Me too.. grinning with pride at every podium finishes or any single point collected and cursing if BMW Sauber being elbowed or crashed by other team. Many Malaysian shares this feeling too…No doubt they are not owned by Petronas…it's a mere sponsorship excersise here but the pride is there. So sad of the upcoming separation. As for Proton/Lotus F1 the chances seems slim. But I think Dave Richards( if I'm not mistaken) from Prodrive had shown interest in F1. So there you have it. Prodrive..Subaru…owned by Toyota. All the ingredients are there. A ready access to a working F1 engine and chasis tuning. That will make a good constructor.

• kemosabe on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:20 pm

On the plus side, Petronas can spend less of the country's resources on the F1 team. What they could do with the money is more CSR projects that really help the people.

In my opinion, GLCs should not be sponsoring teams or events. They should just stick to doing CSR projects since they are spending the people's money.

After all they are a part of the Gov, which is own by the people.

• howitzer on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:55 pm

gogogo team petronas.. buy bwm team.. hehe..

• R0NaLD0 on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Kambing Laut said,

i hope petronas can make their own car one day.

They have technology, so they can apply it.

MY company cant even properly build a commercial car what make u think they can build a F1 car? even a simple power window will fail…

• Farhan on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:36 pm

Petronas and F1. Why Petronas involves in F1? the answer is here(i copied from the star archive) :

http://mohdfarhan.blogspot.com/2009/07/f1-gives-i…

Sharing is caring…

Thanks

• scanzew on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:48 pm

alamak!!!!!!

• rockett on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:40 pm

so sad….BMW Sauber is my favourite team n im supporting this team since 2001…..but since F1 changed their rules..they budget limit 4 the team is about 40 mil..so i hope PROTON can buy this team and PETRONAS will be the major sponsor for the team….so the new team is PROTON F1 TEAM….or….PETRONAS buy this team(same like RED BULL)…n create…PETRONAS RACING F1TEAM…whooaaa…4 sure for the future..ppl in malaysia…when they race in sepang….all ppl wearing green white shirt as supporting the "malaysian" team…go PETRONAS…go PROTON…i will support both of us

• namiras on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:43 pm

salam….i think petronas should spent more money to help rakyat like PM said the slogan'Rakyat Didahulukan,pencapaian diutamakan'. Just an idea….think about it.TQ

• tokmoh on Jul 30, 2009 at 9:23 pm

bmpower: Tony Fernandes edi sponsor Williams lor.

======

I think it's just cheaper n better overall for Proton to focus in rally rather than F1.

Regarding Petronas, well, I predict they will remain with Sauber as their premium sponsor.

Toyota is also considering of quitting too.

• paxter on Jul 30, 2009 at 9:38 pm

ok u obviously are oblivious to the fact that THE FIA teams for 2010 has already been fix a month ago. Lotus if they even did send an application obviously got rejected they cannot enter 2010 they can send an application for 2011 not 2010 which the teams has been already confirmed. The 3 new teams is usF1, Campos and Manor, which if you didn't know the last two were F1 teams in the past. Common la if prodrive which is a real Racing team got rejected apa lagi lotus/proton?

On the part of the proton single seat racer, there are more open wheel events other than F1 why say F1? Did you pause and think for a second probably the logical reason proton got the lease to the factory is because MOST open wheel events are in europe? Maybe in the future they might enter F1 but to enter F1 just like that is suicide and buying Sauber entities like Brawn will cost A LOT of Rakyats money… Brawn got it easy cause they got the team with out debts.

• lambov12 on Jul 30, 2009 at 11:29 pm

Proton and Lotus run the show ??

hmm …

• Petronas shud join partner wt brawn gp then….it cud be epic

• gangully on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:17 am

CocoBear said,

July 30, 2009 @ 2:12 am

I have no hard feeling on BMW quitting F1. I can’t name any BMW success in F1 and I can only remember the glorious days when Juan Pablo Montoya was in the seat. Personally, I believe beautiful cars should win and ugly ducklings will always be losers. This explains why BMW F1 car doesn’t attract publicity.

BTW, I dun give a damn thing about Petronas advert or their global-lavish-wasteful-nonsense sponsorship. It is better for them to sponsor Malaysian kids for education!

Besides, what’s so proud of having BMW-Petronas partnership? It makes u feel like driving a BMW after pumping fuel into ur Proton? Hahaha…Malaysia

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/29/bmw-to-qui…

i like how you ended your post with "… Malaysia"…

perhaps you should go look at yourself in the mirror and say the same thing. Go google BMW in F1… and you will see their past success… Bum…

• jazzer on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:01 am

ya i'm really agree that proton shouldn't involve in f1…they need to focus on producing the right car at the right tme..involve in f1 means proton tries to hang itself to die…moreover, proton already revving in A1 gp..don't mere sponsor,,but we want a driver from malaysia..our own car and our own driver as well..

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:25 am

"jazzer said,

July 29, 2009 @ 5:28 pm

so what’s the next team that petronas will sponsor??i hope petronas will get some of their tech in producing powerful engine,then share with proton..otherwise, what is petronas getting after spending millions dolar on them…just branding publicity???but i believe,all petronas officials already took it into their consideration b4 sponsoring this tea"

Jazzer, Petronas did not spend millions in F1. They have spent BILLIONS of RM in F1 since 1997. A magazine listed them as the 6th highest spender in F1's history!

The big question is, what were the benefits? At that amount i'm sure some benefits are inevitably visible but was it BILLIONS worth? Has their involvement in F1 all this time developed in any way the local motorsport industry?

Where are the engineers, mechanics,, marketeers, drivers? After 12 years of involvement in F1 where are the malaysian F1 drivers or engineers. Why are there none? Why is the motorsport industry no where further than it was 12 years ago? It in fact went down.

What really is the purpose of spending all that money? I can understand how a company like Shell benefits from spending billions in F1. They have a comprehensive retail network. An f1 fan anywhere in teh world can watch a Shell sponsored F1 car win a race, feel good about it and in support of his team go to the nearest Shell station to fill up petrol and by Shell products instead of a rival station. Can the consumer do that for Petronas??? I go to a Petronas station aware that I am supporting a German-Swiss team. What role is Petronas is playing in that team? What technology is being transferred to Malaysia?? Nada, zilch! None! Worse this company is supporting and spending tons of money on foreign ventures like F3 Nippon, MotoGP, SuperGP etc etc etcc.. while a lot of youngsters at home aspiring to become the next malaysian f1 driver are begging for help. It disgusts me when I read that how a tiny fraction of the money they spent in F1 could have changed and developed the local motorsport landscape. 12 years is more than sufficient to develop something locally. While we stand proud that Petronas/malaysia are on TV globally. There is really nothing to be proud off back home where we live..

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:29 am

"jazzer said,

July 30, 2009 @ 6:01 pm

ya i’m really agree that proton shouldn’t involve in f1…they need to focus on producing the right car at the right tme..involve in f1 means proton tries to hang itself to die…moreover, proton already revving in A1 gp..don’t mere sponsor,,but we want a driver from malaysia..our own car and our own driver as well.."

Jazzer go here http://www.a1teammalaysia.com.my/a1/compiled/p23…. all their drivers are malaysian and they have malaysian mechanics. unfortunately A1GP doesn not allow teams to build their own cars. They have to use the Powered by Ferrari A1GP car

• blasting on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:59 am

hampeh!!BMW tarik diri pon sbb thn ni punya performance terlalu teruk…..tgok ferrari ngn mclaren…diorg mula2 teruk tp diorg usaha develop kete f1 diorg…n tgok hasilnyer….diorg leh kelompokn diri 6 teratas dlm constructor….BMW???kata salah sebuah championship contenders….tp..langsung xde improvement….n one more thing is….F1.09 patut buang dlm tong sampah je..

• BMW supporter on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:01 am

BMW always support you!!!!!

• kimmy on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:24 am

kemosabe said:

“On the plus side, Petronas can spend less of the country’s resources on the F1 team. What they could do with the money is more CSR projects that really help the people…

Do you have any idea how much PETRONAS is spending every year on CSR initiatives? Better check your facts, mate. And in case you haven’t noticed, PETRONAS contributes 45% of national GDP. So go and find another company to knock instead of kicking the golden goose in the teeth.

• osh_kosh on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:27 am

back to Sauber-Petronas?

• kimmy on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:43 am

Feruccio,

(1) The amount of money spent may look big but relative to media exposure/eyeballs, F1 is still the cheapest way to reach a wide audience.

(2) Why should PETRONAS be involved in the local motorsport industry? It is not PETRONAS’ core business. And NO, it is not PETRONAS’ job to find the next Malaysian F1 driver.

