Satria Neo Super 2000 clocks in 6th fastest at Rally of China 2009 shakedown

neo-s2000-rally-china-2009

The Proton R3 Rally Team is in China this weekend for the Rally of China 2009 in the Longyou countryside. They had their shakedown yesterday and managed to clock the 6th fastest time of the day with their Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car.

6th is a pretty good result considering out of a total of 82 competitors, 50 consisted of turbocharged Mitsubishis and Subarus which have an advantage due to their higher torque in the Longyou countryside’s mountainous terrain. The Satria Neo Super 2000’s 2.0 litre Renault engine is normally aspirated so it has less torque but it makes its 280 horses through high-revving and an aggressive tune instead.

“The main thing is to get a good clean run here, maybe not go as quick as it can go and try and get to the end with no problems,” said driver Alister McRae, who will be racing tomorrow with his navigator Bill Hayes. Leg 1 of the Rally of China 2009 will span a total of 40 kms. Look after the jump for some photos from the shakedown today.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=614]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• msian on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:14 am

wow!good good!

• taboogen on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:17 am

impressive

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:20 am

pathethic

• sayapdewa on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:20 am

nice nice!! btw renault engine ma..so ashamed with proton body but heart of renault..

• wow that is a good one. best of luck

• S.Roma on Nov 14, 2009 at 10:32 am

Dear Paul,

Any namelist and what is the car that they are using from no 1 to 10?

i wanna see how good the NA vs Turbo !

• juara on Nov 14, 2009 at 10:53 am

Maybe Proton shd focus on the Rally instead of F1.
    At least being 6th. is much better than being a back marker.
    All the best!!

• PrideandJoy on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:02 am

England has Italian as their football team manager.

Singapore has a lot foreign player playing for their national team.

Seems that they dont have problem with that.

And if Proton R3 Rally team manage to win (finger crossed here) they announced "Proton S2000" not "Proton S2000 with Renault heart."

• redfueler on Nov 14, 2009 at 1:07 pm

good job…

• Luv this on Nov 14, 2009 at 1:47 pm

Seems that Alister did not push it to the limit yet based on his statement “The main thing is to get a good clean run here, maybe not go as quick as it can go and try and get to the end with no problems,”

This car really has a big potential next year to be in the podium finish!

Good luck Proton! GTH with the bloody bashers!

• lightning mcqueen on Nov 14, 2009 at 2:12 pm

basher do not put up ur comment here. What do u want? Proton has done a good job. This proove that neo is a good car la, in the hand of a good driver it can pergorm well. I wonder if they put in their new campro turbo, i think they can get better result la.

• pennstater on Nov 14, 2009 at 2:30 pm

wow thats a good news! congratulations! can myvi do the same? viva perhaps?

• pennstater on Nov 14, 2009 at 2:44 pm

"It's not going to be easy though; there's a very strong top ten this weekend. There's Cody Crocker, Katsu Taguchi, Emma Gilmour, Dean Herridge, David Higgins, Jusso Valimaki and Juha Salo, so I think there will be some good scraps."

• sadly, they're wasting McRea's talent. he should go to a better team and win championships

• g-mie on Nov 14, 2009 at 3:32 pm

kejayaan yang boleh dibanggakan.. ni adalah salah satu usaha untuk memperkenalkan jenama Proton ke peringkat antarabangsa.. SYABAS!

• angel on Nov 14, 2009 at 4:01 pm

Satria Neo with Renault 2.0 engine is so damn nice, can reach 6th place..

but current Neo in the road is rubbish.. lol.. ;p

• WhiteFox on Nov 14, 2009 at 4:18 pm

Keep it UP!!!

• Littlefire on Nov 14, 2009 at 4:56 pm

This prove that good driver can make a lot of effect..

Anyhow, i just felt that Satra Neo is just a wolf under a sheep skin.. As we all knew the engine below is not Campro 1.6.

Since Proton so proud of Campro, why not use the new CPS engine to run it? Or turbocharged the Campro? Funny izzit? Huh..

This prove that our engine is not on par with others and have to use the renault engine to run…

• Littlefire on Nov 14, 2009 at 4:57 pm

Sorry no offence, but i would like Campro to modify to 2.0 and see how they perform.

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 14, 2009 at 5:01 pm

sayapdewa said,

nice nice!! btw renault engine ma..so ashamed with proton body but heart of renault..

——————

pennstater said,

wow thats a good news! congratulations! can myvi do the same? viva perhaps?

Ok, to be fair, Myvi can install Renault 2.0 engine (or mitsu lancer turbo perhaps). But can Perodua do it?..shame on it..

Gud luck Proton R3. at least one crucial podium finish this year? I hope that

• bundi on Nov 14, 2009 at 5:07 pm

it is not a shame..it was fantastic!could you imagine perodua/naza take part in rally?not!

• Littlefire on Nov 14, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Myvi sister in Japan have a model call Daihatsu Boon X4 which have a lot of ppl modify for rallying in Japan. They are under 1.3L category. You can check the net for more info. Besides that in Malaysia rally, the Perodua team also gain a lot of points. But due to not enough budjet, they can only travel short distance.

Daihatsu & Suzuki are both small car category rally. You can see a lot of swift sport rally at oversea also.

• Bravo!

