Volkswagen Malaysia offers five-year warranty

Volkswagen Malaysia offers five-year warrantyVolkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) has announced a five-year warranty programme with unlimited mileage for its cars. This two-year manufacturer warranty plus three-year extended warranty programme is offered to all new Volkswagen buyers.

Existing customers whose vehicles are still in the two-year manufacturer warranty period are eligible to purchase the extended warranty, subject to VGM’s terms and conditions. UPDATE: This will probably be one of the most asked questions so here goes – the premium on the extended warranty for the previous generation Mk5 Golf GTI is RM2,910. You can buy one if your Golf GTI still has its existing warranty intact.

Andreas Prinz, MD of VGM said this of the new programme: “With this programme in place we hope to provide ease of mind in ensuring all Volkswagen owners that their Volkswagen remains a Volkswagen and maintain high residual values with the use of genuine parts.

For more information on VGM’s five-year warranty, go to www.volkswagen.com.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Louya on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:02 am

nice

• the bastard on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:31 am

Sweet deal!

• Master Mind on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:47 am

If quality issues still the main problem…So warranty is the answer…….

Volkswagen quality par with PROTON?????

Of Course…..Hahaha.. europe cars…still facing the technical problems????

• wolfswagen on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:18 am

Sales is bad, time to go desperate??

• RedLine on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:37 am

Now this is how a warranty should be: 5 years with unlimited mileage. Well done VW. But have to look closely at the small prints, what exactly is covered in the 5 years warranty….engine only, engine + limited parts or total "bumper to bumper" warranty.

• Ferruccio on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:39 am

Anyone who is familiar with products from VW group know that their product build quality is second to none compared to their German rivals

Why do you think they are so confident to offer such a warranty?

• abdul qayyum on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:02 am

WOW!

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:42 am

Toyota Camrys are for those who are not so rich, because kia xi car rosak. Volkswagon, Merc, BM and 'orphan' cars are for those really rich who can purchase the models that they LIKE, not the cars that they need. For example, Peugeot 308 turbo with panoramic sunroof is for those who really like the car and yet can afford to throw Rm115 000 just like spending RM150.

• d extended warranty is most welcome….

it will gives d potential buyer "worry-free" especially malaysian who has bad perception on european cars.

hopefully, more european makes will follow VW foot-step in view of challenging market ahead.

• sekseku on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:50 am

can the GOLF support RON95 petrol?

Danny Tan says: Yes

• Ongwc5 on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:59 am

Nice, hope the Golf MK6 lower down the price, will serious consider to own one! :-)

• good job VW. Even 1 year warranty, we can trust your product quality than proton..

• Still bad time for car industry? but to be optimistic it should be car industry getting more competitive. And the result will be benefits to consumer…Come on big guys…showed your marketing strategy and let's benefits everyone.

• toycar on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:25 am

peace of mind with this 5 years unlimited mileage warranty.. i am waiting for the passart cc to launch. VW offers this not because of afraid of lousy quality but to penetrate the market.

• good deal! this should be good news for potential customers.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:12 am

to lure customers away from BMW and Merc

• shawal on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:21 am

awww….so schweet….

you know what goes well with a 5 year warranty…., a 12 year loan with very low interest rates…

then all GTI will be flying off shelves…once ur done wit d car, can either sell it or pass it on, knowing its a vw, it'll be good for another 3 years

• mystvearn on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:27 am

unlimited mileage. Good for company car. Also good for people who do lots of long distance. No more 5 year or 100k km whichever come first.

• amouse on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:59 am

owns a 05 golf gti and no touch wood no major issue… german build cars is really tough.. reason why they give 5 years warranty is because they are confident with build quality. no regret getting a VW and looking forward for MK6 =)

• BeemerFreak on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:39 pm

I have 2 VWs, so far as reliable as a toyota, i would not dare to say better. However i am interested in changing one soon, why is VWM not offering the golf and Scirocco 1.4TSI with 7 speed DSG?

• MADBOY on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:41 pm

to be honest, I never trust the extended warranty program. The extra 3 year are covered by the insurance company and you have to pay for it (the interest rate is higher).

Then, what are covered are not as the same with manufacturer warranty. Some more you need to send the car to the authorised workshop for the next 5 years without fail or the warranty is null and void.

Now, how many of us really send our car to be serviced by the authorised workshop after 2 or 3 years?

Unless, it is a manufacturer original warranty, I'm ok with 2 or 3 year "normal warranty".

Extended warranty is nothing more than a tool for the insurance company to make more money. I know as I used to work with them.

• Proton Bashers Unite on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm

they look like kia's 7 year warranty in the usa

• Proton Bashers Unite on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm

i mean uk

• Ferruccio on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Extended warranty is a marketing tool by the manufacturer to make their product look more attractive. In the case of VW is not a case of desperation to clear stock but I think a significant effort to just increase their market share and get people to experience the car and thus build up the brand name here. Their market share is so small currently and it's just a result of poor awareness and nothing to do with poor quality.

VW group is currently among the biggest if not THE current biggest manufacturer in the world.

• JacKal on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:32 pm

The trick to Extended Warranty is to see if the coverage is 'mirror image' to manufacturers' warranty. You need to see how easy they are when you exceed the service intervals. Some don't even allow you to exceed 1km. I don't think it will be a full 'mirror image' extension but more of a basic warranty extension, meaning major components.