(3) PETRONAS is sponsoring the BMW Sauber F1 team for branding purposes, but there are also a lot of technological and commercial benefits involved. So check your facts first before you start knocking PETRONAS. The company and the nation has gained a lot in automotive engineering/technology and it is now applying the knowledge and experience in its oil and gas operations, including alternative energy and frontier technology. THAT is the kind of technology transfer to our Malaysian shores.

(4) When it comes to marketing, PETRONAS is making huge strides in lubricant sales (not to mention the technology) so I’m not sure what the fuss is all about.

(5) And I don’t see why Malaysians should go to PETRONAS stations and think, “Oh, it’s a German-Swiss team,” because we sure as hell don’t go to Shell stations thinking “oh, it’s an Italian-Anglo-Dutch team.”

(6) PETRONAS DID produce a powerful engine based on the F1 technology. And they DID offer it to Proton. And Proton actually DECLINED the engine because they thought Campro was the way to go.

(7) So, NO, the F1 sponsorship is NOT for branding alone and YES, PETRONAS officials DID take all these into consideration before sponsoring the team.

But of course you already knew that.

Kind Regards.

• fadzly on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:16 am

SAUBER PETRONAS WILL BE BACK!!!!

• woo..bash more..bash more…tank god i tot no wan to bashing proton n gov…..thats malaysian maa….no one want to include tax, p.window, engine, malaysia, tun mahatir, ap etc so much maa…..bash la some more bash..hooray

hahahaha…,hehehe..hohohoho

my no cent

• support PROTON buy B on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:08 am

namiras, ferruccio, kemosabe, gangully, azrai, CocoBear (these buch of bashers need to read more about F1, BMW, Sauber, PETRONAS).. seriously need to study more la you guys…

haishhh.. you all talk like Julian Lee maaa..

1)bash without knowing the facts of PETRONAS is #1 most profitable company in whole Asia because of their extreme involvement in racing motorsports!!! (this is fact!).. and furthermore #8 most profitable company in the whole world because of big branding and extreme involvement in racing motorsports including F1!

2)PETRONAS is not like other company in Malaysia.. PETRONAS pay special tax to Malaysia government.. PETRONAS alone contributed about 45% of Malaysia annual Gross Domestic Product (GDP).. guys please read more.. don't just bash like an idiot

3)do you guys know to run business entity or not?? WTF!!! sponsor Manchester United FC?? so what kind of oil and gas research are related with football team?..haish.. bashers….

4)actually PETRONAS MALAYSIA was form from the PERTAMINA INDONESIA model of business… but why PETRONAS have more success than PERTAMINA?? does PERTAMINA INDONESIA invest and do research alot in racing motorsports in like F1? take note: Malaysia is not even a world major oil exporter country not even listed in The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) not like Indonesia.. same like Holland which have SHELL company, Holland also is NOT world major oil exporter country but the SHELL company contribute so much money to develop Holland economy, just like PETRONAS did to Malaysia country

http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petronas http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OPEC http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pertamina http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Dutch_Shell

5) PETRONAS not only have link with BMW in F1.. for your information, PETRONAS also run PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM managed by Malaysian company in Super Taikyu Championship in Japan where they use BMW Z4 M car.. and PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM is a champion last year.. always being on top and have 1-2 finish!.. Malaysian Jazeman Jaafar from PFX (Petronas Formula Xperience) collaboration with BMW now compete in Formula BMW Europe before this he is the YOUGEST ASIA CHAMPION AT AGE OF 14 YEARS OLD in Formula BMW Asia!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lm86RCPwia0

6) did you know that F1 is #1 most watches sports event in this world.. only Olympic event can beat F1 event.. this is FACT!

7)PETRONAS did develop own engine called PETRONAS E01 engine from F1 technology (during Sauber-Petronas era)..it is also the FIRST MALAYSIAN ENGINE! and also PETRONAS FP1 Superbike (the first Malaysia superbike)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0N1Uzz53es

I fully support PROTON buy BMW Sauber F1 Team.. it bring more benefit to Malaysia country rather than just bash without knowing what PETRONAS do and how racing motorsports raise it branding image and increase its product quality.. Malaysian bashers need to read alot!

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:31 am

kimmy,

1)The money spent by Petronas IS LARGE by any measure. Over USD 42M times 12 years, add Sepang GP yearly title sponsorship (it aint free) plus various other trackside and media ad for leveraging. Sepang circuit itself. As I said it's in the BILLIONS of RM. Be honest to yourself, you follow F1 I'm sure. Does the figure surprise you? Are you sure F1 is the cheapest per eyeball? Other sponsors don't rely on just branding exposure and run other activities to leverage value out of the spend. Shell has global retail outlets and so their spend clearly can drive their retail profit. Petronas cannot. Their operation is mostly upstream.

2)Yes I agree it is not Petronas' job to find the next Malaysian f1 driver. Don't support local motorsport industry because it is not their core business? By that logic they shouldn't spend BILLIONS in F1. What is their core business? I think it is oil and gas, not motorsport. In fact their core business is to profit from the sale of our beloved nation's natural resource for the benefit of the rakyat. So why ignore the local motorsport industry? They already have access to a major platform like F1 and so it would've take relatively little effort to leverage and benefit the local industry. Why? because motorsport and petroleum are related industries! Don't forget that Petronas is not a private entity free to do things as it pleases. It is 'state-owned' and the 'state' belongs to the people, the rakyat, who have the right to scrutinize Petronas.

3) Please clarify what "gains in automotive engineering/technology" have been made exclusively via their F1 sponsorship programme. you said "gained a lot in automotive engineering/technology and it is now applying the knowledge and experience in its oil and gas operations, including alternative energy and frontier technology."

Since when did alternative energy solutions were used in F1? How exactly does AUTOMOTIVE engineering developments in F1 be applied in OIL and GAS operations. Oil and gas industry use high revving V8 engines? carbon brakes, vehicle dynamics?

4) Yes Petronas lubricant quality are on par as the other big names I'm sure. Is it easy for someone in Valencia to go buy Syntium 5000?

5) You're missing my point, which is related to the point above, which easily justifies Shell's spend in F1

6)I like this one. NOPE. NONE of the features in the 4cyl EO1w or EO1e engines can be exclusively attributed to F1. The 220+hp 2L engine did not feature anything groundbreaking in 4 cyl race engine technology. variable valve timing?, variable manifold? was there even direct injection. Prove me wrong pls. Proton rightfully declined the engine because it was super expensive and not designed with mass production in mind. It was a experimental race engine. Why do you think race engines are derived from production engines instead of the other way round?

7) How do you know Petronas 'officials' DID weigh everything? Do you know the 'officials'. Have you been to the motorsport dept in Petronas? Have you met their current head? Do you know that SHE has no motorsport background?

Further points for you to ponder.. where are the Malaysian SPE engineers made national heroes years ago? You'd think with the knowledge gained they'd be hot property in the motorsport world both locally and abroad. As a motorsport enthusiast i mix with the small local motorsport community. The SPE guys are gone, wasted. Their expericence never benefitted anyone locally. Talk to the community, you'll notice the 'pulse', you'll notice how detached and irrelevant Petronas has become to the local industry.

TO Mr "support PROTON buy BMW SAUBER F1 TEAM!!!":

Local race drivers in Petronas programmes like Super Taikyu, Farique is no where near the standard of the his Jap team mates. Johan Adzmi (PFX scholar) is hopeless. None of the hopefuls from PFX are making a mark. The ones that did make a mark did so, on their own, backed by fortuntaley wealthy parents who understand the sport.

For Jazeman, please give credit to Dato' Jaafar who put so much effort to school his son from karting through winning Formula BMW Asia, which he did by driving for Meritus, another local outfit that never tasted any support from Petronas. The PFX programme did not benefit Jazeman, nor did it benefit newcomer Fahmi Ilyas. It's their wealthy parents that benefitted them, putting them through correct 'schooling'. PFX was a good idea but poorly executed and now is a waste of good Petronas money. Fortunately for Jazeman he is able to taste some petronas money racing in europe, after tireless effort by his dad, FINALLY!

I repeat after BILLIONS spent over 12 years in F1, we have nothing to show on local motorsport development to prove that we are an 'f1 nation'

Why is the national oil company not supporting the national racing team, A1TM. You can simply email them and ask. Seems it's not due to their 'lack of trying'. Logically they are malaysia's most succesful ever racing team. 6th out of 21 in championship is no joke!

Why is England the 'Mecca' of motorsport technology in europe today. They once had nothing. They were once called 'garagists' by the Italians in F1. Lessons can be learned how their industry grew. Why didn't ours grow despite us having direct involvement in F1?.

