Škoda achieves all-time sales record in 2009

Brands that provide good value for money thrive in a weak economy where buyers want to stretch their money, which is why companies like Hyundai had a great 2009 at the expense of more established brands. Joining the Korean marque is Škoda, which sold 684,226 cars in 2009 to better its previous sales record. The figure represents a 1.4% growth over 2008.

Western Europe continues to be Škoda’s strongest market, with both sales and market share increased throughout the continent. Volkswagen’s Czech subsidiary sold over 190,000 cars in Germany, up 57.3% year-on-year. However, the Chinese market saw Škoda’s biggest jump with over 122,000 cars registered – an increase of 107%.

Worldwide, the best-selling Škoda in 2009 was the Octavia, with more than 270,000 cars sold, followed by the Fabia, of which over 260,000 were registered. The much-praised Superb recorded 45,000 units. Customers also showed plenty of interest in the new Škoda Yeti crossover which, despite only being launched in September, found over 11,000 new owners last year. The company also sold over 47,000 Roomsters worldwide.

We can understand the appeal of Škoda cars. Solidly built with VW technology and standards at a lower price, it’s a pity that they don’t have much a of presence in Malaysia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 22, 2010 at 8:01 pm

VW Malaysia should think about taking over from quasar carriage. In That case they can prmote the skoda brand as theirs and sell at a price to conquer what honda and toyota are having. In that case it might just fly off the shelf. VW cars are seling well now, i had to wait for 45 minutes just to test drive a MKiv Golf GTi.

• Gonggok on Jan 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Well, I bought a Skoda back in 2003 and as per other cars the normal maintenance is reasonable. As long as you do not trash the car there should be no worries of extra cost.

• mr_3m on Jan 22, 2010 at 8:35 pm

They should bring a Yeti TDI here… priced the same as the Sportage or 2WD Grand Vitara.. at around RM100-105k… that would be very nice…

• skoda / SEAT are value for money for German technology at 30% ot 50% off from VW or Audi respectively….

How come there is no arrival of the new Superb/Octivia/Fabia ???

If Suzuki Swift can do so much better….y not new Fabia?

wth 1.4 TSI engine…..

• Jumbsuck on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:02 pm

"… it’s a pity that they don’t have much a of presence in Malaysia."

And it's pity too that Proton-VW deal gone dead, if not Proton power window quality and toilet bowl Savvy design crap will be solved forever.

• trav_da_man on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:10 pm

A total underwhelming brand in Mysia. They should change distributors to VW Mysia themselves and then straighten their market with the Fabias and Octavia.

• littlefire on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:24 pm

See what VW can turn Skoda into!

Have you all seen the Skoda Superb! Is really amazing, even bently, BMW 7series lost to it in a few review about comfort! (Read in Autocar magazine before) or suft the net about it..

Skoda really is value for money in Europe..

• Nice car

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Jumbsuck said,

January 22, 2010 @ 1:02 pm

“… it’s a pity that they don’t have much a of presence in Malaysia.”

And it’s pity too that Proton-VW deal gone dead, if not Proton power window quality and toilet bowl Savvy design crap will be solved forever.

—————————–

haha agree

• Gogok,

How does the ride feel? What is your opinion on the overall quality of the car? Best and worst thing abt your car?

• I like Skoda Octavia VRS.. they should bring in to Malaysia with the reasonable price..

• theanswer on Jan 22, 2010 at 11:07 pm

"And it’s pity too that Proton-VW deal gone dead, if not Proton power window quality and toilet bowl Savvy design crap will be solved forever."

hei..watch out..u might hurt p1 die hard fans feelings here. to them p1 can do their r&d alone without vw help. well..even skoda(started in 1895) got help from vw.

• nadzri m yusof on Jan 22, 2010 at 11:16 pm

no one like this car, design outdated. sucks

• klaka seram on Jan 22, 2010 at 11:44 pm

fabia & octavia are good cars. However the VAG need to change the distributor if they really want to build the brand in M'sia.

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 23, 2010 at 12:11 am

new volkswagen dealership in johor, FA wagen in danga bay, near clark hatch or 7 spice indian cuisine

• I like the superb but not the model. They made is ugly with that extended rear.

• Sorry.. forgot to add the ' new' model

• Jumbsuck on Jan 23, 2010 at 12:36 am

If Skoda wish to be a success here just do rename it to Skodeng cars, you know everything must be local name Boleh Land style.

Octavia – Skodeng Otai

Fabia – Skodeng Phobia kot?

Yeti – Skodeng Bigfoot Bung

Superb – Skodeng WaCayaSamaLuLahBeb!

Roomster – Skodeng Kelambu

• BeemerFreak on Jan 23, 2010 at 1:31 am

littlefire said,

January 22, 2010 @ 1:24 pm

See what VW can turn Skoda into!

Have you all seen the Skoda Superb! Is really amazing, even bently, BMW 7series lost to it in a few review about comfort! (Read in Autocar magazine before) or suft the net about it..

Skoda really is value for money in Europe..

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\

Yeah Agree, they are an example of what Proton would have been had they just not care about their selfishness and their so called reputation. Anyway for them being better then bentley and audi and BMW i agree with that too, LOOK OUT at AUTOCAR ASEAN February 2009 issue

• bobdbilder on Jan 23, 2010 at 1:55 am

Aiya pikir susah-susah buat pe? Kau letak aje VW logo on Skoda and Seat. Senang skit nak jual. Jual harga Skoda. Why not? Toyota does it with Daihatsu and Perodua. Don't want to tarnish their 'image'? Everybody else knows already what. Plus the VW 'experience' is not embedded with the local yet. Do it while the mind has not set yet. Ni pun kena bagitau ke? Tu lah tak nak dengar cakap org local. Ikut kepala dia aje. Lantak ko lah.

• Need new coherent strategy which both VW & Audi have also yet to achieve much so far.

It is not just building a nice showroom, putting out nice adverts.

• We want more skoda in Malaysia…

• just me on Jan 23, 2010 at 6:04 am

looks like a renault kangoo…

ugly…

• but skoda cars are ugly!

people like to drive cars that are appealing to an extent.

• shawal on Jan 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm

octavia looks boring…just wait till a new comes along…

But I really2 want the superb.., in metallic maroon, it really look the business~!

• shawal on Jan 23, 2010 at 1:42 pm

thats a gewd lookin' skoda

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-reviews/skoda-octavi…

• slipstream on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:14 pm

skoda's are great..drove a fabia for 2 years in the middle east..no problems..

this is my favourite..the skoda superb combi (wagon)..

http://www.carsguide.com.au/site/news-and-reviews…

by the way guys, i rang up quasar and they said they are bringing in the 2010 fabias and octavias sometime this year…so ring them up and place in your orders!

I've read so many reviews from happy skoda owners..and skoda won top gear (UK) best manufacturer award 2007..check out awards won below..speaks volumes

http://www.skoda.com.au/skodaaustralia/awards.asp…

pity i'm in australia..but when i do come back to KL, it will be a skoda for me, God-willing