Facelifted Toyota Vios headed our way soon!

Toyota’s mid-life facelift for the Vios gives it a chrome grille that bears a family resemblance to the recently facelifted Toyota Camry.

The new multi-bar grille distances the new facelifted Vios from the previous cutesy animal-like image that the pre-FL Vios had. The bumper has also been updated with new inserts for the foglamp area.

At the rear, the tail lamps seem to have been ‘flipped’ vertically – the previous design was red at the top and clear at the bottom. The facelifted vios has clear at the top and red at the bottom.

We should most likely see it launched in Thailand first and then the rest of ASEAN later.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wajarlah on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:49 am

Yess!

• Leong on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:50 am

Still so ugly

• adrianclw on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:50 am

This new facelift is much better than current especially the front..

• orido on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:51 am

older is better. such a disappointment. .

• wakaka on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:54 am

aik..ni jer? xder beza pon?cuma tambah grille crome jek?flip lampu belakang(putih-merah)

apa daaaa!!!

patutnya the big T must come out with a 'umphhh' facelift..not like this!!!!

• celicazz on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:55 am

teethed dugongs…

• look vios facelift…flip tail lamp for facelift..now even stupider than proton persona facelift rite…haheha

• just get a kia forte

• Ah Bear on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:55 am

Classy grill……

• gone wit the dugong nose?

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:02 am

is this so call facelift.it looks even more uglier.the saga of dugongs continues

• at least now it's better looking than the current one, but still no looker.

pug and forte is the best in this class, hands down.

• Vezeroth on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:06 am

i cannot understand the people who buy a vios, its ugly, expensive and its still just a tin kosong.. if i needed a car in this category i'd put my money on a persona.. its simple better value

• ugly before…ugly and old now….

• no ummp!! better go for new pesona facelifted

• zman said,

January 31, 2010 @ 11:55 pm

look vios facelift…flip tail lamp for facelift..now even stupider than proton persona facelift rite…haheha

————————

plus space for fog lamp..

• klguy on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:11 am

facelift? wat facelift? got pedal stuck issue ah?

• Salamander on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:14 am

Still fugly..

• exedy on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:16 am

see…if p1 do a new facelift with new ecu "yerk,sucks,low quality,no diff," kaw2 bash..but if "T" new facelift "atleast better looking,cool,much better," dun no after this…car maker also same

• mitlanevo on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:16 am

another dugong waiting for factory recall…

city, latio, forte and persona FTW….

• muharifz on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:27 am

Still dugong wannabe…

• WTF?! Another facelift??? for this dated toyota car….

This is like the recyled of the recyled car….reminds me of shop selling air tebu, gelek, gelek and gelek the tebu until no more juice…and still wanna gelek samor…..hahahahah

• FIXER (Member) on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:38 am

Still the ugliest car on the road.looks uglier when put on bodykit,bigger wheels etc..Ppl will buy just for the 'T' brand no matter how ugly it is.Better go for Forte or City.At least the meter is in the correct position.In front of driver.Central speedo is acceptable in an MPV.Where all of your family members can see how fast you are driving lol.

• Dr. M on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:39 am

Vios is a cheap non-national model. Good non-national models should be Civic 2.0 and Lancer 2.0.

• Alpha on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:45 am

just get a Rolls-Royce Ghost!!come on!!

• jontfj on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:46 am

what a disspointment…

• hahaha padan muka (Member) on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:46 am

Vezeroth said,

i cannot understand the people who buy a vios, its ugly, expensive and its still just a tin kosong.. if i needed a car in this category i’d put my money on a persona.. its simple better value

Vezeroth and mitlanevo were true….

vios n city still uglu as ever….dunno why ppl buy it…maybe because of its name..TOYOTA…HONDA…price rm70k mahal giler maa….but ugly…better buy persona laa…murah sikit…also have large space maa…go for local car laa…its hurts when this expensive car go for factory recall…hehehehehe

• vezeroth,
      kereta tempatan byk problem n no harga!!biar mahal tapi berharga!!i likeeee…

• Ah Beng chrome kit/treatment

• sammy on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:57 am

Looks better but not any better compared to Forte or i30 and coming i20! 308 still sexier!

• milanista on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:58 am

Wow…they managed to make it uglier. well done toyota.

• what a joke?!!

