Alex Yoong: Lotus F1 deputy team principal?

Alex Yoong

More updates on the new 1Malaysia F1 Team / Team Lotus / Litespeed / whatever you want to call it. Alex Yoong is going to be involved, but not as a driver. Tony Fernandes hinted that he would most likely come in as a “deputy team principal” (to handle the team while he is busy with Tune and AirAsia stuff), and could potentially be a candidate for team principal in the future since Tony previously said his intention is to step down before the 2010 season ends. And of course as most of you already know, the RM168 million initial amount invested by the team’s investors (the Tune folks and SM Nasarudin) will not be enough – its currently on an intensive hunt for sponsors. Amongst parties approached include Petronas, Genting, and MAS. The team hopes for the race car to be ready by February 2010 for testing at the SIC.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• RB NETT on Sep 27, 2009 at 6:23 am

MAS sponsoring?? Look what happen to Karamjit's future… MAS cancel the sponsorship and leave in just like that.. I have doubts that the sponsorship could last for 2 years…

• they do know that being amongst the likes of ferrari and mclaren… having 1 of the biggest flops of f1 drivers as such a prominent figure in the organization is going to induce some laughter and cause much uncertainty about their seriousness in competing in f1…

• Squawk on Sep 27, 2009 at 6:38 am

They'll need an oldie but goodie like Rubens or Fisi to help develop the car, notwithstanding Fisi's current performance in the red car.

• sudha on Sep 27, 2009 at 6:41 am

alex yoong as possible team principal, Oh NoooO!!!

• xavier lert on Sep 27, 2009 at 6:47 am

he can predict well … he can tell how to take the corner…he can tell how its gonna feel when tarmac is 50 mm away from ur butt….but he cant drive…f1 but he pay back at A1….thats a resume of good football manager if u covert it…

• DR.LAMBO on Sep 27, 2009 at 6:54 am

alex yoong as a possible team principle??

i have a better job for him

the 1Malaysia F1 super model.

that's what he do best

• old timers on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:09 am

personally, i would prefer khairy, at least he has high ambition…haha

btw, just leave people money away and i dont mind supporting this…..

• katak on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:27 am

well big dreams but no money why not ask the KWSP they have tones of money there and also the kazanah and also TNB and TENAGA just to suggest few.

ALEX is a good and careful driver and the Car is still in good conditions tht y he did'nt make the checkers flag with good placing,

Alex is good in predictions for F1, so he is good for F1 fortune teller just like the master talking fortune teller masters.

Get a mat salleh and pay them us dollar and clear the the rakyat bank account just a predictions,

• henry on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:47 am

no way alex yoong as team principal.. he gonna make this project such a waste. he can't even prove himself in F1/A1 (he didn't win A1 championship).

I rather get David Coulthard, Damon Hill or Eddie Irvine to lead Lotus F1 Team.

they gotta think about this seriously.

I believe Tony Fernandes is smart enough not to take that fella. he already mentioned, he need a strong background team leader. not a fortune teller on ESPN Asia.

• henry on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:48 am

plus, Alex Yoong probable could be the test driver for pre-season preparation, no way as driver or team principal.

• henry on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:50 am

on sponsorship, something fishy is going on. TuneGroup with their well-known mastermind TF and Naza.. I rather let Petronas themself run a team themself than let those entrepreneurs get the money from our Petronas bank.

• singh on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:04 am

Alex Yoong? The ex-driver F1 driver that qualified 110% outside qualifying time? he broke record for didnt qualify la. Aiya, pls hire some1 that is good and ambitious. He can only talk on ESPN la. :)

• y?…if take mat saleh hentam said no malaysian do the job ka….tp bile take malaysian who had some xperience u all bantai not enough bantai u all humiliate n discredit him also…alex had done so much to do us proud n pass the baton to younger driver eg Fairuz Fauzy (he also been humiliated by u all also if not mistaken), aaron lim, farique hiruman n jazeman jaafar…y malaysian? do we not strong enough, r we that bad, r we can do anything or r we hav no balls

• theanswer on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:09 am

cant say much. did alex ferguson become one of the greatest footballer b4 he become a world class manager? no! so just because alex yoong doesnt become one of the best f1 driver doesnt mean he cant be a good boss.