• daus_usop on Nov 14, 2009 at 6:31 pm

Waaa. good. Frankly said, I'm drive neo and even though this car run on the 1.6 engine, I can feel the power driving it plus with the Lotus handling. Very cun even I take a cornering with a high speed. I think Neo is the best product ever from proton. No regret to own Neo. I think now Proton is developing their own base Campro engine. 1st they come out with Campro 1.6, Lter on Campro 1.6 with turbo sharger and Soon we can see the high performance engine developed by proton. Bravo Proton…… And we as Malaysian would like to see that Proton will become one of the big player in the automotive industry.

• autojohndoe on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:12 pm

another bad news to the basher….

HAHAHA

• kimi_ on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:17 pm

autojohndoe said,

HAHAHA

————————————–

NO, Proton need bashers like us to improve and motivated to do better….If not, they will be hardly survive……

• unknown device on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Basher never learn..they just want keep bashing no matter what.. anyway although with renault engine but people will notice Proton…good for promoting our car to the international

• Annihilated on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:42 pm

Impressive run neo..

For those who are comparing standard Campro with this Renault engine, I believe you haven't watch rally that much have you? Or do you know anything rallying?

It's rally for goodness' sake, everyone is putting a heavily mod-ed engine. They hv pushed it to the max specs allowed. 2.0 is the max liter allowed in S2000. Do you think that tiny 1.6 can be increased to 2.0 with the wanted reliability and efficiency? In the end, it's up to chasis dynamic to tackle the twist and turn in the rally course.

• stoopid basher got not point no more.

• raies on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:52 pm

yaa…yaa…stupid bangkai=basyer……

• old man on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:03 pm

Good job! keep it up!

• Good to see a partnership btwn Proton and Mcrae even though it is not Colin. But having said that; Alister is no slouch either.

Go on proton, kick other the Ebos and Implezas b#**s.

• old timers on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Littlefire said,

November 14, 2009 @ 8:57 am

Sorry no offence, but i would like Campro to modify to 2.0 and see how they perform.

————

without a good chassic can they perform in good result??

Why Perodua NEVER NEVER NEVER come with this rally? using Myvi or Myvi Wagon ok what.. sure fall into the drain…

• Kau Bikin Hatiku Pan on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:28 pm

To all P1 basher…

Where is your beloved Myvi or kelisa?????????

i thought if they join this rally, P2 got no.16…

• autojohndoe on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:54 pm

OK.. keep bashing…

I never knew that there is good intention behind…

people say… Hate means love… isnt it?

• mechanical (Member) on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:28 pm

We Malaysian have experiences build Lotus Europa S body shell & Design, Build & Manufacture an Aircraft parts for BOEING & AIRBUS, why not you (PROTON), build Hi-Performance Engine. Hope, engine & technical team are from Malaysia.

• kubuddy on Nov 14, 2009 at 10:24 pm

Proton can build campro, but in order to win Proton using competitor engine. proton spend for …….

• mu_77 on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Some of u saying Neo is rubbish??? I think the chasis is one of the best in the hatchback category…… Honestly a stock 1.6 campro is rubbish!!! If modify, u could be surprised with its performance…. Try it urself….

P/S: If neo is rubbish, myvi is ultimate trash!!!

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:14 pm

S.Roma said,
    November 14, 2009 @ 2:32 am

Dear Paul,

Any namelist and what is the car that they are using from no 1 to 10?

i wanna see how good the NA vs Turbo !

S.Roma, go to this link for more details. http://nutzeywagen-comerainorshine.blogspot.com/2…

• mengQ on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:31 pm

"The Satria Neo Super 2000’s 2.0 liter RENAULT engine…"

=.= nothing to be too happy about unless it's :

"The Satria Neo Super 2000’s 2.0 liter CAMPRO engine…"

Anyway, good job!

& please la people, don't compare this with Myvi and Viva, it's like totally in the wrong category. -.-"

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:49 pm

i support abarth rally team

• Qayyum on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:53 pm

i glad that neo finish at no6.. no matter what… good job!

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 15, 2009 at 12:06 am

Paul, the shakedown was held on Thursday 12Nov and not yesterday. Yesterday's event was SS1 (part of Leg 1 – only one SS was held). Today, Saturday 14 Nov, they will continue with SS2 and through.

Up to the present, Alister McRae is doing well and will be starting SS4 soon.

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 15, 2009 at 12:17 am

Paul, SS1 aka Super Special Stage, was held on man-made course stretching 2.1km and 2 cars are flagged off side by side at a time. Out of 82 competing cars, 51 are in APRC category, and the REAL racing starts today.

FYI, weather is cloudy and gloomy with occasional rain, temperature at a low 5 degrees. Brrrr………………

• ariff on Nov 15, 2009 at 12:57 am

mu_77 said,
    P/S: If neo is rubbish, myvi is ultimate trash!!!
    —————————————–
    amen!!!

• I think the Renault 2.0 is the modified version of the Renault 1.8 that we use in the previous Waja.

I think it would be ok for them to start with renault engine. they can switch to Proton's engine when it is available.

• gen2lama on Nov 15, 2009 at 1:18 am

sighhh…even TMJ own and drive neo…(saw many times in JB)…heavily tinted balck neo , pink neo, and 'belang2' one….

i think TMJ like his neo very much….

he can buy what he want, (dont ask where he get the money)…but still chose neo..why?…oooooooo…maybe he likes 'rubish' car…

• ongwc5 on Nov 15, 2009 at 2:00 am

Nothing to proud, rider from ???, engine from renault, chassis from lotus bra bra bra, throw in big amount of $$$, in the end get nothing at all!

