1Malaysia F1 Team plans HQ at Sepang

1MalaysiaAlthough the 1Malaysia F1 Team would initially be based near Lotus’ hometown of Norfolk, there are plans to relocate to the Sepang International Circuit sometime in the future. Apparently the SIC has allocated between 8,000 to 12,000 hectres (er, this must be a misquote by MSM journos) of land for the F1 team’s headquarters. The site will be at the parking area before the tunnel to enter the podium building.

According to SIC CEO Razlan Razali, the HQ will be fully equipped with manufacturing and development facilities including a wind-tunnel and costs could be in the millions or even billions.

However he reiterated that these are just plans for now and it’s all only in preliminary stages. After the Raya holidays, the parties involved will sit together and have a discussion. He added that the team’s race machines could be ready in the matter of months, thanks to Lotus and other contractors and suppliers such as Cosworth, FondTech and Xtrac, who will supply the engine, aerodynamics and transmission respectively. They are not building from scratch.

Datuk Seri Najib clarified to the NST today that government support for the program would be through Proton. “If we want to export Proton and use Lotus engines, we need to show that our brand is strong and make sure they are well-known and accepted internationally. It is not merely about a sporting activity but major marketing for Proton and Malaysia,” said the PM. No figures were mentioned, as the PM said it was up to Proton to announce its involvement.

Whether you agree with this project or not, there’s no denying that everyone will be eagerly awaiting for two events in the future – the announcement of the drivers (expected to be on the 31st of October 2009), and the unveiling of the actual race machines. Word is that one will be Fairuz Fauzy and the other would be a foreigner with experience.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wow…..

• scanzew on Sep 17, 2009 at 3:47 am

hehe

• scanzew on Sep 17, 2009 at 3:48 am

rent it to sauber….selesai masalah

• scanzew on Sep 17, 2009 at 3:50 am

wind tunnel is too expensive…jgn boros belanja duit rakyat

• scanzew on Sep 17, 2009 at 3:57 am

salah type….rent wind tunnel from sauber…huhu…jimat sikit

• solen on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:06 am

this may benefit the proton in term of aerodynamic of their car in the future…

• AIMAN MALAYA DESIGN on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:07 am

kerajaan x kn gne dwet rakyat dlm hal nieh,kerjaan just pengasas team jerk.yg kluar dwet proton,air asia,naza dll…..kerajaan x zalim

• scanzew on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:22 am

just hire lewis hamilton for Lotus F1 team….very talented driver…late breaking, consistent and very aggresive style…hahaha

• Government need stop using "rakyat money'…

• kimi_ on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:31 am

WOWW, again a SURPRISE…..

No, NOT really, you all should know who is the owner of SIC….

Now, you all think where the money will flowing to whose pocket…..

I FORBID it…

• if even BMW and Honda have decided that it is not profitable to continue with F1 racing I wonder how it is worthwhile for Proton to enter this field

• ford_ton on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:39 am

Just imagine million of dollars charged to manufacturers of supercars and F1 teams that haven't got windtunnel facility. Thats solid income for Proton (read Malaysians) for years to come. Proton will also be able to become a consultant for car manufacturers in developing new models. Throw in a crash testing facility in the testing complex and viola.. a one stop solution for car manufacturers in the region. I remember reading Bugatti paying millions of dollars to use the sauber windtunnel just to discover a reduction in wing mirror size decreased a considerable amount of downforce generated. This is the sort of development you can expect from windtunnel testing…and a handsome pay packet too.

• WhiteFox on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:40 am

hope one of the driver is not alex yong == who can't finish F1 last time ==

• RB NETT on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:41 am

they're sucking all our taxes money for this crap… what a fool for the government…. do you even think the technologies that the cars are using is gonna put in lotus, especially proton?? i doubt it…… they should have use the money by improving our roadworks, development and so on….. but this is too much!!!!!

• Remind me of M'sian Astronaut project

• xtrac on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:46 am

Fairuz will just be another Piquet. Please hire a better driver.

• iskett on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:50 am

Hey, WTH?? I thought Proton bought MV AGUSTA for the windtunnel??

Then they didn't use it..

Then they sold it for 1 Euro!

Now they are planning to build another wind tunnel.. costing hundred millions???

What the hell is the government and Proton doing???????

• Elvis on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:04 am

Well, here comes another 'waste rakyat money' project. Cannot stand want to walk already. Why is the gomen so obsessed by F1? What is the benefit for the rakyat? Yah we have sent somebody to space and ????????? . We have a national car, so what ????? Our kampong and estate roads are still so bad, Many rakyat still do not have running water and electricity. SO many Sabahans and Sarawakians are still poor, very poor. but the gomen want to waste money to improve their pockets only.

• Guna duit tu beli lebuh raya lagi elok..korang tak penat ke bayar duit tol hari2..

• wht the crap. even big automaker cannot make profit, wht the hell with proton. i think they should eat grasss.

• Did you just say Billions!!!!!?

OMG

Proton could use these Billions in R&D to manufacture a decent car with decent quality for the rakyat…

Gov use the Billions in booting the economy,

Gov use the Billions in creating more jobs

…….list goes on and on….

But instead it F1 is their choice….

What are they thinking????

• Datuk Seri Najib clarified to the NST today that government support for the program would be through Proton. “If we want to export Proton and use Lotus engines, we need to show that our brand is strong and make sure they are well-known and accepted internationally.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/16/1malaysia-f1-team-p…

yeah,show to the world how crap is proton products with Lotus handling.

hahahaha!!!

• tak sangka byk bagi komen tak guna akal.. memalukan.

• Jerald on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:30 am

Why don't the gov spend the billions to develop other sports, eg. soccer, badminton, tennis, swimming…. I'm sure they'll get a better results from the huge amount of funds. And yet we can then listen to our national anthem in major sports event like world cup/ olympics… It'll be a very proud of the nation and yet it can then promote the success to the whole nation. F1 just involve few drivers and its for minorities. It can't bring huge impact to the country.

• shahzane on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:38 am

IMHO, this is an exciting and important moment in Malaysian automotive industry. It is not just the F1 team, but also the new NAP, Proton talks with VW (again!) and few other notable automative news. I think it will be interesting to see how all these developments (and rumors) will change the Malaysian automotive landscape. Whether for better or worse, time will tell. But I'm having my fingers crossed for the outcome to be positive. Who knows, Proton can be a respectable automotive company someday. Wishful thinking ain't that bad guys. lol! ;p

• ignas on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:41 am

oh my fking god…another astronaut project. those b@stards at the G sector will never stop thinking how to leech rakyat money till it bled dry…use ur own money and find ur own sponsors! d@mmit!

• jelan on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:45 am

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/25860/84/

hehe..gelak besar lagi la…you know who'll benefit the most..

• boleh! on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:54 am

malai boleh pi angkasa. Malai boleh buat kereta proton. Malai boleh pi F1. Malaysia boleh!!!!!

siok sendiri nih.

Orang United Kingdom ni, bodoh la.

UK no F1, No space project, no national car project. We beat UK hands Down!~!!!!

• mystvearn on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:04 am

I am not keen on this 1malaysia najib team. Its like everytime politics is not going well,. the gov finds something to waste money on.

Get one man to solo the earth in a boat

Get one man to go to the moon

Now get this F1 team.

Have we forgotten the lessen with DBKL sponsoring F1 Minardi was it? then there was that Malaysian driver that failed to qualify within time of the fastest car and disqualified from the race.

This is clearly a bad move and it will benefit the opposition more.

• bobdbilder on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:04 am

While my comment just went through KDN for 'verification', I decided to post this haiku;

If the people cannot see where they are being lead,

Then the people will think our leader is blind.

Seems like Abdullah Badawi wasn't so bad after all wasn't he? Compared with the one we got now.

Can we go back to solving the economy, please. I'm getting really worried about it.

• Maybe that is what can we gift to malaysia nowaday~Sigh….

Happy Birthday Malaysia~

• Any User on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:15 am

"According to SIC CEO Razlan Razali, the HQ will be fully equipped with manufacturing and development facilities including a wind-tunnel and costs could be in the millions or even billions."

Hey the report is incomplete!

They forgot to mention that the millions or even billions will be because they'll be employing the most skilled and gifted of the elves to hand craft the components from mithril forged by legendary dwarven blacksmiths. And there'll be unicorns for everyone to get around the facility. Oh and also leprechauns to entertain guests with their silly dances. So many wonderful things that the world will be amazed! They'll be amazed I tell you! Amazed!

• Naz@Ford on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:30 am

from my point view, the govt shouldn't involve in F1.. they should just leave the proton, lotus, airasia and cosworth do the financial that need be taken for the team.. n one thing the name 1Malaysia for the team, arent that cool enough.. if i comparing with Brawn Gp and 1Malaysia team, i would rather choose the brawn..

• tolan on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:31 am

Brilliant project! Something that only with ppl vision and enough brain could understand.

• I do not want another "project" to drain off the people's money

• nabil on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:45 am

if its successful ,sponsership money can easily recover the costs…bt im jus woried it becomes embaressing with results and on track mistakes…if its managed well its can be good…bt for godness sake plz the G should not get involved , no politics in F1 plz….but its exciting…although we hav a history of screwing up tings , im optimistic! f1 car on the back straight zooming at 320km/hr and big CPS logo at the side ! phooyoo !

• 'Datuk Seri Najib clarified to the NST today that government support for the program would be through Proton. “If we want to export Proton and use Lotus engines, we need to show that our brand is strong and make sure they are well-known and accepted internationally. It is not merely about a sporting activity but major marketing for Proton and Malaysia,” said the PM'

I am wondering is Lotus producing engines? As Lotus Elise (the most common model) is using Toyota's engine.

• informalaysia on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:56 am

i never thought the 1malaysia thing would go this far… how will forming an F1 team will solve our race-relation problems and actually realize the 1malaysia vision?…

yes it MIGHT benefit proton in SOME ways, but this project's cost clearly will outweigh the expected benefits… oh, i forgot, it's the government (read people) money channelled THRU proton anyway, so you couldn't care less because it's not your own money, right?

eagerly forming an F1 team and pouring money into such an expensive sports while everybody else is pulling out of the game for cost-cutting reasons? this is a joke!.. we will be a laughing stock for sure…

now somebody help us the rakyat please…

i'm truly disappointed with you, najib…

sigh….

• mirsy on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:58 am

Mmmmm….. Amazing isn't. Spend billions of dollars to build Proton name…

Just look at Kia & Hyundai, they don't do all these to be where they are now.

They just simply concentrate on building cars – good quality, reasonable proce is what people want …. It is about the right focus

Somehow I worried for Proton, because they are barking everywhere Volks, Mitsubishi lah & electric car. For me what they need to deliver is plain and simple. Back to basic, sell good design & quality cars. The rest will fall in place because that is what people want not only in Malaysia but the rest of the world.

Aiyoh….. all this a waste of money.

• Again. Waste of taxpayer money. Our spaceman project is a failure. Now, this is going to be the biggest failure of this decade. There is a better way to do marketing for Proton with cheaper cost.Even our own people said Proton's quality no good. How are we going to expect others to think otherwise. Try to use our own people as marketing advisor. Build a super good car. Anyway, where can I apply for the jobs at F1 Malaysia Team? I don't mind even as pitstop crew. Is there still vacancies?

• VoidDance on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:16 am

Yeah, there goes our kampung mentality. Malaysia cannot do this, cannot do that. Will not win anything. Will be last in the grid. Waste public money. etc.

Are we breeding negative thinker here in Malaysia?

And what with the Malai and Bumi bashing here? Do I here racism?

• just wait and see….

• albagmane on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:25 am

its sad to see the gov keeps playing with the rakyat's money on some meaningless expenses… proton doesnt even gain good reputation but still have to go international… it seems like Bijan doesnt understand the theory "never learn how to walk but want to run"… absolute terrible!

• aizad on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:26 am

guys u gotta understand,its not the 'duit rakyat' that their using.its not govt-funded, but its the govt companies who are sponsoring etc,such as airasia,lotus and yeah proton.so dont worry bout tax money goin to waste ;) cheer up.lets hope we can make an impact on motorsport like we do in squash and badminton.1 by 1 :)

• asahiyakuza on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:48 am

Waa.. at least got something interesting to watch on F1 races nowadays. Hopefully Fairuz will do much better than Alex Yoong(When he was the driver for KL Minardi, it is the first time i ever see.. in history of my F1 watching, not qualified for the races because of too slow on the lap times…LOL). Would also very much like to see the F1 car using PROTON/PETRONAS made engine instead of the Cosworth.. All and all.. I wonder whether Proton will improve after all this spending.. hmmm…

p/s In my opinion, JUST FREAKING BUILD IT!!! the actually "suffering rakyats" as mention above actually own cars and even afford to have the internet.. Ohh how sufferingggg are Malaysiannn….. compared to the Somalian, Palestinians, etc… Aihh… ignorace fooliticians…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:50 am

this is corruption at it's very worst

• For me why not we have this F1 team. Nothing wrong…do this cannot…do that cannot all cannot…please gv them a chance this F1 team is season base so it wont waste too much. Just gv them a try….

P/s: Remember when Tun Dr. Mahathir plan for Sepang F1 circuit, many -ve comments about it. But you see how this circuit improve malaysian motorsport from sepang drag battle, Japan GT, moto GP and F1 GP.

• kaskas_pepper on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:17 am

ni sume kerja bodoh yg kerajaan nk buat..habiskan duit kat benda2 tak berfaedah pada rakyat boleh, turunkan harga minyak untuk rakyat tak boleh..

rakyat tak bodoh mcm thn 60an dulu lagi dah…

• government should not involve themselves, with our "excellent" governing bodies, a lot of "surprises" will happen.

oh joy.

• Probably not using rakyats tax money but tax paid by GLCs. Some rakyat cheat and not pay taxlah, especially those businessman and work on their own. F1 is good for our image. Bring in tourist dollars.