• ahmad norman on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:14 am

Alex Yoong can only sell yong tau foo ..but not be team pricipal..so sorry Alex

• bmpower on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:17 am

theanswer said,

September 27, 2009 @ 12:09 am

cant say much. did alex ferguson become one of the greatest footballer b4 he become a world class manager? no! so just because alex yoong doesnt become one of the best f1 driver doesnt mean he cant be a good boss.

I second that.

even Tod is not a World F1 champion.

• fadzly on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:20 am

Go ALEX YOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG!

• look at Maradona world class player but he sux at coaching/managing….moral of the story is how much success one bfore does not meant one will success forever likewise how much worthless one is doesnt meant one cannot be success..the thing is try, try, try and try… sound like motivator la plak…hehe

• Oh Alex, u do a better job as a commentor.

• iskett on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:30 am

Come on, alex is at least a decent driver, and far better than you and I will ever be..

I agree that u dont have to be a world champion to be a good principal.

Give hive a chance to do whatever he'll do first then only assess him.

Plus, he has some experience in managing a team..

• singh on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:34 am

hmmm, can Alex be d new Briatore??

• Ferruccio on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:39 am

Among Malaysians, Alex has the most exposure, experience and understanding of F1. He knows what's happening in there, and he still does.

As for his reputation, it is Malaysians, sadly, that are the ones that think lowly of their compatriot. Alex is well liked in the f1 paddock, including Bernie and gang. He is recognized as a friend of the F1 community. Don't underestimate him.

Despite him redeeming himself with stellar performance in A1GP, winning 4 races in total, some fastest lap times, helping the team finish their best championship position of 5th out of 23 world nations in season 1, a highly commendable effort which earned him recognition from the BRDC in 2006 (Bruce McLaren trophy presented to him by Martin Brundle) for his performance in A1GP, his fellow countrymen will never learn to appreciate his ability as a driver and the fact he is the best from Malaysia alongside Fairuz. We're not a grateful bunch, a sad fact about Malaysians in general.

That said, winning races is not a pre-requisite for being able to run a team. Different skill sets are required and Alex, as part owner of A1 Team Malaysia when he was there, did hint that he perhaps may have some understanding of managing a team. He is certainly currently in that role at Axle racing.

Below is an interesting write up of him,

http://www.malaysianinsider.com/index.php/opinion…

• milanRed (Member) on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:48 am

Hope he handles the team better than he handles the F1 car… The team has a lot to prove, given the condemnation they have to endure thus far.

A.Y. is just another reason for the team to perform, so it wont be just another "Malaysian First' then FLIP and FLOP into oblivion.

• Annihilated on Sep 27, 2009 at 9:24 am

Until everything is finalized.. I must say let's just wait & see.

My personal opi is.. those (read MANY a.k.a share holders) who are putting millions of their money won't be retarded enough to hire someone who cannot translate their investment to well.. fruitful investment. I'm not referring to Alex or anyone else. Anyone who is hired must have been well judged and qualified.

btw, has anyone heard about Maradona's fate? The best player has been asked to leave the helm by his fellow Argentines.

• Jawa Pendet on Sep 27, 2009 at 9:43 am

Hey we can get Tun Abdullah as next team principal since he has a lot of free time down ….he can use AIR ASIA to commute btw UK and Kepala Batas

• blaze on Sep 27, 2009 at 10:55 am

eeeeikkkkkkk….. oh please…. the driver who didnt managed to clocked a decent qualifying lap to be in a race more than once…

Sorry, yes of course he can drives faster than me, yes he has the most exposure and experience in F1 amongst us.. but does anyone here believes that if our beloved goverment didnt`pay' Paul Storddart (hope got his name right) millions of moolah last time, would he take him as one of his drivers??

Without the moolah, he cant even be the lolipop man..

Same goes with our space-man, its pay and ride.. So next time, appoint our space-man to head our space agency?

• keyboard rosak on Sep 27, 2009 at 11:18 am

F1 loser…

• flight delay. on Sep 27, 2009 at 11:48 am

This shows how much confident Tony Fernandez has in F1.

King of drama TF boasting so much – personal capacity etc etc

now of all people he's getting Alex ? Might as well get Paula Malai Ali!!! :)

I bet Paula will gather even more support for 1malaysia than Alex.!!

