Lotus F1 to decide on 4 drivers for 2 seats

Story by Harvinder Sidhu

Lotus F1’s team principal Tony Fernandes has revealed on his Twitter page that he, or the Lotus F1 team has to decide on four drivers for two seats. Prior to that Fernandes also announced that the team has already signed its first driver but did not reveal anything more than that, but I am pretty confident it is Japanese rookie Kamui Kobayashi.

But if that is so, why did he mention “four driver for two seats”? It is getting a little confusing now and I do hope the team will make an official announcement soon. As for the other seat, many are pointing at Jarno Trulli since he has a good relationship with the team’s technical chief Mike Gascoyne. He also recently “twitted” that the team has almost confirmed all sponsors for the Malaysian Formula 1 team.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• racerx111 on Nov 27, 2009 at 2:03 am

Maybe the earlier announcement was mere speculation and nothing's been finalised as yet. Do an elimination process of the drivers still available and see who comes out as the likeliest probability of joining.

• squawk on Nov 27, 2009 at 4:11 am

With Toyota pulling out, Lotus has a ready pool of mechanics and engineers to hire. Lotus can be the new Toyota!!!!

• ariff on Nov 27, 2009 at 4:30 am

car important.

driver not very important.

Pay F1 entrance fee (if there's any) most important.

BTW, he didn't mention F1 driver in his Twitter. Probably talking about his personal driver in NY maybe? (hehe)

• haha that is interesting

• oricon666 on Nov 27, 2009 at 5:36 am

Paul,

Why so sure is Kamui Kobayashi…???

And why Trulli? Dun wanna see "Trulli train" with Lotus Flag… lolx…!!

He only good in single lap push….. He qualify high & spoil other drivers race for building a "train"…. For years he had make F1 boring when he quali high… He make the front runner pull away so far…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 27, 2009 at 5:41 am

our malaysian people's money going down the drain, thankfully i contribute to the singapore government

• aghiff on Nov 27, 2009 at 6:33 am

wait till the race begin and he won't be twiterring much

• Carlos on Nov 27, 2009 at 7:00 am

Is Takuma Sato.

http://www.f1mania.net/noticias/vernoticia.php?42…

• Carlos on Nov 27, 2009 at 7:00 am

Is Takuma Sato:

http://www.f1mania.net/noticias/vernoticia.php?42…

• patiniox on Nov 27, 2009 at 7:44 am

mazda..are u a doctors that are migrating to singapore?

• mystvearn on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:26 am

TF will choose value for money diver. Maybe got desperate people out there without contracts, so get them. :P

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:03 am

takuma sato of hell yeah…1malaysia, we got the japanese, a group of rapists who attacked malaya in the 1940's to drive for the MALAYSIAN f1 team, good money spent eh?

• dzulx on Nov 27, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

November 26, 2009 @ 9:41 pm

our malaysian people’s money going down the drain, thankfully i contribute to the singapore government

————————–

No offense, but this is the first time I knew people who are proud contributing to other government.

Well I rather pay tax to my gov rather that other country. At least I contributing one way or another to my own people.. But everybody is entitled to their own opinion.

If I could suggest, maybe you want to start thinking to change nationality. You pay taxes and proud of it… but you do not have voting right…

And I really hope to see the prove of money flowing out from Malaysia's govt to this F1 team..Not just wild accusation..

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Nov 27, 2009 at 10:06 pm

ariff said,

November 26, 2009 @ 8:30 pm

car important.

driver not very important.

Pay F1 entrance fee (if there’s any) most important.

BTW, he didn’t mention F1 driver in his Twitter. Probably talking about his personal driver in NY maybe? (hehe)

—————————————————————-

Maybe it is his personal driver coz front row only have two seats. (hehe)

• if one already signed..

then the 2 seats probably for 2nd and test driver?

• vwaja on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:18 am

how about Tengku Djan….Prince Of Drift … he can drift da F1 car.. hahaha

• blasting on Nov 28, 2009 at 7:12 am

adei..berjanggut nk tunggu anouncement driver nih….i hope lotus sign the best driver….

• krulchubby (Member) on Nov 28, 2009 at 10:55 am

please sign malaysian driver.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 28, 2009 at 11:16 pm

alex yoong?

• lastLY on Nov 29, 2009 at 2:40 am

vwaja said,

November 27, 2009 @ 8:18 pm

how about Tengku Djan….Prince Of Drift … he can drift da F1 car.. hahaha

———————-

YUP2

• Ferruccio on Nov 29, 2009 at 6:06 am

Tengku Djan would be more useful as a race engineer or 'assistant technical director' type of personnel. I doubt that Tony Fernandes is even aware that Djan is probably malaysia's most experienced motorsport engineer/manager

• apexg2 on Nov 30, 2009 at 3:53 pm

mazda…if u r not proud to be malaysian….dun say it la…

even we always complaining malaysia but it is because we love malaysia and want to look it in better condition, but we still proud of it…not proud to other country expecially singapore..huh..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 30, 2009 at 10:12 pm

apexg2 said,

November 30, 2009 @ 7:53 am

mazda…if u r not proud to be malaysian….dun say it la…

even we always complaining malaysia but it is because we love malaysia and want to look it in better condition, but we still proud of it…not proud to other country expecially singapore..huh..

————————–

how can one be proud, when you compare the way our country is fucked up by SENILE M and how their country is run so well by Old Man Lee