• hitman on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:39 am

compete in f1 by all means but be careful, very very careful with spending in terms of the support services and infrastructure.

malaysia does not need a wind tunnel at this stage. most cost effective to rent or conduct the testing abroad. utm has a scaled wind tunnel so this can also be utilised.

the mention of billions/millions is indeed frightening.

f1 is by no means a cheap sport but we should be smart and not be sucked into or get carried away. for now, best to just compete and focus on developing local capabilities and engineering.

just imagine what will become of these multi-million facilities in the event the team pulls out.

the objectives of venturing in f1 needs to be very very clear. at the moment is pure excitement doing the talking and nothing substantial.

paul's poll clearly indicates the unhappiness with regards to direct government involvement and there is good reason for this. this is a sensitivity that needs to be weighed carefully.

f1 is also a long term commitment and i hope that for the sake of the rakyat and the present administration, this is understood, and they have the necessary funding to commit to the championship.

going into f1 for purely commercial reason has its advantages but if you're telling me this is a campaign to drum up support from the rakyat then i believe the government has another thing coming.

as far as proton is concerned, i'm sorry to say that how ever you look at it, there really isn't any contribution except for money at this point in time. they are already in the intercontinental rally championship and that cost millions. as expensive as it seems, it's a satria neo racing so therefore there is some relevance to selling cars abroad. f1 – so sorry cos you have nothing to offer, not in terms of expertise, engineering or product. Lotus' forte on the other hand has its limits.

whatever the case i am not running down the malaysian f1 team. well and good. it's a question of managing the venture well and communicating the right objectives and doing it for the right reasons.

i suggest tony fernandes as the team principal implement strict guidelines pertaining to the release of press statements and who among the officials are allowed to speak to the media. at the moment, it's just everywhere and that is very frightening. it's already gotten off to a very precarious position. yes the news was front paged in almost all local newspapers and disseminated abroad but more importantly, how did the readers react to it.

still got a good few months to get things properly organised and hopefully by the start of the season, the venture would not only have a team that is competitive enough, but more importantly, has the support of the people of malaysia.

it is after all a 1 malaysia team, and not just another privately-funded team. there is a very big difference in this and so to are the implications.

selamat hari raya malaysia.

cheers.

Harris Iskandar Taib

– HITMAN –

• Should also get sponsorship from Maxis, Astro, IOI, Sugar Taicoon, YTL etc

• Jimmy Dean on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:47 am

It is very hard to justify this 'investment' by the Malaysia government through Proton. Seems like a top down directive from the Prime Minister for Proton to be involved. Hopefully a few good things will come out of this either in the short term, medium term term or long term.

• NickYYY on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:20 am

it is using campro CPS V8 for our F1(FxxK 1) car????

wasting rakyat tax…. can we say no to this???

this country is belong to all of us but not few of them!

• ford_ton on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:30 am

Mmmm..Just wondering… Will Jean Todt will be a piece of the jigsaw puzzle here??

• Hantu on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:02 am

Please la Malaysian government please spend the rakyat money to upgrade the infrastructure & transportation system in the country first rather than spend the money in F1. Be wise

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:36 am

AIMAN MALAYA DESIGN said,

September 16, 2009 @ 8:07 pm

Bro, maybe I need to educate you a bit on the layout of our GLCs. Companies like Proton (car manufacturing), UEM Builders (construction, pharmaceutical), Petronas (oil and gas) and et-cetera are known as Government Linked Company (GLC).

Government uses a control mechanism to protect the people's investment by setting up Khazanah (treat it as the left hand of government to steer the economic while the Bank Negara as the right hand, ok). In other words, Khazanah is set up to invest the taxpayers' money in these GLCs. For your info, Khazanah own about 48% of Proton stake (which means Proton is indirectly owned by Malaysians).

There's nothing wrong to set up our very own car manufacturing company such as Proton (minus the quality issue, but that's an open discussion in another forum), in fact it helps to create jobs, technology transfer (such as via Lotus) and cheaper cars (this is still heavily debatable as with NAP policy still governs).

Sometimes, there were times our government did the right thing and unfortunately, this time our government tends to loose its grip on priority again. Such as spending unnecessary capital on less important things. We already have F1 Sauber to represent Malaysia in the F1 world, so why the redundant? Its obviously wastage.

But bear in mind, its practically impossible to fulfill everybody's desire. Even the Bumiputera system will not be able to fulfill every Bumiputera needs. Hence they're some Bumis who're frustrated with the government and tends to flush out their frustration by voting any opposition parties, even if Ayah Pin went into election, he'll win votes easily too (just a sarcasm). The non-bumis also have their disparity too.

So the government, as they have less than 3 years to perform (many thanks to Pak Lah and KJ drama), the government lead by Najib will have to come out with something to benefit Malaysia as a whole. I still have some faith with Najib as he has some good financial background and connections. So I hope my humble explanation will show the good and the bad sides of our government. By the end of the day, nobody is perfect. Even PKR in Penang and Selangor are having its very own dilemma playing its new role as the state government.

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri, and Maaf Zahir dan Batin.

• Tony Fernandez & Air Asia still hutang Malaysian Airport

$110 million and refuse to pay for landing fee charge at KLIA since 2002 and he still has the cheek to continue boasting left right centre!

• f1 fanatics on Sep 17, 2009 at 12:29 pm

its lotus f1 team the name of the team, not 1malaysia f1 team .. that's it the company name. please paul get the record stairght.

• broom on Sep 17, 2009 at 12:47 pm

Cosworth engines suck. This team will suffer.

"The (2006) Cosworth engine uses clearly more fuel than the current engines," Patrick Head is quoted as saying by Auto Motor und Sport. "The cars will have to carry 15 kilograms more (fuel) for a race distance. That means half a second on the lap time and higher tyre wear.”

• good one syoh! this ppl only knows how to blame, blame and blame only. They only know how to talk cock. This all ppl blame gov based on assumption. they even don't have a concrete fact and cant even argue well what they talk about. They can only provide bullshit thus i don't see any act from the gov will ever satisfied them.

• etot5235 on Sep 17, 2009 at 2:00 pm

oh malaysia tanah airku….

i wonder if one day our beloved country will bancrupt….and we need to borrow money from IMF….why our leader not thinking wisely….so disappointed….our healthcare need more money compared to this…they are struggling to do works everyday in hospital and there are still lack of latest technologies to improve malaysians health…

• awg1031 on Sep 17, 2009 at 2:02 pm

this is not just mere economy, moral value is at stake here!! and some still want to say that u cant relate politic into this.why?? are u still ignorant with our local political environment where the politician will always want to take part and how corrupt they are (be it BN or PKR)..just because u hate the our politic doesn't mean u must ignore it,they affect u , u know that??

we entrust u with our tax money, and this is how u repay us for our investment?? again..showing off to get more money..circus once again..

• wiraone on Sep 17, 2009 at 2:03 pm

Total waste of money !!! How many millions we've spent on useless things .. and this is one of them.. and that is what Malaysian government is good at .. !!

• CocoBear on Sep 17, 2009 at 2:09 pm

This F1 program will be the single most ambitious task undertaken by Malaysia. For the sake 1Malaysia egoism, I pray this shall not burden the nation but brings glory from the rainbow cars.

• Car company kalau setakat boleh jual kereta serata dunia tapi tak ada F1 car apa kelasss. Maju Proton.

• lahmi on Sep 17, 2009 at 2:55 pm

hurm berapa sen la my tax compare dis billion project…….as long it not take my zakat n my daddy zakat ok lah…..juz look forward if this will be another gajah putih project or another successful heaven!

• kimi_ on Sep 17, 2009 at 3:07 pm

Again stupid comment by NAJIS….

If PROTON want to strengthen their BRAND, just build quality, reliability car with nice design….

Or hire well known professional consultant in car design like pinifirina….

Even if lotus F1 win every races, will anyone buy CRAP proton that suck like

HELL and bash by TOP GEAR LIKE INFINITE HELL…..

• donkey on Sep 17, 2009 at 3:47 pm

They are so many peoples still living in poor. Help them with the money. If you want Proton to be well known world wide, improved the quality of car. You don't involve in F1 does not mean you are weak. Prove to others that Malaysia is really Boleh…

• sinchew on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:01 pm

Didn't Malay Mail broke this story last month?

• rejabali on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:07 pm

Boleh tak buat demonstrasi 'STOP 1MALAYSIAF1 TEAM'!

• dont worry guys, this team will not cost as much as other team since we have no frill ceo on the top. but dont expect freebies…. u have to pay RM7 for maggi mee while watching the team race.

• azrai on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:30 pm

Last month, najib says the G is trying to reduced 15% of operational cost of the G. Due to this, 15%-20% of allocation for each ministry has been cut since Sept 09. I really agree with Jagdev Singh Sidhu (article here : -http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/9/17/business/4732693&sec=business ) This is 'melampau.'

• mig29 on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:37 pm

1Malaysia = Rakyat didahulukan, prestasi diutamaikan???. Are Malaysian government involvement meeting the 1Malaysia slogan that everyday played by media?

Malaysia Automotive industries investing in internal combustion engine technology which will be going obsolete while others going for hybrid and electric? We can read a lot of article compiled by Paul about EV, Hybrid, etc. lately. Even China also start producing EV.

Even Proton win F1, but the quality and reliability is not improvise who want buying a Proton cars? Maybe, with Proton involvement in F1 their quality and reliability is automatically improves are not make sense.

Airasia is promoting their services worldwide of course benefit on them in term of marketing strategy.

• Automotive_Critics on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:45 pm

tolan said,

September 16, 2009 @ 10:31 pm

Brilliant project! Something that only with ppl vision and enough brain could understand.

Brilliant or Stupid? As more than half malaysian drinks polluted water still people with full brain cannot think? Malaysian average life span has deteriorating years on years still people with full brain can't think? Then you know who is full brain and who is don't.

Toyota this year spend US 400mil for F1 just for unconsistent grid placement so wonder this young team need to spend for at least getting reputable position? US 400mil is nothing for Toyota as their revenue exceed US200bil worlwide.

Wonder what can be done if that money goes to rakyat? A non-governmant servant heart disease patient need to wait 2years of waiting list before operation can be done at IJN. Wonder this money can build 2-3 more IJN or branches at least in all state.

For Proton, no matter how grand the advertisement is, if product still like crap, don't dream for your long existence. Looks to Hyundai, Kia even Volkswagen not entering F1 which cost most among the motor sporting event.

• what-is-malaysia? on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:47 pm

So now in stead of R&D fund to Proton, G use the tax payers money throwing to Proton in F1? that sounds rediculous. I think the whole world will be laughing, that the money chanelling or white elephant method reach a new hight from our government!

I gota salute the decision maker from the Apollo13 project, to the Abyss project, and now…ladies and gentleman, the Fast and Furious project. I think no one can beat him now. The money of the country will be gone before the next election for sure. Good move, and the future of the kids? find your own ship everyone (please dont board Titanic though)

• Anak Rosmah Ngan Lak on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Really really stupid idea. Benefit? How many percent of Malaysian citizen

will get the benefit from this project?

Pakcik-pakcik nelayan get to know what is the KERS system?

Makcik-makcik jual kuih kat pasar get the knowledge of thermodynamic?

R&D of the turburlence flow will solve the Mat Rempit issue?

Will the deployment of the HQ in Sepang can overcome the sugar shortage?

Will Proton produce a family sedan car for the peoples of Malaysia based on F1 technology?

Again, can somebody answer me:

How many percent of Malaysian citizen will get the benefit from this project?

• AzlanIsmail on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:08 pm

To the guy who said that Proton is only investing in internal combustion engines, please read the other topics. Proton is heavily investing in EV and hybrid tech on par with other companies. So, don't talk without backing up with facts.

Regarding this investment, I feel that it's a good thing. We don't even know how much the government is involved in this and yet everyone here is harping on about money being spent and everything. Chill. Just wait, why does everything that our government do seem wrong to you people? Let's hear the full details before we make judgments. Malaysian mentality, always putting yourself down. We have an F1 team, how many countries in the world can claim that? You should be proud…at least until we find out how much we're actually paying for it.

But either way, we're getting good publicity out of this and you guys go and ruin it with your comments. If a foreigner was reading this now, he'd be laughing his ass off at how self-loathing we as a nation are.

Just wait for full facts before judging and wait till we actually perform as well. Thanks.

• Xulism on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:12 pm

The SIC has allocated between 8,000 to 12,000 HECTRES of land for the F1 team’s headquarters ? Wow !

• Jumbsuck on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:29 pm

S17:

Car company kalau setakat boleh jual kereta serata dunia tapi tak ada F1 car apa kelasss. Maju Proton.

Kereta rosak-rosak satu dunia haprak tak mau beli, tapi mau juga masuk kandang F1? Kelas ke apa?

"…the HQ will be fully equipped with manufacturing and development facilities including a wind-tunnel and costs could be in the millions or even billions…"

Seems like not enough scaling the earth just to find out that it's not totally square, now wastefully send another angka-sawan to check if the earth circle the moon or not.

mjoe:

For me why not we have this F1 team. Nothing wrong…do this cannot…do that cannot all cannot…please gv them a chance this F1 team is season base so it wont waste too much. Just gv them a try….

The problem is the more the angka-sawan cannot prove the world is flat, the more he try wastefully but the world is still not really flat at all!

mjoe:

P/s: Remember when Tun Dr. Mahathir plan for Sepang F1 circuit, many -ve comments about it. But you see how this circuit improve malaysian motorsport from sepang drag battle, Japan GT, moto GP and F1 GP.

Anyone can spend angka-sawan to space (whether self-funded or sponsored) just for the sake of self-praise. But to become joyride space tourist or work-your-socks-off space scientist is really one hell lot of difference.

• sodifhas on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:30 pm

another 'space man' project with our hard earned $.

why not use the $ to upgrade all roads? or buy back highways? or give better health care? or build better public transports???

please gov, stay away from those blackholes, I know malaysia boleh, tp xperlu.

• Get rid of all blood sucking tolls first lar, stupid…

• F1 fans on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Im loyal to this sport, I love the speed, excitement and sound but I believe with that BILLIONSSSS our gov can invest for the sake of the us… Improve our public infrastructure also can generate income to the country.. win win situation.. the rakyat can enjoy the benefits and the country's economic can be boost up.. its just simple as that.. if the gov claimed with the wind tunnels facilities can bring positive to our car engineering tech, I bet there are a lot of ways need to be done first… especially in R&D to diversified the engine ( small, medium, big cc, turbo, diesel) and in terms of safety to create our P1 branding.. like volvo link to its safety, ferrari, the speed, merc n bmw, the luxurious… Enter to F1 arena is too ambitious and yet, it will benefits to SOME PEOPLE and not to ALL PEOPLE… All I can say is, is just that this is the only way our new PM to propagandize his 1Malaysia campaign to win HATI RAKYAT..

For now, we (the rakyat) should do something with this.. to show our protest about this project…

• kemosabe on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:44 pm

I wonder if there will be another company setup just to disburse funds for this project.

Can all of you say Siphon.