If U can't afford to pay+hire capable people then how u

gonna assemble a top quality team!!

Next TF might even hire Serbegeth Shebby Singh!!

• F1 pretty boy. > Ex-F1 Pretty boy.

He might do well being the coordinating middle man with his pretty face.

nemo judex in causa sua ladies.

• mystvearn on Sep 27, 2009 at 2:46 pm

…I cannot watch the 2010 season. It will be commented like:

"…there are the backmarkers Malaysia F1 team/team lotus or whatever you want to call them by being lapped second time by Alonso…"

• WULIAN LEE on Sep 27, 2009 at 4:10 pm

BMX better..

• Rassborass on Sep 27, 2009 at 4:14 pm

Negative minded Malaysian Guys please dont let your inferiority complex to condemn the best Malaysia can offer. We must be proud of our people. Try to get off the mind set of to be one of the non malaysian winners (eg fan of Man U but condemn Malaysian Football, you will never ever be part of them, u are only suckers from thier point) , something you will never ever be. You really feel malu when this english man is confused that Malaysian knows more about Man U than their own country. Please Malaysian guys have a spine.

• UTOUCHABLE on Sep 27, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Alex???????

Hmmmm…..another disastrous decision..

• Simon on Sep 27, 2009 at 5:38 pm

As expected, Tony will use his influence to get Petronas to invest in them. I would recommend otherwise to Petronas since all these while they are free from interference from outsider. I would therefore suggest that Petronas sponsor Brawn GP instead of these newbies. That way, Malaysian flag will not fly last across the finish line.

• Diablo on Sep 27, 2009 at 5:48 pm

blaze,

That was blardy 8 years ago mann. Alex wasn't ready and was manipulated by the financial backers. No adequate testing and he had Alonso and Webber as team mate. All malaysian drivers since then have learned the lesson, which is 'don't jump into f1 prematurely'. He has since moved on and redeemed his reputation as a driver.

Get over it and move on bro! Stop living in the past

• Alex Yoong is the right person. Go Malaysia go. Watch yesterday's qualifying time F1 last night. Anyone of you here watch… I don't think so.. only how to hemtam only (negaticve thinking).

• wilbrightj (Member) on Sep 27, 2009 at 6:37 pm

hey guys..give alex credit..its not easy being an F1 driver..as if u guys EVER driven an F1 car..at least he doesnt crash his car on purpose right..whatever it is..let us support the malaysian f1 team and all the crew (team principal,drivers,mechanics,engineers etc.)whoever they might be in the team..Malaysia Boleh!

• we always need beautiful faces in big programs, just like our Space program .. oh, Tony's F1 car will arrive late at the checqured flag, just like his airliners hehe

• Harvinder Singh Sidh on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:59 pm

Alex did better in A1, I feel he was 'pushed' into F1 too early in his career. Obviously he wasn't prepared.. Just because the country wanted "Malaysia's first F1 driver" to show the world. Hope its not the same case with this team, but it looks like it though. Rush job.. Hopefully for every1 it turns out well..

• Ferruccio on Sep 27, 2009 at 9:47 pm

Harvinder, I agree with your comments. And once again it does look rushed once again.. We can only hope that it all turns out ok. We can only have faith that Tony knows what he is doing

• riswanrahman on Sep 27, 2009 at 10:00 pm

ohhh … Noooo ….. Not him.

If his in … "she" also in ….

• henry on Sep 27, 2009 at 10:01 pm

harvinder, if you read Alex comment before he joined F1 then you will understand.

Peter Sauber told us before that he's not the right person to be on F1 YET. but this Alex denied and will challenge Sauber statement. so he eagerly want to join F1. even if our govt pushed him in, he got the final words.. am i right??

frankly speaking, i don't think he could be the the team principal. if assistant principal i won't mind.

to those who are too semangat M'sian. this is not charkeowteow showcase. they going to invesdt RM 300millions into this. and even Ferrari/Renault didn't take their own countryman as big boss previously.