I know leave you all with a malay proverb to ponder,

"Kera dihutan di susukan, anak dirumah mati kelaparan"

Think about it..

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:12 pm

basher ferruccio for your information…

Kimi Räikkönen was born from Sauber PETRONAS F1 project

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kimi_R%C3%A4ikk%C3%B…

now to counter your attack.. (is this Paul Tan blog is a debate blog or what?? LOL *_* … I make a format like do an assignment to lecturer but not to detail la..

1)PETRONAS GP.. SIC name itself is originally is Sepang F1 Circuit, that show how serious Malaysia in high level of racing motorsports, Sepang was built for so many reason including

…(1) to make Malaysia an automotive giant with par of the developed country such as Germany, Japan, Italy, French

…(2) to test Malaysian local automotive cars and product, including engine

…(3) to attract Malaysia citizen, especially youngsters and kids to be interested in high level of racing motorsports, Malaysia want to produce a highly competitive race driver and international level, also want to produce a very good engineer, SIC and F1 is one of the medium

there is already a study about F1 event in Malaysia.. actually every year at least RM1 BILLION generated from F1 event in Malaysia only (I have proof for this!).. this not included on how big PETRONAS MALAYSIA name growing really fast after F1 and other high level racing motorsports involvement! that explain how big racing motorsports to oil and gas company like PETRONAS and SHELL (shell linked to Ferrari and also NASCAR).. racing motorsports like F1 is used for RESEARCH and DEVELOPMENT!

http://www.shell.com/home/content/shellracing-en

http://malaysiangp.com.my/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sepang_International… http://www.formula1.com/races/in_detail/malaysia_…

read here special research have done on how F1 event in Malaysia benefit Malaysia country..
    http://www1.american.edu/ted/formula1.htm

for your info PETRONAS also have global outlet la.. don't be so ignorance la ferruccio, here I give you some PETRONAS global business official website

http://www.petroplan.co.jp <– PETRONAS JAPAN (this explain why PETRONAS involve heavily in SUPER GT with TOM'S and TOYOTA)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petronas

among PETRONAS subsidiaries is Petronas Carigali Sdn Bhd; Petronas Carigali Overseas Sdn Bhd; Petronas Research Sdn Bhd; MITCO Sdn Bhd; Petronas Fertilizer Kedah; Petronas Assets Sdn Bhd; Petronas Maritime Services Sdn Bhd; Petronas Trading Corp. Sdn Bhd; Petronas Argentina S.A.; Petronas Australia Pty Ltd.; Petronas Thailand Co. Ltd.; Petronas Philippines Inc.; Petronas Cambodia Co. Ltd.; Petronas Technical Services Sdn Bhd; Petronas South Africa Pty Ltd.; Petronas India Holdings Company Pte Ltd.; Petronas China Company Ltd.; Petronas International Corp. Ltd.; Petronas Marketing Thailand Co. Ltd.; Myanmar Petronas Trading Co. Ltd.; Petronas Marketing (Netherlands) B.V. and Indianoil Petronas

only SHELL have global retail outlet?? LOL.. please don't embarrased yourself la.. for your information 80% of PETRONAS profit come from outside Malaysia activities while only 20% of PETRONAS profit come from domestic business activities.. haiya.. I ask you why PETRONAS MALAYSIA so successful than PERTAMINAINDONESIA, now I must answer my own question.. LOL

some biography of PETRONAS CEO Hassan Merican..
    http://www.answers.com/topic/mohamed-hassan-maric…

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?i…

In 1995 Petronas adopted the strategy to go global and selected the F1 event as a platform to internationalise the Petronas brand worldwide, its president and chief executive officer Tan Sri Mohd Hassan Merican said.

"This was the strategy that we followed as in a year there are about six billion fans or followers of the F1 event. It is a popular sport next to the Olympics and World Cup.

"We have seen much profits through this way, besides the international exposure for Petronas, and the reduced cost of financing for us due to the global recognition," – PETRONAS CEO

2)please study PETRONAS racing motorsports history.. PETRONAS even created PERT (Petronas-EON Racing Team) use Malaysia local talent Karamjit Singh and win the international rally APRC and PWRC championship la wei.. and now PETRONAS backing the PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000 project la..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karamjit_Singh http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Pert

"What is their core business? I think it is oil and gas, not motorsport." – ferruccio wrote.. LOL

ferruccio, do you know or not PETRONAS also develop its own lubricants called SYNTIUM and SPRINTA.. can't you see how big the SYNTIUM name on BMW Sauber F1 car or not?? do you know that different kind of engine have different system? and also different standards?? do you know there was once upon a time in the 1990's where the european engine manufacturer really angry with the API (American Petroleum Institute) standard that made the european engine underpower?? The european create their standard for car engine lubricants called ACEA standards (European Automobile Manufacturers Association).. same goes to the Japanese which have Japanese Automotive Standards Organization (JASO) standards.. which define the standards for lubricants for their automotive industry engine!

this explain why PETRONAS want to enter F1 and other higher racing motorsports event.. for business and to test their product in various type of engine which definitely have different level of standards

at least read more here..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motor_oil

3) gains in automotive engineering/technology.. so much, even created the MALAYSIA FIRST ENGINE PETRONAS E01 engine which was tested in PROTON cars, PROTON WAJA and PROTON SATRIA… and then only PROTON develop their own engine

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/07/08/the-petron…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0N1Uzz53es

F1 is more to branding (F1 have so many fans BILLIONS of it around the world!) and also test the high level of engineering la my friend… the boiling rate of lubricants is so high.. if the lubricants like PETRONAS SYNTIUM is not good then there will be many case where the engine blow with fire!.. if you follow PETRONAS F1 project from the start during the Sauber-Petronas era then you can notice there is alot of incident where the engine blow-up, during that time the lubricant not really fit with the engine architecture yet because it is really a high level of engineering..

4) YES you can buy PETRONAS SYNTIUM 5000 in Valencia, Spain.. one of PETRONAS product distribur there in Spain is Lubricantes Ferrando Valencia
    http://www.lubricantesferrando.com/Productos.htm

5) for your information SHELL spending in F1 is much more higher than PETRONAS did, FERRARI and SHELL reported they spend about 200 million pounds sterlin per year for F1 project..

6) PROTON reject it not because of it is super expensive (haiya.. even PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000 project also use Renault Clio engine that have been engineered to be 2.0L engine from 1.8L engine).. downgrade the 2.0L engine also can be done la.. furthermore PETRONAS E01 engine use Continuous Control VVT (Variable Valve Timing) type of Valve mechanism which mean it is CHEAP and simple, continuous VVT improves torque delivery across the whole rev range.. this explain why TOYOTA really interested in VVT type of engine even develop their own VVT-i engine!

read here more about VVT technology..
    http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/v…

7)the art and benefit of racing motorsports can be learn..

I finish my comment with..

"where there is a will, then there is always be a way"

if you already set to meet your goal, already make a proper strategy, you struggle very very hard for it then "when going gets tough, the tough gets going!!!"

• PROTON in F1!!! on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:18 pm

PROTON must buy this team and be the champion next year!

just like Brawn GP did after buying the Honda F1 team…

PROTON MALAYSIA with PETRONAS MALAYSIA is great combination..

• ferruccio the basher on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:39 pm

LOL

ferrucio.. you write so long but my 2 cents is

do you know that PETRONAS E01 Continuous Control VVT (Variable Valve Timing) which mean it is CHEAP and simple, continuous VVT improves torque delivery across the whole rev range.

read more about VVT type of engine here
    http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/v…

if not la my friend.. PROTON didn't produce la CAMPRO CPS to counter Japanese type of VVT engine like VVT-i, MIVEC, VTEC.. CAMPRO CPS is one type of VVT engine

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro_engine http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enjin_Campro http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Variable_valve_timin… http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pemasaan_injap_boleh…

and PETRONAS do have distributor in Valencia, Spain
    http://www.lubricantesferrando.com

I want to ask you honestly.. do you really know engine technology or not?

please read more about engine technology at least in Paul Tan blog..

I wonder la this basher,.. everything related to MALAYSIA whether it is PROTON, PETRONAS, PERODUA.. everything they will bash it without concrete facts and knowledge..

Julian Lee wannabe I think.. LOL

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:21 pm

PROTON is too bz trying to survive and take care of its bottom line. That is priority. Even if that is stable already the commitment required for them to get into F1 is tremendous, possibly suicidal.

I don't think we want them to go the 'Malaysia Boleh' style of doing things by buying Ferrari engines and rebadging them PROTON. Which is what Petronas did for Sauber. The Petronas engine was a rebadged Ferrari. This is acceptable because Petronas is not an automotive manufacturer. If PROTON did this it would be an insult to fans.