• redfueler on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:14 am

t=toyota=triumph

• @hahaha padan muka

Couldn't agree more, both Vios and City are tin kosong. Cheap plastic dashboard and many more…. not much difference between proton persona…

but…

at least the engine in Honda and Toyota are way way way much better. Fuel economy, better reliability. This is not merely speculation created by Honda or Toyota fanboy, during a wedding convo, we drove a Vios and Persona, both full tank, by the time we reach our destination which is 3 hours away, Persona has less than half a tank of petrol whereas Vios has more than half.

• A'enz on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:23 am

Proton bashers.. try to explain this.. kenapa Toyota buat facelift korang x bising dan kalo Proton buat facelift korang bash, bagi komen yg bodo2?

The facelift dugong on da way.. sruely p1 basher will say.. "wow! it's awsome!"

kejap lagi Mazda 3 Mps and da gangs on da rescue…..!! hahaha…

• A'enz on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:25 am

and i'm forget.. it's a camry GRILL!! huahuahua..!! org jepun dah xder idea lagi dah..

• ariff on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:27 am

paul, sori to be out of topic, but am really curious caz as the current avanza owner…

do you have any idea when is or if there is all new avanza, instead of another facelift…

• jammed pedal

• Still dugong! Dual vvti??

• uWang on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:42 am

this is like VIVA ELITE, seriously, see it yourself..the rims, the grill, the fog lamp.. am i correct??

• gattaca on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:58 am

lucky they not flip rear lamp with front lamp…hahhaha facelift jugak apa…

• msian on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:19 am

DUGONG WITH BRACES

• Maserati on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:25 am

Vezeroth said,

February 1, 2010 @ 12:06 am

i cannot understand the people who buy a vios, its ugly, expensive and its still just a tin kosong.. if i needed a car in this category i’d put my money on a persona.. its simple better value

Oh my,u sure Vezeroth,my fren just got his Persona 1 month back.

On the collection date in which he got his car,the door panel dropped of from the metal door frame.There was a missing screw there.

And the air con is making funny noises once he starts the car.Mind you,this happened on the first day!!!

And guess what,just now his car bumper suddenly dislodged itself for no particular reason.He wasnt banged or anything,it just came off.So now its hanging there like a piece of shit.

Yes Persona may have better specs compared to Vios at almost 30k cheaper,but at the end of the day,you are still paying for a piece of JUNK that is even worse than a VIOS.

• japanesecarsucks on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:26 am

does it comes with sticky throttle?

• the big company make the ugliest design . Honda city is more better…

• uWang on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:29 am

VIVA ELITE…AM I RIGHT?

• toy-auta on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:31 am

only dugongs like vios dugong

• vios is outdated….not worth the money….same old engine…trans….(no it got eps as improvement….)

• asgard on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:19 am

still not attractive to buy this,pls put more stuff like digital auto climate control and extra airbag,pay more get less,and lastly pls put the dial back to right.

• stevewy on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:24 am

soon to be fast swimming dugong…becoz gas pedal stuck on floormat and canot slow down xD

• chaku on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:56 am

Maserati said,

February 1, 2010 @ 2:25 am

On the collection date in which he got his car,the door panel dropped of from the metal door frame.There was a missing screw there.

And the air con is making funny noises once he starts the car.Mind you,this happened on the first day!!!

And guess what,just now his car bumper suddenly dislodged itself for no particular reason.He wasnt banged or anything,it just came off.So now its hanging there like a piece of shit.

Yes Persona may have better specs compared to Vios at almost 30k cheaper,but at the end of the day,you are still paying for a piece of JUNK that is even worse than a VIOS.

—————————————————————

another 'my friend' story.

i had enuff, any one can say my fren this my fren that.lame

btw MY FATHER's Alphard also got prob, both sliding door motor died already, it's anoying since the sliding door is damn heavy. All the steering button not working anymore. The glove drawer clipping break off without apparent reason, VERY expensive to replace. The reverse sensors( and all those corner sensors) goes off even while moving on the road. So if there, a motorcycle/car drive near our MPV in congested road, the warning alarm goes off. damn annoying.

my version of 'my friend' story

• im not undestand why alot of rakyat malaysia so like persona .. proton persona is a junk car!! cannot aompare to world TOYOTA

• Maserati said,

Vezeroth said,

——————————————-

im very curious…don we suppose can reject if the car we receive is not gud during hand over…i inspect my car first when receive so there is no prob..ur fren la stupid don check just receive blindly

• zman said,

February 1, 2010 @ 4:44 am

Maserati said,

Vezeroth said,

——————————————-

im very curious…don we suppose can reject if the car we receive is not gud during hand over…i inspect my car first when receive so there is no prob..ur fren la stupid don check just receive blindly

————————–

that y until now i has no prob wit my car…r u silly enough to receive bad condition car during hand over? if u take, its ur mistake not the maker

• Yawn… all fighting over a bread and butter car…..
    The NFL is ok only then again it is vios cannot expect much…
    The reason why we get crap toyota model in Malaysia is cos of ….
    you guys who is well versed in automotive industry will know the answer.
    Think about it RM 80+K for bread & butter model.
    For SGD 80+K can buy Mark X in singapore……

• come on toyota, it's your vios' rear overall design (especially tail lamps) is what ugly most.. major change plsss..

