New Mazda5 previewed ahead of Geneva!

This is a case of when, not if. With the entire Mazda range adopting the big smiley corporate face, it was only a matter of time before the Mazda5 (Premacy in some markets) was forced to wear the new look. Like what you see?

The new Mazda5 will be unveiled at the 2010 Geneva Motor Show in March. Embracing “dynamic and elegant Nagare design”, it emits about 15 per cent less CO2 than the current model thanks to Mazda’s “i-stop” system, a new 2.0-litre direct injection petrol engine (paired with a six-speed manual for Europe) plus other measures. The Hiroshima based carmaker also claims a more comfortable ride, perhaps by retuning the suspension.

Mazda says that the 5 is the first production model to fully adopt its Nagare design language. Besides the Mazda3 style front end, there are other familiar Mazda cues such as the sculpted wheelarches, but the MPV’s flanks get wavy lines only seen on Mazda’s concepts prior to this. Nagare means flow in Japanese, and there’s certainly plenty of flow in the shape of the new 5. Inside, the dashboard design mimics the 3 and is more driver centric now.

European sales start in the third quarter of 2010. More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=781]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hope it will come to boleh land

• nicely design with sculptured curve and wave lines. Its engine actually performs much better than Honda's and Toyota's

• squawk on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:35 am

Smiley.

• Hideous front and awkward rear. The wave lines are too try-hard when used in that manner on an MPV.

• nabill on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:41 am

honestly i luv it….dashboard and the side profile really stands out…can never say this car looks boring

• nagare means flow..that translates the unique wave design on the side of the car..

• Redwings on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:18 am

nabill said,

January 20, 2010 @ 6:41 pm

honestly i luv it….dashboard and the side profile really stands out…can never say this car looks boring

—————————————————————-

Mazda cars never looks boring…

This new Generation Mazda5 got all the current siblings DNA.. impress..

• zamildrift on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:19 am

Front bumper could be done better, because rear looks sleek but front looks like a dugong with curvy eyes. Interior looks good, reminds me of new C-Class interior somehow.

• albagmane on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:20 am

Mazda is very successful in turning a boring MPV into a sexy one… the curve lines at the side are perfectly fitted to the body…

• japanesecarsucks on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:24 am

fucking ugly fugly

• you will need a really good panel beater if someone knocks into your side…….

• jolly_idiot on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:39 am

balakang macam estima

• AnakSarawak on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:40 am

The front girlle reminds me of ULTRAMAN's lips…but man,I LOVE the looks of this babe laah…

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:48 am

where is MAZDA 3 MPS?

I thought he is the one who always supporting mazda

maybe too busy too bash other articles related to proton

HAHA

• winteringtourer on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:49 am

cantek

• shawal on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:00 am

A commendable effort by mazda, but their nagare furai design language cannot be implemented on an MPV body, it'll look too fussy. it looks like a previous 5 but with some scratches on it.. the rear is nice..

I think its that geeky front…, if they'd changed the front it'll look much2 better

• toyoltak on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:01 am

the rear looks like merc. r class. This Mazda 5 look luxurious and 6 speed manual gearbox (will never be avail in m'sia)!!! The bee sting antenna should be replace with a shark fin design ala the conti cars. If price maintain like currect moedel or cheaper, plan to get one next year.

• altimate (Member) on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:04 am

ah seng workshop will never be able to "ketuk" the front doors back to its original shape in case of accident.. LOL

btw, i like it.. very nice.. i think mazda succeeded in making their own distinct identity with their smiley design.. one look you know it's a mazda

• denaihati on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:11 am

my favorite MPV

• Wisdom on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:18 am

Those wavy side lines are really out of place…

• xatomic on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:19 am

the front damn look like mazda3

• a bit too much detail i would say

• the rear looks sick man!!!

• libralcl on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:46 am

Oh my god, the whole 3 front cut and pasted…Where is the stylish old Mazda 5 goes…..no……

• Alpha on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:30 am

lolz,the rear kinda looks like Merc's R-Class/Honda Elysion.lolz~~nice car,nonetheless.and the "flow" around it is nice~!!nice feng shui.haha~

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:30 am

malaysia memang boleh said,

January 20, 2010 @ 7:48 pm

where is MAZDA 3 MPS?

I thought he is the one who always supporting mazda

maybe too busy too bash other articles related to proton

HAHA

————————–

lol, amboi, sungguh cantik mazda ini!!! lol no. im not that biased. the front is nice but the rear…..looks like honda elysion =(

• chaku on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:10 am

wah… mazda is pushing the nagare concept to production line.

• looks ok but dull

• the rear looks like Ssangyong Starvic!

• nice wave on the side. looks good.