PROTON would need to create an F1 engine programme which would cost billions of taxpayers money, to build engines, whose technology today is irrelevant to the developments in the auto industry anyway.

If proton MALAYSIA and petronas MALAYSIA is a great combination, then what petronas MALAYSIA and a1 team MALAYSIA! The most obvious marriage, but which inexplicably hasn't happen for reasons NO ONE in the motorsport community can explain.

Don't get me wrong, I am proud of PETRONAS as an oil and gas company. They are a proudly malaysian success story. It is correct for them to spend to build their global branding(whether BILLIONS worth is debatable) but they are so high up in the stratosphere that they have forgotten where the ground is, and this is a state owned entity claming to operate for the 'benefit of the rakyat'.

Imagine if just 1% of what they spend abroad is used to support development of human capital in local motorsport, we would have the most advanced motorsport(possibly automotive) industry other than Japan

• kimmy on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Ferrucio

1) Yes, I follow F1 and I know the relative figures that the manufacturers and sponsors are spending each season. The figure touted does not surprise me, and yes, I am sure F1 is the cheapest per eyeball, given the kind of exposure that PETRONAS wants.

Shell may global retail outlets and if that’s how they want to use F1, then fine. PETRONAS looks at it differently.

PETRONAS operations is mostly upstream?

Well, that is precisely the kind of demented, blinkered and naïve view that is not going to get anyone anywhere. PETRONAS has operations across the whole oil and gas value chain. Again, check your facts.

2) Again, it is NOT PETRONAS’ business to either find next Malaysian f1 driver or develop the local motorsport industry. Which part of it that you do not understand? You write “By that logic they shouldn’t spend BILLIONS in F1.” What kind of logic are you talking about here? Pasar malam logic?

PETRONAS core business is oil and gas. Motorsports is merely a branding, promotion, marketing and technological advancement platform. Yes, their core business is “to profit from the sale of our beloved nation’s natural resource for the benefit of the rakyat,” and that’s why they go global in this global industry. Still I cannot understand your logic about the whole local motorsport industry. Why not ask Proton to do it? Or other car manufacturers? Or other GLCs? After all, surely they also exist, as you eloquently put it, for the benefot of the rakyat.

You also wrote, “They already have access to a major platform like F1 and so it would’ve take relatively little effort to leverage and benefit the local industry.” Again, how naïve can you be? And to say motorsport and petroleum are related industries is hilarious beyond words. You should go into comedy sometimes, mate.

3) A lot of F1 technology is being applied to the industry. The most obvious one is in premium lube development, but the engineers have also learned a lot about cutting-edge technology when it comes to materials, fluid dynamics, structural engineering, etc. That’s the problem with you: you are blinkered and naïve. You think F1 and you think cars going vroom, vroom, vroom around the tracks. There is a lot of science and technology behind it that we can use. But don’t worry, I don’t expect you to understand that.

4) Yes, PETRONAS lubricant quality is actually on par as the other big name, but a lot of people are, as usual, so besotted with foreign brands (no need to mention who lah. Fikir sendiri.) Foreign must be good, right?

To ask “Is it easy for someone in Valencia to go buy Syntium 5000?” is missing the point. Anyway, do you know how much sales PETRONAS already clocked from their partnership with Fiat Yamaha in MotoGP? Yes? No?

Yeah, that’s what I thought.

5) I think you’re the one missing the point but that’s OK.

6) Dude, I actually had to change my pants when I read what you wrote: “NONE of the features in the 4cyl EO1w or EO1e engines can be exclusively attributed to F1. You are wrong, nuff said. Did Proton make the right decision to decline the engine? The jury is still out there. Was the E01 super expensive? I doubt it. In fact, the cost differential between the E01 engine offered to Proton and the foreign engine Proton was apparently using at the time was minimal, although E01 was far superior. But then, that was up to Proton lah.

And what’s all this BS about E01 “not designed with mass production in mind”? It was NOT an experimental race engine, you genius! It was almost at the production-ready prototype stage. But anyway, it’s OK. The engine is already ready for commercial production in China, since Malaysian companies don’t want it.

And dude, please don’t make laugh so hard that I will risk pulling my back muscle by asking questions like “Why do you think race engines are derived from production engines instead of the other way round?” It’s just too funny, mate. Too funny.

7) How do I know Petronas ‘officials’ DID weigh everything? I just know. Yes, I have you been to the motorsport dept in PETRONAS, and yes, I actually know their current head? She has no motorsports background (who does? Alex Yoong?) but she’s a marketing expert and she is from the oil business. She knows how to sell oil and lubricant and all that, and that’s her job. And doing a pretty damn good job too.

To answer your question, the Malaysian SPE engineers are still in the organisation and they are with the research division. They are working on the said frontier technologies and doing very well thank you very much. They were made national heroes years ago and they still are. They are working hard on the technology front so that PETRONAS will still have a business tomorrow and can contribute back to the nation.

Again, your problem is that your thinking is too linear. You keep thinking that automotive engineering = motorsport bla bla bla. It’s not about the technology but rather, the APPLICATION of the technology. The SPE guys are neither gone, nor wasted, so please don’t call yourself a motorsports enthusiast if you can’t even be bothered to check your facts. That’s just embarrassing.

Have a good weekend.

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Obviously some of you completely miss my point so here it is again. I'll keep it shorter this time but essentially it is a repeat:

1)E01 engine. What F1 technology can be EXCLUSIVELY attributed to that engine? VVT? Variable manifold? Coil-over plug ignition? yes its in the engine but my question remains – which of that was EXCLUSVELY derived from Petronas F1 programme? I'll rephrase that – Can any of the technology in the E01 engine be learnt WITHOUT having an F1 programme. The answer is YES. You don't need an F1 programme to build the EO1 engine. The technology is common to the auto industry and nothing special, unique to the F1 programme as teh public had been made to believe. Just another afterthought PR exercise by Petronas to justify their spend.

2) I did not state that it is wrong for Petronas to spend in F1. By all means they should go global. I asked if it was WORTH the BILLIONS in RM spent?

3) Of course Petronas has retail outlets outside Malaysia but it is no where near as comprehensive as the other brands, who justifiably spend billions. Any clue as to the number of outlest against the others? When I say 'retail outlet' that means petrol stations, where the average consumer can buy primax, syntium etc.. so back to my point for valencia- can the average f1 joe watch the race there, then run to the nearest petronas station to fill his tank with primax?

Sorry that some of you will have to go back and reread my lengthy post just to understand my point but I can save you the trouble. The malay proverb remains:

“Kera dihutan di susukan, anak dirumah mati kelaparan”

Think about it again..

• Sebenarnya F1 (satu pelaburan) telah melonjakkan nama Petronas sehingga dapat berniaga di lebih dari 30 negara. Itu sebabnya Petronas untung berbillion. Syarikat luar juga suka bila Petronas ambil alih mereka, contohnya sebuah syarikat minyak pelincir kenderaan berat baru-baru ini. Juga ambil alih stesen minyak di Negara lain. Jadi tak timbul anak di rumah mati kelaparan sebaliknya anak di rumah mungkin kekenyangan banyak makan.

• ferruccio the basher on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:21 am

ferruccio the basher…LOL

1) you talk like it is very easy to develop an engine.. then explain la why PROTON-LOTUS engineers take so many years to develop CAMPRO CPS.. VVT type of engine.. although PETRONAS had done it early many many years because of their expertise in Sauber PETRONAS F1 project??

nothing special??.. LOL, how ignorance you are la ferrucio

the PETRONAS E01 engine have 204.3 PS @ 7300rpm meaning it minimum top speed is about 230km per hour and acceleration (0kmph – 100kmph) can be achieve in less than 8 seconds!.. now tell me any PROTON car model or maybe TATA car, Indian and Chinese made cars can achieve something like that.. only engine manufacturers that compete in international racing motorsports like F1, WRC, Le Mans, Nurburgring, WTCC can only do something like that la my friend, like BMW, AUDI, FERRARI, FIAT, VW, MERCEDES, SEAT, HONDA, TOYOTA, MITSUBISHI

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PS_(horsepower)#PS

2)from the past experience. it is worth it!!! imagine almost 6 BILLION people around the world watching your company F1 race team every weekend!