• kodok on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:20 pm

stupid car with ugly design..the only gud thing is the engine..its the biggest rip off from toyota!!

• Bravo Toyota on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Hi Paul , do you know when this facelift model will arrive in our market ?

I love Toyota .. it's a shame these Proton salesmen and those who cannot-afford-a-Jap-car are whining here .. hahaha .. once released to our highway , you'll see the volume of Vios drowning the over-priced Potongs .. hahahahahahaha !!! Go go Toyota !

PS : About the US market recall of Camrys , it's shw that Toyota is a responsible company that maintained high safety standard. Btw, the carpet is supplied by other manufacturer , so the faulty issue is not Toyota's fault. Even Sony recalled their notebook batteries not long ago. Better than Proton , if any faulty detected , rest assured they will just keep quiet. And btw , Proton Perdana case, anyone remember Pakatan govs in Perak and Selangor decision to changed to Camry ? Coz mountain-high service and maintainance cost !! hahahahhahahaa … junk ..

• Bravo Toyota on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Btw, if cannot afford a Jap car , better go for Perodua than Potongs. At least money well-spent .. Potong ? Never on my mind ..

• hahahha…i see the same pattern again.

Firstly, a car gets bashing. Later another comparison car gets bashing.

Then ppl among ppl bashing…

• learner on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:11 pm

hmmm, still the same. if compare 1st gen vios, 2nd gen and now facelift version to persona (not the facelift), i will choose persona anytime if any other factors put aside. for me persona design is really world class design. i believe this design if put in any continent also people will think the same. but vios………. haiyoooo

• kancil elite on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:16 pm

vios ripoff? thats exactly what proton wants u to think…cos thats their only selling point – price. proton is the predicament of our car prices.

• japanesecarsucks on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:32 pm

To all toyota lover, you know that toyota treat us differently from the rest part of the world.

For the toyota corp, we are like low caste( or pariah people in india), thats why they gave us with stupid car version like unser, avanza or the 2wd rush (4wd sold in japan).

Only nasty looking car and downgraded versions are sold in Malaysia and Indonesia. ahahaha ignorant people.

• Carazzi on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:37 pm

dont need to argue la..

it's simple….for now if you want to get a car of this segment juz go for Kia forte if you something pricier and well equipped….otherwise juz go for the Persona..

Vios is so expensive and quality is on par with proton…seriously this is not a joke..Juz go for Kia forte if u doesn't have confident the persona

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Bravo Toyota said,

February 1, 2010 @ 9:43 am

I love Toyota .. it’s a shame these Proton salesmen and those who cannot-afford-a-Jap-car are whining here .. hahaha .. once released to our highway , you’ll see the volume of Vios drowning the over-priced Potongs .. hahahahahahaha !!! Go go Toyota !

PS : About the US market recall of Camrys , it’s shw that Toyota is a responsible company that maintained high safety standard. Btw, the carpet is supplied by other manufacturer , so the faulty issue is not Toyota’s fault. Even Sony recalled their notebook batteries not long ago. Better than Proton , if any faulty detected , rest assured they will just keep quiet. And btw , Proton Perdana case, anyone remember Pakatan govs in Perak and Selangor decision to changed to Camry ? Coz mountain-high service and maintainance cost !! hahahahhahahaa … junk ..

———-

Toyota a responsible company? Tell that to the American family who DIED in the Lexus that caused the recall! If the US Government didn't FORCE Toyota to recall their cars, they would just swept it under the rug. Pah…

• Andrew on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:08 pm

to BRAVO TOYOTA

you must be an idiot! responsible to recall cars at the States?

they are forced by the G to do so…havent you read the news?

i bet you are some kind of UMW salesman right? lol !