• ariefinm on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:55 pm

I think its a waste of money to have a F1 Team. Even the big teams have threatened to leave F1 and create something new. If Proton wants to have a good name than they should at least enhance quality control, finding new suppliers throughout the ASEAN region. They have the opportunity to source from at least 3 other manufacturing countries in ASEAN. Thailand (Ford, Toyota, GM, Honda etc), Indonesia (Honda, Toyota, Suzuki etc), Phillippines (Ford)

If they would use windtunnels just the one in Jakarta. That windtunnel was made for Dirgantara Indonesia and is commercially used for Skunkworks Projects and windshear design process. They can save tonnes of money coz your neighbour has one.

• Jumbsuck on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:03 pm

mig29:

Maybe, with Proton involvement in F1 their quality and reliability is automatically improves are not make sense.

Similarly sending space tourist means Malaysia would be more advanced than Singapore, space-race speaking. But as far as the world economy is concerned, Malaysia GDP per capita at least a bit, bit more than Gabon and Zambia so that's fairly a good job lah against 3rd world Afros.

• waaaa... I'm in on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:10 pm

wind tunnel cost.. if BMW Sauber F1 Team wan is about USD55 MILLION

ferrari wan i donno.. but if we have a very advance wind tunnel system, we even can create own jet fighter!

WIND TUNNEL originally to test aeroplane.. but the technology later used for racing and commercial high performance cars.. DOWNFORCE!

• Kolejeon on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:13 pm

Eventhough there are many negative comments on Govt participation, i truly support the plan. Just go on. There must be positive impact in future. The govt has many experts to study this plan before implementation. Who are we to comment?

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

September 17, 2009 @ 8:45 am

Toyota this year spend US 400mil for F1 just for unconsistent grid placement so wonder this young team need to spend for at least getting reputable position? US 400mil is nothing for Toyota as their revenue exceed US200bil worlwide.

————————————–

Toyota's foray into F1 is not representative. Why? Because Toyota's higher up in Japan often meddle with management of the F1 team. Toyota's probably the most unstable F1 team on the grid today. How many times they've changed technical directors, drivers, team principals etc? A lot. That's why they can't achieve anything. Same thing with Honda. In 2004 David Richards had done a splendid job and BAR-Honda was moving up, but then Honda kicked him out and replaced him with Nick Fry. The team went downhill from there. So, what Lotus F1 need is stability. Don't go replacing team members after only one year. Have a long term plan because to succeed in F1, you need a long term plan. I'm sure if everything done right, things would be better.

Besides, do you know why Toyota still stick to F1, eventhough they're crap? I remember reading about how a Toyota employee told a Honda employee this "You guys sell cars to go racing. We go racing TO SELL CARS" Think about that.

• Jumbsuck on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:32 pm

mig29:

Airasia is promoting their services worldwide of course benefit on them in term of marketing strategy.

But Airasia winning formula always been cheap no-frills flights for all and it's hard to relate it (mkt strategy wise) to anything otherwise that is expensive money-losing craps or something. It should be MAS to venture into this expensive money-losing craps (befitting its role as well), not Airasia.

kemosabe:

wonder if there will be another company setup just to disburse funds for this project. Can all of you say Siphon.

Right. Call it Sykt Sipon Jaya Sdn Bhd.

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Jumbsuck said,

September 17, 2009 @ 10:03 am

Similarly sending space tourist means Malaysia would be more advanced than Singapore, space-race speaking. But as far as the world economy is concerned, Malaysia GDP per capita at least a bit, bit more than Gabon and Zambia so that’s fairly a good job lah against 3rd world Afros.

———————————————-

Why don't you go and read more. You've been blabbing about the Angkasawan program throughout all the postings, but yet you don't know the fact that the Angkasawan program is FREE. Russians bore the cost of training the guys in exchange for us buying them Sukhoi SU-30MKM fighter jets. Read something other than Malaysiakini or Malaysia Today. Go Google the Roskosmos website and see.

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Jumbsuck said,

September 17, 2009 @ 10:32 am

mig29:

But Airasia winning formula always been cheap no-frills flights for all and it’s hard to relate it (mkt strategy wise) to anything otherwise that is expensive money-losing craps or something. It should be MAS to venture into this expensive money-losing craps (befitting its role as well), not Airasia.

—————————————-

What about AirAsia's sponsorship of Man United? Or WilliamsF1? Those two sports cost money. Using your logic, then it's hard to relate AirAsia sponsoring Man United & Williams to AirAsia's market strategy. Just because you're a low cost carrier doesn't mean marketing strategy wise you have to be low cost!

• solen on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:38 pm

the time when economic downturn, there always someone gain profit and someone loss. For Honda, the economic did really affect their business, but for proton, they gain profit

• roti naan1 on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:42 pm

Even (lotus) Elise is using toyota engine as it was an effort to save money, while focussing on other aspect of the car.

So, what engine proton gonna use for their F1? I know…..Perdana engine kot?…hahahahaha

or combine 2 Wira engine together lor…..hahahahahaha..

• dextrous on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:03 pm

roti naan1 said,

September 17, 2009 @ 10:42 am

Even (lotus) Elise is using toyota engine as it was an effort to save money, while focussing on other aspect of the car.

So, what engine proton gonna use for their F1? I know…..Perdana engine kot?…hahahahaha

dextrous:

they will use cosworth engine….

please don't bash blindly…n give stupid comment..

• beltesazar on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:03 pm

this is all bullcrap… they should have put billions on improving the proton car quality instead of billions in marketing…no doubt the car will sell itself when people starts to trust the brand…

• Angka_sawan on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:14 pm

tak abis2 nak ungkit pasal angkasawan…… bodoh ke apa ?

program angkasawan tu free aje lah pasal tukar ngan Sukhoi yg msia beli…..

pastu asyik kondem gov boros la, buang duit rakyat la…… itu la, ini la….

proton tak bagus, lain bagus…. (kalo setakat copy paste model lain semua pun buleh buat) buat salah, tak buat pun salah……

ko nak gov spend duit tu semua utk tekak ko….. pastu msia melingkup plk

hutang duit ngan IMF….. kan ke bagus duit yg ada dikembangkan lagi…..

buat modal utk cari untung yg akan digunakan pd masa akan dtg…… utk anak cicit ko jugak…..

balik2 mtk subsidi…. balik2 mtk subsidi…. dah bg subsidi pun tak bersyukur & terima kasih, blk2 mntk kemudahan awam….

dah bg kemudahan awam tak tau pulak nak jaga…… buat demonstrasi pastu kemudahan awam gak jd mangsa…..

tu la suoh belaja bisnes, marketing, sale, mgmnt, economy, sosial, politic, history, math, science, etc. ko taknak…….

akai ada ka? ka takdak akai? ka akai? akai? ka? a? ?

• ayatolah on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:14 pm

another project to waste rakyat money.

for sure money will be waste unnecesarry in this kind of high spending project by goverment staffs cos there are just like that since TDM time.

Spending without thinking (many examples in the past!!!!)

They didn't even able hold a wonderfull F1 race now want to built a team.

Not to hope that they will flop but why waste rakyat money. Do you think we are ready for this? to do it by ourself? or have to hire some one form abroad and pay them high salary? this is our gov usual practice.

Just Let private sector to organise this fully. sure they will have minimal spending with maximum productivity.

goverment just need to endorse their poroject without finacial involment.

these private sectors try to invole goverment in this high spending project because they want to cover their ass if this project flop but if it succesfull they they will take all the money earn. nothing left for goverment as we had seen many example in the past !!!!!!

I am sure our PM know this but his associate want this so this happen. (just a guess)

Our goverment will never learn from mistake indeed they want more mistakes.

As we always say, all the pengarah pengarahsssss should be sack. they are responsible for goverment incapablity.

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:15 pm

beltesazar said,

September 17, 2009 @ 11:03 am

this is all bullcrap… they should have put billions on improving the proton car quality instead of billions in marketing…no doubt the car will sell itself when people starts to trust the brand…

——————————-

Doubt it. Even if you can build a Proton with Mercedes quality, they'll sure find a way to put it down.

• Najibest on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:19 pm

There are many wind tunnels in the world and I really doubt that a company would come down to Malaysia just to rent out the wind tunnel. It would be cheaper for the to rent a wind tunnel close to their native countries. Would a wind tunnel be beneficial to Malaysia? Probably but at what cost?

I remember back in 2005 when the Midlands Group bought the Jordan F1 team. Their CEO literally said "it would be crazy not to be in Formula 1 because of the exposure and all the money it could generate from advertising" and mid way through 2006 season (the did not compete in 05), the team was sold to Spyker who then sold it to Vijay to form the Force India Team.

Just look at the current line team line up and you'll realize that if it's not being sponsored by a car manufacturer, it's sponsored by a billionaire. Why don't the govt do the same and ask Ananda Krishnan and Robert Kuok to support the team, I'm sure they have plenty of money to throw around if we really want an F1 team and it would give exposure to their companies.

But asking Proton to foot the bill for the F1 team? definitely not a good idea. We're not going anywhere with the A1 GP team, we're non existent in the GP2, dropped out of the MotoGp scene and now we want to try F1? u gotta be kidding me….

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Najibest said,

September 17, 2009 @ 11:19 am

There are many wind tunnels in the world and I really doubt that a company would come down to Malaysia just to rent out the wind tunnel. It would be cheaper for the to rent a wind tunnel close to their native countries. Would a wind tunnel be beneficial to Malaysia? Probably but at what cost?

Proton can use it do design their cars to be more aerodynamic. You think normal road cars don't need to care about aerodynamics?

————————————-

But asking Proton to foot the bill for the F1 team? definitely not a good idea. We’re not going anywhere with the A1 GP team, we’re non existent in the GP2, dropped out of the MotoGp scene and now we want to try F1? u gotta be kidding me….

A1GP – Cars are standard designed by Ferrari, engines by Ferrari. Alex Yoong & Fairuz Fauzy have won several races

GP2 – Cars standard also. Need more money to race succesfully in GP2. GP2 have limited Malaysian involvement. Only Fairuz Fauzy is in it.

MotoGP – ask MODENAS why they're not in MotoGP.

• ramadan on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:31 pm

dont forget proton (and other GLCs too) will continue belong to whichever government ruling the country. if a project bears good result over 50 years, whichever govt will claim "it is our project". when not, "it is old govt's project".

this is the new mentality being implanted into me by the next govt

• aghiff on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:34 pm

i hope the team can compete…not just filling the last grid…and please use european drivers..

• aghiff on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:38 pm

govt help proton a lot but their car still sucks…

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:44 pm

aghiff said,

September 17, 2009 @ 11:38 am

govt help proton a lot but their car still sucks

————————-

It's because Proton's made by Malaysians. Malaysians suck.

• Angka_sawan on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:54 pm

bang…

ada kemudahan internet tu gunalah utk cari sumber ilmu & pengetahuan, bykknlah membaca, dpt info yg betul baru komen….. ini tak tahu hujung pangkal, main buta tuli aje hantam org.

semua benda ada pro & kontra, ada (-) & (+), ada give & take……

banyakkanlah berfikir ye….. renung2kan, selamat beramal……….

Internet bukan tempat melepaskan maki hamun dan caci merca aje…..

kesian aku tengok org2 mcm nie…..byk kumpul dosa aje…..

• Lim Thiam Loong on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Another PKFZ white elephant scandal or the ultimate billion ringgit siphoning attempt by those greedy people before the opposition takes over the country… probbaly an emptied 1-kupang-M'sia? … our hard earned taxes goes into dark space.. again… sob sob

• silver on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:06 pm

this is a marker

• Automotive_Critics on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:20 pm

Angka_sawan said

[balik2 mtk subsidi…. balik2 mtk subsidi…. dah bg subsidi pun tak bersyukur & terima kasih, blk2 mntk kemudahan awam….

dah bg kemudahan awam tak tau pulak nak jaga…… buat demonstrasi pastu kemudahan awam gak jd mangsa…..]

Subsidy is also from Taxpayer money. They deserve that. Thats it. About everytime asking for public amenities, there is nothing wrong as public amenities is too little per residence ration. Kalau ade pun bagi kat kontraktor kroni. buat bus stand tak sampai sebulan dah terbang bumbung. So nak cakap ape? nak buat secara aman kena sekat apelagi berdemo lah.

tu la suoh belaja bisnes, marketing, sale, mgmnt, economy, sosial, politic, history, math, science, etc. ko taknak…….

Macamana nak belajar kalau nak pegi sekolah pun transport takde. nak beli motor tak mampu nak bawa kereta kena tol and jammed lagi. Kenapa la jadi macam nie oh malaysia.

• old timers on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:31 pm

i agree w Jerald… why not invest in sport which give impact directly to economy

-if football given the amount that would be spent on f1, i believed thousands footballers would benefit from it with some spare money to invest in other sport

• I will only support this project if the Gov agree to built the necessary R&D center in SIC as plan… imagine our automotive engineer has ggod accessed to the wind tunnel, best auto engineer brain (in F1 of course) , and our universiites can train thier graduates there…

imagine for the country.. malaysia will be the automotive engineering center in this region… we cannot compete on manufacturing…why don;t we compeet on r&D…

if just like aex yoong last time, forget about F1… Sepang race is good enough…for exposure…

• MSIA = MONEY on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:36 pm

I THINIK THEY WAN TO USE F1 TO CORRUPT AGAIN… …

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:37 pm

old timers said,

September 17, 2009 @ 12:31 pm

i agree w Jerald… why not invest in sport which give impact directly to economy

-if football given the amount that would be spent on f1, i believed thousands footballers would benefit from it with some spare money to invest in other sport

———————————–

Football is dependent on the player. You can spend all the money in the world but if the player doesn't give it all, it would be a waste. F1 benefits the economy, since new jobs for Aeronautical Engineering graduates are created, not to mention manufacturing, as well as the expertise honed by the undertaking.

• MSIA = MONEY on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:37 pm

LOUSY GOVERTMENT… ALL STARTED FROM DR.M…

• rilex. our money is najib's money. -.-!

anyway, risk taking is a must in business, without investment, what is profit? if theres no profit out of this, means that management is bad, corruption sure occurs especially thos politicians who wants to get involved in it to gain mini profit out of tax money, and our PM should step down since its his decision and he have to make sure its successful. anyway, from what i heard from super internal source of mine. msia got money reserved more than we can expect. but they just dont want to use it yet for shitty unreasonable reasons.

but then, if its successful, malaysia will raise its name up, profits can be doubled, more foreigner will invest here in this country, more coruption!! LOL!

Proton will gets its name also, ppl who have proton cars will have more dignity driving it.. haha.

you guys vote No also still Najib will proceed with his plan.

we shall see what will happen.