• nazri on Nov 15, 2009 at 2:37 am

malaysian mmg susah nk menghargai kejayaan sendiri

• Goniothalamus on Nov 15, 2009 at 3:06 am

Wah, superb result from the superb Neo…

Come on, make Neo as 4 door sedan, it will sell like myvi…

• kinetics on Nov 15, 2009 at 3:11 am

congrats to the team…and keep it up proton~ :)

• bashbash on Nov 15, 2009 at 3:12 am

Nothing to proud, rider from ???, engine from renault, chassis from lotus bra bra bra, throw in big amount of $$$, in the end get nothing at all!

• autojohndoe on Nov 15, 2009 at 3:17 am

Dear bashers,

I know, it is hard to accept that Proton name is pacing way ahead than you expected. I know, it is heartbreaking for you all. I feel you, man.. I feel you…

Last time, when Proton seems like it will collapse, you are praying hard for it to be…

And now, comes this bad news eh?

Hahaha…

• autojohndoe on Nov 15, 2009 at 3:27 am

but.. what i would like to know something….

In IRC… Guy Wilks is driving Neo S2000 isnt it?

IS IRC already finish? because he is now driving for Skoda UK Team…

• sayapdewa said,

November 14, 2009 @ 1:20 am

'nice nice!! btw renault engine ma..so ashamed with proton body but heart of renault..'

Why ashamed ? Mercedes-Benz is using VW engines in their Vito transporter/van and Mitsubishi engines in their Smart car.

BMW is using Peugeot engines in their Mini and Nissan is using Reanault Diesel engines in Europe.

Nowadays, engine development is so expensive, that sharing engines is very common… ;)

• Littlefire on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:06 am

A lot of people dont know that basher also bash Japanese cars during 80's, now look at them?

During 80's ppl also say that japanese car are like milo tin compare to European cars. Now they are all over the world.

Yeah, so i will bash proton until they are all over the world. Why not? I am doing the bad cop, good cop thing.

• kimi_ on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:06 am

autojohndoe said,
    Dear bashers,

I know, it is hard to accept that Proton name is pacing way ahead than you expected. I know, it is heartbreaking for you all. I feel you, man.. I feel you…

Last time, when Proton seems like it will collapse, you are praying hard for it to be…

And now, comes this bad news eh?

Hahaha…
    ——————————————–
    Dude…..as all Malaysian is subjected to buy Proton because of its low price …Other tax like Hell….

So…in order to get most out of our money in (forcing) buying Proton, we of course want high quality ,safe and nice design….

So, we will bash them until it got better…that's it

• kimi_ on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:26 am

autojohnDoe,

———————————–

First…I dont care even they won the world champions…..because we as the cars owner are not benefit from these…..

if they won But still produce CRAP car….what the point….Answer ME !!!!!

Even if they enter F1and won world champions But still produce crap cars….what the point….Answer ME !!!!! As they do not produce high performance and sport cars…..Many manufacturer do not entering but still produce decent cars….so WTF

I wonder why they dont just concentrate on bulding good cars first, then enter all this nonsence…..

• Myvi & viva & other p2 model same category larr…….road rubbish category

• justdoit on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:53 am

@ sayapdewa said

————————-

@ Littlefire said,

————————-

to sayapdewa.. try put on your P2 and join rally maaa..dont talk to much hahah..without a good chassic can they perform in good result??

to Littlefire … 1.6 mod to 2.0??? talk to the hand la bro…

good job from proton!!!

• Adik CUCUKMAN on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:56 am

01) Cody Crocker (Subaru STi) 01:54.1

02) Hiroshi Yanagisawa (Mitsubishi Evo10) 01:54.7

03) David Higgins (Mitsubishi Evo9) 01:55.0

04) Jari Ketoma (Subaru STi) 01:55.0

05) Katsu Taguchi (Mitsubishi Evo9) 01:55.4

06) Alister McRae (Proton S. Neo) 01:56.4

07) Dean Herridge (Subaru STi) 01:56.5

08) Yuya Sumiyama (Mitsubishi Evo10) 01:56.8

09) Juha Salo (Mitsubishi Evo10) 01:57.9

10) Gaurav Gill (Mitsubishi Evo10) 01:57.9

11) Jusso Valimaki (Mitsubishi Evo9) 01:58.0

12) Rifat Sungkar (Mitsubishi Evo9) 01:58.8

13) Emma Gilmour (Subaru STi) 01:59.0

14) Tony Green (Mitsubishi Evo9) 01:59.2

— OH MANNN… Satria Neo beat SUBARU…

• justdoit on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:59 am

@ mengQ said,

“The Satria Neo Super 2000’s 2.0 liter RENAULT engine…”

=.= nothing to be too happy about unless it’s :

“The Satria Neo Super 2000’s 2.0 liter CAMPRO engine…”

Anyway, good job!

& please la people, don’t compare this with Myvi and Viva, it’s like totally in the wrong category. -.-”

————————————

The Satria Neo Super 2000’s 2.0 liter RENAULT engine????

from 1.8L renault..proton mod to 2.0 la..keep research 1st la bro before talk..

don’t compare this with Myvi and Viva????

kalau macam tu basher from P2 dont takl to much la..