• Bravo Toyota on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:51 pm

To Toyota bashers , as said the floor mats is supplied by 3rd party manufacturer and has nothing to do with Toyota at the first place. Rest assured Toyota only sourced the best parts for their vehicles, at least to their engineers knowledge. How about Potong ? Under table money here and there and all their parts manufacturers were either their cronies or those-who-offer-best-under-table-money type of tender system .. hahaha .. Dont forget Honda did the same recently to recall their Jazz due to suspected switch defect. If these are not an act of responsibility , what do call this? Potong ? So perfect , never recalled anything .. If Potong ever recall anything , they will recall endlessly and go bust overnight. Never on on the news which says Toyota recalled in the US due to G pressure. All was said is this is their voluntary initiative but G asked to widen to more models.

Just to recap , if cannot afford any Jap cars , Perodua offers a good buy.

Kia also good alternative , thanks for pointing out. And btw , someone posted about the new Pesona had the door panel dropped off ! And a friend of mine who collected his new Gen2 couple of years back, had problem to close the passenger door and sold off that Junk2 the next day and suffered 4k losses overnight .. good lesson eh ..

Cheers .. btw , I dont sell Toyota :-P

• IPH GuY on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Already vios have good sales even though people comment dugong face, this facelift will even boost more sales for UMW… Bravo… Hopefully there is a changes in the interior as well.

• Saiful on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:13 pm

GO FOR FORTE… good car

• BRAVO TOYOTA….

surely a toyota salesman… haha…

da bimbang ke sales jatuh bro..hahah…

rilex sudey… ;p

haha agreed with most of u…

vios still ugly as ever.. everything is ugly & crap except the engine…

hurmmm probably should swap with Campro..so it would become fully crap car.. haha

• To Idiots and Genius out there:

I can only see two groups of ppl. One with enough cash to buy foreign-made cars, and the rest have no choice but stick to Proton/Produa.

It really depends on how much you have first, before you choose the car you like. I am neither fans to Toyota or Honda, but definitely not Proton and Produa. I am Engineer, i choose what i believe.

Recalls could ruin the reputation, but it is better than thousands of car accidents happening in malaysia (involving specific types of cars) without a known reason.

Then i will call the buyers idiots. and I pity to those who cant afford a better car. Blame who? Blame Government?

• No different….

• kanasai on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:26 pm

speechless… buy national car instead.

• Accord on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Ngan said,

February 1, 2010 @ 1:20 am

@hahaha padan muka

Couldn’t agree more, both Vios and City are tin kosong. Cheap plastic dashboard and many more…. not much difference between proton persona…

but…

at least the engine in Honda and Toyota are way way way much better. Fuel economy, better reliability. This is not merely speculation created by Honda or Toyota fanboy, during a wedding convo, we drove a Vios and Persona, both full tank, by the time we reach our destination which is 3 hours away, Persona has less than half a tank of petrol whereas Vios has more than half.

—————————————————————

Why dont u compare Persona with same cc like Forte? With Persona U will get extra RM20k in your pocket right??

• Accord on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Maserati said,

Vezeroth said,

—————————————————————-

At least Proton cars doesnt have SAP problem.

• rickyll on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:35 pm

When can people ever grow up? A face lift means minor changes to make the car a bit difference from the previous one. whether it looks better or worse it's in the eyes of the beholders. Personally, I think the changes make Vois looks better. Vois was once in my car list, not any more. I bought a Forte 1.6 SX and took delivery of it just before Christmas. I must say it's a very nice car, I enjoy every minute driving it. Except for the fuel consumption, everything else is just superb. Any way, the 4 K price difference is enough to pay for my first year petrol money.

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Forte ate up > RM4,000 per year extra in petrol consumption compared to Vios? Rickyll, you need to get your head examined on why you bought a Korean junk!

• Accord on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:36 pm

eddy said,

February 1, 2010 @ 4:06 am

im not undestand why alot of rakyat malaysia so like persona .. proton persona is a junk car!! cannot aompare to world TOYOTA

—————————————————————-

What world toyota did you mean?? A world of problematic SAP?? The Persona is just a good bargain car when you consider your safety. At least it is safe, bigger and cheaper than Toy Auta Cars.

• i wished they did something to the whole front…. not just cosmetic changes…

• Eyesore on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Bravo Toyota, sure previously the problem is the matt supplied by third party manufacturer… however who in the first place made the design and who approved the use of the matt? One answer…. Toyota and their designer…so naturally the blame goes to them. And the recent problem with the paddle, it stuck even without the matt (Toyota said that, refer to previous article). So no longer matt supplier fault.. right?