3)haiya friends.. PETRONAS advertise SYNTIUM brand on BMW Sauber F1 car not PRIMAX la.. yes he can buy it at Valencia, Spain

at least can order at this PETRONAS SYNTIUM distributor in Spain

I think next year World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) will be in Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia with BMW PETRONAS car just like what happen in Japan where PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM run a BMW Z4 M car and in Merdeka Millenium Race.. PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM have Technical Engineer name Niklas Thomassen which previously run the WTCC car fro BMW motorsports now he is with PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM in Japan which is last year Super Taikyu Champion in Japan!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_Z4#Racing

I think BMW want to focus more on their Touring Car championship.. maybe next year they want to field BMW Z4 M PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM champion car in WTCC.. BMW is very dominance in WTCC but this year have not enough luck, the SEAT from Spain conquer this year 2009 WTCC.. maybe BMW motorsports want to upgrade the level of PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM that currently compete in Japan to the World stage WTCC which is now the popularity is growing..

The WTCC is currently held in Great Britain, Germany, Spain, France, Italy, Portugal and Czech Republic (former races in Sweden, Belgium, Netherlands and Turkey) but the FIA is extending the championship internationally: now there are races in Brazil, Mexico, Macau and Japan; in 2009 there will be a new race in Morocco and there are some rumours of a race in Russia and Malaysia for 2010 season.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Touring_Car_Ch…

here some video about one of PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM driver compete in Nürburgring, Germany using BMW Z4 M car.. his name is Johannes Stuck the grandson of German race car legend Hans Stuck
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hans_Stuck

BMW also now focus on a new technology which they called EfficientDynamics which is why they want to develop KERS hybrid system in F1.. but suddenly the F1 didn't support the hybrid engine system, maybe that's one of the biggest reason why BMW want to quit in F1 and focus in other racing motorsports that can meet the BMW goals to develop what they called EfficientDynamics.. maybe next year we will see PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM using BMW Z4 M racing car that run the latest BMW EfficientDynamics system in Sepang… who knows

http://www.bmw.com/com/en/insights/technology/eff…

http://www.petmos.com.my/en/Events—Features/New…

for the BMW Sauber factory in Hinwill, Switzerland… why waste it? it have one of the most advance wind tunnel and also great supercomputer called Albert 3.. can still use it if BMW and PETRONAS collaborate next year in WTCC with the upgrade to the PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM.. the champion team that currently compete in Super Taikyu Championship in Japan.. they need a fresh challenge.. WTCC is a very good one for them, test the latest hybrid system in racing car and then transfer it to commercial cars :)

• ferruccio the basher on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:23 am

ferruccio the basher…LOL

1) you talk like it is very easy to develop an engine.. then explain la why PROTON-LOTUS engineers take so many years to develop CAMPRO CPS.. VVT type of engine.. although PETRONAS had done it early many many years because of their expertise in Sauber PETRONAS F1 project??

the PETRONAS E01 engine have 204.3 PS @ 7300rpm meaning it minimum top speed is about 230km per hour and acceleration (0kmph – 100kmph) can be achieve in less than 8 seconds!.. now tell me any PROTON car model or maybe TATA car, Indian and Chinese made cars can achieve something like that.. only engine manufacturers that compete in international racing motorsports like F1, WRC, Le Mans, Nurburgring, WTCC can only do something like that la my friend, like BMW, AUDI, FERRARI, FIAT, VW, MERCEDES, SEAT, HONDA, TOYOTA, MITSUBISHI

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PS_(horsepower)#PS

2)from the past experience. it is worth it!!! imagine almost 6 BILLION people around the world watching your company F1 race team every weekend!

3)haiya friends.. PETRONAS advertise SYNTIUM brand on BMW Sauber F1 car not PRIMAX la.. yes he can buy it at Valencia, Spain

at least can order at this PETRONAS SYNTIUM distributor in Spain

I think next year World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) will be in Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia with BMW PETRONAS car just like what happen in Japan where PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM run a BMW Z4 M car and in Merdeka Millenium Race.. PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM have Technical Engineer name Niklas Thomassen which previously run the WTCC car fro BMW motorsports now he is with PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM in Japan which is last year Super Taikyu Champion in Japan!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_Z4#Racing

I think BMW want to focus more on their Touring Car championship.. maybe next year they want to field BMW Z4 M PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM champion car in WTCC.. BMW is very dominance in WTCC but this year have not enough luck, the SEAT from Spain conquer this year 2009 WTCC.. maybe BMW motorsports want to upgrade the level of PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM that currently compete in Japan to the World stage WTCC which is now the popularity is growing..

The WTCC is currently held in Great Britain, Germany, Spain, France, Italy, Portugal and Czech Republic (former races in Sweden, Belgium, Netherlands and Turkey) but the FIA is extending the championship internationally: now there are races in Brazil, Mexico, Macau and Japan; in 2009 there will be a new race in Morocco and there are some rumours of a race in Russia and Malaysia for 2010 season.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Touring_Car_Ch…

here some video about one of PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM driver compete in Nürburgring, Germany using BMW Z4 M car.. his name is Johannes Stuck the grandson of German race car legend Hans Stuck
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hans_Stuck

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFG6wG6weQM

BMW also now focus on a new technology which they called EfficientDynamics which is why they want to develop KERS hybrid system in F1.. but suddenly the F1 didn't support the hybrid engine system, maybe that's one of the biggest reason why BMW want to quit in F1 and focus in other racing motorsports that can meet the BMW goals to develop what they called EfficientDynamics.. maybe next year we will see PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM using BMW Z4 M racing car that run the latest BMW EfficientDynamics system in Sepang… who knows

http://www.bmw.com/com/en/insights/technology/eff…

http://www.petmos.com.my/en/Events—Features/New…

for the BMW Sauber factory in Hinwill, Switzerland… why waste it? it have one of the most advance wind tunnel and also great supercomputer called Albert 3.. can still use it if BMW and PETRONAS collaborate next year in WTCC with the upgrade to the PETRONAS SYNTIUM TEAM.. the champion team that currently compete in Super Taikyu Championship in Japan.. they need a fresh challenge.. WTCC is a very good one for them, test the latest hybrid system in racing car and then transfer it to commercial cars :)

• ferruccio on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:26 am

Zool,

That is true and you have every right to be proud of Petronas, as I am as well for the benefits you listed.

My point, which I have been trying to cause fellow readers to think about, and related to the proverb “Kera dihutan di susukan, anak dirumah mati kelaparan” is related to the local motorsport industry which no one seems to want to address. Too painful to admit?

Some in here could even strangely imply that its irrelevant. Denial is bliss I suppose??

I repeat my question 'at nauseam' – After BILLIONS of RM spent in 12 years by PETRONAS in MOTORSPORT (F1), why has it NOT benefitted the local MOTORSPORT infrastructre in Malaysia?.

Does no one in here find that a little odd? C'mon, some little voice in our heads must at least be faintly screaming, "WHY?"

NO ONE in the malaysian motorsport industry denies this dilemma nor can they understand why.

• ferruccio on Aug 01, 2009 at 2:10 am

—————————————————–

————————————————————

Hello whoever who wrote this. Sorry I can't name you because you keep changing your name. I'm not going to argue with you because you don't bother to even read my posts propoerly and before posting your own. So I'll just tackle 1 point and ignore you from here.

So here is what I wrote earlier. It's all still there:

"The 220+hp 2L engine did not feature anything groundbreaking in 4 cyl race engine technology."

note the words RACE ENGINE TECHNOLOGY. When the EO1 was built there was nothing new in the engine compared to other 4 cyl race engines at the time. VVT? Coil over plugs? variable intake manifold? You don't need 120kg, 100hp/L specific output for an engine made for mass production road car. The spec brief IS that of a race engine, not mass production engine. Nothing in terms of technology and features in the engine could be attributed to what was being developed at the time in F1.

I was infact being very generous by saying the engine made 220+hp when in fact it was less. I didn't want it to look silly because the 4 cyl Honda in S2000 made 240hp from 2L and thats a mass production road car engine

F1 used V10 engines. Did the EO1 engine feature pneumatic valve springs? Anything at ALL that can be said to be derived EXCLUSIVELY from F1 tech? There was NOTHING in the engine that wasn't already in use in either production or race engines worldwide. VVT, variable cam phasing, variable valve lift are not ground breaking new tech.

Did anything motorsport learnt in F1 trickle into malaysia and got applied locally?

Anyway thats all I'm going to point out because we're obviously on very different wavelengths.

Good day to you.

• kimmy on Aug 01, 2009 at 2:21 am

Had lunch, went out and came back to this whole thread of discussion.

I will not comment any further because I think it's useless trying to explain to some people who is so obsessed about local motorsports industry that they fail to see the big picture.

Seriously, it's embarrassing.

