Another Volkswagen CKD plan grinds to a halt?

Volkswagen Polo

If the Volkswagen Polo were the price of a Honda City or a Toyota Vios, would it be part of your consideration if you were looking for your first non-national car? Volkswagen definitely hopes so, and even after 1) talks with Proton hit a dead end and 2) a US$140 million assembly base has been identified in Indonesia, it is still trying to negotiate a deal for local assembly of Volkswagen cars in Malaysia.

The most recent potential partner seems to be DRB-HICOM but The Edge claimed last month that talks between VW and DRB-HICOM had hit a wall. Read it all here in this Bloomberg story. It could be something to do with the upcoming National Automotive Policy review that is supposed to be revealed at the end of this month.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• selekohboi on Sep 01, 2009 at 1:45 pm

hell ya, i sure iwsh it will land in Msia ASAP. Thou some may x able to purchase it as 1st car, but surely will upbeat the market (rather those bloodsucker you know who) & allow the 2nd market to flurish further.

• comarezzi on Sep 01, 2009 at 2:15 pm

if the price is lower i might consider… but i still prefer sedan.. i would be great if the bring Jetta to malaysian market..Jetta below RM100k hmmm

• Paul Tan on Sep 01, 2009 at 2:17 pm

Jetta is C-segment, maybe the 1.6 FSI can be priced close to RM100k but hard to go under? Unless VW pulls a Nasim and does an entry level Jetta for under RM100k like the C-segment 308 VTi ;)

• nO nAMe on Sep 01, 2009 at 2:40 pm

really hope this will be come true. enuf of honda n toyota already.

• toycar on Sep 01, 2009 at 3:38 pm

Polo beats city and vios flat, hope the price is affordable, sick and tired of Jap toy cars.

• azrai on Sep 01, 2009 at 3:48 pm

I think NAZA has smell this, they better take the chance.

• Rulered on Sep 01, 2009 at 4:34 pm

I wonder whether Touran is also marketed in M'sia? Can seem to find it in our local VW website.

• bmpower on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:03 pm

the question is..

Why they just not build it all in Indonesia?

They not confident with indonesia?

Since earlier, i told already… They desperately need to setup in malaysia, they are just too much asking from proton. Giving stake also dont want, want to control it all. No wonder the deal is over and no go.

Maybe indonesia are stilll very lacks of technology in autos.. but we are not.

" If the Volkswagen Polo were the price of a Honda City or a Toyota Vios,"

Anytime Polo!.. Vios not even in the list.. it's not even a car. heh! It's underpowered dugong!.

• barca on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:06 pm

snippet from the article:

"Discussions between Germany-based Volkswagen AG and DRB- Hicom Bhd., a Malaysian auto and construction group, ran into difficulty about three weeks ago following interference from certain unnamed government-linked bodies, the newspaper reported quoting unidentified officials close to the Malaysian company."

someone in gomen-linked co not happy DRB-Hicom is even 'thinking' of bringing in those beautiful german babes as DRB-Hicom used to manufacture for Proton.

probably a case of sour grapes here?

• Tscks on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:08 pm

I'd go for Polo anyday.

• volks is a good brand, if they can do ckd with DRB, i am sure there will be many cute volks on the road, look at the passat cc, so sexy car…have to keep dreaming it will be ckd..m'sia always have to protect somebody/something…i dont think there will be much changes to the NAP.

• initial R on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:33 pm

I not prefer DRB-Hicom to produce the VW cars for asian market. They more specilize in lorry & truck.

• Littlefire on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Well, is a sad truth that in Malaysia everything including Business must involve with politics. If the guy above there not happy with VW, any deal they will just go off… Why? Easy! Is not about us having better cars, is how they have their pocket fill with it… Remember those "untouchable" Proton dealers/supplier… If Proton sales hurt, will their income went down? Domino effect…

• Tiadaid on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:41 pm

If the car's fuel efficient, then I'm game. Sick and tired of Jap cars that are not at all good!

• common sensor on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Knowing DRB-Hicom, they must be the culprit .. squeezing VW to the wall?