• Harvinder Singh Sidh on Sep 27, 2009 at 11:33 pm

I agree with that as well (henry). It falls to him at the end. He should have waited till he got more experience under his belt. Even drivers like Fisichella, who is a good driver, but given a different car mid-season (Ferrari), is finding it hard to keep up with Kimi as he is not used to the car yet (although he gave Kimi a good fight in Spa).

Since then, he was involved in the A1 team (not anymore I suppose) and went to become a commentator on ESPN Star. Now he also runs the Proton Axle Team. Becoming a vice team principal for an F1 team is no easy task, and is a huge leap for him.

Unlike the Axle Team, Lotus F1 will be given RM168 million as a start-up capital, and its annual budget is about RM308 million. He has to buck-up if he joins.

• Paul Tan on Sep 27, 2009 at 11:35 pm

I think we also have to consider that as someone being sponsored, alot of the stuff he says to the press are dictated by his sponsors, etc, or whoever the "high powers" may be.

• litespeed on Sep 27, 2009 at 11:45 pm

Alex is a nice chap, and a very capable technical person in any kind of races. In our country, he is probably the most well traveled racer and he has definitely served with the echelon of race business. No Malaysian can say he's technically more experienced in F1 than Alex Yoong. I think he's appointment, if true is a good step for the young team.

• NutzeyWagen on Sep 27, 2009 at 11:50 pm

Made-for-Malaysia or Made-for-Cronies?

Any way you look at it, succeeds or fails, some cronies would have made hundreds of millions in the process, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• Ah Chye on Sep 28, 2009 at 12:50 am

Lol… look at to force india!!! Vijay Mallya took piece by piece. He is fully idiot bout F1 but he hv a "BANG" now. Mr TF just a businessman. He seeing this from his view and he's looking to the right person. A person who hv name, contact and Xperience about F1. This will help him for his business and he put some value-added. 1Malaysia. I DON'T think TF will let alex to run the team alone. TF will always aside him because he wants to fly high. He did not care bout F1.

• anwarberahi on Sep 28, 2009 at 1:14 am

Let Anwar Ibrahim become the Team Principal. He has many contacts overseas and people from west look up on him. Furthermore he is a sweet talker, everyone will hear what he says. And most importantly, he can gather thousands of people to support the team. Ok what!! Sure OK because he is the next PM

• Squawk on Sep 28, 2009 at 2:11 am

I don't think Alex will be a bad choice for this. He may not be the best behind the wheel but that doesn't mean he'll be bad behind the pit.

• mystvearn on Sep 28, 2009 at 2:13 am

Some people may be pessimistic because Malaysian's gun down Malaysians.

The only problem is that, we have no idea who is actually running the team. And from past experience, whenever the government gets involved in these kind of things, its more like half baked ideas

• do naza and tune have really put in the money?.. or put the figure first and let petronas pump in the real money?

not accusation, just questions.

• Ferruccio on Sep 28, 2009 at 2:56 am

I would prefer that the ring leader , Tony be the team principal or at least be the 'puppet master' regardless of alex's involvement. Having Alex on board will be good for PR (internationally and hopefully locally). He is good with the media and interacts well with people.

His managerial capabilities is unknown but wouldn't really matter if Tony is at the helm. You want someone who has invested his own money to be at the helm as you know he won't screw it up

• Most people here blame about alex but dont forget, he is not drive ferrari

• Hadi1975 on Sep 28, 2009 at 3:26 am

Anwarberahi i u in the wrong place lah….

• Hadi1975 on Sep 28, 2009 at 3:27 am

Sori typo…

Anwarberahi i think ur in the wrong place lah……

• informalaysia on Sep 28, 2009 at 3:58 am

i second that, hadi… anwarberahi could you please stop it already… i'm no anwar supporter, but i think you can take your self-degrading hatred somewhere else and not in here…

• lanuncyber on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:04 am

Alex Yoong as the F1 deputy team principal? oh please!

He didn't even finish a season race with Minardi long time ago. how could he possibly became a commentator; commenting about circuits that he didn't had any experience on.

we don't need cool looks guy with low skills. we need old messy old man with loads of experience in F1; like Jean Todt, Brawn, Flavio Briatore. and imho, even Fernandes is not a suitable guy for this F1 field. this is motor racing we are talking about, not business.