• ferruccio on Aug 01, 2009 at 2:43 am

Kimmy,

you may find it embarrasing but implying the fact that Petronas thinks malaysian motorsport is a waste of time because of the 'bigger picture' is a DISGRACE, though is unfortunately the mindset in Petronas, top to bottom.

I can accept if Petronas has that view of say the Nepalese motorsport industry but our own family?? really sad!

My proverb comes to mind once again.

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 01, 2009 at 4:37 am

ferrucio…

come on la give more concrete discussion..

F1 project is one of the big reason why PETRONAS can be #1 most profitable company in Asia and #8 most profitable company in the world! THIS IS FACT!

imagine la almost 6 BILLIONS people or more watching PETRONAS F1 cars in action..

PETRONAS never think Malaysian local motorsports is a waste la my friend.. if not PETRONAS do not support la Rally Felda this year backing the PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000 project..

look here this year picture of Rally Felda PETRONAS name very big on the PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000 car
    http://geartinggi.com/2009/07/08/satria-neo-s2000…

the problem with Malaysia local motorsports is like everybody hoping for PETRONAS only how about other business big tycoon in Malaysia like YTL, GENTING, MAXIS, ASTRO?? have you been in Germany yet or not.. see it for yourself la in Germany so many private business entity very proud of their local motorsports activities not like in Malaysia la.. people keep on blaming PETRONAS.. hate very much Malaysian products, keep on bashing but themself is not even more better la

.. what kind of mindset is this (example like ferrucio), can Malaysia be a racing motorsports giant and automotive engineering master like the German if we all continue the mindset like this not even par same level as the germans yet!

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 01, 2009 at 5:10 am

ferruccio…

I think Malaysia local motorsports future is very bright the younger generation is really awesome.. but the current generation have a very bad mindset one la..

watch video here.. the kids during Malaysia Rally Championship really awesome, the best part is when the host shout "SIAPA YANG MENANG" and the Malaysian kids shout very loud the sponsor name.. LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NyxF_kew5vg

hopefully Malaysia can raise more world class driver like Karamjit Singh.. love to see rally drivers take a very fast cornering, drifting in the mud, and make the car jump very high.. BMW is a good partnership.. it can't be denied!

• fuyiopo on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:02 am

BMW quit….That is a let down……Whats next? Proton F1?

• kimmy on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:56 am

someone is obviously incapable of extending his argument beyond "we must develop our motorsports industry" and a single proverb.

excellent stuff! :)

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:23 am

read the news here Robert Kubica said he is supporting SAUBER and PETRONAS to save the BMW Sauber F1 Team.. a source from Switzerland said PETRONAS will take over BMW Sauber F1 Team.. (switzerland version of BMW Sauber F1 Team take-over news)

http://www.flagworld.com/news/?p=21541

here is the story from Germany that Peter Sauber will try it best to save the Hinwill factory in Switzerland and talks with PETRONAS to take over the BMW Sauber F1 Team

http://www.20min.ch/sport/dossier/bmwsauber/story…

.. currently Peter Sauber have 20% shares of BMW Sauber F1 Team, BMW have 80% of shares (before this Sauber hold 60% of shares, while PETRONAS have 40% of shares thats why they created Sauber PETRONAS engineering)..

now if PETRONAS buy all 80% from BMW.. maybe PETRONAS will give 40% of the shares to PROTON so PROTON-LOTUS can enter F1 next year??

PETRONAS SAUBER PROTON (PSP) F1 racing team for F1 2010 season?

• ferruccio on Aug 01, 2009 at 10:18 am

Dear 'Mr Kimi Räikkönen champion was born from Sauber PETRONAS F1 project!!!' :

Yes! someone mature enough to express their opinion and disagree with mine without resorting to childish personal insult! Its refreshing :)

As I said earlier I am proud of Petronas for its global success and the benefits to the country as explained by Zool

I also agree with your mindset towards motorsport which is the same as mine. ALL corporate entities in Malaysia including the ones you listed should only engage in supporting motorsport parties locally/globally if the proposition makes business sense. 'Hand outs' won't help sustain the local industry.

I can assure you no one in the local motorsport indusry is singling out Petronas for support. ALL are being approached. They are simply fed up with Petronas particularly. If a company cares to explain the reasons for declining to engage in commerce, and the reason makes logical sense, there would be no issue.

There are many independent local motorsport 'success stories' such as Meritus Racing in FBMW Asia/FV6/GP2 Asia, newcomer Empire Motorsport, who almost won Class A MME last year and raced in the Dubai 24hr race in January(the first malaysian team to race in a 24hr race) and a few other proud success stories. The biggest in my mind is A1 Team Malaysia who finished 6th out of 21 nations in A1GP

None of these teams survived on 'hand outs' and their sponsors sponsor because the teams proposed themselves as a marketing medium with proper business proposition. So there must be justifiable value in them. None of them and almost any number of other home grown outfits received ANY commercial attention from Petronas. Why is that? I know for a fact that it is not for a lack of trying. For instance if TOURISM MALAYSIA, PROTON, PLUS, SPRITZER, ASTRO and others can see value in supporting the national race team, A1 Team Malaysia why is it the national oil company do not.

Many motorsport fans who follow F1 and A1GP, including myself are wondering, "How come Petronas is not part of the national race team in A1GP?" Many fans assumed Petronas were supporting A1TM so I checked and I asked. There is no link. You might say, but we don't know the details? perhaps the proposition did not match Petronas branding/marketing objectives etc.. so I asked A1TM again.

And the answer is simply perplexing. The fact is A1TM for 4 years have requested an 'audience' with the mighty Petronas. It never even got past that. They were shunned, ignored and clueless. And it seems this is how generally Petronas treats homegrown independents. I can assure you the viewership numbers of A1GP is higher than any other series that Petronas is involved in bar F1 and perhaps MotoGP. Here is the national race team, with malaysian drivers, malaysian mechanics being totally shut out by the national oil company and apparently this is now normal. Doesn't any Malaysian find that strange?

Again, did local motorsport (and automotive) industry benefit even a little bit from the BILLIONS spent over 12 years in motorsport outside Malaysia. There certainly were benefits in other sectors of Malaysia and for that I am happy. None of the F1 motorsport experience and knowledge (engineering,commercial) can be found in the local motorsport community today. Most of the ex malaysian SPE enegineers are not involved in motorsport today, despite being exposed to the pinnacle of that indusrty at Hinwill, Switzerland. I know 1 or 2 of them indirectly. It would have been nice if what they learned were shared locally.

Talking about Germans, VW,BMW,BENZ,PORSCHE all have collaboration with universities, all have apprenticeship programmes to train their people. Knowledge based economy. The knowledge is being shared for the benefit of their people. Always in touch with the people. No wonder they are proud of their auto and motor industry.

Finally, abit about the S2000 Neo. It's a great piece of engineering and I wish I can say that Proton developed it but fact is it was COMPLETELY researched,developed and built by Mellors Elliot Motorsport(MEM) in the UK. Proton simply gave them the license to develop and race the car. Great PR benefit for Proton eventhough no one in Proton can maintain the car but hopefully the MEM mat salleh engineers will teach our local boys everything about the car, hopefully. The Felda liveried car was purchased by Proton, and are customer to MEM. A lot more than the cost of the car was spent by MEM in R&D for it.

I'm all for the Petronas branding on the car and I hope we see more of that in the future but the fact is Proton is the one that least needs support from Petronas. They are both Khazanah run companies. left pocket, right pocket? Good PR nonetheless. It should not surprise you that anything of proton that has Petronas on was due to one particular man, Datuk Razak Dawood, the man behind PERT and Karamjit, who recently became head of Motorsport at Proton and in charge of the purchase of the S2000 Neo car.

Why do support from Petronas only come when a select, same few individuals are involved, this applies to the deal with SuperGT, Super Taikyu and others. Makes you wonder doesn't it. The rest of the local motrsport community simply cannot understand how and why Petronas do certain things.

Petronas embarked on the ambitious endeavour into the world of F1 in the mid 90s for the benefit of rakyat but somehow totally neglected grassroots motorsport development. Why this selective, uncomprehensive approach to motorsport? The local scene actually declined after SIC was built. It was thriving before that. Why is that so? Our international single seater drivers ( we have only 4! only 2 have reached the required expreince for f1 car and ALL have the same negative sentiment towards Petronas – one was so fed up he expressed it in our national paper last year) are too embarrased when asked by foreigners where the rest of the malaysian drivers and engineers are hiding. Even forigners assumed some visible benefit should be seen in our motorsport human capital given the massive 12 year involvement of our nation in the pinnacle of motorsport.

So now that Petronas may have a big unused motorsport budget for F1 next year, I wonder what they are going to spend it on. It's anyone guess but many in the local scene can predict what they WON'T be spending on.