• John D on Sep 01, 2009 at 6:04 pm

initial R said, I not prefer DRB-Hicom to produce the VW cars for asian market. They more specilize in lorry & truck.

FYI DRB has been involved with Honda, Suzuki for CKD for years.

bmpower said, they are just too much asking from proton. Giving stake also dont want, want to control it all.

My simple question to you is this. If you held a 50-50 stake in a restaurant and also happen to be the Chef (let's just say you're Gordan Ramsey), would you let your partner decide what ingredients or from whom you buy your ingredients from? Knowing that your worldwide reputation is at stake?

• AutoAlert on Sep 01, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Really dissapointed with the Malaysian Automotive scene. Protection & Politics should be taken out of the equation if our country is serious about developing our automobile sector..:(

• with its TSI engine [engine of d year 2009] along wth 7 speed DSG gearbox

how can i-dsi or vvti can upbeat?

• Wak Rempit on Sep 01, 2009 at 6:32 pm

@Initial-R,

Sorry to say that you are wrong buddy, DRB has an assembly plant in Pekan, Pahang, which assembles Isuzu, Citroen, Mercedes Benz, Suzuki and SsyangYong Rexton, among others. The heavy industry division also produces tanks and millitary vehicles for Malaysian armed forces.

Kinda alot for a truck builder aren't they?

• ahmad norman on Sep 01, 2009 at 6:35 pm

vw polo i can't afford but not the other POLO the mint with the hole…hahahahaha

• nighttrain on Sep 01, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Of course I'll reject Jap cars if VW can sell their models at the same competitive price… As long as the Germans understand our weather and recondition their cars accordingly.

• barca on Sep 01, 2009 at 7:05 pm

littlefire,

i'm also beginning to think along the lines like you said above.

once the masses have access to better cars such as VW/peugeot, proton/perodua will definitely sell themselves to the lowest bidder. :)

• VW Polo anytime. The difference in build quality is not even in the same league as the tin can Jap cars.

• Nakal on Sep 01, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Hope VW can negotiate with proton once again. 49% stake should be enough.

VW just asking too much from proton!

Polo is always my dream. Hope, it can be a reality.

• initial R on Sep 01, 2009 at 7:36 pm

John D said,

September 1, 2009 @ 10:04 am

Wak Rempit said,

September 1, 2009 @ 10:32 am

————————————————————-

Yea, i know. But it they built as good as original manufacturing ?. Can you tell me the car that assambly in Pekan, Pahang, which assembles Isuzu, Citroen, Mercedes Benz, Suzuki and SsyangYong Rexton are meet the same quality as ori ?. They get contract coz they specilize built hevvy truck. It that true right ?. To me still i not prefer DRB-Hicom to assamble any VW cars in Malaysia & still prefer Isuzu, Citroen, Mercedes Benz, Suzuki and SsyangYong Rexton that imported here even a bit expencive.

• initial R on Sep 01, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Much batter Proton built VW rather DRB-Hicom. Tapi VW kena give & take sikit le, jangan bolot semua.

• I think we have had enough of the policy makers interference in putting UNSAFE cars on the roads with virtually no safety standards imposed like compulsory Driver and Front passenger airbags, Side airbags and Curtain airbags, Active Front Head Restraints and Dynamic Stability Control. Perhaps the article below by Syed Akbar Ali will shed some light to the policy makers especially so in these bad times. I really don't mind a little protection to our local car industry but compromising on safety is totally out of the question. The longer we protect, the more we will lose out eventually…

http://syedsoutsidethebox.blogspot.com/2009/05/ca…

• ada periuk nasi kena kacau ke?

• Lupo = Savvy

Polo = Saga

Golf/Jetta = Waja/Persona/Gen2

• CityOwner on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:20 pm

initial R said,

September 1, 2009 @ 11:36 am

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/01/another-volkswagen-…

But i dont really think if Proton assemble it, the quality would be better than if were assembled by DRB Hicom.

• heard AP will be abolish by Jan 2010….how true?

• Initial R.

DRB-Hicom buid the Mercs in Pekan according to strict Mercedes specs.

have you been to the mercs plant in pekan?..

I don't think u know what u are talking about.

Gosh…..