Responsible? No way… after 19 deaths and force by US govt to do recall, then only the recall… that is in no way responsible to me…

Proton did recalled their cars before… remember the Savvy wheel bearing problem? Ahh… you got memory lost… aight?

And for the third time i'm saying this…. Manufacturer only do recall when the problem is very serious and could cause death to customer… such as Toyota stucky pedal, Savvy wheel bearing and Honda power window switch which lead to burnt car…… NO manufacturer will do recall for small problem such as faulty power window or broken door handle or warped brake disk (MyVi, remember? Tho i think this is potentially hazardous to customer ) etc….. they only repair or replace those things during service or when customer claim warranty…. Duhhhhh…. show me one, just one manufacturer that recall their car for a minor fault… if you can…

• staff on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:56 pm

BRAVO TOYOTA… go read the news la…

It was mentioned by American agency that they urged Toyota to make the recall…

By the way, "the mat supplied by third party", then whos the QC who accept it? It is still Toyota isnt it? Consumers will point to the party that they bought from… they never care about the third party who make what…

The same will go to Proton…

So, no different between your lovely Toyota to Proton…

• Dr. M on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Please support Proton (CPS), Honda (i-VTEC) and Mitsubishi (MIVEC) made vehicles. Thank you

• yippi33 on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:03 pm

msian said,

February 1, 2010 @ 2:19 am

DUGONG WITH BRACES

priceless..

• kimi_ on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Frankly speaking, the grille is the only things that nicer….

Dont compare it with p1 dude, if vios is JUNK, then persona is SHIT !!!!

Proton supporter should check their eyes seriously by saying persona is nicer than this, GET A LIFE

• Azmin on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Macam mana korang boleh compare Pesona vs Vios/City/Forte ? Tak masuk akal .. tak sama kelas !!

Compare Pesona to Vios/City/Forte is like comparing Buah Limau Kasturi vs Durian D24 / Durian D15 / Durian Lipan .. boleh ke ? Tak sama kelas maaaa !!

• Redwings on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:48 pm

I guess ppl still opt T.V and H.Citi because of the good resell value..

You can just search around for new cars price between 80k – 90k…

After 5 yrs.. you probably still able to sell it at 50-60k..

How much a Korean car value after 5 yrs..? Hardly get RM30k..

And in term of the fuel consumption…it is the best in the market..except those below..1300cc cars..

If you check again.. those best sellers cars in M'sia are those with highest resell values… you should know which car from P2…

Guess.. those ppl bought the T.V and H.Citi now n can still get some good $$$ after selling it 5 yrs later…

Just my 2cents…

• Andrew on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:05 pm

And a friend of mine who collected his new Gen2 couple of years back, had problem to close the passenger door and sold off that Junk2 the next day and suffered 4k losses overnight .. good lesson eh ..

my fren…my fren……..

my fren bought a vios J and he notice that the car interior was infested with dead people that was killed by stucked accelerator pedal toyotas..he sold off his vios J after one hour of ownership and suffer a lost of 10k

• Quattro (Member) on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:18 pm

dungung…………..donno what toyota vios is doing………vios batch lama sama cantik dengan city baru……………way better than dugong J dari segi design luaran.

jika toyota nak lawan market city baru > buat design mcm model vios lama dan meter panel di depan driver …..mmg paling laris di pasaran…….tgk camry dan altis > toyota tak brani buat meter kat tengah….sure tak laku…………..vios ni murah sikit so no choice > vios better than persona.

• Falseter on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:34 pm

if you drive a Vios in Indonesia, people will call you by waving and yelling TAXI!!!

That's why people in here are not interested in Vios cars

• staff on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:54 pm

haha…

i still want to compare persona and vios… so, what you will do with me?

hit me? kill me? haha… come and get me…

• better than P1 Pesona facelift..

• tokmoh on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:29 am

Maserati : OH YOU.

