New Megane Renault Sport: details and photos

renault-megane-rs-1

The latest generation Megane has been given the Renault Sport touch. Under the hood is a 250 horsepower twin-scroll turbocharged 2.0 litre inline-4 motor that puts out 340Nm of torque at 3,000rpm, with 80% of that available from as low as 1,900rpm. That puts it well over the power figures that the Mk6 Golf GTI manages to make.

The engine is mated to a 6-speed manual transmission, and provides for a 0 to 100km/h acceleration time of about 6.1 seconds. The 2.0 litre turbo engine is claimed to be 25% new compared to the Megane F1 Team R26 engine. It has new intake ports, reinforced pistons and conrods, new air-air and water-oil intercoolers, sodium-cooled valves, and new piston ring carriers.

renault-megane-rs-2

The Megane RS is one of the few C-segment hot hatches that actually gives the buyer the option of two chassis configurations – the Sport chassis which is more of an everyday hot hatch kinda thing, and the Cup chassis which is more track-focused, perhaps like the Civic Type R. The Cup option even has an optional mechanical LSD provided by GKN Driveline, which is seen as something that’s getting abit rare lately with cheaper performance cars. The pure LSD is slowly being replaced by e-LSDs.

There’s also a cool tool called the Renault Sport Monitor, which is basically an on-board telemetry system. It provides various readings (controllable via the steering wheel) such as turbo boost pressure, oil temp, brake status, real-time engine performance data, a G-meter, a stopwatch with memory functions and various counter features such as 0 to 100km/h acceleration times and 400m times.

Look after the jump for a full gallery and video of the car.
[zenphotopress number=99 album=556]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fuh..kagum..such a beauty

can on board telemetry installed in other car?

• j.o.e.l on Oct 17, 2009 at 1:45 am

Cool…but smiling face again??why cars nowadays like to smile one eh?i wonder!

• daus_usop on Oct 17, 2009 at 1:55 am

Waa, really damn nice car lei….

• Any idea how much will it cost? RM250,000?

• rexis on Oct 17, 2009 at 2:03 am

The middle pipe very pretty ler wei..

Anychange that it will cost like a picasso…

• stephenstreets on Oct 17, 2009 at 2:10 am

The only hatch back that is much cooler than VW SCIRROCO GT !!

Drooling already!

• adlanb20 on Oct 17, 2009 at 2:37 am

Retains the megane big ass… but overall a really nice car…

• shait, one of the good looking cars!

• BeRrY on Oct 17, 2009 at 3:11 am

Pergghhh~~~

kawaii!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

wan one!!!!

(but no money)

• It uses H beam rear suspension isn't it? Izzit better than torsion beam? Cool car btw

• lowprofile on Oct 17, 2009 at 3:27 am

at least it has more coupe shape than hatchback shape :)

• kobealex on Oct 17, 2009 at 4:02 am

can't say much about the front but this car has a very hawt n exotic ass!!! o.O

• This is so hot!!!!!

• White Jack on Oct 17, 2009 at 4:31 am

I like this Bumblebee !!!

• droll on Oct 17, 2009 at 4:40 am

nice! But i can't imagine what kind of view you get with that itsy bitsy rear window!

• Ariff on Oct 17, 2009 at 5:01 am

nowaday's cars are all smiley coz many ppl ady forget how to smile.haha!!cool rims!!and it looks so much cooler than the ol' Megane!!

• lambov12 on Oct 17, 2009 at 5:02 am

nice !!!

• mitlanevo on Oct 17, 2009 at 5:17 am

another 2-thumbs-up kind of car !!!

• Untouchable on Oct 17, 2009 at 5:26 am

How much the damage for RM????????

• woooo, can fight scirocco!

both look equally beautiful, but wonder if it comes here will it be overpriced?

and….WHY NO AIRPLANE HANDBRAKE? thats the cool thing about renault man.

• arrrgh……..wat da headache. Scirocco or Megane, Megane or Scirocco. Neo CPS je la, got no money daa

• lchan on Oct 17, 2009 at 7:11 am

Awesome car…..so..what stupid price is Tan Chong going to put it at if they bring it in. Actually..they are stupidest bunch of idiots for totally pricing renaults way off the charts.

• Nippon Painter Hense on Oct 17, 2009 at 7:43 am

Scirocco or Megane ? i'd take this one definitely without second thoughts ….rare beauty …..front side back all great views arhhhhh when i close my eyes my Satria image comes to mind F%%&!

• zaff1984 on Oct 17, 2009 at 7:56 am

wow… hot. but i like VW interior more…

• Kamyongkai on Oct 17, 2009 at 2:54 pm

this should be the way how cars should be made.. unlike the typical blood sucking Ts and Hs.

• FAReast on Oct 17, 2009 at 5:41 pm

This trend of smiley face car is nice.

proton should have one… =)

• Overall, best looking hot hatch sor far. Also best performance.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 17, 2009 at 6:08 pm

macam mazda 3.