• Wood,

on your link: http://syedsoutsidethebox.blogspot.com/2009/05/ca…

ha ha.. the guy who wrote the blog was wrong in hundreds of facts…

he said Honda Jazz in Indon sells at RM 36k

Honda Indon website said that the price = 206000000 = RM 72k

This article is good example of a biased information to sway people into believing the the G is ripping their money off. It is a dirty political tactic.

the facts are wrong or simply exagerated.

the comment section is moderated so that no comment that they don't like could not be posted.

double check each "fact" that this guy present. you will be amazed of how crooked he is….

• Wood,

give us the list of "UNSAFE" cars that are introduced after 2007?.

• RT said,

ha ha.. the guy who wrote the blog was wrong in hundreds of facts…

he said Honda Jazz in Indon sells at RM 36k

Honda Indon website said that the price = 206000000 = RM 72k

—————————————————————-

Hey ! that very cheap compared to our Jazz price or RM100++,….

• theanswer on Sep 01, 2009 at 9:32 pm

how can i-dsi or vvti can upbeat?

it's good to see cheap tsi engine here..but dont forget toyota is the biggest car manufacturer in the world. it is not an easy task to beat toyota.

• Tiadaid on Sep 01, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Wood said,

September 1, 2009 @ 12:00 pm

I think we have had enough of the policy makers interference in putting UNSAFE cars on the roads with virtually no safety standards imposed like compulsory Driver and Front passenger airbags, Side airbags and Curtain airbags, Active Front Head Restraints and Dynamic Stability Control. Perhaps the article below by Syed Akbar Ali will shed some light to the policy makers especially so in these bad times. I really don’t mind a little protection to our local car industry but compromising on safety is totally out of the question. The longer we protect, the more we will lose out eventually…

———————————–

You can have all those, and still the car can be unsafe. It's the DRIVER man! And from what I see, MALAYSIANS SHOULD NOT DRIVE FAST CARS! Hell, they drive their Proton cars so damn fast like shit, if they can afford fast cars, surely the population will decreased a lot!

• Nakal on Sep 01, 2009 at 9:45 pm

CityOwner said,

September 1, 2009 @ 12:20 pm

…………………………………..

so why VW did not meet DRBHicom since the very first time?

• I would buy it as my 2nd car. plus its a 4 door..:) its a continental with turbo! yeah!

• scottloeb on Sep 01, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Weh, Merc S class standard is so stringent, but however managed to be assembled at Pekan. Dont underestimate Pekan Plant. Thanks to DRB investment at Pagoh, your Honda Civic/Accord cost less compared to the days of Kah Motor even if its assemble at Oriental (with poor QC standard). The Suzuki Swift at reasonable price is due to them as well.

*The rumours said that P1/Khazanah and VW are talking again. This time MMC is in hot seat as they have eyed the prized asset – PTMalim.

• ezmil on Sep 01, 2009 at 9:55 pm

A VW priced at City / Vios level would certainly sells like goreng pisang panas. The 1.2 liter turbocharged engine must be a joy to drive around town. If DRB can't do it, why not Naza? They did a good job IMHO in assembling the Peugeot and certainly they won't have any problem assembling the VW.

• Stemcell on Sep 01, 2009 at 10:02 pm

I hope that the deal to assemble VW will materialize!.

Not too bothered on whom will assemble it as VW will have their QC monitored.The auto sector would be interesting cos when a price

war breaks out -we would stand to benefit.

Not worried abt Toyota or Honda as they too will definately

drop their prices and offer better specs.

Only question now is – can P1 survive?

• initial R on Sep 01, 2009 at 10:06 pm

RT said,

September 1, 2009 @ 12:46 pm

—————————————————————-

Mercedes specs yes, Mercedes assamble built specs nope, just meet 2/3 from spec.

• zaff1984 on Sep 01, 2009 at 10:18 pm

YES… VW cars would be 1st in my list for non-national car. VW Polo beat Vios and City anytime !

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 01, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Tiadaid said,

September 1, 2009 @ 1:40 pm

You can have all those, and still the car can be unsafe. It’s the DRIVER man! And from what I see, MALAYSIANS SHOULD NOT DRIVE FAST CARS! Hell, they drive their Proton cars so damn fast like shit, if they can afford fast cars, surely the population will decreased a lot!