Pics or it didn't happen.

~~~~~

Bravo Toyota said,

February 1, 2010 @ 9:43 am

I love Toyota .. it’s a shame these Proton salesmen and those who cannot-afford-a-Jap-car are whining here .. hahaha .. once released to our highway , you’ll see the volume of Vios drowning the over-priced Potongs .. hahahahahahaha !!! Go go Toyota !

PS : About the US market recall of Camrys , it’s shw that Toyota is a responsible company that maintained high safety standard. Btw, the carpet is supplied by other manufacturer , so the faulty issue is not Toyota’s fault. Even Sony recalled their notebook batteries not long ago. Better than Proton , if any faulty detected , rest assured they will just keep quiet. And btw , Proton Perdana case, anyone remember Pakatan govs in Perak and Selangor decision to changed to Camry ? Coz mountain-high service and maintainance cost !! hahahahhahahaa … junk ..

>>> Remember ex-perak MB Nizar and Tian Chua involved in accident, both in Camry? What, gonna blame it on Proton's power window?

• pity…paying their hard earn money and have everyone calling their car dugong..must feel like shit as the intention of buying an expensive car is to increase their social status..but in return they heard dugung for their car…regret but to hide their wrong decision, ending up bashing other car maker…hehe

• Sparks on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:32 am

It's interesting to see you guys comparing Vios with Persona…

• i dont know people here… bash something with fact la… not saying a junk or whatever just like that… show ur reason.. be educated… i make the rule…

– comment with fact… place date, day and year

– if it about a defect that u encountered.. no old story… ok because this related to proton.. let say year 2007 onwards started from persona.. same with toyota and honda… new story, new problem of toyota or honda.. not ur 10 years old toyota… who want to buy 10 years old toyota… if kia, put aside the old kia engine problem.. kia have new gema engine fitted on most new kia cars which also shared in Mitsubishi lancer..

– put side by side the comparison…

– if can any related news that showed the related fact.. for example if u want to say sticky pedal of toyota.. put the link of the news here…

– any technical or ethical value may be included…

if u said it is a junk without a fact.. hmm let people judge.. hahaha…

anyone want to add??

• Bimbo in reality on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:55 am

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and not forgetting how much you can afford for a car installment monthly. So what if i'm buying a 75k empty tin as apposed to a full spec car 15k or more cheaper? Uhm well thats because i can afford and you can't and at the end of the day you'll know who'll look good

• mynuszero on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:35 am

aiyoo everytime want to fight….compare this car with that car…..Toyota/Honda always the best……many of the plastic parts in my 1 month Civic is already making rattling noise…..many dont know but Civic has this steering rack problem since ages but Honda never bothered to rectify it….i only knew about it after buying the car…..till today many owners have to go thru the hassle to claim warranty…..my brother's Camry too the same issue….6months after buying steering rack kaput…..so stop comparing proton with toyota with honda….all cars got problem since they are all assembled in 3 world countries like ours…..funny u dont compare toyota/honda with volvo, BMW or mercedes…..sore losers!

• alpha999 on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:47 am

yes….the only good thing about jap makes are the engine. for under RM 93 k, which other make will provide well-proven, reliable, durable with best in class fuel economy ???? how about perodua ? still under daihatsu

how about forte ? yes, korean new breed, if fuel economy can rival the japs, im sure many will consider seriously

• satrian on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:08 am

Wheater ugly or not …for sure it will. sell like hot cakes….normally people who cant effort will bash la….its normal…….for me i use to have T/V last time and now im using T/C but for me T/V is the best car la………

• Abzaja on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:53 am

Wah…Toyoto so good, this is what we called facelift…sooo much different tha previous one…unlike persona that just doing some minor2 touch-up**

-end of sarcasm-

Anyway, once a dugong always a dugong

• skiborne on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:25 am

my god, i would still prefer the current's front end. this has too many chrome bits,

• peYno on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:33 am

pls settle your pedal problem first before introducing stupid facelift…prrrfthhh

• tokmoh on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:41 am

Bimbo in reality said,

February 1, 2010 @ 4:55 pm

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and not forgetting how much you can afford for a car installment monthly. So what if i’m buying a 75k empty tin as apposed to a full spec car 15k or more cheaper? Uhm well thats because i can afford and you can’t and at the end of the day you’ll know who’ll look good

>>> Your mentality is like one of those MLM people. When their biz is good, they buy BMW, not one, two, but three BMWs.

But when crisis hits, BMX also cannot afford.