P2 have no no no no nothing!

• 2011 1.6 campro vvt turbo,

they might put it in road version Neo.

that time very syok Neo.surely,

• anonymous on Nov 15, 2009 at 5:35 am

ok when can we buy one

• Leow Yoke Lin on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:38 am

Nothing to shout about. If it's campro then there is something to call our own. Is campro really developed by malaysian anyway?

• Lookking Around on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:51 am

hey..love this..6 out of 82?..that fast..I'm proud :D

• Lookking Around on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:54 am

anyway..I've ask chassis pro around klang valley about changing my neo into this monster (duplicate). they said "boleh, tapi jangan pegi reg"..haha..

• teamsleepnine on Nov 15, 2009 at 7:29 am

http://paultan.org/photo/Proton-Neo-S2000-SS1-Ral…

i wonder what are they talking about while lepak at the other competitors evo??

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 15, 2009 at 8:08 am

APRC China (14Nov) – Leg 2 Completed.

1. Cody Crocker
    2. David Higgins
    3. Dean Herridge

Where's Alister McRae????

To find out, click on link below: http://nutzeywagen-comerainorshine.blogspot.com/2…

• RunnerUp on Nov 15, 2009 at 8:09 am

Adik CUCUKMAN said,

November 14, 2009 @ 8:56 pm

Proud to see Neo amongst those Evos and STis!

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 15, 2009 at 8:35 am

APRC China – Among those that DNF in Leg 2 are: Gaurav Gill, Juha Salo, Katsu Taguchi & Jaakko Keskinen.

autojohndoe: Alister McRae will be driving the Satria Neo S2000 in IRC, last and final round at Rally of Scotland, to be held next week.

• totot112 on Nov 15, 2009 at 8:56 am

Thats proove that neo chasis is very very good. However, The engine and drive trans of the original neo is not good enough to compete thus need to get a renault engine and aftermarket rally sequential gearbox.

Hope proton engineer can comes out with a neo model or a putra replacement to complete the lineup with AWD matched with 2.0liter Turbocharged version of neo or putra replacement model to compete with the dominant players like Schooby/Ford/Mitshu/Toyota X4 etc etc….

Above results is evident that Neo S2000 is capable of beating other major players

The most important is price it well (take into account of middle income group of middle age malaysian earnings as they are the major custome due to still can get loan) and you will see it selling good and like hot cake. As i am sure there is lots of buyer out there are looking for this kind of "pocket rocket" car such as (Malaysian Police force/middle age people who still young at heart).

Try to do R&D or find a technology partner to do it: (Basic things that need to get it done)
    1. 2000cc Turbocharged Campro (called it EVO/STI/GTR) or 1800cc turbocharged Campro (lower end version and called it GSR/GTT/GTI)

2. AWD drive tran (6 speed manual – with 1st to 5 gear close ratios and 6 gears as cruser gears OR 5 speed Auto – with 4 speed close ratios with 1 overdrive cruser gears ) with options button of 2WD select to disangage the front 2 Wheel to make it into FR car for fuel economy during high way crusing. (This technology is usefull for future line up ( as this tech can be carried forward to make SUV – in line with proton aim to venture into SUV market in future or to export to winter country).

3. Interior design packages (Please help to get soft touch plastic panel – can check out the plasticky look door panel of the 370z where the plastic actually is soft touch). This will give it a jump in sales as thats is one of the reasons why many people still stick to your old proton products like (Wira/Putra/Satria/Perdana). (I do belive the soft plastic is recycleable material thus it will be able to sell in those Export markets and also is cheaper material to make compare to PU leather wrap used in manufacture Wira last time). This also will put the overprice Vios/City hard plastic interior QC to shame.

4. Better QC and hard core lower arm bushing or links bar for these model will give make it a competitor to stock EVO/Subaru STI.

Get the above 4 most important stuff right then Proton will have hot cake sales and not to worry about economics of scale the above listed stuff is the back bone to be use to venture into other economic of scales line up and also as it can be used in 3 life cycle like Mitsu (Evo I/II/III, EVO IV/V/VI, EVO VII, VIII, IX). Also can reuse the technology in other segments like SUV/Crossover/Pickup/Van/Wagon (can beat Caldina GT4)

• kingbrutal (Member) on Nov 15, 2009 at 8:58 am

Day 1 Result APRC China

1st: Cody Crocker (1st overall)

2nd: Emma Gilmour (6th overall)

3rd: Rifat Sungkar (7th overall)

4th: Yuya Sumiyama (13th overall)

Alister McRae (4th overall)

Any comments? Still not enough? LMAO

• Results: Leg 2 (9 Stages)

01) Cody Crocker (Subaru STi) 2.04:05.7 (2hrs04mins05.7secs)

02) David Higgins (Mitsu Evo9) 2.06:05.7

03) Dean Herridge (Subaru STi) 2.06:45.9

04) Alister McRae (Proton S.Neo) 2.07:42.0

05) Jari Ketoma (Subaru STi) 2.09:56.3

06) Emma Gilmour (Subaru STi) 2.10:03.1

07) Rifat Sungkar (Mitsu Evo9) 2.12:08.9

08) Li Wei (Mitsu Evo9) 2.13:34.5

09) Wei Hongjie (Mitsu Evo9) 2.14:08.8

10) Jusso Valimaki (Mitsu Evo9) 2.15:32.2

• Aku pelik ngan orang Malaysia…kalah kena kutuk, menang pun kena kutuk. Macam ni senang, kalau pandai sangat awat tak buat kereta sendiri. Tengok sapa lebih bodo, proton ker kita. Bersyukur laa, bukan senang nak menang tu. Lagi satu kalau tak reti appreciate negara sendiri, baik jadi jer warganegara lain. Senang cerita. sakit mata ja tengok komen bodo dari orang bodo.

