New Honda PCX scooter with idle stop system

Honda PCX

Honda will be introducing a new scooter model for the ASEAN and global market soon, beginning with Thailand where it will be produced. The new Honda PCX is powered by a 4-stroke water-cooled 125cc single cylinder engine that can do 50km per litre on the ECE 40 MODE cycle. It’s not going to be cheap, as the PCX will be positioned as a high-end but high-value model. The Honda PCX features an “idling stop system” where the engine can shut off automatically when the scooter comes to a complete stop. This can help save fuel consumption while you wait for a traffic light or for whatever reason you’re stopped – traffic jams don’t seem to pose that much of a problem for these bikes.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AutoAlert on Sep 15, 2009 at 1:24 am

Looks good but “idling stop system” seems like an unnecessary feature for a bike.

• theanswer on Sep 15, 2009 at 1:35 am

i thot this idling stop system already available at honda silver wing(scooter) few years back.

• common sensor on Sep 15, 2009 at 1:37 am

I wish I have a bike license ..

• tis standy mode is now apply to car industry

• winners on Sep 15, 2009 at 2:37 am

It's a waste of time. How much fuel can one save from stopping the engine of an already petite 125cc engine? At the end of the day, it'll only add more cost to replace the battery (more frequently) if it's an electric start type.

• pennstater on Sep 15, 2009 at 3:38 am

the machine that sips will keep on sipping less liquid

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 15, 2009 at 3:39 am

Better get a motorcycle license, world oil price is rising (again), Electric Vehicle is still at its infancy, traffic jam is getting worst day-by-day, public transport is at its capacity and some more, we have a "cekik darah" government. My Yamaha LC 135 is much more reliable than my brand new Proton Persona. Seriously~!

• roti naan1 on Sep 15, 2009 at 5:22 am

Ride bicycle, if can. Bicycle never even sip a drop of petrol.

Good for cardio, and good for the environment.

Perhap Malaysian Govt should promote this in Putrajaya to their civil servants?.

• nyan46 on Sep 15, 2009 at 6:58 am

hybrid system ha..ha

• Roti naan1 said:

"Ride bicycle, if can. Bicycle never even sip a drop of petrol.

Good for cardio, and good for the environment.

Perhap Malaysian Govt should promote this in Putrajaya to their civil servants?.

"

cannot. because then the staff will be late to get to work AND will take even longer for lunch hour. Work will never get done.

• Elvis on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:12 am

Bicycle? PANAS!!!!….come to office with smelly sweat….sure kana fire…

• theanswer on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:27 am

bicycle? impossible! out weather is too hot. even at 9am we already feel the heat.

• richard on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:35 am

i ride a bicycle to work but i live less than 7km from my job. not feasible for everyone but it works for me. a car would take less than the 20minutes i do but would not be worth keeping for such a short commute. maybe i should get a scooter but i will be getting a suzuki swift as a second car next year.

• azrai on Sep 15, 2009 at 3:37 pm

looks like a MPV (mobile police vehicle). Can replaced those Kancil.

• m4xspeed on Sep 15, 2009 at 3:58 pm

its been long since majesty scooter comes into our land…nice ride. hope the price will be good.

• the stik on Sep 15, 2009 at 4:36 pm

but i think 125cc is not so power laaa..

• nazman on Sep 15, 2009 at 5:10 pm

I think Modenas Elegan better than this new scooter…150cc vs 125cc..how about the price?

• farghmee on Sep 15, 2009 at 5:52 pm

wah~ nice styling there..

but to get a scooter for cilok2 during jam is not worth.

stop&go system may reduce the FC but by how much?

typically, scooter is more expensive than a kapchai.

why bother for a scooter if u can get a kapchai with superb maneuverability during jam?

honda, how about fuel injection kapchai here in malaysia? :)

• kadux on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:55 pm

My 10 years old Suzuki VS 125 …. can go 44km per litre. So not much different in fuel cosumption.