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:16 pm

this time ferruccio give good bash but somehow I want to counter him/her back.. LOL

1) everything want to ask PETRONAS.. then what about other local private business entity do?? only know to make money only haaa?? like our Raja Gula the richest man in Malaysia.. what kind of contribution he give to Malaysia motorsports or automotive industry other than his sugar??

PETRONAS have hundreds of subsidiaries to take care PETMOS (PETRONAS MOTORSPORTS) is one of them if they are not good in management then surely lingkup already la my friend.. see la General Motors (GM) from USA can't handle so much company and now bankcrupt already.. PETRONAS must be wise la, it contribute about 45% of Malaysia annual GDP, if PETRONAS can't perform well.. Malaysia citizen also feel the effect because they can't give much tax to government for the Malaysia budget of economy distribution.

2)about PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000 WRC project.. do you know before this SUBARU also do the same.. partner with Prodrive from UK.. please learn from the succesful partnership like SUBARU-PRODRIVE la my friend

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prodrive http://www.prodrive.com/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_World_Rally_T… http://www.subaru-msm.com/swrt

you think what la.. do you know or not every statistics, data, report the manufacturer have to know la.. the MEM run and manage the team, later the info from the motorsports will later be use to improve the product in the future plus event like WRC and IRC already give so much marketing advantage.. about 800,000 people around this world watching WRC la, with so many coverage and news headline world wide..

3) I think PETRONAS should continue the F1 project.. but this time with more involvement of othe local Malaysian company.. how about YTL and UEM Group.. they also have worldwide business like PETRONAS what.. YTL run power producer and also networking related business and UEM Group run construction engineering related business at least they can contribute to the Hinwill factory in Switzerland.. don't they want to be like MITSUBISHI (from Japan) or SAMSUNG (from Korea) which have so much various type of business.. like MITSUBISHI even create rocket for Japanese space programme and SAMSUNG even build ship and make Korea as the biggest player in shipping industry.. you see la how MITSUBISHI good branding effort in WRC and SAMSUNG even sponsor NASCAR Nextel Cup for USA race competition… about F1, its about 6 billion people or more watch your team in action so it is a very huge business opportunity there!!!

racing motorsports is one of a very good way to advertise your company la.. look at MITSUBISHI and SAMSUNG for example.. they are a very big successful company in this world what..

• Alitstar on Aug 01, 2009 at 11:52 pm

Neh…better for Proton or PETRONAS keep the money to educate Malaysians how to drive on the streets/highways.

But wait, why not the money is put to expanding and training JPJ, yes no!

"PETRONAS JPJ Team"

• Alitstar on Aug 01, 2009 at 11:54 pm

PS. We need funding to teach bahasa to Malaysians. Like what is "IKUT KIRI JIKA TIDAK MEMOTONG"

• Cengeh on Aug 03, 2009 at 2:44 am

Dear ferruccio,

I can see where your argument is going.

The problem with a lot of Malaysians are everybody is looking at Petronas as a bank. Why should Petronas bear the burden as the sole financier for everything? Petronas IS NOT Kementerian Belia dan Sukan for god's sake. Why cant people look at other companies too when their target customers are wholly Malaysians anyway?

Petronas as a company need to expand globally as there are only so much oil and gas you can get in Malaysia. They need to go global as their survival depends on it. If not, 20 years down the road there wont be any more Petronas. For them to go global u need branding. If not, people in other parts of the world where Petronas intends to penetrate will think Petronas and their products are second rate at best. Who would want to buy Petronas products? Who would want Petronas as a partner in their exploration joint ventures? U think just Petronas have a lot of money, the world would just give in?

Petronas needs to introduce this Petronas name globally and thus they need the exposures that are derived from F1. F1 and other international motorsports are just a platform for this objectives. Can the local motorsport industry provides the same exposure as F1 and the gobal branding impact. Please honestly tell me.

• ferruccio on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:10 am

Cengeh,

I certainly agree with your points. ALL of it.

1.Petronas SHOULD NOT and IS NOT being singled out for local sponsorship. They and all other malaysian corporates(sugar king, molasses king, roti canai etc) that do have an A&P budget are looked at the same way.

2.Petronas (or other company) SHOULD NOT and MUST NOT sponsor ANYONE, ANYWHERE if the business proposition does not make sense for Petronas. They are not a charity organization. ROI decides viability. NO ONE sponsors anything these days just for an expensive piece of car sticker.

3.Petronas has a global branding agenda and SHOULD continue with that direction (F1). I never ever said they should SUBSTITUTE their F1 spend for local support.

The 3 points listed are actually extracted repeats from my earlier postings.

If you are now wondering what the fuss is all about with my postings then GOOD. Look them all up to find out. It's only 3-4 postings. Mine's tend to be lengthy so they're not difficult to spot when you scroll up.

Sorry, I'm just tired of repeating myself. No offence intended to you.

• Maamong on Aug 04, 2009 at 12:17 pm

Azrai said

Petronas is a business entity, please accept that. They have to generate profit year on year, otherwise, where is our government going to get their funds. They contribute almost 40% of government earnings. So, please la enough about toll concession, subsidies etc. indirectly they are already be subsidizing.

Kemosabe

Don’t be so naïve, they have many CSR projects that really help the people for example scholarships for Malaysians, University Technology Petronas, working with MERCY, adopting schools to name a few. They sponsored F1 as part of their brand building exercise, for a global company they have to do this to grow. What is all the crap about GLCs income being people’s money?? Well as a Malaysian, I do NOT want GLCs to spend ALL their funds on CSR. They should use it to grow their companies, make sound investments, generate profits, create jobs for my fellow Malaysian (that do not depend on subsidies alone). They should balance the two wisely. Maybe sometime in the future we do not have Malaysian who are so dependent on subsidies so they can own cars and yet complain about paying tolls, gasoline and parking; afford houses with air conditioners and complain about high electricity bills. These funds should be for the really poor and needy, they are the ones that really need the ‘people’s money’. Not those that can own cars and houses.

Ferrucio said

1. Petronas SHOULD NOT and IS NOT being singled out for local sponsorship. They and all other malaysian corporates(sugar king, molasses king, roti canai etc) that do have an A&P budget are looked at the same way: YET you focused you opinions on Petronas. Makes us wonder if you are not in the Motorsports industry and got rejected when seeking sponsorship.

2.Petronas (or other company) SHOULD NOT and MUST NOT sponsor ANYONE, ANYWHERE if the business proposition does not make sense for Petronas. They are not a charity organization. ROI decides viability. NO ONE sponsors anything these days just for an expensive piece of car sticker: You contradict yourself, obviously it made sense to Petronas (whether in terms of brand building, OEM or access to markets), otherwise they would not proceed with the sponsorship,

3.Petronas has a global branding agenda and SHOULD continue with that direction (F1). I never ever said they should SUBSTITUTE their F1 spend for local support: You say this and then went on and on about how much they spent on F1 with BMW and Sauber, Super Taikiyu etc of course it seemed that you wanted them to substitute with local support.

You are full of contraditions man!

My favourite is “They are simply fed up with Petronas particularly. If a company cares to explain the reasons for declining to engage in commerce, and the reason makes logical sense, there would be no issue. None of these teams survived on ‘hand outs’ and their sponsors sponsor because the teams proposed themselves as a marketing medium with proper business proposition. So there must be justifiable value in them. None of them and almost any number of other home grown outfits received ANY commercial attention from Petronas. Why is that? I know for a fact that it is not for a lack of trying. For instance if TOURISM MALAYSIA, PROTON, PLUS, SPRITZER, ASTRO and others can see value in supporting the national race team, A1 Team Malaysia why is it the national oil company do not.” OBVIOUSLY they could not see the merit and the business proposition was not viable to Petronas. Whats good for TOURISM MALAYSIA, PROTON, PLUS, SPRITZER, ASTRO may not be for any other company as it would depend on the business focus, market, global reach, viewership etc. Think la. Anyway if they have so many sponsors why do they need more??? How many thousand companies do we have existing in Malaysia?? Why should the National Oil Company be singled out??