• This car is a beauty.

• rally_fan on Nov 15, 2009 at 2:15 pm

great stuff so far.. hope their good run continues for the 2nd leg.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Nov 15, 2009 at 3:12 pm

Remember, this is Neo S2000 first year, where emphasis are made on developments and testing only. So for it to get any kind of result in races entered is a bonus. Kudos to McRae for taking the challenge and Proton and Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM) for building the car in the first place.

• autojohndoe on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:23 pm

to kimi_

they doing all this coz they want to go global… getting more sales outside… faster revenue… more profit.. more cash… more RnD… more technology…

If they keep focusing on domestic market, your wish to see them producing non-crap car will be longer than ever to achieve…

Is Kia or Hyundai make very good car before they become what they are today?

I think not… but they sell their name first… isnt it?

I know… for you this is an excuse from the supporter… but, thats the way to go…

• Bond..rilek bro..rilek.. btw, those who think there is NOTHING to be proud off just becos the engine is not campro..did u ever consider the chasis?

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 15, 2009 at 7:46 pm

APRC China, Leg 3 (15Nov) – Aaarrrggghhh!!!!! Just when things were going great guns and moving up the standings, something had to happen!

• sproc on Nov 15, 2009 at 8:18 pm

6th … pls do better … you are burning rakyat money …

• taboogen on Nov 15, 2009 at 9:49 pm

what ever ppl say…. i am proud when i watch a lot of video in youtube and that mat salleh said proton. Damn proud giler. fullstop

• nazri on Nov 15, 2009 at 11:05 pm

sproc said,

November 15, 2009 @ 12:18 pm

6th … pls do better … you are burning rakyat money …

———————————————

u pay how much tax?

• teamsleepnie on Nov 16, 2009 at 2:31 am

pundek anak haram….

quote from aprc tv

Alister McRae joined the list of retirements after the lower suspension arm came loose on the second run over the mountain stage. McRae was in 4th place overall at the time and looks certain to return with Proton in 2010.

takpe next week scotland irc final round…hopefully they do better..

• knoxx on Nov 16, 2009 at 7:13 am

angel said,

————————————————————

how do u know it rubbish?? u got one ma?? dont talk like a child..

• GeramHati on Nov 16, 2009 at 7:30 am

why they do not put sendiri pround campro engine inside? guna enjine org lain and sendiri feel proud?

pay more tax than your 'guys'

• NutzeyWagen on Nov 16, 2009 at 7:39 am

APRC China – Rally over. Proton's communications team would be releasing official press statement soon. I'm zipped!

• GeramHati on Nov 16, 2009 at 7:45 am

bila Singapore guna pemain luar dalam bola sepak menewaskan Malaysia, you org semua bising, sekarang guna engine org lain menang tempat 6th sudah proud? masih tak bangun kah?

• sproc on Nov 16, 2009 at 8:31 am

Nazri,

It does not matter how much I paid my tax. We all know the money sponsored did come from somewhere.

If they want to do it, make sure do it properly. Same goes to the 1Malaysia F1 team.

• nazri on Nov 16, 2009 at 11:22 am

so?

——————————————

sproc said,

November 16, 2009 @ 12:31 am

Nazri,

It does not matter how much I paid my tax. We all know the money sponsored did come from somewhere.

If they want to do it, make sure do it properly. Same goes to the 1Malaysia F1 team.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 16, 2009 at 3:24 pm

autojohndoe said,

November 14, 2009 @ 11:12 am

HAHAHA

———————

Haha..you lough so loud like clown. What malaysian want is quality not rally. If it is indeed vital for branding purpose, do not laugh so loud as in reality quality is below par. Hyundai, Kia never go racing even in BTCC (like what WAJA did before) to improve their quality. The Hyundai CEO said the company invested US5bil to improve their quality that's why where they are now. So KIA just entering race at US with FORTE which already on par with Japs after no more quality issue. Don't simple bash proton basher as they are who give challenge and critics.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 16, 2009 at 3:29 pm

knoxx said,

November 15, 2009 @ 11:13 pm

angel said,

————————————————————

how do u know it rubbish?? u got one ma?? dont talk like a child..

——————–

All rubbish except handling. Cheap material which easily to deform, discolored under the sun heat. Should keep this Neo only in Showroom or garage.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 16, 2009 at 3:32 pm

kingbrutal said,
    November 15, 2009 @ 7:12 am

Remember, this is Neo S2000 first year, where emphasis are made on developments and testing only. So for it to get any kind of result in races entered is a bonus. Kudos to McRae for taking the challenge and Proton and Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM) for building the car in the first place
    ———————–
    Blame should go to Azlano team and outgoing MD only for failing to design the cars with good ergnomics and space. They should resign in the first place like Japanese "harakiri".