• intermilan on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Jimmy said,

January 18, 2010 @ 9:42 pm

Toyota Camrys are for those who are not so rich, because kia xi car rosak. Volkswagon, Merc, BM and ‘orphan’ cars are for those really rich who can purchase the models that they LIKE, not the cars that they need. For example, Peugeot 308 turbo with panoramic sunroof is for those who really like the car and yet can afford to throw Rm115 000 just like spending RM150.

———————————————————-

I think bashing the Peugeot 308 Turbo, which just won Maybank-NST Car of the Year 2009 award is a bad example lah jimmy.

You really should pick up another car to validate your argument, whatever it is.

As to the 5-year warranty program, noted VW are known worldwide for excellent build quality. But the small print of this programme need to be scrunitise. Paul Tan could do a great job rather than just published the news. But i guess that wouldn't be possible. As mentioned above, it might be just a marketing and/or profit-making tool in disguise.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm

yes warranty. but it could be all bullshit. however i think warranty with vw is irrelevant. their cars are superbly built.

• Paul Tan on Jan 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Intermilan, I do not appreciate such ridiculous accusations.This is not the first time you have said such things and as usual you try to insert Peugeot into everything. Who is the one who has a hidden agenda here?

Being an internet publication speed is of importance. So we put up the announcement first. In the meanwhile we are still trying to find out more. Such as the price to upgrade the Mk5 GTI warranty which i only obtained when VW got back to me and added into the post after publishing. Other details, I am still awaiting info.

• klaka seram on Jan 19, 2010 at 11:56 pm

this is good news for potential buyer. 5 yrs warranty with unlimited mileage. Hopefully other maker also will do the same

• weddin on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:15 am

Those who want to know the details, you can easily get it from the VW Malaysia's website. Read the small print yourself

• Paul Tan on Jan 20, 2010 at 2:16 am

This page ha a list of whats covered

http://my.volkswagen.com/vwcms/master_public/virt…

• torque (Member) on Jan 20, 2010 at 2:24 am

Master Mind said,

January 18, 2010 @ 7:47 pm

If quality issues still the main problem…So warranty is the answer…….

Volkswagen quality par with PROTON?????

Of Course…..Hahaha.. europe cars…still facing the technical problems????

Oh come on lah…it's a bloody marketing gimmick lah! VW is the current No.1 car manufacturer in the world and dare I say that most of their cars is very well built. Quality par with Proton?! Come on…Proton is improving but SURELY it ain't there yet…still needs a loooooooong way to go la friend…

Btw, Passat CC is selling very well now…pls read more magazine bro! Quality is not a major problem for them.

• klaka seram on Jan 20, 2010 at 3:55 am

this is purely marketing, nothing to do with quality

VW among the best car maker nowadays

• alamak on Feb 08, 2010 at 11:24 pm

It's not just marketing. It's also customer satisfaction.

As a VW GTi owner, i really welcome this extended warranty program for only RM 2910, and i can extend the "financial protection" of my GTi from the point of view of peace of mind for warranty claims, and sustained 2nd hand market value of the GTi.

• I have recently bought the new GTI model, delivered in January 2010. Its been less than 3 months (< than 5000 mileage) and I have encountered a gear box issue. Problem occurred 2 days in a row. Both incidents took place while driving on the road, speed suddenly drops, safe mode kicked in and the car could not engaged the gear. Pulled up to the side and had to restart.

Just this morning, i sent it into the service centre. They managed to diagnosed the problem, but the mechanic advised that the troubleshooting showed that this is not a permanent problem hence they cannot escalate it, or rather the mechanic (Sri-khan) said that its not a procedure to escalate a sporadic problem.

So I was told to drive home and bring it back when i encounter the problem again. Imagine if you're trying to over- take another vehicle and the speed of the car suddenly drops. I really don't see the purpose of this warranty which is meant to protect car buyers.

I was advised that if the diagnosis indicates that it as 'sporadic', it does not warrant for any part replacement,despite the fact that the mechanic has confirmed this is due to a gear box problem! Question- why not fix it for me, after-all my car is practically brand new, just came out of the first 1000 km service on Feb 10 2010.

Those who bought the new GTI model – dec batch, if you encounter gear box problems, please do share. Btw, according to the Wearnes VW mechanic, the 6 engine sensors apparently does not detect any fault if its due to the gear box. All GTI drivers mark 6, do share if you encounter a similar problem.

I do not recommend the new GTI m6 – overpriced & lousy service!

• shairiw on May 09, 2010 at 10:51 am

1. VW and AUDI is faving same old gearbox problem… and i just wonder how come… the “so called” luxury car having this problem… I face it myself with AUDI and the answer from them.. sorry … we have to refer back to Germany.. sucks. But is just maybe Iam not that lucky but my brother have Mk5.. so far no issue…

2. Please do not put PROTON in this issue… as proton is not a car… Proton is rubbish running on the road. They do not build car.. they build rubbish.. hehheh

3. It is time for us to fight to pay lower taxes for cars…. as same car sold at 50% in our places.

• jambu lim on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:14 am

can the golf tsi 1.4 to have lether seat ?