I strongly disagree of having a local driver to be in part of this. please test them of the performance. if all those 6 locals cannot perform top of the standards let the foreigners be the drivers!

• osh_kosh on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:48 pm

“If we want to export Proton and use Lotus engines, we need to show that our brand is strong and make sure they are well-known and accepted internationally…"

how u show your brand is strong? by using Cosworth engines & others gearbox etc.??? i'm a bit confuse here.. :(

• MAcHA on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:50 pm

GOOD IDEA,,,KEEP MOVING,FORWARD,,,DONT BE COWARD JUST BY -VE CMMENT……..>>>>>>>>

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:58 pm

osh_kosh said,

September 17, 2009 @ 12:48 pm

how u show your brand is strong? by using Cosworth engines & others gearbox etc.??? i’m a bit confuse here..

——————————————–

To develop the technology in 6 mths is impossible! First they're going to use Cosworth, then they develop la own tech.

MSIA = MONEY said,

September 17, 2009 @ 12:37 pm

——————————————-

LOL! You think without Dr.M you can live life like you're living now? YOU WISH!

• fastcx on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:00 pm

How they wants to promote malaysian n proton is up to them, all i care about is the wind tunnel facility, that's a good news. 1st, they still can rent it to this region's car manufacturer n still get some return on it. 2nd, will be a good thing for malaysian academic field e.g. university.

For me, this is something productive, if u guys keep talking about other things, read the budget report 1st la, on how many is allocated to which and which. If respective developer on certain project do not do their job, go bash them. Dont say like wants to go to school also no bus, cant afford bike, drive a car needs to pay toll n jam, wow. kind of rich for a kid that wants to go study isnt it? no bus wants to take bike, but cant afford a bike wor, only can drive a car :P but too cheap to pay for toll. if every student wants to drive to school sure jam. each class how many students? each has their own car, die la? Dude, dont collect all u want to say n say it in 1 shot, it sounds weird.

There's something call school bus, even uni has their own bus to transport students to uni from residential area nearby. Bus fare isnt even over 80cent. Which era are u from? go to school also no bus?

• MAcHA on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:03 pm

to osh_kosh=of course we will use others engine n gearbox first,so that we can learn smthng frm their tech.other than that,its take time to produce new hardware in this field,,nthng wrong with that,,DONT BE GOPOH-GAPAH,,RELAKSS,,,

• proton neutron on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:05 pm

use the money to improve the economy better cause even if the f1 team wins every race, malaysian car still have bad quality control and reliability issues n can't even enter into developing countries. proton n perodua wake up, ur suppose to help the rakyat not ask the rakyat to help u.u cannot stand on ur own feet once afta is implemented thats why they will always extend until forever.

• Datuk Seri Najib clarified to the NST today that government support for the program would be through Proton. “If we want to export Proton and use Lotus engines, we need to show that our brand is strong and make sure they are well-known and accepted internationally. It is not merely about a sporting activity but major marketing for Proton and Malaysia,” said the PM. No figures were mentioned, as the PM said it was up to Proton to announce its involvement.

=========================================

Your brand strength is as strong as your 'excellent' track record with your products. You are also well-known to produce half-decent day-to-day cars, locally and globally. We as Malaysians don't expect german built quality cars for what we pay, but for the people's sake, make some decent cars that malaysians can accept and be happy about. To be accepted internationally, fix your damn products and it'll be accepted automatically without much need of 'major marketing' for either Proton or Malaysia. Your customers and your rakyat speaks for what your product and country stands for. Wake up and start listening to the voices of your people. We thought our previous PM was a sleeper, but this new one is acting like a deaf cow, maybe blind too. Damn PM only knows how to bikin malu!

"No figures were mentioned", sounds more like, "I've not decided how to split this pie with my mamats"… Show us the damn ROI. Everything is measurable even for branding or marketing initiatives.

Spend some decent money on our kids, give them proper education, buy them some books and you'll get better ROI than starting an F1 team.

• more thoughts and analysis of the decision.. good read..

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/mala…

• oh, here goes.. another good read..

http://www.thesundaily.com/article.cfm?id=38128

• nganga on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:37 pm

Aiya, why bising2..

the gomen is very rich laa..

12billion in PKFZ, not a blink of an eye..

the rich is supreme, the poor continues to suffer..

why dun the gomen buy off all those oppressive balak companies and save the penans and other indigenous ppl of sarawak and sabah. pity them..

if u conserve the forest, better investment rather than building wind tunnels.. like proton would produce some super car, 0-100 in 3.5 secs??

proton juz keep on building reasonable car lah, target volume..

me not economic student oso know laa..

gomen so stupid, focus on rakyats pls!

• Jumbsuck on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Tiadaid:

Doubt it. Even if you can build a Proton with Mercedes quality, they’ll sure find a way to put it down.

People only need reliable, quality car worth your money that's all. Not necessary Mercedes all that stuff. If you keep on selling crap at inflated price will you not feel being cheated short-changed? What, you need 50 years to learn how to produce non-faulty power window? Get out of here.

Tiadaid:

What about AirAsia’s sponsorship of Man United? Or WilliamsF1? Those two sports cost money. Using your logic, then it’s hard to relate AirAsia sponsoring Man United & Williams to AirAsia’s market strategy. Just because you’re a low cost carrier doesn’t mean marketing strategy wise you have to be low cost!

You forgot the fact that MU is regular champions and every corporation wish to be successful and associated with winning. It's intangible value added to your branding, and in this case of Airasia they are currently leader(and winner?) of low-cost carrier so it's not hard at all to think and relate winning mentality.

Ironically it may possible to group all-losers in one big team indulging into loss-making, expensive extravagance sponsorship. Like crappy F1 team. Unfortunately there's no Concorde flights as F1 sponsor. Or Rover Roewe. Or Port Klang. Or MAS, maybe not too late. But Proton is always available though.

Tiadaid:

Why don’t you go and read more. You’ve been blabbing about the Angkasawan program throughout all the postings, but yet you don’t know the fact that the Angkasawan program is FREE. Russians bore the cost of training the guys in exchange for us buying them Sukhoi SU-30MKM fighter jets.

Well the cost whether free, contra exchange is irrelevant given the fact that it's more worthless and useless for the purpose of studying where the sun might set in what time and direction or studying how to land angka-sawan on the sun.

solen:

the time when economic downturn, there always someone gain profit and someone loss. For Honda, the economic did really affect their business, but for proton, they gain profit

Welcome to Bolehland…place where you can defy logic and gravity.

• satria_Neo on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Good Move by Govermont. i realy support it, it will spurs ecomonics return by promoting malaysia thru F1…

only people that have no brain will said it a waste..

my bussiness involving tourisme, the pakcik that sell nasik lemak / roti canai near my chalet oso prosper with flock of tourist during the F1 Season…

The F1 really bring benefit to us…taxi drivers..hotels..shopping mall..chalet owner..boat owner..hawkers..nasik lemak / roti canai seller..and promoting malaysia thru F1 ..although we wont achieve the podium..its good enough to advertise malaysia…

• That high profile project by rosmah's wife okay what. look those projects heavily criticised before – KLCC, Putrajaya, Menara KL and other billion dolllar projects have shown benefit to the country. Probably government commitment limited to few mil dollar only ex. by giving land. Others Tony can pay. That's why he delayed payment to MAHB. Proton and Air Asia will set to gain most from this project. Who says proton's car a crap ? Ist generation saga is still around.With 110 kph saga can reached Penang in 5 hrs from kl ,same as Mers or bemee. What say you ?

• Anak Malaysia on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:07 pm

Dato sri,

Lotus dont use their engine. They out source the engine from TOYOTA. So how proton can use lotus engine… he2

• WhatTheFuzz on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:07 pm

Lotus engines??? Correct me if I'm wrong, but Lotus do not manufacture engines…. this is the reason why their road cars are using Toyota engines, whilst the Mk1 Elise were using engines from MG Rover.

• Jumbsuck on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:10 pm

TK:

“No figures were mentioned”, sounds more like, “I’ve not decided how to split this pie with my mamats”… Show us the damn ROI. Everything is measurable even for branding or marketing initiatives. Spend some decent money on our kids, give them proper education, buy them some books and you’ll get better ROI than starting an F1 team.

If you're doing business without thinking any ROI (returns on investment) then you are either retard or idiot (ROI also). That would only lead to one possibility: extra tits funds from EPF money to suck lah. With nearly RM400 billion funds EPF would easily create the world's biggest F1 team. It's always like that, EPF to rescue the dayyy!!!

• Littlefire on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Jumbsuck

Do you know what is call mark up price?!?

Even the helicopters and submarines are bought at a premium price. Why other country can get cheaper price?

Is like i sell you a product, sample: Durian original price is RM10, i sell you RM20 and free u 1 more.

So in the end i still earn you the same amount! Is what ppl call Siok sendiri..

• goF1malaysia on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Let give the principal mgr – Tony Fernandes a chance. He is a great leader and has built many successful business. I believe he will not venture into this business without any assessment. We are only looking at the surface but look at AirAsia, Tune Hotels all products of malaysia and well recognize by the world also. If BMW or Honda fails, is because of how they run the team. i have high respect for Mr. Tony leadership skill and i believe he will manage the team very well.

• arch808 on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:50 pm

totally gibberish, these negative comments. if you want to torture your mind with negative thinking and pessimistic mind, log on to Paultan.org, and click comments on articles related to Proton and Msia govt.

just by reading few of the amazingly neagtive comments, can guarantee you getting depressed for the rest of your day. I assure you.

• Black Dog on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:55 pm

The idea is brilliant! The concept is fantastic! The thinking is way ahead!

But the Implementation is F**ked……..as usual….

• laburit on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:02 pm

arch808, you are correct…. so much negative aura… ppl with this aura, please do your writing inside malaysiakini or what so ever…. dont spread ur aura here…

• scottloeb on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:08 pm

+ve side of it:

-Wind tunnel (UTM too small – this is a must for RnD of everything. Modelling in CAE is close but not enough)

-Air Asia, Axiata CIMB Genting can leverage on international exposure

-SPE/Petronas can continue pouring money at lower rates but for betterment of Malaysian co (Lotus/Proton) instead of foreign co reaping the benefit.

-Creation /continuity of more automotive engineer – designer, fabricator, modeller (precision part, bukan bawah pokok punya)

-Lotus can sell more of their upcoming car (Esprit replacement, Evora). Very good exposure to them (might work wit Proton but I dont think so. proton is Bread and butter, quality and refinement is important)

-Limited budget is good for small time team like Lotus (latest F1 rules). Lotus is well known as a limited budget team getting on big team like Ferrari (Its hayday is with Cosworth/Ford)

-ve side:

*We need more school & hospital. If not enough doctors you can always get qualified one from Indonesia/India/Africa (as of current they hire doc from India). More health college is required for longer run as the ones that went to oversea didnt want to return.

*Reduction in toll rates (not gone completely – not good for maintenance and tolls – scarcity effect makes the user more responsible) may grow more in economy as people move

*The effect /ROI might be too small/negligible compared to the cost.

I believe that it can be done, provided the government stay out of this. Petronas can join the circus, but at the rate much lower than what they spend with Sauber/BMW. Lotus on the other hand should set clear target and ready to pull out should your plan not working (as nowadays car rely on electronics more heavily – Lotus trick might not be the ultimate answer). If the result come in their way, the sponsors will come in handy (just like BrawnGP). As much as I like motorsport, I seriously have doubt that this will not drain govt money (as in the end gomen have to come in and bailout like what happen now in many half cook projects)

• Ninjaz05 on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Paul, i think this is the biggest comment list you have… lol.All of them have their own theory.. Maybe true maybe not. entering F1 is risky… Lets wait and see the progress. Its true G wasted a lot of $$$$$. They are good in ideas. But don't know how to keep it well.. a lot of project started, but ended in a bad way. Look at proton. More than 20 years in car industry, still producing a car like shit.. Worse than shit i guess. Copy the model from other car also still not good. Look at hyundai..Fantastic!! improving n improving. Wat proton can do? Frm Aeroback change to sedan. Put some bumpers and spoiler and also lather seats..Is that u can do? Dissapointed.. Hope the G succeed in F1 and also take good care of the People in Malaysia. I want to go to the future. Not Backwards. RON95? There still poor families in rural areas. Help them.. Then only its 1 Malaysia. Don't say if you can't do it……..

• lambov12 on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:26 pm

najis is najis … wasting the ppl money ..

• Again, for those said wasted $ or what those comment GOV ‘use’ wang rakyat for this; wake up pls; you are not the millionaire or enterprise boss that contribute huge $ for tax, your tax just meaningless to the cost of sponsor a F1 team (I am 100% sure those have time writing here, including me, the annual income will not more than RM200K per each year for the entire life); pls pls face this fact before talk about like someone rob ur $ for this project! Let’s give some support! If not, you will feel unhappy for your entire life as you are think that ur $ wasted like what you ‘wish’!! Sad for you if you do not change this mind set.

• Angka_sawan on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:47 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

September 17, 2009 @ 12:20 pm

Subsidy is also from Taxpayer money. They deserve that. Thats it. About everytime asking for public amenities, there is nothing wrong as public amenities is too little per residence ration. Kalau ade pun bagi kat kontraktor kroni. buat bus stand tak sampai sebulan dah terbang bumbung. So nak cakap ape? nak buat secara aman kena sekat apelagi berdemo lah.

Angka_sawan : semua bus stand dlm msia bumbung terbang ke? bencana alam takde sapa bleh lawan bro… cuba ko listkan apa public amenities yg takde kat msia?

Macamana nak belajar kalau nak pegi sekolah pun transport takde. nak beli motor tak mampu nak bawa kereta kena tol and jammed lagi. Kenapa la jadi macam nie oh malaysia.

Angka_sawan : kenapa transport takde ? pasal nak harap bantuan aje, taknak usaha beli basikal ke moto ke….. kalo semua benda dlm dunia ni nak free….. dgn kau sekali la tak bergaji…..

kesian aku tengok kau ni Automotive_Critics……

• ModernoOren on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:51 pm

dont waste money on F1 even Honda back off…spent money to help rakyat yang susah with salary rm1000 below.

• tonton on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

September 17, 2009 @ 12:20 pm

Angka_sawan said

[balik2 mtk subsidi…. balik2 mtk subsidi…. dah bg subsidi pun tak bersyukur & terima kasih, blk2 mntk kemudahan awam….

dah bg kemudahan awam tak tau pulak nak jaga…… buat demonstrasi pastu kemudahan awam gak jd mangsa…..]