• My stupid Mazda 3 20 on Nov 16, 2009 at 4:00 pm

hahah…. Proton basher VS Proton pro…. I like that… And the winner is… All.. except my pathethic car..

• sir s on Nov 16, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Adik CUCUKMAN said,

November 14, 2009 @ 8:56 pm

RunnerUp said,

Proud to see Neo amongst those Evos and STis!

Me too… very proud of it. Although the engine is Renault's, but, who cares? As long as the brand of PROTON is noticed around the world, the objective has been achieved. From a Malaysian myself, I want to thanks a lot to Alister McRae & his partner Bill Hayes to make the team success and make Malaysia proud. Congratz & continue to do the good job! I wish one day there are Malaysian that can take over as this team driver. I know it sound tough, but we need to be positive and have a faith about that. It may be a challenge to all Malaysian. Good luck PROTON team! :)

• MADBOY on Nov 16, 2009 at 4:53 pm

teamsleepnine said,
    November 14, 2009 @ 11:29 pm
    i wonder what are they talking about while lepak at the other competitors evo??
    —————–
    First Man : Bro, tahun depan tukar kereta nak?
    Second Man : Tak payah lah, tahun nie guna kereta baru pun dah ok ape.

• apalah BN on Nov 16, 2009 at 6:05 pm

It's just a shakedown for gods sake. Wait till the rally completes before you praise/bash Proton.

Anyway, who wants to bet that this Neo S2000 will not grace our shores; but will be an import model instead?

• autojohndoe on Nov 16, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Auto_Critics,

haha… see, you frust isnt it… bcoz the brand you 'dont lik' is on the good news…

I said they enter the rally for publicity… bcoz they aim to go global… the name must be known…

Do not forget… Hyundai Accent enters rally before… do some google, man… as i did…

• autojohndoe on Nov 16, 2009 at 6:32 pm

And to add some to your knowledge…

Clown do not laugh man… have met one before?

HAHAHA

• waklanproton on Nov 16, 2009 at 7:02 pm

emm…memang basher takkan puas ati punye…tido tak lena makan tak lalu….mcm org meroyan..kuakukakua…
    go proton go!!!
    Cayok!!!!

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 16, 2009 at 7:32 pm

autojohndoe said,

November 16, 2009 @ 10:30 am

Auto_Critics,

Do not forget… Hyundai Accent enters rally before… do some google, man… as i did…

——————

I'm sorry. Btw, Hyundai Accent enters rally after significant sales volume in North America. But this brand i "i don't like" is entring rally with the cars which already nowhere. This involvement will not boost sale but promote useless proton desgin value to international market.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 16, 2009 at 7:37 pm

waklanproton said,

November 16, 2009 @ 11:02 am

emm…memang basher takkan puas ati punye…tido tak lena makan tak lalu….mcm org meroyan..kuakukakua…

go proton go!!!

Cayok!!!!

————-

Wak, your absolutely right. Basher is not sleeping well becoz wake up next day with "what of my car part will fall today?". My wife Gen2 is horrendously cripple with 3 years more loan to serve. Only can sleep well is Proton employee which has extended protection for at least 5 more years under NAP.

• Pierre on Nov 16, 2009 at 8:24 pm

Come on guys..this is global..F1 winner Brown GP still u Merc Engine so what is a problem Proton use Renault engine?Plz open ur mind guys..

Geramhati..human not same with engine bro…

• DOME Co.Engineering on Nov 16, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Proton sucks.

• nighttrain on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:07 pm

So, where's my street legal Satria Neo WRX? Ada brani?

• waklanproton on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:05 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

November 16, 2009 @ 11:37 am

waklanproton said,

go proton go!!!

Cayok!!!!

————-

Wak, your absolutely right. Basher is not sleeping well becoz wake up next day with “what of my car part will fall today?”. My wife Gen2 is horrendously cripple with 3 years more loan to serve. Only can sleep well is Proton employee which has extended protection for at least 5 more years under NAP.

————-

sorry to hear…but nowday if u buy proton uget 5 years waranty include engine and transmision..we have alot off commitment to our car quality..and u will see our target after 5 year from now is to compete with others jap brand. so that is our target after this quality and satisfaction.

(kami budak baru belajar kalau salah tolong tunjukkan)

• nighttrain on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:10 pm

20 tahun dah blajor nye..

• waklanproton on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:20 pm

tue staff yg lame dah kojol…hehehe..

its ok to critic and we will take that for chalange…

tq.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:31 pm

waklanproton said,

November 16, 2009 @ 2:05 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

November 16, 2009 @ 11:37 am

waklanproton said,

go proton go!!!

Cayok!!!!

————-

Wak, your absolutely right. Basher is not sleeping well becoz wake up next day with “what of my car part will fall today?”. My wife Gen2 is horrendously cripple with 3 years more loan to serve. Only can sleep well is Proton employee which has extended protection for at least 5 more years under NAP.

————-

sorry to hear…but nowday if u buy proton uget 5 years waranty include engine and transmision..we have alot off commitment to our car quality..and u will see our target after 5 year from now is to compete with others jap brand. so that is our target after this quality and satisfaction.