Smart rich people don't spend their money on car for others to "think" that they're rich. They invest elsewhere, real estate, gold, oil, take up courses, etc. You sir, don't sound like one.

• just minor facelift for this vios. grill like take from camry facelift also. but dont worry. since it sold under T badge, it will sell like hot cakes.

• gen2lama on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:51 am

agree with u tokmoh..

for those who bising2 cannot afford to buy branded car because of poton, please la work harder or use ur head to earn more….i drive poton maa…realible issue?…gen2 still with original parts..near 300k now…and happy with underpowered mpv …

simple solution for those who want to buy T car but salary cukup2 makan je …

invest yr salary la…salaary baru 5k sibuk nak tunjk orang mampu pakai T,H…piii dahhh….taknak cakap lebih la nanti Mr konon say i TALK BIG….

ok i give simple way….instead of buying 80K car from yr salary y dont u apply for 15 years i-tani loan for piece of land/kebun…if u r lucky can get 20K per acre…80K can get 4 acre.80k i-tani loan berapa je repayment every month….the income?..

(pengalaman sendiri) average for 4 acre – 5-6 tonne sawit per month…current market price RM450/tonne…so >RM2000 per month (net)….ok let say u pay 800 per month for loan repayment…..u still get more than 1k per month….(gaji tak sentuh lagi ni)…extra 1k per month + salary beli la kete apa nak beli…tapi i dont go buy T or H….happy with my 800 per month junk P1….heheh not TALK BIG la…better buy kebun lain….

just wan to share….pasif investment….lazy people pun can be rich…..

• still same old darn ugly dugong with minor makeups….

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:35 am

Too bad. Animal creature will get a facelift.

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:41 am

Too bad. Animal creature get facelifted. Dugong will extinct soon.

• viosuser on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:33 am

wow, now only i know so many people hate vios. as a family man at mid 30s…. style is not important for me. i am a satisfied customer of vios. Maybe it's because i was using a proton saga old model last time thus make me feel that vios is just so much more comfortable. probably can try persona next time since so mant people like it…………….

i m using a RM99 nokia handphone and a lot of people laugh at me too :)

• tokmoh on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:01 am

gen2lama : bingo ;)

Those people have no idea of how humble, frugal and prudent the richest man in the world, Warren Buffett, is. Nak buat camna… bila mata dan hati dah dibuta oleh T n H, sanggup nmpk diri sendiri jadi bodoh drp mengaku kalah hehehe

• Bimbo in Reality on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:17 am

tokmoh said,

February 1, 2010 @ 7:41 pm

"Smart rich people don’t spend their money on car for others to “think” that they’re rich. They invest elsewhere, real estate, gold, oil, take up courses, etc. You sir, don’t sound like one."

Real estate, gold, oil? Take up courses?(on? Robert & Amy Kiyosaki lol)

We're talking about a mere 80k car so you sir don't try to sound like someone smart either lmao

Don't try to contradict what i'm saying, my point is to be precise, if you like it buy it, who bloody cares what people think? If you can't afford it, buy cheap car, if you can buy a better and if you're more than able buy a swanky car!

So you're implying people buy swanky cars are dumb?

BTW agree on MLM but hey they earn it they buy it and its none of our beez weez!

• RedLine on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:24 am

This facelift is a MID-LIFE facelift??? Vios has been around for 6 years! and 6 years is only mid-life? So a completely new Vios will only be introduced after 12 years??? Wow…. Its a bout time Toyota replaces the Vios with a completely new design…way too long already…

• Sentul Cowboy on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:41 am

OMG, Toyota is hopeless, look like SHIT, Toyota cheat people same as P1 and P2… use after market parts as face lift…

• Sentul Cowboy on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:43 am

OMG, Toyota cheat people like P1 and P2

• FIXER (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:31 am

tokmoh said,

Bimbo in reality said,

February 1, 2010 @ 4:55 pm

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and not forgetting how much you can afford for a car installment monthly. So what if i’m buying a 75k empty tin as apposed to a full spec car 15k or more cheaper? Uhm well thats because i can afford and you can’t and at the end of the day you’ll know who’ll look good

>>> Your mentality is like one of those MLM people. When their biz is good, they buy BMW, not one, two, but three BMWs.

But when crisis hits, BMX also cannot afford.

Smart rich people don’t spend their money on car for others to “think” that they’re rich. They invest elsewhere, real estate, gold, oil, take up courses, etc. You sir, don’t sound like one.

>>>Never buy a car for status.If you really like the car,fine.If not,what's the point.Better buy something with more value for money.

Nowadays I see the T.Vios looks like a status symbol for the yuppies.

Everyone wants to own a Vios.Doesnt matter if its looks like a dugong as long it is a Toyota.

• no attraction at all…..city or forte much better,but im waiting for waja lancer . nowadays,ppl r looking for quality product and appearence as well……..