================================

berdasarkan komen angkasawan, saya merasakan bahawa "tu la suwoh blaja taknak" itu ditujukan kepada mereka yang membebel dalam ruangan komen ini pasal subsidi

dan saye pasti, orang yang membebel tersebut mempunyai komputer dan internet connection

dan saye juge pasti mereka yang membebel pasal subsidi tersebut mempunyai kereta proton dan mereka tak puas hati dengan kereta mereka

dan saye juga pasti mereka yang membebel pasal subsidi tersebut, juga mempunyai motor, dan tinggal dikawasan dimana public transport ade disediakan

dan saye juga pasti, mereka yang membebel pasal subsidi tersebut,tak pernah terpikir untuk naik kenderaan awam itu untuk ke kerja, dan menggunakan kereta mereka, dan mengisi minyak, dan mengkomplen disebabkan harga minyak mahal

dan saya juga pasti, bahawa incik automotive_critics tidak mempunyai asas yang kuat untuk tidak bersekolah

• Bella italia on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Why i read all this comment i wonder why malaysian have many cons head? Why malaysian like to complaint? why every not rite to them….

Now i get the anwser, it because malaysian citizen never feels the outside world that dont have nothing,more pain,dont even saw F1,dont even have a proper airport,dont even have food…We must be glad we stay in malaysia developing country…we must be proud that our gov have future thinking….

For all the jokers that conning gov juz stop it…other citizen if saw this comment will be launghing big time looking all ur stupid comment…

Other thing,eiii if malaysia F1 team is born be proud la….stop complining ur money lah….eiii if u calculate u pay ur tax till u die also is just small fry compare to develop a f1 team…

All the joker that conning the gov,the gov not good,this la,that la….may i ask u,r u soo damn good? r u can manage a country? r u can stabil the economy? i dont think so….but Dr M already prove all of it he has made it….shame on u that juz can con here and there but contribute nothing…

Hello malaysia plizz realize!!!!!!!!!!

• Bella italia on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:02 am

Why i read all this comment i wonder why malaysian have many cons head? Why malaysian like to complaint? why every not rite to them….

Now i get the anwser, it because malaysian citizen never feels the outside world that dont have nothing,more pain,dont even saw F1,dont even have a proper airport,dont even have food…We must be glad we stay in malaysia developing country…we must be proud that our gov have future thinking….

For all the jokers that conning gov juz stop it…other citizen if saw this comment will be launghing big time looking all ur stupid comment…

Other thing,eiii if malaysia F1 team is born be proud la….stop complining ur money lah….eiii if u calculate u pay ur tax till u die also is just small fry compare to develop a f1 team…

All the joker that conning the gov,the gov not good,this la,that la….may i ask u,r u soo damn good? r u can manage a country? r u can stabil the economy? i dont think so….but Dr M already prove all of it he has made it….shame on u that juz can con here and there but contribute nothing…

Hello malaysian plizz realize!!!!!!!!!!

• Perdana V6R on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:02 am

What about Jazeman Jaafar? Isn't he a candidate? Lotus no engines, yes. The team will be getting the engines from Cosworth. Lotus provides the car, the chassis.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:05 am

We should be proud of corruption at it's very highest level? Pardon me, but i find that outrageously naive.

• Malaysian citizen on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:13 am

aloh!!!

Corruption to highest level??? pliz address to me which fucking country dont have corruption????

If u see at ground level singopre not plying corruption…but at top level they playing corruption to the max….

hello friend go study first before u talk…..idiot

• Jumbsuck:

Kereta rosak-rosak satu dunia haprak tak mau beli, tapi mau juga masuk kandang F1? Kelas ke apa?

Ape la ko, kalau dah F1 kelas semua rosak rosak pun orang akan kata new trenddddddddd.

• knight_templar on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:34 am

…"the other would be a foreigner with experience"…… Hmmmmmmm who could dat be? Schuey?

• Malaysian citizen on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:38 am

luca badoer…..

• asahiyakuza on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:41 am

MSIA = MONEY said,

September 17, 2009 @ 12:37 pm

——————————————-

LOL… If started with Anwar, this country would full of men only(if you know what i mean) and we are most likely to be sold to ISRAEL..

If started with Nik Aziz, it is might be that most of us would join the Al Qaeda.. making bombs..

If started with Pak Lah, every inch of Malaysia will be owned by KJ, mat rempits rule the country, and productivity will be very low(everyone's sleeping on job-follow the leader)..

… so as far as I'm concern, I'm very fine the developement started with Tun Dr. M..

• milanRed (Member) on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:45 am

to all the nay sayers…

stop paying taxes, bring your skills and knowledge elsewhere, there are places in this world where you can earn more than in Malaysia with the same qualification. and you can buy the car you desire, live with the govt you prefer, better education for your kids,… work you heart out, live your life with content and come back when you retire to enjoy your fruits of labour.

A lot of malaysians are doing this, and they are happy doing so. No need la to bash anyone or put the blame on anybody… you act yourself, BE BRAVE la to face the world. no need for subsidy la, spoon fed la, grow up and face the music la. Very sick of the -ve comments as there are more +ve outlook into things.

• Any one notice that everything contains the word "1Malaysia" would be approve?

For me the thing is if you are not approving meaning you are against Najib and that would land you into trouble. Is it just me or….

Can wait to see some projects like toilet or longkang with word "1Malaysia" on it…

• IndoneSial on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:51 am

dextrous said,

September 17, 2009 @ 11:03 am

roti naan1 said,

September 17, 2009 @ 10:42 am

dextrous:

they will use cosworth engine….

please don’t bash blindly…n give stupid comment..

—–

ROti Naan1 already known as stupid here..hahaha

• For me, if the government really wants to involve with big projects like this, they should have prepared a proper, detailed plan, not just plain talk. They should answer questions like (what I can think of):

– What is the actual cost?

– Money allocation?

– How does joining F1 affects other sectors in the country?

– Feasibility and benefits (for govt AND rakyat) in both short and long terms?

And there's so many more factors to be considered. Heck, I reckon that this can be heavily debated in Dewan Rakyat!

Let's say that they will build the HQ with the wind tunnel here. My suggestion is that don't just use the wind tunnel for F1 development only. With a proper plan (and deal), it can be a research facility for military, commercial and academic purposes. Try to maximize the utility.

Lastly, I hope that the govt doesn't make a blind decision just for the sake of prestige. The govt should think (and do) what's best for the people!

• IndoneSial on Sep 18, 2009 at 12:56 am

Malaysian are stupid!!

• Automotive_Critics on Sep 18, 2009 at 1:27 am

tonton said,

September 17, 2009 @ 3:58 pm

[berdasarkan komen angkasawan, saya merasakan bahawa “tu la suwoh blaja taknak” itu ditujukan kepada mereka yang membebel dalam ruangan komen ini pasal subsidi]

Ade sape tak nak belaja ke? Bila Anak melayu kelantan dapat 19A rumah bocor sana bocor sini xde subsidi pun. Itupun tau depan hadkan 10 subjek je. Orang makin nak banyak sebab nak maju ni mundur kebelakang pulak. Sebenarnya takde pun "term" subsidy kat M"sia ni sebab semua benda dah kena cukai dari hujung rambut ke hujung kaki. Politik nye bahas nak bodohkan rakyat.

[dan saye pasti, orang yang membebel tersebut mempunyai komputer dan internet connection]

Semua orang tahu sebab tu boleh post comment kat PT. itupun internet monopoli TM GLC. Dah la slow servis semua lembab. Streamyx tukar jadi "screaaaamyx!".

[dan saye juge pasti mereka yang membebel pasal subsidi tersebut mempunyai kereta proton dan mereka tak puas hati dengan kereta mereka]

Saya pakai corolla LE. nak beli proton tak mampu.

[dan saye juga pasti mereka yang membebel pasal subsidi tersebut, juga mempunyai motor, dan tinggal dikawasan dimana public transport ade disediakan]

Public transport? Wish all the time like non-appear moon.

[dan saye juga pasti, mereka yang membebel pasal subsidi tersebut,tak pernah terpikir untuk naik kenderaan awam itu untuk ke kerja, dan menggunakan kereta mereka, dan mengisi minyak, dan mengkomplen disebabkan harga minyak mahal]

Sape kata? Kenderaan awam pun tak wujud macam ne nak naik?

[dan saya juga pasti, bahawa incik automotive_critics tidak mempunyai asas yang kuat untuk tidak bersekolah]

Ya sekolah yang tak pernah bertukar silibus dari zaman penjajah. dulu tiup soprano sampai sekarang pun tiup la soprano..oh Malaysia tercinta.

• sYnZz on Sep 18, 2009 at 1:38 am

Its funny why Malaysia have to endorse in this when the economy and stability are not in a good position.

There are better things that needs serious funding..and in this..

definitely is a wrong call.

• old timers on Sep 18, 2009 at 1:44 am

milanRed,

why not u move out…this is my country, and i have as much right as yours to complain about gov…the thing is gov is our servant..if they dont serve us, who else they serve? Their bloody cronies…?

• acerman on Sep 18, 2009 at 1:46 am

Waste of tax payers money. These people didn't watch the Bersamamu Programme at TV3 perhaps. They are still may people who are still cannot eat proper food daily. Still wasting on rubbish things!

Just look at the road condition. Payed a lot on tolls but the roads still full with potholes! These people only knew how to make money for themselves!

• old timers on Sep 18, 2009 at 1:50 am

Bella italia,

r u living in cave…u say our tax is small? Tu lah, kecik-kecik suruh belajar ponteng…if u think my tax is small, can i have my car paid without tax, our food, cigar, clothes, etc free from any tax…can I? More important, can I escape paying my business tax…can my famili escape paying income tax….only small amount lorr, can ker….?

• kimi_ on Sep 18, 2009 at 2:12 am

HEY….I believe most MALAYSIAN Love our beloved country very much….

BUT what we ALL dont like is the G consist of bunch of CRAP that manage our country BADLY…….

• edifice on Sep 18, 2009 at 2:19 am

I think this project is at wrong time.

• ZamMaidin-AlJazz on Sep 18, 2009 at 2:20 am

It's funny and immature for these so-called pro-ruling government supporters …

When one complains about the not-so-rosy state of affairs in Malaysia , they would always ask people to migrate ….to 'greener' pastures …shallow isnt ….

When one argues the primary aim is to present the views in order to improve the country's position and the pulic quality of life ….dont mention la i pay big taxes u pay small taxes so u dont deserve to critize the govenment … it does not add up into your reasoning skills .

One of the contentious issues here is regarding the use of public money via GLC on so called 'investment ' . Is it a well-thought plan as we see time and time again public money being squandered

• DevilsMayCry on Sep 18, 2009 at 2:25 am

This is rubbish…

Rubbish…

Rubbish…

And u guys over here….its funny u guys gado2 kat sini…. no matter how u guys gado2 like cats and dogs….the G wont care anything…. the G will still think they make the rite decision…

to those who oppose… this thing is rubbish…

to those who sokong… this thing is ALSO rubbish…

Rubbish rubbish and rubbish…. ('=_=)

Cheers…

• Neo S2000 fan on Sep 18, 2009 at 2:43 am

ASTRONAUT PROJECT IS FUNDED BY RUSSIAN GOVERMENT AS A PAYBACK FOR MALAYSIA AS MALAYSIA HAD BOUGHT SUKHOI-MK 30.THAT IS THE DEAL.BUY THE SUKHOI AND WILL FUND THE PROJECT. HOPE YOU GUYS KNEW IT.=)

• Neo S2000 fan on Sep 18, 2009 at 2:49 am

Dear Proton,

Would you involve in WRC instead please?

Cost less and easier technology transfer to your road cars too.

• jangan mimpi harga kereta lebih murah, rakyat mesti tanggung punya..

• Ultraman Mebius on Sep 18, 2009 at 2:57 am

Yes it could mean two things either :

1. The lawatan sambil belajar space trip cost is already included in the Sukhoi total payment cost or

2. We got the space trip free of charge as a courtesy for buying the Sukhoi fighter planes …

Which one do u think it is ?

Clue ; "Mari tuan2 dan puan …… beli lah vacuum cleaner dari syarikat kami ini …harganya 2000 ringgit ….tuan2 dan puan2 akan dapat 10 beg hampagas percuma dan portable hand-held massager …. sounds familiar ?

• PKFZ 'the second' is on the way

• there is no way a F1 team can be based here in Asia. Think of the logistical nightmare for all the oversea races…we'll need planes while other teams can just hop on their trucks. Unless there is a budget Air Asia cargo anytime soon

• roti naan1 on Sep 18, 2009 at 3:36 am

Since we got F1, why not having Malaysia's own Malaysia1 race?? kan? kan??

Then we can have celebrity race….We get Mawi, Siti to drive and race the car….Sure Heboh….kan????hihihihihi

• roti naan1 on Sep 18, 2009 at 3:43 am

IndoneSial said,,

I can comment whatever I want. Who are you to comment what I wanna say?

Even Paul allows me to post.

if you dont like reading ppl's comment, just dont read. Or if you wana syoik-syoik sendiri, go create your own stupid blog….and comment until stupid cow comes home….

• Automotive_Critics on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:13 am

Angka_sawan said,

Angka_sawan : semua bus stand dlm msia bumbung terbang ke? bencana alam takde sapa bleh lawan bro… cuba ko listkan apa public amenities yg takde kat msia

Bro, aku ade cakap ke public amenities takde? yang aku cakap tak cukup perpurata penduduk. Cth Shah Alam pun takde hospital. Kalau berbayar tu bukan public tu private, Harap ko paham sebab tulis pakai bahasa Malaysia.

————————————————————

Angka_sawan : kenapa transport takde ? pasal nak harap bantuan aje, taknak usaha beli basikal ke moto ke….. kalo semua benda dlm dunia ni nak free….. dgn kau sekali la tak bergaji…..

Eh majority malaysia camtu hape? tak tau? gaji basic rm700 sewa umah PKNS 2 bilik RM500. Mampu ke? xde sape nak mengharap benda free bang oi tanpa policy kerajaan sekarang yang buat orang tertekan. Ko lain la kaye pakai merc kot. Tgklah orang kat bwah ni baru tau erti syukur.

• silver on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:20 am

huh….. when it comes to the international…… always can…… always into it… always ok…. just to prove what????? we can makes and drive a fast car??… then in the real road… saman this and that…cant this and that….

but bila tiba part rakyat…. ekonomi meleset…..harus faham……sokong….. BUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

• Knowledge power on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:37 am

hi All Malaysians,

I believe this one is a good move by Malaysia. In F1, a lot of thing can be learnt and develop. from car design, team expert, software design, fuel design and many more. this will enhance multiple economic growth, knowledge growth, experience growth and many more. In Muslim, this is consider fardhu kifayah to us. we need to learn and establish ourselves in knowledge. Now, people are keen on money then knowledge

• neutron-cheap1 on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:59 am

What is the logic a car company that can't even build a decent car to be competitive in the world and participating in F1? That is the most funniest joke we heard. It is like sending a 10 years old kid to olympic and run to compete with the world.