—-

Sigh, Wow one sided perspective again. Can't say I expected any better.

Lets put it in the other perspective. What if you are everyday joe with a kid in the car minding your own business driving carefully and you get t-boned in an intersection.

No matter how wrong the other driver is, don't you think you would rather have liked a "safer" car what gives you a bit more protection?

Not everyone can afford a 5 star NCAP car with 6 or more airbags.

Proton, perodua and almost everyone else thinks we don't mind. Why? Care a guess?

• Wak Rempit on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:04 pm

@initial R,

I plead you to have some faith on our own people bro… if the germans has trust in them (DRB) why not us. Looking at the cars they did, I think they have done a good job.

Please don't compare the assembly standards of these german car and P1, they are not the same. I assume parts from the german cars came from different and designated quality suppliers, where else most parts for P1 used to come from corrupted politician cronies of the you know who… (DSZ, I hope that has changed for your own sake)

• torque (Member) on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Tiadaid said,

September 1, 2009 @ 1:40 pm

Hell, they drive their Proton cars so damn fast like shit, if they can afford fast cars, surely the population will decreased a lot!

Agreed!!! Those that drive a Proton esp. with an Evo engine should know that driving fast with that chasis is NOT RECOMMENDED!! It's just plain SUICIDE! But again…ur point is ALWAYS half right…most fast cars aka performance cars are built to be driven fast…BUT…it's up to the driver (like u said) to know the car capabilities, it's maximum potential, where and when to drive fast like race track or bloody 3-4 o'clock in the morning where you speed junkie won't endangered anyone else that time. Seriously, do u expect anyone owning R8, F430 or a Gallardo to drive like snail pace? Come on…

• adlanb20 on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:53 pm

"interference from certain unnamed government-linked bodies"… i wonder who?!

• initial R on Sep 02, 2009 at 12:20 am

'Khazanah Malaysia' that are GLC. i have heard from Khazanah ppl that VW will do next talking on the aggrement. What i know that VW will import all part to malaysia & assamble it in malaysia (CDK). No involvement any local supplyer. But that was only rumors i heard.

• Ron97 on Sep 02, 2009 at 12:47 am

Nakal what u mean 49% ?

As a world class automotive player nothing less than 51% with

management rights. Proton is just a small fry hopefully

after JV 10years VW might offer a Malaysian the MD post.

U guys are jumping the gun. Doubt if it will ever materialize.

• turboKEV on Sep 02, 2009 at 1:14 am

It BETTER be true!!! nothing to shout about if VW selling cheap here.. we are way too slow behind..

if u go guang Zhou China, mostly the taxi there are VW, some already old enuf as has been running ages on road.. VW is kind of local made there ..

surely i prefer conti cars feature than Japs toy~

enuf of H & T~

proton..pls keep sleeping… we just have to earn more to buy a better car.

• daemon on Sep 02, 2009 at 1:26 am

cant wait to see locally assembled Polos running around in Malaysia(if the deals materialised). Its weird why Malaysia doesn't want that much investment pouring in the country. US$ 140 million is a lot. Give that opportunity to countries like Indonesia or Thailand, they would take it without thinking twice.

• thundercat on Sep 02, 2009 at 1:29 am

Most probably the negotiation hit a brick wall cos VW

wanted to import all parts to Malaysia.

Like that all the Khazanah vendors and crony tak puas hati lah!

Therefore Khazanah would have forwarded the crony vendor

"list" to VW and VW will have to come back and re-negotiate.

This is big money man and everyone wants a share of the gravy train!

• power root on Sep 02, 2009 at 1:47 am

Frens, read the first word , it's a big-IF.

In other words -wishful thinking if our NAP

is to stay. So don''t get too excited and start jumping.

Just reaching puberty – premature -ejec***ion. peace!