(kami budak baru belajar kalau salah tolong tunjukkan)

————–

Wak, since you understood well, as a proton employee (if u are), you don't have rights to say this "meroyan", "meracau", "tak lena" so on. You need to be humble and admit for past years of wrong doings to a proton low quality vehicle like my wife. She's trauma now and we'll shut my mouth if start talking about proton. Even she consider to purchase Cherry instead of Proton.

FYI, the 5 years warranty doesn't comes cheap, after all the consumer is paying for that extended warranty with significant increase in HP rate. Proton operate at no cost for this extended warranty. So do you think it cares customer? Hyundai is doing more better with 7 years warranty.

I think some basher good lesson to you and please learn. And one more thing,

Proton is not boy anymore. You're adult enough and should take responsibility of any wrongdoings even it require you to close shop.

• waklanproton on Nov 16, 2009 at 10:56 pm

ok tq for your opinion..sorry to your wife also. like i said thats is all our past mistake so give we time to build up again the real proton malaysia. its our pride of our nation car and its our responsibality to bring back it again.

within in this 5 years you will see what i'm talking about. and we will make all malaysians will proud to be malaysian. :)

tq.

• raies on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:21 am

hi waklanproton, i respect sbb masih layan that bangkai@basyer……..that people spt langau suke yg busuk2 jer…………kalo kain putih tu bukan nampak putih kain tp yg die nampak taik lalat yg kecik2 tu……ape nak buat hati dah busuk ma……

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 17, 2009 at 12:39 am

raies said,

November 16, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

hi waklanproton, i respect sbb masih layan that bangkai@basyer……..that people spt langau suke yg busuk2 jer…………kalo kain putih tu bukan nampak putih kain tp yg die nampak taik lalat yg kecik2 tu……ape nak buat hati dah busuk ma……

———

Hi raies, mirror yourself and don't say harsh word. We are here for temporary and either sooner or later we'll wrapped by white cloth then we'll see without fail who is rotten-hearted human being.

Wak, keep your job and do make us proud in 5 years time.

• raies on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:11 am

ooo…tau pon hidup sementara….taupon kain putih…..abih….nak penuhi hidup ni ngan citer keburukan je ker…….ape kautau dosa pahala sebar n menjaja keburukan orang…….kan dah ade saluran untuk buat aduan….no.tel syed zainal….apelagi….syed zainal kat motor trader…… ….get the life man……..

aku punyer kenyataan umum takde khusus kat sape2 kalo ade yg terasa aku tak akan mintak maaf pon sbb adekala perlu berdakwah secara kasar,…….nak dakwah lembut tunggu 360, waklanproton, sifu dll

• autojohndoe on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:24 am

By the way…

For bashers… thank you for bashing… bcoz it helped the national brand to be better and better… Still, the defect is there but reduced… Isnt it?

To Proton ppl, try to accept it and turn it into positive energy…

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:25 am

raies said,

November 16, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

ooo…tau pon hidup sementara….taupon kain putih…..abih….nak penuhi hidup ni ngan citer keburukan je ker…….ape kautau dosa pahala sebar n menjaja keburukan orang…….kan dah ade saluran untuk buat aduan….no.tel syed zainal….apelagi….syed zainal kat motor trader…… ….get the life man……..

aku punyer kenyataan umum takde khusus kat sape2 kalo ade yg terasa aku tak akan mintak maaf pon sbb adekala perlu berdakwah secara kasar,…….nak dakwah lembut tunggu 360, waklanproton, sifu dll

————

Hi Raies what happened to you? so angry? please do tell me which my comment went wrong? Did i say wrong or without fact? or you just can't accept crticism that way so angry. Sometimes, we must here what people saya to purifies our heart. Proton makes car is good. To have knowledge is good but to cheat people is not.

• theHulk on Nov 17, 2009 at 1:58 am

GOOD JOB Renault!!

Good ang mo drivers! best… hope the proton team won't drag down their way~!!

• Kevin on Nov 17, 2009 at 3:13 am

Good… Keep it up

• auto critics, saya respect pendapat awak n masalah yg awak hadapi sebelum ni dgn gen2 lama awak, tp bukankah yg dulu ramai org p1 dah ckp, mmg diaorang mengaku apa yang berlaku yg lepas itu betul n diaorang dah improvekan untuk yg terkini dan awak juga dah mengaku yg awakpun gunakan pomen luar selepas serik dengan proton sc. so sumenye fair. itu cerita lama, so tutup buku. tapi masih lagi xpuas ati, so, rasanya awak ni macam daun keladi, curah air telinga kanan, keluar telinga kiri. jangan pikir proton je da problem, kalu tengok astro discovery turbo, siri auto trader, vw golf gti mk6 pun ada masalah power window. so ape cerita??? xkan vw jadi macam proton kot, dah berpuluh tahun buat kete dari zaman perang dunia masih ada masalah power window??? gile aper???

bukan bermaksud awak boleh tolerate kesilapan diaorang, memang patut tegur, tapikan awak cakap menda yang berulang2, menda yang sama setiap forum, cakap sekali dahlah, orang bukan xbaca. orang pun simpati kat awak bro. tapi let bygone be bygone. kita sekarang bincang pasal prestasi neo s2000 dalam rally,xda kaitan dengan masalah qc mahupun quality. berbanggalah yg nama malaysia sedang berkibar di luar negara. itupun salahke???