• Renault Megane 10 – 0 Proton Satria Neo

• wei na . what are u try to compare wiz stupid lah u.. neo is compact car those magane sport car lol look at the power look at tech dam u kutuk kete malaysia jerk kot kot u pakai kancil jerk… ape da… nak compare compare lah dgn ford ker yang rs baru adil nih satria neo lak…. dol

• na said,

October 17, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

Renault Megane 10 – 0 Proton Satria Neo

……………………………………………………………………….

CORRECTION

Renault Megane 0 – 10 Proton Satria Neo

• NAH KAW on Oct 17, 2009 at 10:28 pm

TAW TAKOT,hahaha

• na said,

October 17, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

Renault Megane 10 – 0 Proton Satria Neo

……………………………………………………………..

correction!!

Renault Megane 0 – 10 Proton Satria Neo

• jason_mufc on Oct 17, 2009 at 11:03 pm

na, I don't think that's a fair comment….. my god how can u compare Neo with Megane RS? Pure insanity….. diff engine capacity, diff segment and diff target market….. jeez…. the Neo might match the Megane on corners but on the overall scale? The Megane has frickin LSD, a TURBO engine, CUP CHASSIS…. a better interior and all that la…. this car is gonna cost north of RM230k and U're comparing THIS car with a RM60k car?? ARE YOU EFFING SERIOUS???? Be realistic la…. pls think before commenting wei…. gawd…. u wanna compare, den compare with FD2-R, Mk6 Golf GTi and Focus RS…. thank god Paultan knows what he's talking about…..

Anyways, enough of that, the Megane is an absolute banger of a car!!! This is pure enthusiast specs…. in your face flappy paddles!!! People who have TRUE SKILLS will have stick shift anytime…. And unlike the R26, I think it is quite a looker :) RHD anytime soon?

• en9ineer on Oct 18, 2009 at 12:14 am

I used this car in Need For Speed Shift. Awesome car it is

• jason_mufc on Oct 18, 2009 at 1:14 am

Haha dem funny la u na…. good cover line tho it's not true again :)

• mingyuyu on Oct 18, 2009 at 2:14 am

Front looks weird but the back looks better than all those coupes and hatchbacks…

• saki77 on Oct 18, 2009 at 2:30 am

I think na only joking la….there's no seriousness in his comments…give that guy a break laa…hehe

• every time when proton subject comes on, sure the forum very "hot"…

• l3ryan on Oct 18, 2009 at 12:52 pm

Lovely!!

• Micheal on Oct 18, 2009 at 10:22 pm

yah…

i wud buy one but…

i prefer impreza better…

• tau pun aku ketuk jugak kepala nak komen tgk dulu kete ape ??.. magane tu fifth gear presenter cakap best , top gear pun cakap best .. tapi tu lah tak mampu cik nak beli tau mahei but nice car lor…..

• Kalau Proton buat kereta dia macam ni..mesti smua orng sayanggg kat Proton.

(harap2 la next gen satria neo cool as this car..;) )

• torque (Member) on Oct 19, 2009 at 4:53 am

lchan said,

October 16, 2009 @ 11:11 pm

Awesome car…..so..what stupid price is Tan Chong going to put it at if they bring it in. Actually..they are stupidest bunch of idiots for totally pricing renaults way off the charts.

I couldn't agreed with u more on that issue…and it does not even had anything to do with the tax…it juz that they simply and stupidly put a silly price on it which I see resulted many potential customer ending up snatching the VW hot hatch. Juz take a look around and u'll see a bunch of the MK5 Golf GTi driving pass by u…so Tan Chong should realise this…we Malaysian have the money to spend but we ain't a bunch of IDIOTS like they are!!!

If this model do made its way here and if Tan Chong place the price wrong…they'll end up losing again (and again) and more to VW since the new MK6 and the Scirocco will hit at our shore end of this year!! It'll all going back to square one again for Tan Chong…which a pity considering this hot hatch is waaaaaaaaaay much hotter than the Scirocco and even the Focus RS. Juz my 2 cents and drive safely guys….peace!

• shah ko nak beli ke price tag mcm tu… soklan die beli dulu neo lah kalau nak sport compact car.. lenjan sampai tak leh blah… kalau buat gitu proton leh ke untung.. berapa ramai yang nak beli… make a car is hard thig kene tgk market rakyat gak… kalau semua gaji 10k ke atas okeh pasti maju..

• azrai on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:40 pm

Nissan 350z wannabe.

• nice…when will proton do design like this for satria…i don't like satria current design…just like 'kudung bontot'… if proton just put engine campro nand normal seat, i sure it can put price below 60K… all i just care is about design…the speed i don't care much since hiway limit only 110kmj only.

• ajaibman on Oct 21, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Remember,

Satria Neo Rally WRC spec using bored up 1.8 Waja engine which is = Renault.

Savvy also using Renault Engine

The one who bashed Proton, Lu Pikir la sendiri

• wow…blindspot!