• mystvearn on Sep 02, 2009 at 1:49 am

If they can make Polo CKD, surely can make Golf CKD as well right? Better go for golf then

• merrick88 on Sep 02, 2009 at 3:05 am

guys, its not rocket science……….its obvious that the government is trying to protect Proton and the local Jap car assembly line (owned by Msians), cuz VW can make cars cheaper or as cheap as Jap cars…..in overseas VW is a common man's car or as they say People's Car, cheap and affordable…..

another thing that I would like to mention is an incident where the Passat CC was supposed to be priced at RM 270k but the M'sian Gov/Customs refuse to approve the pricing that VW Cars submitted and wants to jack the price up to RM 300k, so you can imagine how dirty our Government is…..XDD

• Budak Pandai on Sep 02, 2009 at 3:08 am

quality level Indon xberapa bagus.xconfident nak beli kereta made in Indon.big car manufacturer siap setkan special quality(low grade) just untuk Asean car…becos,sure boleh jual punyeeeerrr hmmmm…

• Apa nak susah2..semua rakyat malaysia boikot proton sampai muflis..sure proton join dgn VW…So sekarang sapa yang tak ada duit lagi jangan nak mimpi pakai kereta import2 ni…pakai lah kereta macam kancil tu ke..hihihihi..Minyak naik,tol naik,insuran naik,semua naik lah…Merdeka!!Merdeka!!!Merdeka!!!

• cmc80 on Sep 02, 2009 at 4:46 am

If the Volkswagen Polo were the price of a Toyota Vios Type J. I'm sure it will be my choice!

If DRB-HICOM as it partner, hope they don't put other logo on that baby vw…

ie… hyundai -> inokom ; peugeot/kia -> naza

weire…….. :p

• redfueler on Sep 02, 2009 at 4:50 am

vw lack of power lol!

• Dream on. It will not happen in a million BN years. The other foreign CKD are for the luxury market and the other CKD is for small brands. VW is a giant car manufacturer for the average person, P1 and P2 will pee in their pants if VW can CKD.

• mitlanevo on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:31 am

Polo and City should be priced same with Persona…..

PS: FO Vios…..

• if it true then stupid laa gomen. stupid stupid stupid.

• That plant also assemble Mercedes Benz S500. It they (VW) can make it here, it will be top notch product that stand above most brand of the same category locally. Indonesia still need a while (1-2 years) to reach VW's minimum Automotive quality for Asia market.

• Edward on Sep 02, 2009 at 6:46 am

woo hoo.. if they ckd the lastest polo over here and price it nicely.. it will sell much much better than goreng pisang panas….

but i worry le if CKD by DRB ar will it end up like

inokom Polo

inokom Polo GTI

inokom EOS

wow… it sounds just sooooo national

• Bloggerooi on Sep 02, 2009 at 7:04 am

Paul, we are just deprived for a good car which is sold at a much lower price abroad. Consider a dollar for a dollar, cars are much more affordable in other marketplace.Why?

• eddie on Sep 02, 2009 at 7:15 am

i hate ppl said vios is underpower and dugong, u have or not before u said this ??

• gDude on Sep 02, 2009 at 7:49 am

i'm sure Toyota will win the after sales service. Hardly sees one DRB service centre compare to Toyota.

• CocoBear on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:29 am

WTH, where is the Free Trade Agreement? This government is really unhelpful to private businesses! Dunno who is the master behind those troublemakers! @#$

• nabill on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:55 am

i agree we r 'blessed' with crap cars actually…its got to be the most expensive country to buy n run a car….so for us a j spec of a brand is such a wow !

we r missing on alot….

• peroempat on Sep 02, 2009 at 4:07 pm

It will totally beat down savvy and satria…

• tikus on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Proton make it happen man !! Divorce can remarried mah… Jetta can be the next waja replacement :)

• John D on Sep 02, 2009 at 6:50 pm

merrick88 said:"…Passat CC was supposed to be priced at RM 270k but the M’sian Gov/Customs refuse to approve the pricing that VW Cars submitted and wants to jack the price up to RM 300k.."

WTF are u talkin about? VW Cars (a.k.a. Cartrade) is just a lousy car dealer with appalling service. Who are they to "submit" a price to the Gov??? They're NOT the importer.

