Lotus F1 to make testing debut in Jerez next month

Here are some updates on the Lotus F1 Team. The Malaysian-backed outfit will join the final two F1 test sessions before the 2010 season starts in Bahrain. The race car is set to be driven for the first time at Jerez, Spain in mid February.

“We are actually a week ahead of schedule. When we got the entry on September 12, our schedule said we would fire up on February 12 – and we are now scheduled to fire up on February 5. After that, we will be at the second Jerez test and then the final one at Barcelona. That will be the first time the world will see the car in action,” chief technical officer Mike Gascoyne told Autosport.

Speaking on the development progress, he said: “We started wind-tunnel testing in October so by the time we are at the first race, we have had five or six months of wind tunnel testing. We have made pretty rapid progress, and if we can maintain that then we will be in pretty good shape come Barcelona mid-season – and that is really where you have to target where you’ve got to be.

“Now it is about where are you mid-season, where are you end of season, and I want to end the season beating Force Indias and Toro Rossos and whoever is struggling – maybe Saubers. I want to be picking them off,” said a bullish Gascoyne.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wan_knox on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:51 am

Im first! go Lotus for Malaysia!! hehehehe

• squawk on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:53 am

I hope they beat Virgin (to see Sir Dick in AA uniform) but lose to Sauber (Sauber fan). :-P

• Redwings on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:03 am

Impress… the old JPS is coming back…

• fashah on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:10 am

Target only to beat torro rosso and Force Indias? Is this a sarcastic comment or just being realistic… but Gascoyne characteristics have never settled for something real, right?

• dream on on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:12 am

lotus F1 needs to aim higher than compete with the struggling team. they got heritage and past history to protect.

• hope the best for malaysia lotus…

• Petua.org on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:07 am

The money is there.. will burn.. :D

• do they have to go through puspakom check after this?

• Ferruccio on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:44 am

Lotus F1 are aiming for the championship, just like any other F1 team but are realistic about the time frame required, as well as their chances in their first year, thus the reference to Torro Rosso and Force India, made in reference for first year, which already, on first impression sounds very optimistic

• Hope they can beat mercedez…haha!

• Podium finish for LO on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:45 am

I can smell podium finish for lotus, Wow…

• love to hear their progress.. seem like they can be on grid and join other team.For the face race the ahead form others new team..should can beat them to be in the middle and focus to get point with a few race later

• All the best Lotus..! After all I just want technology transfer afterward.. then can get replacement for Satria Neo Gti and may produce 280bhp.. Please lah Proton.. XD

• Annihilated on Jan 09, 2010 at 7:58 am

with the changing game rules and designs.. let's hope the next season will be exiciting. and it shall last until the end of the season.

it's good that kers is no longer there. and i wonder how big the new tank is going to be and how it affects the game pace. are we going to see drivers running out of gas near the race end?

• mrzali on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:18 am

Breaking news from BERNAMA – New toll rate soon

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?i…

• hiruma kecil on Jan 09, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Gambate!!!

• I hope they wont eat dust…..

• Join Smith on Jan 12, 2010 at 2:08 am

F1 news and Hot Girls – formula F1 racing car and the world's fastest…

Cool Cars – Gallery Cars