• kimi_ on Sep 18, 2009 at 6:25 am

I have no idea which idiot propose this idea to NAJIS ?????????

• Micheal on Sep 18, 2009 at 6:26 am

Hey, Naza, Air Asia, Petronas are among the biggest tax payers in Malaysia, in

fact Petronas pays the most, hundreds of billion ringgit each year. not us, they pay more than we pay (personal tax, car house etc) in a year. Why cant they use their tax doing something that might be good? They will bring in the technology, let them be our icon. yes, in starting, they use maybe 1 billion ringgit, but the revenue? people will start using air asia more, and the money coming into malaysia. other people will try to be confident with proton, and buy the cars. actually, it's more to economy strategy than personal obsession to F1. The G have ensured the budget can cover all the expenses needed by rakyat. in Sabah sarawak, its not everywhere where they cant have water and electricity. and yet, the G still trying to get water and electricity to them. it just that we cant see it doesnt mean it's not there. Petronas is one of the seven sister petroleum companies. and they still need the brandings. this is among the ways to do it. Let the G once, do something what they think good. just a chance, if its not, just 3 more years. change the G.

• mamat puchong on Sep 18, 2009 at 6:26 am

better use the money for this Mega Project to buy the PLUS….

so that all Malaysian could get the benefit of not paying the Jam instead of the smooth journey back to our Kampung…

wasting tax payer money…

• kimi_ on Sep 18, 2009 at 6:33 am

I thought PROTON had learn the lessons for the purchase of MV Agusta and

will be more wisely on doing investment……

BUT now it is WORST than before by having F1 team :( WTH

• transformer (Member) on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:15 am

"Datuk Seri Najib clarified to the NST today that government support for the program would be through Proton. “If we want to export Proton and use Lotus engines, we need to show that our brand is strong and make sure they are well-known and accepted internationally. It is not merely about a sporting activity but major marketing for Proton and Malaysia,” said the PM. No figures were mentioned, as the PM said it was up to Proton to announce its involvement"

Does F1 use Campro or Cosworth Engine ?

Even Lotus car are using Toyota engine isn't it ?

Lotus car main engine source :

Lotus Elise uses Toyota Engine

Lotus Exige uses Rover then opt to Toyota Engine

Lotus Europa uses GM Engine and Toyota Engine

Lotus Evora uses Toyota Engine

And mind you, participate in F1 doesn't improve Proton Car quality…..

• skyyarif on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:24 am

you guys need to be optimistic, theyre not using rakyat's money, read before talking further! partners involved will be airasia, lotus, proton etc… soo that means its going to be these companies that are gonna fork out money for the project, not rakyat's money,! be proud la sikit, jangan hantam govt jer,

• skyyarif on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:35 am

honestly i support this, but once malaysia has entered into this idea, malaysia needs to bloody focus on the project so that the money spent for the project is worthwhile, furthermore during funding the costs of the project, reallllly hope that there will be no corrupt politicians taking chances of swindling money…

• jadilah positif dalam perkara yang membangunkan sesuatu kebaikan. mungkin natijah bukan datang sekarang. namun peluang menjadi tim F1 ini membolehkan malaysia mendahului negara lain dalam asia terutama dalam teknologi F1.

be 1st in asia.

• waksir on Sep 18, 2009 at 8:30 am

it look like not using duit rakyat. then ask for bailout and so on…

apa ke hal proton nak tembus pasaran dunia? pasaran dalam negara pun tak boleh kautim. nak glamer punya pasal la…balik ke zaman mahathir… malaysia boleh!…nissan, honda, bmw, kia, hyundai, mitsubishi takde pun terhegeh2 nak join F1….

• ignas on Sep 18, 2009 at 8:35 am

once the allocated budget drained dried, it will be pretended as it never existed. so lets and wait till the budget finishes.

• waksir on Sep 18, 2009 at 8:35 am

for astronaut project, Yes! russia govt funded the project bcoz we bought sukhoi from them. but the purchase prize already including the astronaut cost. russia govt say, take it or leave it. end up, we are actually paying for that project. hope you knew it!

• Not-Easily-Fooled-Ma on Sep 18, 2009 at 9:37 am

Malaysians, wake up!

dun be fooled by UMNO and their cronies. all the companies involved are cronies. SIC is run by a no0b who is unknown before this.

i know the tax that I contribute isn't much, in fact, i dont care less if the G wants to spend billions.

but it should be on something that benefits the population overall.

do u know the literacy rate of Orang Aslis? what is the drop out rate of Orang Aslis? they are way behind the average populace. and if u consider other indigenous tribes in east Malaysia, its very sad u know..

here we are sitting in front of our laptops, having heated debates pr disscussions, but that doesn't prevent us from thinking about our fellow Malaysians who are not as lucky as us.

angka_sawan is probably an anak datuk who goes clubbing and ride fast cars every day.

wake up! i have done studies on Orang Aslis, even ppl in the rural areas.

their life is not as rosy as u think, in which ur thoughts are probably heavily-influenced by the media.

and the angkasawan programme, of course its not free! space tourists have to pay 20millionUSD each. u think Russia is so kind to sponsor that? of course the costs are included in the deal. Russians are not stupid as gullible Malaysians like angka_sawan u know.

and the subsidy issue. that should not be questioned since there are still a huge chunk of Malaysians who earns below 1000MYR. money from the PEOPLE, to the PEOPLE. that is the principle of subsidies. its not mahathir's money, or najib's money. MALAYSIANS worked hard to earn that money u know.

I dont know how Malaysia will fare in the future as long as UMNO and their stupid, blind and gullible supporters are still around!

• fazron80 on Sep 18, 2009 at 9:43 am

Najib make a mistake announcing it so confirming government involvement and no matter how he tries to hide it. Even Toyota and honda cannot stay in F1 because the funding was out of their reach, then how can Proton without government injecting alot of money can fund this team.

Tony fernandes should have been the one to announce this new team. Najib should have stayed away to keep a low profile. Now everyone can see goverment involvement and most objected it because we're not idiots. F1 is damn expensive and we cannot afford it. Petronas maybe with their billions of dollar can, so let them be the major sponsor and keep our money out of this please Najib. I'd be proud to pour in Petronas oil knowing that I'm contributing to the team and not through my tax money that should be spend to help our rakyat.

Honestly government should handle this very cleverly or they'll get slap back in their face when all is not working out in the future. Keep your politics out of F1. Just let the private companies build this company themselves without putting even a single cent of our rakyat's money please. Unfortunately instead of winning popularity with rakyat by joining F1 they are getting the opposite. Why can't they use their head and think. Malaysians more than welcome and excited to have our own F1 team but not through this pembaziran wang rakyat. Our government should just give moral support only without any financial commitments.

• Internity on Sep 18, 2009 at 10:40 am

Hey guys,

there is this Group in FB, boycotting the F1 1Malaysia Idea,.

Feel Free to Join and show your disagreement!~

Target 1 Million ppl to join to show that any Rakyat is feeling this is a very bad idea

• old timers on Sep 18, 2009 at 2:26 pm

Micheal,

Read the news properly lah…petronas does stay away from this….Najis said that gov involvement depend on Potong decision on how much money they will spend on it….even, cash flow and budgetary details also they dont do yet…how do u expect them to know the harsh reality of f1…yet using taxpayer money boleh lah, cuba pakai duit mak bapak dorang…

skyarif,

Open ur eyes, they r using people money…directly or indirectly, it involves us..

• Savvy T/black on Sep 18, 2009 at 3:41 pm

Even the F1 can help proton to do world wide marketing, but I don't think it can help a lot and i dont think proton have enough money to join F1. Its not the right time in the global economic situation. Better their invest to improve product, build new engine, and beat their competitor via quality and practicality of their models like exora.

• 1 Billion just gone every year from our pocket. Hurray…

• laburit on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:09 pm

if u all disagree, put it in memorandum and send it to the G. So they know what you think.

• laburit on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:19 pm

Kalau kita nak tegur gov, kena ada cara. Sama la kalau kita rasa mak bapak kita ada buat salah, nk tegur bukan boleh sebarang tegur. Mereka manusia, ada ego masing-masing. We need a polite way to do that. Buat la cara hikmah. And he has his own name, Najib. So call him with that name not najis. tak polite tuh.

• Solen on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:21 pm

everyone of u disagree with this project because theres no benefit for each one of you. all you want is that goverment give u money for everything. Tol, Petrol, etc without hardwork. so waht the point?? if u want money, gain it on your own. and if u think that live in malaysia is damn expensive, why dont u try to live in korea, hongkong or Japan.

• lchan on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:35 pm

solen…true we need to stop asking for subsidies….but regardless, this F1 team is a farking waste of money.

• Sayang Malaysia on Sep 18, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Haha, jangan merepek la Uncle Nj.

Kalau nak promotekan Proton dengan Name Lotus, ada banyak cara lagi, bukan guna cara macam tu. Kalau tidak, tengok Honda, kenapa mahu keluar dari F1? U ingat Proton lebih baik dari Honda? Haha……dreaming….

Why choose F1 to promote Proton? Easy….instead of improving Proton car to b a more quality car in Malaysia, they dont hv time, but the mgt do have lots of time to spend Rakyat punya money to do this stupid marketing.

Come on la, proton Malaysia, balik rumah improvekan quality kamu dulu. Jangan diketawakan orang dan buat kita anak sayang Malaysia ni malu sj

Semua orang tau kita terpaksa beli Proton bukan kerana quality dia, tapi harga dia yang murah. Kalau dibanding dengan kereta Jepun / Europre, pergi la Proton. Kenapa? Kerana tak ada quality. Sudah banyak chance diberi, tapi langsung tak dihargai. Da*n u Proton !

• neoS2000 on Sep 18, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Ultraman Mebius,

Yes it could mean two things either :

1. The lawatan sambil belajar space trip cost is already included in the Sukhoi total payment cost or

2. We got the space trip free of charge as a courtesy for buying the Sukhoi fighter planes …

Which one do u think it is ?

Clue ; “Mari tuan2 dan puan …… beli lah vacuum cleaner dari syarikat kami ini …harganya 2000 ringgit ….tuan2 dan puan2 akan dapat 10 beg hampagas percuma dan portable hand-held massager …. sounds familiar ?

Come on,there is nothing absolutely free in this world right??

This is latest Malaysian big gamble…wish them all luck….

Dear KIMI,

where is your dignity by calling other people NAJIS?????

lets say there is a people call you or family SHITHEAD,MOTHERF***ER,etc.. you must be angry don,t you???

dalam internet you guys beranilah kutuk orang sesuka hati…

such a BACUL….

Dear PaulTan,

I hope you colud advise them to be more polite and considerate when they subbmitting their comment..

Wish you all the best,

Regards,

Neo S2000 & WRC fan.

• neoS2000 on Sep 18, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Read this what Dr.M said,

http://www.bharian.com.my/Current_News/BH/Thursda…

• Solen, I bet u r the one benefits from this projects…hahah..one of those cronies…hahah…

• Proton entering F1? Good…good. To the candidates of F1 drivers, better get yourself a very good insurance coverage. We don't want any malfunction of equipments in our F1 car effects our life, won't we? I hope the power window…oh wait…no…no…we hope the brake caliper or brake light function properly. Otherwise, we could see a very interesting mishap in F1 history. Does Proton knows anything about other than tin milo to make cars?

• malaysian-no-f1 on Sep 18, 2009 at 6:09 pm

One thing I realized, there is some people keep asking people to go away if they felt Malaysia is expensive la, petrol high la. I mean, this shows how arrogant the current country;s management or people in power is. We are suppose to discuss, to voice everyone's concern and try to come into agreement. That is a developed country's citizen. Definitely not those 3rd class educated people to ask people to go away.

I wonder if the Government raise a mega project like the following will get rejection or not:

1) provide tap drinking water to malaysia (which Japan, US, etc already providing in more than 20 years ago)

2) health systems improvement by incentives to quality doc and nurses program (we all know our doc and nurses is lack, and god doc all work overseas)

3) no tol within Klang Valley project (obviously)

• eadgez on Sep 18, 2009 at 6:31 pm

go on 1Malaysia!!

• this is stupid idea! the cost of having a F1 team is Rm 1 billion every year, why the f**k Malaysia as a small country spend that much money for something with no benefit? the 1st people to make money is Tony fernandez. he did not even put in money, but yet he makes more money! these stupid politician does not even think of something like that.. Hey, even HONDA pulls out from F1 team, Bmw also, now proton wants to get in? boleh ke weh? they cant even make a good car, how the hell a f1 car.. yelah, lotus konon.. lotus join something to do with racing long long time ago.. come on guys.. years to come, malaysia will be sold to singapore because they cant pay the f1 team. we all be slaves!

• isfufushah on Sep 18, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Sauber/Qadbak (mysterious Swiss-based foundation, probably they exports nuklear for Iran. LOL) back with Ferrari

http://en.f1-live.com/f1/en/headlines/news/detail…

and… Renault crashgate saga continues…

http://en.f1-live.com/f1/en/headlines/news/detail…

• isfufushah on Sep 18, 2009 at 6:57 pm

Watch and listen what Mike Gascoyne have to say on the new new 1Malaysia F1 Team.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsport/formul…

• teekay on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:08 pm

we the 'rakyat' were clearly sodomised by the G. Both occasians of angkasawan and now 1MF1.

Age old trick. G points up to the sky, "wah tengok, angkasawan anak malaysia!" while we bodoh-bodoh go ngangak staring into the skies and G slips their hand behind us and grab our money and tell us, "see, you should be proud of us awing you like that, be positive, we can do it!".

Same goes with 1MF1. G points at Proton badged F1 cars, "wah tengok, proton kito laju giler babi, pintu tak bukak sendiri, oh, pintu pun takde!". Then they'll slip their hands behind us while we gape in awe, grab whatever they want, then tells us "see, proton so fast, no need doors so you don't have power windows problem. Proton hai-tech ni!"

We've all been sodomised, again and again.

• Anonymous on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:30 pm

Wow!! So ugly design! Designer bodoh mana yang buat design ni? Saya rasa malu dengan 1Malaysia F1 Design ni! Design bodoh! Konsep bodoh!