• where is ron97? on Sep 02, 2009 at 7:01 pm

why sooo hard to find ron 97… most of the petronas are selling ron 95 ONLY.

• Saudara Shah langsung tak ada Jati Diri. Actually Proton syarikat Malaysia sebenar.

• Mufasa on Sep 02, 2009 at 8:44 pm

ahh,,,all this is dream…it not going to happen for a cheaper car … keep dreaming malaysian…

• ariefinm on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:14 pm

Well there is a possibility VW wants to assemble the sedans in Malaysia and SUV and MPV in Indonesia considering the market size and share. Indonesia is a number 1 market for MPV (that's why Proton made the Exora which already has 1500 bookings in the first week).

However I must say that our build quality is not bad, you must not under estimate us. I have seen the CKD Touran and it uses the same materials as a normal VW should be. However there are some parts that look cheap but will take time to be enhanced.

Also Indonesia actually exports the Daihatsu Gran Max (rebadged to Toyota Town Ace) in CBU form to Japan. This means we make cars in very strict Japanese quality.

The Touran sells here at around Rp 395.000.000 / RM 136.000 and we consider it to expensive for a MPV that uses 1.4 TSI engine. But there are rumors that they will lower the price if full manufacturing is completed (not the assembly alone)

Rgrds

Ariefin-Jakarta

• Jumbsuck on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:06 pm

I think Mr Paul should ask readers' opinion on what govt should do to our auto industry, NAP etc, like an open idea exchange and hopefully all those suggestions can be put forward to relevant authorities like MITI, MAA or even directly to PM. Simple emails will do. For the starters, these are just some of the suggestions:

1. Review the AP car policy. For whatever reasons (and unknown mysteries) why it shouldn't be abolished anytime soon, govt must at least set some limit to which car segments open up for AP system while the rest seriously should be operated on open market. My suggestion is that: – cars with 2000cc and above (both for petrol, diesel engine) still subject to AP system while those below 2000cc should compete fully in open market or price at least similar to that Labuan/Langkawi prices. Ok lah, slap a bit on duties taxes but then those items shouldn't be factored in car loans anymore. 2000cc limit actually just to keep some goons happy (can still survive also?) while people have the best choice of cars imaginable finally. Luxury and necessity finally defined on cars.

2. Review road tax policy. Currently road tax is based on engine capacity regardless of petrol or diesel. Govt should reward car users that drive fuel efficient and clean engine cars. Some sort of score points conducted by Puspakom/JPJ to determine two factors: 1. Fuel efficiency (mileage/litre of fuel used or km/Litre) and 2. CO2 emission (grams of C02 emitted per km or CO2g/km). Cars that returns good efficiency and low emission shall pay low road taxes regardless of engine capacity or petrol/diesel engine.

3. Cash for scrapping old cars must be extended to non-national cars. Also, set few criteria to enjoy higher rebates such as those buying new car that is fuel efficient and low emission (these factors officially determine by Puspakom/JPJ) shall entitle more cash rebates. Old cars meanwhile must be disabled definately (pouring sodium mixture to the engine) upon scrapping. While these scheme will receive great demand and to prevent chaos, a monthly quota shall be used and selection based on lottery system to give equal chances to everybody. Govt also can prepare the funds accordingly and shall not be caught up by big demand thus creating funds shortage.

4. Standardised car loan interest rates. This is something that Bank Negara can intervene to stop the financing sector act like a loan sharks once the open car market implemented. But until then, beggars cannot be choosy.

5. No more highway tolls? That is still RM30billion question, sadly.

Think about it: Viva sold at RM15K, Saga RM20K, Persona RM35K, Vios RM45K, Hilux RM70K, Triton RM65K, Camry RM90K etc.

The possible savings from open market, interest rates on car loans anywhere from RM20K per car can easily translate 5-6 years of fuel expenses which otherwise a big burden/ cost of servicing loans to car users. Since car prices at fair price, the fuel price issue will somehow irrelevant and only make the most fuel efficient, less emission cars a sensible choice. The question whether govt then to reduce fuel subsidy, sellling fuel at almost market price can be justifiable with lower cost of car ownership. Those use more fuel ultimately have to pay more or better choose a suitable car accordingly since open car market means you can only pick the best, clean and efficient car.