• Ferruccio on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:40 am

lanuncyber,

regardless of whether you like Alex or not, get your facts right first please,

He he did the last 3 season 2001 races with Minardi and then did almost the complete season 2002. Mind you without sufficient test time in a F1 car, alongside team mates who were well familiar with the car ie. Alonso and webber

And how do you know he has no knowledge of the circuits he comments on? You don't need to have driven at those circuit in an F1 car to know them.

You can do it in other cars. Bear in mind Alex raced in Europe at many of those circuits before joining F1, in F3 and F3000, to name a few. Bear in mind he also raced in GP2 Asia which traveled to some of the newer middle eastern F1 circuits.

He has also raced champcars, Porsche Cup (which he excelled) and A1GP which he excelled too.

He didn't jump into F1 right after representing malaysia in water skiing in SEA games!

He is well travelled and have driven on many of the circuits even before his foray in F1, a normal thing for any F1 aspirant. Thats how he knows the circuits. If he doesn't know a new circuit, he can just rent a car to learn the features of a new circuit and extrapolate his F1 car knowledge to the experience. It's not rocket science.

Alex is Alex and we all know how negative his F1 venture turned out to be. He's not a Schumacher but he ain't half as bad as people OUTSIDE THE SPORT make him out to be. He was ill-prepared to join F1 something that I'm sure he regrets to this day.

Do you know that he is the first Malaysian to have raced in the Le Mans series in 2007 thanks to A1TM support? Did you know that at the prestigious Le Mans 24 race that year he finished 8th overall with his 2 teammates, 5th in LMP1 class. The only LMP1 cars faster than him were the big time Audi r10 and Peugeot 908 diesel factory cars.

Having said that, give credit when it's due and do some research first before commenting.

• eadgez on Sep 28, 2009 at 5:08 am

just wait and see. there's no use talkin like crap over here.

• let him be PR face for the team…

bukan hebat pun bawa keta…

• coolguru on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:22 am

Wow… a failed F1 driver can be potentially a team principal?

If I'm Tony, I wouldn't even trust him coming near my car! I'd hire some monkeys to run the show – as the funding won't continue beyond the startup – guess, guess, guess…

• lanuncyber on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:28 am

Ferruccio

thanks dude for sharing loads of info here with us. but, no matter how good his history was, people only look on how he performs now. people don't give a damn about how he excelled in his previous races. the only questions is, "how much experience he does have in F1?" He started his career in F1 with Mark Webber, and now, where is he? and where is Webber?

F1 involves a lot of money. at least for the early stages, it is good enough if we can gain a lot of experience. but, don't make it like our national football team, still giving a reason of "gaining experience" until now, with nothing yet to be proud of.

should we involve in F1 for at least, let say, 5 years, the money that will be spent could give quite an impact for a small country like Malaysia. and can we still give a reason of "gaining experience" for all that?

imho, should we want to join a serious motor racing like F1, we have to be serious in every single aspects of the race. that involves everything, team boss, tech director, engineers, mechanics, everything. and that will need a lot of money. we should spend the money wisely, putting good and experienced people in the team, not just fetching people here and there, put them in a room to discuss and race.

if we can import foreign coaches for our football teams, why not F1? it is not like we don't trust our own Malaysian people or not being patriotic, but we need the best people, the people with damn lot of experience in that field, to handle their business. this is not karting, this is F1. there is room, but only for the best.

• OMG….tat loser again. buat malu kaum, bangsa dan negara!

• Leonardo on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:41 am

Ferrucio – I agree with you – there are too many armchair critics here who are out of their depth when discussing F1. They don't know their facts and just jump onto the 'critize bandwagon'.

Paul, Lotus have distanced themselves from team Litespeed, who are ex-Lotus staff, and just run an F3 outfit.

• mycar on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:35 am

I trust Alex can do the job, but Tony needs to teach him how to do this business….

• Mpower on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:51 am

habis la wang rakyat kita…

• Ferruccio on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:53 am

Alex needs to show good managerial abilities. Doesn't matter if he is a world champion or not. The stakes are high

• Alek Noballs Yung on Sep 28, 2009 at 8:42 am

Squawk said,

September 27, 2009 @ 6:11 pm

I don’t think Alex will be a bad choice for this. He may not be the best behind the wheel but that doesn’t mean he’ll be bad behind the pit.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/26/alex-yoong-lotus-f1…

He may not be the best? Why use word may? As if he is one of the best? He is one of the worst in F1 history.