Another favourite: “Many motorsport fans who follow F1 and A1GP, including myself are wondering, “How come Petronas is not part of the national race team in A1GP?” Many fans assumed Petronas were supporting A1TM so I checked and I asked. There is no link. You might say, but we don’t know the details? perhaps the proposition did not match Petronas branding/marketing objectives etc.. so I asked A1TM again. And the answer is simply perplexing. The fact is A1TM for 4 years have requested an ‘audience’ with the mighty Petronas. It never even got past that. They were shunned, ignored and clueless. And it seems this is how generally Petronas treats homegrown independents. I can assure you the viewership numbers of A1GP is higher than any other series that Petronas is involved in bar F1 and perhaps MotoGP. Here is the national race team, with malaysian drivers, malaysian mechanics being totally shut out by the national oil company and apparently this is now normal. Doesn’t any Malaysian find that strange?” Aiyo, I am a motorsports fan, and I DON’T’ care that Petronas does not sponsor AI. Many more Motorsports fans that I know of feel the same way. What idiotic link are you trying to figure out!! Please spend your time on less meaningless activites.. Btw, I thought A1TM was Chief Executive, Technical Director, Chief Engineer, Chief mechanic, No1 Mechanic, No 2 Mechanic, Data Engineer, Tyre man, Commercial Director are all “Matsallehs (do check out http://www.a1teammalaysia.com.my/a1). Does not seem very Malaysian now right? Anyway, Kudos to TOURISM MALAYSIA, PROTON, PLUS, SPRITZER, ASTRO for sponsoring the Malaysian driver and mechanics.

Next: Why do support from Petronas only come when a select, same few individuals are involved, this applies to the deal with SuperGT, Super Taikyu and others: Japan is an important market for them for lubricants, gas, oil etc.

Yet another: “Petronas embarked on the ambitious endeavour into the world of F1 in the mid 90s for the benefit of rakyat but somehow totally neglected grassroots motorsport development. Why this selective, uncomprehensive approach to motorsport? The local scene actually declined after SIC was built. It was thriving before that. Why is that so? Our international single seater drivers ( we have only 4! only 2 have reached the required expreince for f1 car and ALL have the same negative sentiment towards Petronas – one was so fed up he expressed it in our national paper last year) are too embarrased when asked by foreigners where the rest of the malaysian drivers and engineers are hiding. Even forigners assumed some visible benefit should be seen in our motorsport human capital given the massive 12 year involvement of our nation in the pinnacle of motorsport”. Why do you expect Petronas to be responsible for the development (or the demise) of Motorsports in Malaysia? Don’t we have Kementerian Belia & Sukan, AAM, MAM?? What are their roles? How do you expect one company to be responsible from grass root up to F1 level, it makes not sense. What has SIC to do with Petronas???

And another: “repeat my question ‘at nauseam’ – After BILLIONS of RM spent in 12 years by PETRONAS in MOTORSPORT (F1), why has it NOT benefitted the local MOTORSPORT infrastructre in Malaysia? Does no one in here find that a little odd? C’mon, some little voice in our heads must at least be faintly screaming, “WHY?” NO ONE in the malaysian motorsport industry denies this dilemma nor can they understand why”. BECAUSE, Petronas is an Oil & Gas Company not Motorsports bank. What is so difficult to understand??? As a Malaysian I fully understand that WHY. Do not benefit the select few. Good job Petronas!

Oh my god!: “Local race drivers in Petronas programmes like Super Taikyu, Farique is no where near the standard of the his Jap team mates. Johan Adzmi (PFX scholar) is hopeless. None of the hopefuls from PFX are making a mark. The ones that did make a mark did so, on their own, backed by fortuntaley wealthy parents who understand the sport.” First you say Petronas does not benefit Malaysians, than you went on to criticize fellow Malaysians. If you bother to READ, Farique is doing very well. He recently won 1st place in the Fuji 4 hours Super Taikiyu. Johan is still finding his footing, please do not dish other compatriots that are out there doing something. Do you know how competitive it is to race in Japan? Oh no you must because you did mention somewhere that they are no where near the standard of the Japanese. Or is there another reason, you insult afellow Malaysian. One is because they have Petronas’ sponsorship that really galls you?? Or you are not a Malaysian, in that case, shut up!

Finally: “Jazeman, please give credit to Dato’ Jaafar who put so much effort to school his son from karting through winning Formula BMW Asia, which he did by driving for Meritus, another local outfit that never tasted any support from Petronas. The PFX programme did not benefit Jazeman, nor did it benefit newcomer Fahmi Ilyas. It’s their wealthy parents that benefitted them, putting them through correct ’schooling’. PFX was a good idea but poorly executed and now is a waste of good Petronas money. Fortunately for Jazeman he is able to taste some petronas money racing in europe, after tireless effort by his dad, FINALLY! “ Here is an example of Petronas contribution and YET you belittle it. I wonder how much it cost to race in Europe, must cost lots of EUROs???? Looks like Petronas cannot win either way, contribute or not you get butchered. Maybe Petronas should not go into Motorsports industry at all, get out of it, come join the fashion industry, you will be more appreciated.

Ferrucio, find another job or past time and do something that really contributes to the nation rather than commenting on what others do not do enough!

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 05, 2009 at 3:03 am

I also notice la.. last word from ferrucio fashion industry.. LOL

maybe after this to meet all the demand and to satisfy ferrucio desire.. don't worry maybe can produce shirt, skirts from oil or gas.. who knows?? ferrucio will be the head of R&D team :P

anyway I heard Nelson Piquet want to buy BMW Sauber F1 Team.. is it a very good sign or a disaster??

• Ferruccio on Aug 14, 2009 at 12:33 am

Just to bump up this topic :) to those still in the dark.. something I found on another forum related to Petronas and the way they decide on expenditure. The comments reflect the sentiments of the entire Malaysian motorsport industry. Copied and pasted below for your reading pleasure. Old posting copied from http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp…

———————————————————–

Well, yes it is off topic, but coincidentally did you know that it easier to get sponsorship from Petronas if you are an unknown Singaporean than if you are a Malaysian World Production Car Champion and multi-time Asia-Pacific Rally Champion, driving the Malaysian national car?

Or if you are running the Malaysian national team, with a couple of fifth positions already, with definate potential to end up on the podium in the "Grand Prix of Nations"?

Several years ago Petronas spent millions per year sponsoring a Singapore owned Supercar team. It bought a couple of used Ford Mondeos and only ran them at the Pasir Gudang circuit in Johor. The team only competed four or five times per year and then only when the competition was very weak. Whenever the SEA Touring Car boys – Charles Kwan and co. – came to Pasir Gudang they would not enter. They also never entered their multi-million ringgit team in the Shah Alam/Batu Tiga circuit.

This Singaporean connection was then the conduit to sponsor a South African touring car team – more millions of ringgit, but I am not sure of their race results because there was practically zero publicity in Malaysia.

Then this Singaporean connection, again, was used to sponsor the dismal effort to run a Proton Waja team in the British Touring Car Championship, using Renault engines. After a couple of embarassing years the team was quietly disbanded – but only after a few more millions of ringgit flowed to Singapore.

Amazingly, this Singaporean was also involved in the deal to put the Foggy Petronas World Superbike team on track. Mega-millions of ringgit again flowed via Singapore to the UK…..The Foggy Petronas WSB team ended dead last in the championship.

So, for prospective Malaysian world champions, if you want to get some sponsorship from Petronas my advise is to change your nationality to "Singaporean" first!

———————————————————–

End quote.

Petronas is still spending a fair amount of money on the Singapoeran's endeavours. Most famous currently is the Petronas Syntium Team in Super Taikyu. They won the MME race last week and those who were there will notice clearly that this was a Singaporean headed team of Japanese operating entirely with Petronas money. The only Malaysians were Farique Hairuman in one car and Johan Adzmi in the other. The other 4 drivers were Japs. So were the whole pit crew. Better than nothing then. Lets not even talk about about returns on 'eyeballs'. This aint F1!

• Marcin on Sep 12, 2009 at 10:30 am

Good afternoon Ladies and Gents!

I just wanted to leave my opinion about Petronas in F1. At the moment im working in Poland for Petronas Lubricants, and my channel is Syntium.

You can call me a guy who is implementing Syntium on our Polish oil market, on the lowest level of it(typical sales).

Belive me or not, this is very, very hard process to gain few % of market with new unknow product such as Syntium (unknown here in Poland).

The main helpful thing is that Syntium can be found on side of Kubica`s F1 car.

Ofcourse whole marketing process is needed aswell, such ass TV comercials, etc..

Apart of Marketing we also need two more determinants to gain sucess, these determinants are: Price! and Quality! – and to be honest with you we vgot`em all, and this product is outstanding! I can see only one real competitor which is Motul.

As a sales man i will implement this product in our very dificult oil Market,and i will gain succes, only because of these 3 determinant factors and F1!!!!!!!!!(and ofcourse my hard work;))

So my Malaysian friends, is it worth spending money on F1?

Yes it is… because with this product and these 3 decisive factors we can conquere whole Europe!!

Regards!

Ps:There is no Polish Oil Company in F1 and there is no Polish car oil in Malaysia..