• tayarbotak on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:07 pm

where is ron97? said,

September 2, 2009 @ 11:01 am

——————————————————————

If u go to petronas, try find sign primax3. That was Ron97 from Petronas.

• chain on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:07 pm

the government related body dun like the VW coming in..to protect the P1…how this raise a question of how many government hi officer do really drive P1 as their private car?…note not the official car given by the government…

• Nakal on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:09 pm

Zool said,

September 2, 2009 @ 12:38 pm

Saudara Shah langsung tak ada Jati Diri. Actually Proton syarikat Malaysia sebenar.

——————–

dia bukan takde jati diri…dia takde akal sebenarnya

• lambov12 on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:07 am

i wan a GTi !!!

• Saudara Nakal dan saudara Zool belilah kereta proton banyak2 yek..kalau rosak jangan komplain kat sini….Bagi jek duit tu kat proton..hihihihi..Kalau manusia ada akal tak akan beli barang yang dah rosak2 dan tak ada kualiti ni….lebih baik duit tu beli barang berguna…Mesti korang suka pakai proton kan…hahahahaha

• siapa rela mati dalam kereta yang tak murah, yang quality cheap, and buatan tempatan!!!!!! Local CAR gomen also tax kao kao!!!!

jangan takut, beli insurance banyak banyak, itu jer.

beli proton, simpan annual leave baiki kereta.

beli saga/iswara, simpan duit tukar vios, itu jer.

• scottloeb on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:50 pm

Mr Ariefinm,

Pardon the boys. They do not know the reality of auto operation. If the plants owned or managed by the principal (for example Toyota Motor Japan, not Astra for TM Manufacturing Indonesia), the standard is at par with other regional player. If major owner of the assembly plant is the local with no management say (in this case, Oriental Motor Johor) than the result is screw up. Indonesia is base for MPV in ASEAN, chosen by most major company due to the competitive labour rates and huge market potential. That is why Perodua plant owned by Nihon-jin have a better reputation than local owned Toyota plant at Shah Alam. The main problem might be localise parts, which happens everywhere. In Merc S Class CKD in Pekan, almost all parts are CKD.

• ariefin on Sep 04, 2009 at 2:57 am

Hi Scottloeb

Thanks for understanding. The main issue is even if it has a manufacturing plant in a country, does it have good quality suppliers. Because a manufacturing plant is one big jigsaw puzzle. You need to get parts from one company to another. Its the task of the QC department to really look at the quality of the products made by its vendor.

• paloi on Sep 07, 2009 at 8:52 pm

hahahaha price wise polo and vios not much different. but in malaysia because of the gomen set tax and duty and levy funnily so you get the funny price for european car. can you comprehend the new saga price in aussie just A13K? But here around RM42K. Do you believe they represent true value for your money?

what i can say is malaysian get f******ed to own a natioanal car. how nice eh

• Saudara Shah, saya dah pakai Proton sejak 1988, Proton Saga, Iswara, Wira, now Waja. Semua tak ada masalah.. I always think positive and proud what Proton has achieve… because it is truly a Malaysian car manufacturer. Not only am I proud of Proton but Petronas as well and other Malaysian companies that manufacture goods like electronics, shoes, food etc. These companies contribute to our economic well being making our current account always in surplus since 1997.

• chain on Sep 09, 2009 at 8:44 pm

truly malaysian car manufacturer?…sage = lancer 2,iswara is juz lancer 2 hatchback while wira is lancer 3…totally copy…copied until the engine n spare part can share with the lancer my fren…it is juz take japan outdated stuff and produce here and sell it expansive to us..sumore with lower qualities…i can say the earlier batch of wira in 90's are far better than the newer wira in 2000's..

• buat apa nak kete murah2? nanti penuh kete kat atas jalan.just harap tax n interest rendah je ^^ .and harga petrol juga.baru org miskin n kaya bole hidup ngan aman..kat singapore ada orang gaji S$4000/sebulan tapi pilih utk pakai motor.baru la sedar diri sket..org malaysia tak berapa sedar diri..pk nak berlagak je.