• Pitstop on Sep 28, 2009 at 9:04 am

Poor AlexY always become a punching bag. What we need is

to assemble a team of young as well as experienced lineup.

This blend will make a winning team.At the moment details

are still vague since No.1 we have not even got the fundings.

Sometimes promises of millions of RM can be made but until we see

the cash in the F1Msia accounts then only we can proceed to stage 2.

TonyF may be the team principle but he still needs advice from

a pool of experienced managers. Just hope they won't be CON-sultants instead.!!!

• azrai on Sep 28, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Maybe the job is coffee boy.

• Cyrus Low on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:26 pm

They make no difference whether MAS or Petronas or the Government become sponsors, becomes all these local giant companies are owned the government!

Wasting lots of money -168 millions!?

Why dont they just use this amount of money to reimburse the automotive tax

so all the Malaysian could buy cheaper cars

or

use it as a subsidy to support VW to build plant in Malaysia, so thousands of jobs can be made to the nations.

Making up a One Malaysia F1 team, hiring the already riches & well-income Engineers and Race drivers and spurring the poor malaysian money??

Pathetic!

• kemosabe on Sep 28, 2009 at 5:43 pm

Not sure if Alex could do the job or not, but imagine what Martin Brundle gonna talk about him next year on the pit walls.

This is beginning to look like a joke, and a very expensive one too.

Paul, if you could do post the job vacancies available for this team. Saw them in the Star newspaper today.

• R0NaLD0 on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:59 pm

Apalah u guys, Talk and criticise ppl like masters, i think can award u guys gold medal at olympics. Hantam Alex sux lah, bad lah, no skill lah. cant qualify lah. Just look back at yourself what do u have? Kopi-O license? Get your D driving license also need to Kautim JPJ. Atleast Alex is the first Malaysian that have a super license and drive a F1 car. and what car do u all drive? kancil? Viva? savvy?

In F1 a good driver need a good car in order to perform. I doubt schummacer will become F1 champion if he is driving a Minardi…. The same thing goes if put u guys in a ferarri do u think u can qualify within 107%? forever cant reach the point.(duno crash where)

I remember a proverb – Tong kosong bunyi paling bising.

Peace 1Malaysia.

• Put some one better than Alex yong as deputy principal. If not, it's gonna be very funny with all sort of screw ups.F1 become comedy time.

With millions of dollars at stake, we cannot afford to make even half a mistake.

• carneo (Member) on Sep 28, 2009 at 11:21 pm

I think better to get Mika Hakkinen as F1 race consultant he is now retired he have the time to takecare the Team. Can also try to invite Tengku Djan to test the F1 at least we have Malaysian as backup driver.

• kelisapadi on Sep 28, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Briatore, Todt, Ron Dennis was never an F1 driver. But they built great teams.

TF was never a pilot, but he built AirAsia from scratch…It's all about teamwork and support not only monetary but also from fans.

Come on..have some faith…

• carneo (Member) on Sep 28, 2009 at 11:42 pm

Oh i almost forget one important people to recoment he is our Dato Michelle Yeoh hubby Jean Todt, he is now also retired can ask him to joint our F1 …yey

• makan makan on Sep 28, 2009 at 11:43 pm

cyrus low..

so how about Petronas sponsoring sauber team..why you nevers say it waste of public money..proton sponsoring IRC..another rounds of waste public money..a million thousand to develop sport..again, waste of public money..

why some people fond to wear $ 600 Levi's jean instead of $50.00 cheap, local jeans..and the balance of more than $500.00 can simply used for other meaningful purpose..like buying text book for your kids…buying thousand RM of Rolex watch..why..does $100 casio doesnt show correct time???

cyrus..now doubt..your thinking really LOW

• Ferruccio on Sep 28, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Tengku Djan has never raced single seaters professionally. He raced sports cars and so is not experienced enough to drive.

However he is a qualified chassis engineer and that should be useful in the team

• osh_kosh on Sep 29, 2009 at 12:30 am

owh really? Good for u Alex… *sigh*

• daniel on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:47 am

If we think this is stupid idea I think we should condem those introduce this project. ALEX only want to cari makan sahaja.

