Lotus F1 racecar: 12th February unveiling!

Lotus F1 Racing Car

Lotus F1 Racing Team Principal Tony Fernandes has officially confirmed today that the Lotus F1 Racing racecar will be officially launched on 12th February 2010 – that’s just under one month away!

No official word on WHERE the car will be revealed yet though, it might not even be in Malaysia. Earlier this month, Mike Gascoyne told Autosport that the car would be unveiled at a test session in Jerez, Spain.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• scanzew on Jan 15, 2010 at 10:41 am

good but still occupier for last grid line….haha GO GO mercedes GP Petronas & mclaren mercedes!!!!

• hitman on Jan 15, 2010 at 11:07 am

why not drive it to parliament after all didn't they name the driver there.lol!

on a more serious note, i would suggest the following places in no particular order…

1. proton oval test track

2. close the roads – downtown KLCC

3. dataran merdeka

4. london heathrow airport – car rolls down from an antonov on the runway decked in air asia colors

5. on board the largest cruise liner – freedom of the seas

6. monaco – first victory for a lotus car in 1960

7. on board an antonov decked in air asia colors at 19,000ft cruising altitude

8. australia – last f1 grand prix appearance by lotus in 1994

9. millbrook test track in the uk

10. silverstone circuit, uk- home to the 1st f1 world championship race in 1950

my personal preferance is budget is not an issue is no 7.

best of luck.

– HITMAN –

• Sean Lim on Jan 15, 2010 at 11:13 am

Looking forward to see these 2 babies on track!

:)

• mystvearn on Jan 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm

I don't like the idea driving to Parliment. Putrajaya got loads more roads which are not as heavily used as the roads around the old parliment building.

• kopi-man on Jan 15, 2010 at 12:56 pm

I want to see who is the sponsor behind that $$ spend after Petronas pull out.

• Lightning McQueen on Jan 15, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Proton Test Track too short to witness the high speed plus the test track design is for semi high speed. I would prefer Millbrook Test track better cause they have Mile Straight From top of the hill until end of the line..

Heathrow is just like throwing money for nothing…

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 15, 2010 at 4:32 pm

WHAT ABOUT LCCT AND FEW NAKED AIR ASIAN CHICK, HMM YUMMY

• trav_da_man on Jan 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm

i'm also curious who going to sponsor the Lotus F1 team. I believe it will be most likely foreign corporations. If the car has no sponsors but still able to run the 2010 session, then we Malaysians will have something to worry about!

• Ferruccio on Jan 15, 2010 at 6:39 pm

They've yet to announce ANY sponsors. The race in Bahrain is less than 2 months away

• gangully on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:07 pm

kopi-man… what petronas pull out?

which planet are you living on again?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:08 pm

is this blog a lotus f1 fan club?

• Hadi1975 on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:25 pm

I heard rumours that our goverment is 'donating' some cash to the team…true or not i don't know….anyway goodluck and all the best to the team….

• kopi man ? on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:33 pm

?

• afkar (Member) on Jan 15, 2010 at 8:14 pm

drive to parlimen??!lol..got better idea,..KLIA..haha..

the engineers better make sure these are fast enough..beat the virgin..i really wanna see branson in airasia,as stewardess..haha..my,i think no big deal for branson,he loves being eccentric,but fernandes??

• squawk on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Do it at Naza HQ in Kg Baru.

• Neo.S on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:42 pm

hahaha unveiling at my birthday !!! yeah !!!!! go Lotus !!!

• Neo.S on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:44 pm

hmmm my birthday wish ? gonna try this new car hahaha :P dreaming

• zachary on Jan 16, 2010 at 6:55 am

I really, seriously hoping that they don't decide to use the Jalur Gemilang stripes and colours for the car.. like the small model they used when announcing the formation of the team. Remember that one? Hideously UGLY……

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:19 am

long live Virgin F1

• tengkurex on Jan 18, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Long Live Mazda 3<—if you really have this car..huahuahua