• overflow on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:34 pm

wuaa… many komplen aa… if government want spend some money for this type of invest, I'm recommend it, why? because we need that technology to expand in rakyat too…for those who like hantam government please la talk with fact not with rubbish…

for those who doesn't like government idea please la go to hell!!

i'm malaysian and proud to be malaysian.. about wind tunnel, this type of facility can make profit to malaysia back because many automotive manufacture in asia doesn't have this facility in their plant…

senna spirit is back!!!

• adlanb20 on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:45 pm

Not against the move per say… but timing not right la, as so many other internal issues to resolve first!!

• silver on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:48 pm

this is a 2nd marker

• R0NaLD0 on Sep 18, 2009 at 7:54 pm

this PM and gomen really know how to waste rakyet monet !!. I agree with majority of viewer here this is totally a waste. better spend the billions to buy out all the highway in MY and help the poor !!. or atleast try invest in some kinda of sport which can really benefit rakyat than their cronies.

I would suggest gomen to spend 80m EUR buy me from real madrid to play for national soccer team.

• Leonardo on Sep 18, 2009 at 8:47 pm

The F1 team will be good for branding of all Malaysian Products not just Proton, Naza, Air Asia and the rest but it will also have a spill over effect to other products – like furniture, food, clothings, etc. Therefore it is easier to market our products once people know where or what is Malaysia. I am sure those who have been to overseas will find people asking 'where is Malaysia' if you tell them where you are from. Most foreigners knows Vietnam, Singapore,Bali(not Indonesia),Thailand but strangely not Malaysia!

So i believe this is one way to promote Malaysia and our products to the world.

• overflow said,

——————————————-

WTH PROTON need its own wind tunnel …PROTON do not produce sport

car and supercar…EVEN PROTON car has good aerodynamic, HOW fast can it

go with the SUCK CAMPRO Engine

• TehOIce on Sep 18, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Lets welcome another PKFx project~~~~~

• oh, wonderful rainbow ;] ;0 :)

• awg1031 on Sep 18, 2009 at 11:10 pm

pity proton..they just woke up from their bad drem..now gomen decision to include them in this hilarious move is making them look bad once more in the eye of the rakyat..gomen2,i dunno la what to expect from u..

the bad thing about this project:

1. billions are spent just to improve proton?? while there are other important things instead of car in our life..

2. branding malaysia name so that people know us??? well, unfortunately u will not..with the bad politics, dirty environment, unsystematic policies, racism etc…promotion of malaysia name has gone for years.yet, we are still not recognize..wonder why..

• ferruccio on Sep 18, 2009 at 11:10 pm

I think we can already see something very strange about this project. If you read the foreign press, they're all calling this the Lotus F1 team. So is Mike Gascoyne. I doubt he knows or cares about 1MF1.

Back in KL the usual local media, driven by the powers that be are working overtime spinning the story with rumours, speculation and sensationalism because they know nothing about F1 or the motorsport industry, championing 1MF1 team. Will it be Lotus F1 or more of a 1MF1 team. Which story do you think will sound silly when the season starts next year? Who are the ones that really know anything about an F1 operation? The answer is the people that are calling it Lotus F1.

The media are quick to point out the 1MF1 replica car presented to Najib. I can tell you it's impossible for the car to look like that for the following reasons.

1. Car still under developmeny by Gascoyne

2. The replica 1MF1 car is not even a 2009 spec F1 model

3. No commercial office within the team will approve such a complex livery because all sponsor logos will disappear in the mess. Unviewable on TV

4. Think gay livery remarks which have no semblance to the strong Lotus F1 image branding

Furthermore to the 6 local driver speculation sensationalized in the papers.. Malaysia DOES NOT have 6 drivers capable of F1. There are only 2 with sufficient technical and driving experience – Fairuz Fauzy and Alex Yoong. Fairuz would be a great addition as test driver to the team but as a main driver? with nerves of steel and maturity to win? I don't think so. Lets not talk about Alex even because Malaysians hate him because we like to relive old stories from 8 YEARS ago despite him proving to world in A1GP that he was competent for racing at that level.

The best still for this new team is to get existing F1 drivers. Some of them are available for next year.

As for setting up a billion dollar complex for R&D at Sepang.. should we build a skyscraper first before its foundation? Which is more important? Why do we always approach big endeavours this way? Why are we RUSHING into F1? Is our country going to be destroyed in 5 years time? Can't we create a 3-5 year plan to get into F1 PROPERLY and STAY in it PROPERLY, benefitting Malaysia and her people PROPERLY?

Malaysians today are far more knowledgeable and intelligent.

• U-Ass-B on Sep 18, 2009 at 11:27 pm

Ini dah macam kes nak belajar Bahasa Inggeris melalui Matemetik dan Sains …. matlamat ok tapi method salah tunggang langgang …

Kalau nak buat branding tu jaga la benda2 basic tu dulu …

Sistem teksi di KLIA kelam kabut …teksi Saga bau macam tandas bergerak …sempit … que pun panjang .

Roadside hawkers kena re-organize …nie tepi2 longkang pun ada peniaga siap gerai makan bawak tong gas ( Petronas tuh !) 3-4 biji pun ada …sampah buang merata2 …

Tandas awam mmg awam habis !

Bab2 lain ….healthcare , education , racial relations oiiiii mak aiii banyak lagi yg bule di buatnya ….apa ke bana nya nak sibok F1 nie bila rakyat semakin terhimpit ….. pemimpin syiokkkkkk sendiri memanjang …..last2 rakyat bagi Roberto Carlos free kick PRU nanti baru rakyat cakap …." Dulu lamo dah den nak cokop …kao buek pokak sajo!Nah padon muko ko!

• najibest on Sep 19, 2009 at 1:01 am

Tiadaid

"Proton can use it do design their cars to be more aerodynamic. You think normal road cars don’t need to care about aerodynamics?"

– aerodynamics? why don't u tell proton to spend all those money improving their QC 1st before improving aerodynamics

————————————-

"A1GP – Cars are standard designed by Ferrari, engines by Ferrari. AlexYoong & Fairuz Fauzy have won several races"

– well u go ahead and tell me how many Malaysian staff (check here :http://www.a1teammalaysia.com.my/a1/compiled/p123.htm) are involved in that team. if u want to compete in the pinnacle of motor sports, at least train ur people at the lower level 1st

"GP2 – Cars standard also. Need more money to race succesfully in GP2. GP2 have limited Malaysian involvement. Only Fairuz Fauzy is in it"

– the Qi Meritus team is a Malaysian GP2 Asia team that is currently planning to enter the GP2 series (the main feeder series for F1). again, the team doesn't consist of Malaysian engineers working there….now we expect to develop our talents straight in F1 is it?

"MotoGP – ask MODENAS why they’re not in MotoGP."

– dude, u're so ignorant. the team started as KR Modenas but after Modenas pull out Proton stepped in and sponsor the team using KTM engines until 05…again i don't see Malaysian holding top level jobs in those teams…

we don't have much presence in the lower level of open car racing but we're excited to compete directly at the top. the typical malaysian way of doing things i guess. all other F1 applicants have been in Motorsports for decades and we're just starting….how weird….

• DevilsMayCry on Sep 19, 2009 at 1:43 am

merepek la korang…

menyampah aku bace komen2 korang ni…

tak membina langsung..

ka ka ka

• DevilsMayCry on Sep 19, 2009 at 1:45 am

rubbish la korang ni…

asyik2 nak gado aje…

kesian paultan punye blog ni dipenuhi dek komen2 sampah korang…

asyik nak gado jek…

blah la korang..

• DevilsMayCry on Sep 19, 2009 at 1:47 am

how to lock this comment post…

reading you guys comments are disgusting…wek!

• Knowledge power on Sep 19, 2009 at 2:40 am

Knowledge is Power…

I hope this knowledge can bring into the Universities. Students can learn this and can bring ideas. Dont listen to the peole who are mental illness and do not appreciate knowledge.

Gaining knowledge is Jihad. Jihad to us

• joker on Sep 19, 2009 at 3:44 am

haha, got a job at F1 malaysia team, they are expecting to hire another 1k direct and a couple of thousands for sub contractors…it is a good move, it is creating jobs.well i can see our home grown BMW engines in proton soon…..go Malaysia go…. by the way, i am a proud to be automotive engineer in malaysia now!!

• A1Fan on Sep 19, 2009 at 4:37 am

najibest, your observations are correct.

Let everyone look at how many Malaysians there are in A1 Team Malaysia http://www.a1teammalaysia.com.my/a1/compiled/p123…

They are trying their best to fully Malaysianize the team and thats the best they have done up til now. Including their 2 drivers they have managed just over 50% Malaysians within the team. Malaysia lacks experienced and skilled personnel for racing at that level. Thats why I find it amusing when the media report 200 members with full malaysian pit crew etc etc.. The best Malaysian crew for single seaters are all in A1 Team Malaysia with only 2-3 others in other outfits in the country.

A bit of correction on A1GP. The current A1GP car is NOT built by Ferrari. It was designed wholly by A1GP with consultation with Ferrari. However the V8 engine is fully Ferrari. In fact the car was actually assembled by A1 Team Malaysia mechanics THEMSELVES in August last year in the UK.

As for QI Meritus, it's certainly good to know that they have been around for so many years competing in the region. Though they have Malaysian(and Irish) origins, the team is not a Malaysian registered team. I understand that they are registered in Dubai. All Malaysian registered teams are registered with AAM. They employ mostly foreign, Filipino mechanics.

If there is a team that best embody the 1 Malaysia concept, it would be A1 Team Malaysia. They compete at a level as competitive as F1 and all the major races – Indian, Malay, Chinese are represented in the team, working very closely together with one goal – to make Malaysia proud!

READ THIS – http://www.a1teammalaysia.com.my/a1/compiled/p227…

• A1Fan on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:20 am

Najibest said,

September 17, 2009 @ 11:19 am

… We’re not going anywhere with the A1 GP team,…

I beg to differ. The team finished 6th in the A1GP championship last season, out of 22 countries and are a consistent top 10 finisher.

Alex Yoong and Fairuz Fauzy achieved their BEST CAREER results driving for the team.

A1TM has trained Malaysians in the process, many of whom are now highly sought after in the motorsport industry overseas.

They promoted Malaysia and Malaysian organisations to the world in a motorsport series with an audience size bettered only by F1.

They have softened corporate Malaysia who are usually very apprehensive and ignorant about the commercial prospects in motorsports thus paving the way for other local motorsport outfits to seek support and sponsorship.

They are a household name in Malaysia and are very respected in A1GP. Thanks to A1 Team Malaysia, Alex Yoong repaired his reputation overseas (not locally, malaysians can't let go of the past) won the highly respected Bruce McLaren Trophy from the British Racing Drivers Club in 2006 for his achievements as a driver from the Commonwealth. Damon Hill was the club president. Likewise Fairuz Fauzy is now also a member of BRDC. BRDC is synonymous with the Silverstone F1 circuit.

A1 Team Malaysia has waved the Jalur Gemilang overseas may more times than any other local motorsport outfit

• Diablo on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:27 am

joker, thats good to hear. Congratulations! do tell us more what you will be doing.

I thought everyone including Mike Gascoyne himself said that they will have a staff size of 200. F1 teams with the largest budgets and usually running near the front, have a staff size of about 800 or so. Brawn GP have about 400 staff.

So i'm curious when you said that 1MF1 want to higher 1,000 people directly. Doesn't sound logical to me. Can you explain?

• Duit rakyar didahulukan, F1 apa boleh capai?

• Itu angkaswan sudah naik , apa telah dicapai?!! roti canai? ada roket? sekarang F1 pulak?!! tengok kelakaran nanti. bikin malu saja!

• gud idea. boleh divert dari msalah PKZA. at least this project less costly than PKZA. in short term at least. kalau ada masalah in future kite leh tubuh pasukan siasatan cam PKZA. so dont worry. our money in save hand.

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 19, 2009 at 3:13 pm

I left this thread for few days only, and now its talking about angkasawan programme? Haha. LOL. This reminds me of an advertisement from our local tv network, that Alley Cat singer guy said; "We need to send someone to the Sun"! The other guy replied; "Crazy lah you, you'll get burn"! The Alley Cat replied, "No, we send them during night time lah, silly". Haha.

• overflow on Sep 19, 2009 at 5:59 pm

em… many rubbish comment around here.. for those who hate it this kind of project i'm think maybe living in cave,

let the G make this project 1st and then we can see what happen next.

most of rubbish complaint around here maybe came from Pakatan Rakyat,

please forget la all stupid politic in here fellow. we need some development in auto racing in malaysia. maybe near come we will involve in full auto racing and high development in auto technology.. please la my friend think in logical thinking not by emotion.. Selamat Hari Raya AidilFitri And Maaf Zahir Batin

• stephenstreets on Sep 19, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Great , more wasted money. I just hope no one laughs at us. I know i would.

• ken_tank91 on Sep 19, 2009 at 9:16 pm

kelakar r govement ney…

dah tak dak wet g masuk F1 plak…

toyota n len2 syarikat besar cepat2 nak tarik dari F1..

kita plak boleh ngada2 nak masuk…

go kart pun tak leh nak menang inikan pulak F1???

• daniel on Sep 20, 2009 at 7:31 pm

Hi,

Do branding is an investment, did our gov do some ROI analysis on this?

I wish proton suscess, and I am proton users as well. but why after more than 25 years, proton still need gov help to do branding?

If part of this investment amount uses in :

1, sending proton engineers and staff to upgrade their skills and knowledges, do u think this can be more effective?

2, how about hire world best CEO and experts to manage proton?

3, develop enginees and gear box for comming model?

4, Improve quality management system?

5, Give rewards to proton staffs for their improvement?

6, If the ammont is big enough, can we buy an automotive company that can immediate contribute to proton technically?

We can spend as much as we can in branding, but if the product itself do not meet the basic expectation, all the branding investment as good as throwing money in the sea. It is not proton that make proton failed all these years, it is the quality and service that fail proton!

To much of politic involvement in malaysia industries. This is not healthy!

• peroempat on Sep 21, 2009 at 3:35 am

1 Malaysia's money gonna burning sooon.

• perolima on Sep 21, 2009 at 6:47 am

We spent one Malaysia money to sell car and racing.

• Bola Sepak no. 150+

Universiti ranking 200 +

Toyota & honda mau keluar , dia mau masuk,

lu jam sana sini lu punya pasar, sana banjir besuk kering

sana lubang sini lubang, lrt tak sempurna.

rumah setinggan banyak lagi.

org bergaji < 1000

smart tunnel tak boleh menyelamkan banjir kl

memang puXXXXXXX!