• RH PumpkinKing on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:02 am

carneo,

Jean Todt can never be any F1 Team principle or involved in any F1 team activity now. He is the candidate for F1 chairman.

Mika Hakinen, he still have some commercial contract with McLaren and Mercedes.

Same goes for Schumi, he can never involve in any other race car team except Ferrari.

I agree to some of the folks above, Alex might not be a successful F1 driver.

But we can never deny his exposure on serious racing, regardless of open wheel race, stock car or purpose built race car.

And if you guys pay attention to his F1 commentary, he did explain the racing situation and race well, this is something ordinary people like us cannot just walk in and talk. Even Chris Goodwin and Sleve Slater do not give full comments on how a F1 car racing is all about.

As Tengku Djan, he is good in stock car, open wheel racing, never heard about his involvement.

my 2 cents, first time posting also.

• rally_fan on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:07 am

i'm not big fan of alex, nor do i have any reason to condemn him.. but one things for sure.. he got the short end of the straw with minardi.. firstly, he never came from a karting bckgrd.. he also never got the 1st class treatment during his formative years in motorsport like some of the well-to-do kids today..

i remember him for his gutsy performances in A1, and being probably the most successful Asian driver in the series, outperforming even the likes of Japan, winning races, and finishing in the top5 of the championship.

i think all who criticise him for no good reason are just talking out of their behind.

• Why waste money buy imported stuff, buy local madelah. Why waste money study overseas, study local U lah. Why waste money watch EPL, watch local footballlah. Why waste money holiday overseas, holiday in the countrylah….

• Couldn't agree more with rally_fan, give Alex a chance.

• paxter on Sep 29, 2009 at 9:50 am

isnt mike gascone the team principal? alex being his deputy is logical tho. Although i am no Fan of this idea due to its shoddy financial background and it seems like the worse possible time to be in F1.

People need to realize that brawns success is partly due to their teams history and formidable people at its helm. It isnt a new team its a team that has been around for 50 years even before honda, and BAR… Brawn is infact decended from Tyrrell which is a damn formidible f1 team.

Lotus Although was part of f1 from the 50s to the 80s isn't really represented in the coming Team lotus F1 we are just using the name. Its more of a spiritual successor than a real successor. And with the attempt to base the future HQ in sepang instead of the uk we are actually killing our own selves… cause Europe is where most of the top racing engineers live, and where half of the races which are back to back are situated… they just made a logistical nightmare for the young team… sure one day some aero kit will kena sekat somewhere and don't arrive on time lol…. even toyota, force india and honda(dulu) had their F1 hq in europe… It just made financial seance to base it there.

Lets be realistic la ok…. they say we get petronas to train the engineers ok… fine but the R&D and the man power needed to fund and race a credible f1 team is beyond the means of this so called corporations that own this team. And the initial budget under 200 mil ringgit is BS…. atm the most cash strap f1 team spends 65mil euros (force india) http://www.f1network.net/boards/read/s491.htm?936… that is twice more than the supposed budget for Team lotus f1… does it make seance? this team needs to buy everything new from recruiting 200+ personnel to buying the motor homes and equipment…. and the tires alone cost 12k dollars per set x5 sets x 2 per race weekend…. tak logic la…. you seriously telling me that this team is so financially savvy that they are actually working in the budget with no money going missing? there is more money somewhere which isn't being shown… that is the main reason i am against this team.

anyway all kutuk alex but i bet 75% of you all never even watch A1 when he drove which when he shined he was really interesting to watch, nor F1 for that matter… which btw he did suck and was thrice out of the qualifying time but one thing you fail to also point out was-

Team minardi was driving a 3year old car shit bucket and his co drivers didnt fair any better… and his team mates was Alonso and Webber…..

malaysians = talk cockers, and do nothing when it really matters.

• TheKHAI on Sep 29, 2009 at 5:32 pm

These demented gov can't be helped. Sacrificing the peoples money for a short term team, and then sacrificing the lame team by hiring a lame ex-driver. All for the sake of 1 Malaysia (Uweeekkkk!!!!)