• nazman on Sep 15, 2009 at 10:22 pm

My Modenas Elegan can go 45km per litre and it is better just because 150cc and more powerfull…if honda scooter better than my elegan, immediately I change my scooter right now

• i wish on Sep 15, 2009 at 11:19 pm

this one will not be cheap… i love my honda non-vtec icon scooter. small, cute and very easy to maintain. i think my icon can do that 'idling stop system'. icon come with 'side stand switch', side stand on – engine off. hehehe

• Elvis on Sep 16, 2009 at 1:56 am

Cc to small….why bother about FC. I only go for bike above 500cc like Honda Shadow or Yamaha Dragstar or Yamaha Virago or Kawasaki Vulcan. Yupp and my favorite Naza Cruiser 650. If got this iddle stop for big bike should be worth. But for 125cc only…hhhhmmm….

• s.subramaniam on Sep 16, 2009 at 7:10 am

Ride Honda C70 can give better mileage and cheap maintenance too.

• Honda C70 is too old. My dad use it back in 1980's

• J. Leno on Nov 20, 2009 at 5:25 am

Why oh why can they not make a 250-300cc scooter with the same look. Or make it even slimmer. The gas mileage would be about the same, but the power would be just about right.

Then I could use it on my holidays through Europe too.

I drive a Chinese scooter now (Chuanli..) that it totally crap. I didn't even in my wildest dreams have though that they sold products with so poor quality.

After 3-4 days started an oil leak. After a week it started to rust. After two month a ball bearing in the drive system fall totally apart. After 4 month the CDI box stopped working – and two weeks later… the coil stopped working.

Then the trigger sensor stopped working, and I had to wait 120 days to get a part. And now it's broken down again..

In other words… I'm going to sell this scooter as soon as I get it working again..

And buy a quality scooter. About 250-300cc.

I will probably buy a Honda (good quality but don't look that good) or a Derbi Rambla 250 (quality?, looks good).

I see that the new Honda that was presented here use only 50% of what my 50cc scooter use.. it goes about 13-16km pr liter of fuel. Modern cars use less than this..I have to mention that most of my driving is at max speed, because I use it to and from my job.

But I used to have a Suzuki TS50X for 15 years doing just the same – but with no problems and a much better gas mileage.

• myash on Dec 19, 2009 at 1:32 am

yup.. i agreed with nazman. coz anyway. what up with da stearing. gone out like that.more just like modenas elegen.but netter with da 150cc.

• Vu Chau Kim Anh on Mar 10, 2010 at 2:47 am

Does Honda have any plan to produce in Vietnam, if yes, when?

• Ruprecht Knoedel on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:50 am

Just got my Honda PCX two weeks ago. 2,100km on the odometer already :-) My comments: Pricey? Yes. Worth it? Oh YES! In one word – smooth. Hugs the road (a bit heavy for the displacement..), it purrs not roars. Not too sure about the engine stop system though. While it recovers IMMEDIATELY from a stop, it seems a tad unnecessary.

Read a lot of comments about the Modenas. Drove a Modenas Elegan for 3 weeks in KL in December. No comparison! It was like driving an old VW "Bug" from the 60's…

IMHO

• hi man :)
    my name is oren and im from israel.
    im attending ti purchase that bike and i need an opinion.
    is it quick? is it gives you a “chunky” feeling? do you still think it a quality bike?

my mail adress is [email protected]

thanx a lot!! :)

Oren

• Nice Bike nice system nice machine nice design I want one:)

• roderick mllia on Jan 18, 2011 at 4:54 am

can be introduced in europe ?????

• hai, di mana nak dapatkan honda PCX ni bape harga?

• How to buy with BN taxes. I think this bike is definitely around rm12k – rm15k

• in usd is 3399 converted at 3.0 is abt rm10,200.00 . Guess with duties will be 14-15k.
      for 125cc…think is too much. i’m very interested also, if at rm10k. hv emailed Honda if they will be bringing pcx into malaysia. waiting reply.

• TestRider on Jun 10, 2012 at 3:18 pm

from internet,some dealers oso talk about it..just google maaa…