• seat-belt on Jan 21, 2010 at 8:49 am

no wonder peugeot start to make their new design language as their big smiley has been copy cat-ed by mazda….

• Gajen on Jan 21, 2010 at 9:32 am

the curves are too much…its just ugly…i like the mazda 6,3,miata but not this…this is ugly

• no point if the design was superior than the predecessor but third row leg room even stingier than Alza. By the way, Mazda is driver car aka Japanese BMW

• asura on Jan 21, 2010 at 12:22 pm

its luk like estima..ummm

• azrai on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Flair design language. Nice in certain angle.

• mohd hafizzul on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Senyum sokmo….pah ceroh senyum. Paultan : Bila Mazda 3 MPS sampai sini? Yang 5 Door…??

• Yeah I agree the wavy lines is trying too hard.

Macam mana agaknya nak ketuk pintu kalau kemik eksiden?

• Catatonia on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:43 pm

All I can think about is kedai ketuk will have a tough time fixing this!

"Ah pek, how much ah…?"

"Tiu lor… Mazda Mmmm5 ah… like lanchat only… "

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:45 pm

i like the side …those thingy..apa itu

• Alanore Chong on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:58 pm

seems too many lines on the exterior, hopefully the real car will looks better.

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:14 pm

zamildrift said,

January 20, 2010 @ 7:19 pm

Front bumper could be done better, because rear looks sleek but front looks like a dugong with curvy eyes. Interior looks good, reminds me of new C-Class interior somehow.

Dugong front end?

Lets face it, thats how most cars will look like if there are no changes to the pedestrian safety crash ratings. New cars now have the bonnet a few inches taller for clearence. Look at the Pugs (the 407 was the first out of the gate with this new design)

Gone are the days of the 88 prelude and EF Civics with that ultra low bonnet lines.

• kingv6 on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:22 pm

another "smiling" car from Mazda

• madimat on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:23 pm

… ada ropa ikan paus daa..

• wallstreet on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Another trend setter design by Mazda. This is a real beauty but some might take a bit longer to get use to the new look. After all Mazda is the first and original MPV creator and still used the word MPV for their model.

• Prismo on Jan 21, 2010 at 7:13 pm

keta idaman mazda 3 mps… asal mazda je mesti cantik.. keta sorong letak logo mazda pun cantik gak… hahaha…

• Georgie on Jan 21, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Have you guys wonder, if you have this kind of car and you banged the door on a wall or something… how the hell are you going to repair and respray all those fancy curvy lines on the door? Wow….i must say this car is aesthetically pleasing yet the brilliant design is impractical. And the dashboard is too cluttered and may be too confusing unlike honda's design. Just my 2 cents ;)

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 21, 2010 at 11:56 pm

when comparing the specs, toyota or honda always the looser~ damn xxxx heartless the dealer here…

go mazda~ the side line wave so cool!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:50 am

honestly i don't like this car. it's an mpv, looks kind of dull. however the side design motives…all is forgiven.

• Early adopter on Jan 22, 2010 at 3:46 pm

At first glance, the front may slightly be out of proportion…probably a simple front lip will do great deal….similar to the current M3 sport that I own. Still finding for the right lip to complement the design.

Overall, a splendid milestone for Mazda and thinking out of the box… H and T are still a consumer choice and I think they produce good cars, however Mazda is playing quite a good catch up game……hehe…

• The Who.. on Jan 22, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Hmphh.. Nice.. But, not in love with it yet… Not like Mazda 3.. Fall in love with it at first sight..

• supermotors on Jan 23, 2010 at 4:02 pm

All's well up until the C-pillars. From there onwards the New Mazda5 loses the style mojo of its predecessor. The car looks like a deformed half-grown between a mid-size and full-size MPV. The wave lines are a revelation though, and Mazda should be praised for such a radical design cue.

• interior looks very conti. not a bad thing

• marzuki on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:44 pm

bila nak masuk pasaran malaysia..tak sabar nak test drive..kalu harga berpatutan ..mmmm

• yeop_joe on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:39 am

Aisehmeng… If wanna do comparison, pls la do homework abit bros…

Mazda5 is a MINI MPV (if not mistaken), so it is smaller la, a lil bit somewhat like a wagon… only to see it got higher roof than a wagon. A wagon is just an added rear chasis to a sedan for more room to put stuff. MPV is bigger lah like the Mazda MPV lah.

How to compare this 5 to Estima, Elysion, Alphard, Elgrand? Those are mini vans and in the Mazda MPV category… the 5 is not even in their category bros… the van category is like an econovan, vanette, hiace or even transit & can ferry more then 10 person..

• Bile BERMAZ nak bawa masuk ni…. tak sabo menunggu ni…