• positive thinker on Sep 29, 2009 at 5:35 pm

haha..those negative thinkers..the money comes from the sponsors come on la. and this is one way to promote malaysia. we could learn something from the F1 itself. our flag will be in every race from now on (is it?). our local companies name also. think of the return from the tourism sector and also the wide coverage of the publicity to the companies. now people will know that these companies are from malaysia (i believed some dont event know where malaysia is). this is the time to introduce malaysian companies to the world as a team. it will be good for the marketing strategy. save peoples money as u all said haha. i dont really care if we win or lose because we're competing against the best in the world. its like watching malaysian football team vs man utd. u know they'll end up losing, but at least we try our best. SIC is built with the understanding that it will incur losses. if u look at it directly, SIC didnt generate enough income to cover the cost incurred. but indirectly, it has proven by introducing our nation to the world and the return can be realized from the tourism sector. and that is only once a year event. imagine if we're in every race. and that is huge..have some 1malaysia spirit guys…and please stop complaining as if u know everything

• mr_3m on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:26 pm

1Malaysia F1 Team, all set to be another fiasco for Malaysia Bolehland?

Only time will tell….

hahahaha it will be nice to watch from afar and like someone said here before, time and again, someone somewhere 'up the corridors of power' will 'milk' something out of this from those dumb enough to be the sponsors….. or 'forced' to be sponsors…

hahahahhahhahahahahha…. it's such a pity… we have so many other things to do in life and yet we think F1 is the right thing to go for NOW… again, another case of "syok sendiri" syndrome…

• anwarberahi on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:44 pm

Vote for ME!! If I become PM, there will be no income tax, free petrol, no more big projects, I'll sell Petronas Tower and Putrajaya. Surely I will sell off this F1 Team. All the money will be given to rakyat. Because the money is yours.

Make sure you vote for ME!!!. I'm going to be the best PM ever.

REFORMASI

Anwar

• Squawk on Sep 29, 2009 at 9:58 pm

Alek Noballs Yung said,

September 28, 2009 @ 12:42 am

Squawk said,

September 27, 2009 @ 6:11 pm

I don’t think Alex will be a bad choice for this. He may not be the best behind the wheel but that doesn’t mean he’ll be bad behind the pit.

He may not be the best? Why use word may? As if he is one of the best? He is one of the worst in F1 history.

—————————–

LOL! That's subjective. Some will argue with you that Monteiro, Nelsinho or Badoer takes that honor. Btw, read this list – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Formula_One_…

• Shaif on Sep 29, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Good comment Paxter…is there any research or survey conducted on cost incurred. The cost covered by the private sector or will Gov. bail out is there any problem in the future like what happened to Renong and MAS.

Its a good idea but is it really necessary to spend millions just for the sake of putting Malaysian flag on F1, or will it be justifiable to spend millions for the sake of building more universities, hospitals, transportation like LRT, Komuter which is left behind compared with our neighbour Singapore, Korea, or even China.

Hope it will not become 'menang sorak, kampung tergadai'.

• a_hope on Sep 29, 2009 at 10:46 pm

Has previous alex yong minardi lesson yet to be learned. Having think big is good, but we got to learn to crawl b4 going for walk. Proton has being 20+ years, with gov help, it's still struggle to stay in business, mis-manage, corruption and many failed Mega Billion projects we have seen so far is because of name of 'Malaysia Boleh'. do you think malaysia is really ready for this F1 event? look at the team, mostly make up of foreign engineers. Wht do we get from these money draining event? does proton can become world class car manufacture? more tourist travel to malaysia?

Sadly most worry is when gov drain out more $, eventually it would come to, cut the patrol sponsor and then patrol price up, food price up. who would suffer? rakyat is the one who suffer.

• Baron on Oct 01, 2009 at 10:06 pm

I suspect Shahidan Kassim will fight for position to replace Tony..he like to fight for top post in any sport department.

• 2alexparia on Jan 12, 2010 at 3:26 am

ALEX YOONG IS A FORTUNE TELLER.. HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH

• BUS-MINI on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:40 am

"…Tony previously said his intention is to step down before the 2010 season ends. "

HAHAHA…. his reputation worst than Tiger Woods now … no where to hide his face later if Lotus continues like that

Stick to what you do best Tony…. running RM0.99 airlines and squeezing everyone in like bus mini.