VW Amarok proves itself at the Dakar Rally

Volkswagen new Amarok pick-up truck starts life by proving itself at the world’s toughest race. The Argentina made truck is part of the Volkswagen Motorsport team currently taking part in the Dakar rally across South America.

A total of 35 Amaroks are being used as support vehicles by the VW works team and Dakar organisers. The rally started in Buenos Aires on New Year’s Day and will make a 9000 km loop across Argentina and Chile before ending at the same city on 16 January. The route includes mountain passes at an altitude of over 4,000 metres, as well as through the world’s driest desert, the Atacama. The Amarok support cars are tasked to keep up with the competitors and be on hand to provide technical assistance.

The Amarok can be had with switchable or permanent 4MOTION all-wheel drive, an electronic differential lock (EDL) and Off-Road ABS to significantly shorten braking distances on loose surfaces. It also has Hill Descent Assist while the ESP Plus system includes Hill Hold Assist which prevents the vehicle from rolling back on inclines. For more info about the Amarok, check out our previous post here.

Volkswagen is doing well in the Dakar so far. After stage 6, Spain’s Carlos Sainz is leading Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah and American Mark Miller in the overall standings – all three are VW drivers. The closest BMW is in seventh (Guerlain Chicherit) while Dakar’s living legend Stéphane Peterhansel is eighth in his BMW.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Day deSIANG on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:41 pm

This looks better than HILUX!!!

• VW Fan on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:24 pm

If sold in Malaysia it should be called VW 'Mengamok'

• vw beetle on Dec 31, 2010 at 12:01 pm

VW Amarok is not Asian bound but comes to Singapore, but with petrol engine only.

• and not provenly though as HILUX!!!

• my dream pickup truck maybe..

• Ooo no.. BMW last. V-dub is really making a big hit these days. Btw.. im in love wth the Passat CC.

• squawk on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Paul/Danny, how did the China SUVs do? :)

• wan_knox on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:39 pm

I dun think HILUX is tough.

• I am driving a Hilux for 4 years, I don't mind to drive Amarok if it comes to Malaysia.

• mitlanevo on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:58 am

Hilux is worse than the already-worse Triton…

this amarok is nice, and powerful too…

• mouse on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:51 am

yes VDub all the way!!!

• just me on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:41 am

navara & dmax la bagus…

• VW Malaysia, when are you bringing in this Amarok?

• Peter on Jan 10, 2010 at 1:24 am

My dad bought a ISUZU dmax last year after he got so fed up with his perdana. I told him about this pick up truck, he says he will definetely change for this ! I drove my dad's dmax before , actually it is not very bad. power, torque and also handling is ok ok la…Not much problems also, up till now also dun have alot of qc problems…

• look at all the tech on the car…if come to Malaysia, won't sell much, the price killed the truck di.

price will be 35-40% over Triton/Hilux/Navara/Dmax ?

• I see VW do like the Toyota… must hv a all range car line?