• VillageCam on Sep 21, 2009 at 9:57 am

i thought UTM (universiti teknologi malaysia) already has wind tunnel ?….

why need to build another one……

• shoryuken on Sep 21, 2009 at 10:33 pm

I heard Alfa Romeo is for sale..

• shoryuken on Sep 21, 2009 at 10:41 pm

For those who is positively looking it as branding of the Malaysia. I wonder how many F1 cars currently we see able to complete the race, and do we see those team counting from behind got many TVs show casing them?

• Ferruccio on Sep 22, 2009 at 3:55 am

VillageCam, The UTM wind tunnel is not sufficently sophisticated. They need a full sized rolling road wind tunnel which usually is among the most expensive capital investment of an F1 team. It will also consume enourmous energy to run. Thats why renting time in a wind tunnel is very costly.

Oh they will also need an expensive super computer to run all the aero computational fluid dynamics (CFD) and other software for simulation work even before testing scale model in the wind tunnel.

A seven-post rig which simulates the vehicle's chassis dynamics ain't cheap either. These are all must have R&D assets if the team wants to be competitive.

Of course back end budget F1 teams can get away from the enormous capital expenditure by renting other people's facilities and equipments. But Malaysia wants to go all the way which is the only way to go if we plan to break into the top 10 in the near future. Otherwise why bother entering?

• TheDuck on Sep 24, 2009 at 2:10 am

Waste of Money. Poor us…or are we just too rich??

• mezzo on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:11 pm

first time i looks to 1MF1 car model, i started to laugh coz there a lot of colours…simple knowledge of F1, to many colour in F1 car will increase weight of the car. This show that this team not ready yet…at least this team show their F1 car have simple,nice but patriotic design even model ones la…

i think naza n proton don't waste time n money to support this project…this both companies should build powerful engine for roadcar first(not use r copy mitsubishi,lotus,Peugeot,kia engine design)….build their own supercar that can be proud by malaysian n world at least like nissan build skyline with powerful rb26 engine..r toyota with supra, 2jz engine…this all well known by worldwide. belajar buat enjin sendiri…ni baru bikin enjin x capai 200bhp dah nak saing dgn ferrari ,mercedes biar btul la…

klau nk tunjuk patriotic dlm F1 pn, biar guna enjin proton ke..naza ke..barulah patriot beb…

jgn dikejar x dapat, yang dikendong keciciran…..

• Enigma on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:37 am

Angka_sawan said

aper ko nih cakap nak gempak,tapi otak tak pakai……bile harga barang naik,tol naik, minyak naik ko nak bising…..sebab 2 lah orang mintak subsidi

dah namer lagi kewajipan gov kener lah bagi kemudahan awam sapa yang dok guna ko jugak…..boleh ke ko idup takde kemudahan awam…..menipu jlah kalu cakap boleh 2…..sape nak kasi ko tandas free atau bayar stakat tak sampai RM1, kalu ko guna tandas umah ko pon lebih dari 2 kos nyer

memeng nampak gempak negara F1,tapi aper yang warga dia dapat kereta F1 atas jalan malaysia…..boleh kurangkan kemalangan jalan raya…..boleh buat kenderaan awam 2 tak demasalah macam sekarang nih

banyak lagi syarikat kereta dunia yang terkenal tak masuk F1 pon……..baik guna duit 2 buat R&D lg bagus lah……Proton bukan x boleh nak bina keta yang sama standart mcm syarikat terkemuka lain…..cuma dorg nih mcm slah bt R&D j,

cuba tengok mcm mazda 2……ambik tindakkan yang boleh jatuh kan dorg bina Rotary Engine……e 2 baru org ckp ambk risiko yang brbaloi…bkn masuk F1……kalu proton tak mampu tak de lah WV nak sagat ambk proton…sebab ape sbb proton ader kilang dgn kmudahan & teknologi trkini y g boleh psang kereta canggih2 dorg 2…….tp maslah nyer proton j x tau nk gunu aset sendri

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Enigma said,

{{{{aper ko nih cakap nak gempak,tapi otak tak pakai……bile harga barang naik,tol naik, minyak naik ko nak bising…..sebab 2 lah orang mintak subsidi

dah namer lagi kewajipan gov kener lah bagi kemudahan awam sapa yang dok guna ko jugak…..boleh ke ko idup takde kemudahan awam…..menipu jlah kalu cakap boleh 2…..sape nak kasi ko tandas free atau bayar stakat tak sampai RM1, kalu ko guna tandas umah ko pon lebih dari 2 kos nyer

memeng nampak gempak negara F1,tapi aper yang warga dia dapat kereta F1 atas jalan malaysia…..boleh kurangkan kemalangan jalan raya…..boleh buat kenderaan awam 2 tak demasalah macam sekarang nih

banyak lagi syarikat kereta dunia yang terkenal tak masuk F1 pon……..baik guna duit 2 buat R&D lg bagus lah……Proton bukan x boleh nak bina keta yang sama standart mcm syarikat terkemuka lain…..cuma dorg nih mcm slah bt R&D j,

cuba tengok mcm mazda 2……ambik tindakkan yang boleh jatuh kan dorg bina Rotary Engine……e 2 baru org ckp ambk risiko yang brbaloi…bkn masuk F1……kalu proton tak mampu tak de lah WV nak sagat ambk proton…sebab ape sbb proton ader kilang dgn kmudahan & teknologi trkini y g boleh psang kereta canggih2 dorg 2…….tp maslah nyer proton j x tau nk gunu aset sendri}}}}

Alah ko pun ckp x pakai otak….ko penah dgr x F1 motorsport tu R&D utk keta2 atas jalan nih….if ko bace buku history lah….Ferrari,maserati,merz dulu abuk pun x de….pas diorg masuk F1 and diorg wat r&d then diorg maju n TERKEMUKA mcm skang dol….Skang if proton try masuk F1 baru lah proton leh jd terkemuka mcm diorg…if x wat pape bile proton nak maju sengal….Dulu time Tun M wat national car semua kutuk mcm korang kutuk malaysia nak wat F1 tp after 20+years sape yang pakai…almost 60% org pakai…bagus x bagus proton nih pkir sendiri lah….

Korang rakyat malaysia pir panjang lah skit…x yah pkir skang….kalau semua org mcm korang malaysia x de maju mane nyer….kalau pasal subsidi korang bsing,minyak,tol korang duk negara lain lah…..semua complaint….semua x betul….ko terre g jd menteri…kalau tu pun x lepas x yah cite banyak….

So ko ckp pun x de substance so ko diam jer lah….

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:23 pm

Enigma said

[[aper ko nih cakap nak gempak,tapi otak tak pakai……bile harga barang naik,tol naik, minyak naik ko nak bising…..sebab 2 lah orang mintak subsidi

cuba tengok mcm mazda 2……ambik tindakkan yang boleh jatuh kan dorg bina Rotary Engine……e 2 baru org ckp ambk risiko yang brbaloi…bkn masuk F1……kalu proton tak mampu tak de lah WV nak sagat ambk proton…sebab ape sbb proton ader kilang dgn kmudahan & teknologi trkini y g boleh psang kereta canggih2 dorg 2…….tp maslah nyer proton j x tau nk gunu aset sendri]]

Adoi hai ko sendiri ckp x pakai otak ko pandai ckp org….if ko pandai sgt ko x pkir F1 tu untuk ape?? if ko x taw meh sini aku bgtaw…F1 ni utk membuat R&D utk guna keta2 kat atas jalan nih….ko g tgk history Ferrari,Maserati,Merz n etc dulu abuk pun x de…but diorg start dgn F1…then diorg wat R&D n diorg apply kat keta…that y keta diorg TERKEMUKA sengal….

Dulu Tun M nak wat proton semua org kutuk mcm skang tp after 20+tahun sape yang paki…aku tgk lebih 60% org pakai…tu pun nak kutuk…x paham aku….So skang korang kutuk nak wat F1 aku x tekejut sbb mmg perangai org malaysia nih suka mengutuk je pandai…minyak la,tol la,jalan la…..kalau korang pandai sgt jd menteri….menteri pun x lepas pandai lak nak bg nasihat……sengal lodeh….

korang pkir dulu malaysia nih bagus…20thn dulu malaysia nih x de sape taw kat international…pasal wat sepang track baru lah diorg tgk….then after 10 years singapore baru nak ikut….pkir la sendiri….

So korang ckp nih semua x de substance..korang kutuk lah ape pun benda akan terjd jugak….Korang patut bg nasihat yg bijak utk meningkat negara bukan menjatuh kan lagi….

pembela negara

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:27 pm

Enigma said [[aper ko nih cakap nak gempak,tapi otak tak pakai……bile harga barang naik,tol naik, minyak naik ko nak bising…..sebab 2 lah orang mintak subsidi dah namer lagi kewajipan gov kener lah bagi kemudahan awam sapa yang dok guna ko jugak…..boleh ke ko idup takde kemudahan awam…..menipu jlah kalu cakap boleh 2…..sape nak kasi ko tandas free atau bayar stakat tak sampai RM1, kalu ko guna tandas umah ko pon lebih dari 2 kos nyer memeng nampak gempak negara F1,tapi aper yang warga dia dapat kereta F1 atas jalan malaysia…..boleh kurangkan kemalangan jalan raya…..boleh buat kenderaan awam 2 tak demasalah macam sekarang nih banyak lagi syarikat kereta dunia yang terkenal tak masuk F1 pon……..baik guna duit 2 buat R&D lg bagus lah……Proton bukan x boleh nak bina keta yang sama standart mcm syarikat terkemuka lain…..cuma dorg nih mcm slah bt R&D j, cuba tengok mcm mazda 2……ambik tindakkan yang boleh jatuh kan dorg bina Rotary Engine……e 2 baru org ckp ambk risiko yang brbaloi…bkn masuk F1……kalu proton tak mampu tak de lah WV nak sagat ambk proton…sebab ape sbb proton ader kilang dgn kmudahan & teknologi trkini y g boleh psang kereta canggih2 dorg 2…….tp maslah nyer proton j x tau nk gunu aset sendri]] Adoi hai ko sendiri ckp x pakai otak ko pandai ckp org….if ko pandai sgt ko x pkir F1 tu untuk ape?? if ko x taw meh sini aku bgtaw…F1 ni utk membuat R&D utk guna keta2 kat atas jalan nih….ko g tgk history Ferrari,Maserati,Merz n etc dulu abuk pun x de…but diorg start dgn F1…then diorg wat R&D n diorg apply kat keta…that y keta diorg TERKEMUKA sengal…. Dulu Tun M nak wat proton semua org kutuk mcm skang tp after 20+tahun sape yang paki…aku tgk lebih 60% org pakai…tu pun nak kutuk…x paham aku….So skang korang kutuk nak wat F1 aku x tekejut sbb mmg perangai org malaysia nih suka mengutuk je pandai…minyak la,tol la,jalan la…..kalau korang pandai sgt jd menteri….menteri pun x lepas pandai lak nak bg nasihat……sengal lodeh…. korang pkir dulu malaysia nih bagus…20thn dulu malaysia nih x de sape taw kat international…pasal wat sepang track baru lah diorg tgk….then after 10 years singapore baru nak ikut….pkir la sendiri…. So korang ckp nih semua x de substance..korang kutuk lah ape pun benda akan terjd jugak….Korang patut bg nasihat yg bijak utk meningkat negara bukan menjatuh kan lagi…. __________________ pembela negara

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:29 pm

Enigma said [[aper ko nih cakap nak gempak,tapi otak tak pakai……bile harga barang naik,tol naik, minyak naik ko nak bising…..sebab 2 lah orang mintak subsidi dah namer lagi kewajipan gov kener lah bagi kemudahan awam sapa yang dok guna ko jugak…..boleh ke ko idup takde kemudahan awam…..menipu jlah kalu cakap boleh 2…..sape nak kasi ko tandas free atau bayar stakat tak sampai RM1, kalu ko guna tandas umah ko pon lebih dari 2 kos nyer memeng nampak gempak negara F1,tapi aper yang warga dia dapat kereta F1 atas jalan malaysia…..boleh kurangkan kemalangan jalan raya…..boleh buat kenderaan awam 2 tak demasalah macam sekarang nih banyak lagi syarikat kereta dunia yang terkenal tak masuk F1 pon……..baik guna duit 2 buat R&D lg bagus lah……Proton bukan x boleh nak bina keta yang sama standart mcm syarikat terkemuka lain…..cuma dorg nih mcm slah bt R&D j, cuba tengok mcm mazda 2……ambik tindakkan yang boleh jatuh kan dorg bina Rotary Engine……e 2 baru org ckp ambk risiko yang brbaloi…bkn masuk F1……kalu proton tak mampu tak de lah WV nak sagat ambk proton…sebab ape sbb proton ader kilang dgn kmudahan & teknologi trkini y g boleh psang kereta canggih2 dorg 2…….tp maslah nyer proton j x tau nk gunu aset sendri]] Adoi hai ko sendiri ckp x pakai otak ko pandai ckp org….if ko pandai sgt ko x pkir F1 tu untuk ape?? if ko x taw meh sini aku bgtaw…F1 ni utk membuat R&D utk guna keta2 kat atas jalan nih….ko g tgk history Ferrari,Maserati,Merz n etc dulu abuk pun x de…but diorg start dgn F1…then diorg wat R&D n diorg apply kat keta…that y keta diorg TERKEMUKA sengal…. Dulu Tun M nak wat proton semua org kutuk mcm skang tp after 20+tahun sape yang paki…aku tgk lebih 60% org pakai…tu pun nak kutuk…x paham aku….So skang korang kutuk nak wat F1 aku x tekejut sbb mmg perangai org malaysia nih suka mengutuk je pandai…minyak la,tol la,jalan la…..kalau korang pandai sgt jd menteri….menteri pun x lepas pandai lak nak bg nasihat……sengal lodeh…. korang pkir dulu malaysia nih bagus…20thn dulu malaysia nih x de sape taw kat international…pasal wat sepang track baru lah diorg tgk….then after 10 years singapore baru nak ikut….pkir la sendiri…. So korang ckp nih semua x de substance..korang kutuk lah ape pun benda akan terjd jugak….Korang patut bg nasihat yg bijak utk meningkat negara bukan menjatuh kan lagi…. __________________

pembela negara

• rizario on Oct 20, 2009 at 6:11 am

dulu jepun kata malaysia nak buat jarum pun x boleh…sekarang lihat…kita dah ada tean F1 tu pun x bangga ke..jgn nak complan jer