yg duk komen enjin renault, kan dah ramai insider terang yg campro ni enjin 1.3 n 1.6 aje. xda 1.8 n xbleh upgrade kepada 1.8. buat enjin campropun dah satu billiion, nanti buat enjin 1.8 n 2.0, korang komen mengabis duit rakyat aje. so biolah dia pakai enjin renault ke, enjin motobot ke, nama tetap org kenal proton, macam lotus, dia pakai enjin rover n toyota, xda plak orang cakap kalu nampak kete lotus "oh, hebatnya kete rover@toyota", tapi orang cakap"oh,hebatnya kete lotus".

so berbanggalah jadi anak malaysia, kalu xberbangga, baiklah tukar warganegara jadi warganegara lain, berpindah, xyah pening2 kepala kan, dapat beli kete murah, dapat gaji banyak. trylah g luar negara, try keje n idup kat sana. nanti u taulah beruntung duk kat malaysia n jadi rakyat malaysia, malaysia kalu cari dalam globe xnampak, kecik ngat, tapi mampu hasilkan kete,masuk rally, dapat no 6, kalahkan negara yang besar, yang xmampu buat kete sendiri.

wasalam

• GeramHati on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:51 am

tak faham apa cakap atas. buat keta sendiri sanngat bangga? 20 tahun satu enjin? tengok sendiri perangai itu servise staff, tampar kiri dan kanan pun tak bangunlagi

sekarang pun ketinggalan dari Thailand , Indon, Singapore….mermalukan saja

• Aizan on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:49 am

GeramHati…. betul kata kau… kita memang ketinggalan dari Thailand, Indon dan Singapore sebab mereka dah buat banyak enjin sendiri… Dah banyak buat enjin sendiri???? Lu fikirlah sendiri….

• Apa yg ko x paham geram hati??? memang satu enjin, tapi satu enjin, banyak variasi. ko taukan satu enjin saja dah cost 1 billion, kalu nak sepuluh henjin, sepuluh billion, nanti orang macam ko jugak marah2,guna duit rakyatlah,itu, ini, kete mahallah.

apa yg ketinggalan ngan thailand, indon n singapore???adake diaorang buat henjin n kete sendiri??? kadang2 gua rasa lu yang memalukan. cubalah idup kat singapore tengok, senang susah. gua ada ahli keluarga menetap kat singapore, kalu dia dapat keje kat msia, dia nak tukar duk malaysia.

cina yang dah bertamadun lagi lama dari malaysia n lagi maju dari malaysiapun baru nak buat kete. lu idup alam mana ni geram ati, alam fanake???

• satu lagi, kita betul2 buat kete start dari waja, lain kali blaja kat skolah, blaja betul2 sejarah, baru paham,ni waktu cikgu ngajar, main2. kalu x berbangga dengan negara sendiri,kan gua dah cakap, baik tukar warganegara,apa nak pening kepala,jadi warganegara thailand, berbangga ada kete sendir :-), adake???

• gen2lama on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:09 pm

geramhati geram ssangat pasal makin ramai orang boleh terima proton.

banyak gak kete2 proton baru orang pakai……tak kira la 'kena paksa' beli ka…apa ka…

• autojohndoe on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:31 pm

TO bashers…

Thank you….

Because of your bashings… Proton name enters rally and show a good result…

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:46 pm

mat said,

November 16, 2009 @ 10:41 pm

———

Mat, i just answer to forummer which also repeating their explanation or maybe they are new forummer so i explain again to them what is actually behind the thing or my opinion against theirs. It is also very clear that i give answer to the said forummer and not addressed to all. off course if other regular forummers will feel my word as repeating. I,m sorry about this.

About the past mistake thanks for admitting it but i commented about the use of abuse word which further damage the affected customer in term of spiritual manner. Wak admit it thanks for his positive thinking but for raies the way he talk is nonsense.

For Proton current progress is really good. They should take the those comment from basher as challenge to them that in 5 years they able to amaze those basher rather than being emotional and frustrated. I hope you can understand.

• acritics,its okay. i understand. we shud comments on what is right and what is wrong but we try to be more matured in or comments. no heart feeling though. bashing and giving constructive comments are different. i hope everybody understand. we should support all local manufacturers and if they make mistakes, we shud inform,advice and tell them the truth but in matured way. no personal attack.
    anyway, nice knowing u acritics even in the net only.

• bro proton neo campro is different from neo cps..old neo yes its crap..but neo cps better…neo cps + turbocharged much more better…

• KickingDust on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Proton Satria NEO S2000 has finished 3rd in Podium, for the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) – Rally of Scotland (19th ~ 21st Nov). Its a symbolic victory for Alister McRae that has made a comeback into rallying after his brother's tragic death, late Colin McRae in a helicopter incident, and even more meaningful as his return to the rallying world in a works prepared Proton Satria NEO S2000 !!

SYABAS !!

• zaeidos on Nov 24, 2009 at 10:58 am

Superb!!!

either the driver is very talented or the car is somewhat super tuned to beat those world recognised turbo-charged car on its 1st year?? OMG!!

i drive a turbo-charged car and i knew that no NA car can beat my car on a curvy road as the pickup is crazy..now i got to think twice before tailgating any satria neo especially satria neo cps!

Do u guys ever wondered if they install an turbo-charged engine on this neo?

say from evo?? huhu breathtaking~~

• terencelhl (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:30 am

Wow…!!!

6th is cool!

Proud to be Neo owner!