• This news article is about Vios mid life facelift. What the h3ll these P1 fans doing here glorifying their fav car? Get a life.

"If American can make Avatar , they can make anything "

Ya, this statement is as stup1d as the person who uttered it.

No way P1 can be on par with Toyota , not even close to Daihatsu. Get a real life dudes. And WTF are these arguements here ? Vios mid life facelift also can spark arguements?

• Eyesore on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Vios, so…

why the hell that the Toyota / perodua fan boys glorifying their fav cars in Persona Enhancement article? Tell them to get a life too….

So Toyota doing very minor facelift cannot be bashed but proton doing quite a major enhancement on persona can be criticized???

Ceh… illogical logic…

• farghmee on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:41 pm

the front-end looks good with the chrome.

the butt-end looks so-so with the new taillight.

hmm…how about 5-series mock-up taillight ;)

overall, for me, it's look nicer than that of pre-facelifted ver.

• Maggie on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Cant wait for it to launched .. luv it ..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Mazda 2 better

• Common la Toyota.

6 years for a facelift is too long.

Making JOKE of themselves.

Wanna lose face to Proton ah?

• tokmoh on Feb 03, 2010 at 3:11 am

Bimbo in Reality said,

February 2, 2010 @ 12:17 am

tokmoh said,

“Smart rich people don’t spend their money on car for others to “think” that they’re rich. They invest elsewhere, real estate, gold, oil, take up courses, etc. You sir, don’t sound like one.”

Real estate, gold, oil? Take up courses?(on? Robert & Amy Kiyosaki lol)

We’re talking about a mere 80k car so you sir don’t try to sound like someone smart either lmao

Don’t try to contradict what i’m saying, my point is to be precise, if you like it buy it, who bloody cares what people think? If you can’t afford it, buy cheap car, if you can buy a better and if you’re more than able buy a swanky car!

So you’re implying people buy swanky cars are dumb?

BTW agree on MLM but hey they earn it they buy it and its none of our beez weez!

>>> Haiya, just giving examples also cannot kah? On real estate, gen2lama has explained its benefits. Ok lah, maybe it's not real estate, but property. Yeap, property sounds better.

You think only Kiyosaki offer courses kah? Heard of Adam Khoo before? And if u need a testimony, go read Lucky Bastard, a book written by one of his apprentice/student.

Sorry that I am not smart, which is why u can go ahead saying whatever u like about me.

Let's get back to what u said earlier:

"Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and not forgetting how much you can afford for a car installment monthly. So what if i’m buying a 75k empty tin as apposed to a full spec car 15k or more cheaper? Uhm well thats because i can afford and you can’t and at the end of the day you’ll know who’ll look good"

> Implying empty tin is better than full spec cheaper car

> Implying affordability to justify the empty tin is the smarter choice

> Implying above reasoning makes one look better than one who purchased latter car

Me implying swanky cars are bought by dumb people? Maybe.

So many complaints to the govt I heard about "does govt think people who drive old big cc car are rich". What's wrong? Ten years ago they want to "look rich", but now can't afford to pay market price for fuel? Would they have complained if they eat more humble pie and invest their money elsewhere to ensure they have a growing steady stream of income (plus still able to buy petrol at subsidised price)?

Oh, abt MLM, "they earn it they buy it and its none of our beez"? Not really if their parents need to continue paying the loan for their swanky ride. I sympathise their parents…

• Saidin on Feb 03, 2010 at 4:15 am

Frankly speaking if you ask me to drive a Pesona to work, I will park my car 100meters away at those public carpark and walk to my factory . And if stop at traffic lights and next car is a City or Vios , I wil fast2 put the black sun shade cover my window .. jatoh std tauuu…

• peYno on Feb 03, 2010 at 1:55 pm

Vios said,

No way P1 can be on par with Toyota , not even close to Daihatsu. Get a real life dudes. And WTF are these arguements here ? Vios mid life facelift also can spark arguements?

================

Bro, Yes P1 cant beat JDM and REAL TOYOTA cars, but p1 is much better than 2nd grade ASEAN market toyota car such as AVANZA< VIOS, UNSER and INNOVA (even Japanese in JAPAN oso don't know this such so called toyota car exist this the market)

prrrfthhh

prrrrfthhh

• learner on Feb 03, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Sparks said,

February 1, 2010 @ 4:32 pm

It’s interesting to see you guys comparing Vios with Persona…

_____________________________________________________________________________

if comparing design why not? do you think cheap car must designed uglier than expensive car?

• Anybody got info when UMW will take booking for this facelift version ?

• saidin,vios actually lower grade car made by japs 4 asean market,dont too arrogant……..

• James on Feb 03, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Eddy , if Vios is low grade Jap car , so Proton is in the lowest caste – untouchables?

• Sbpir on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Still the same

• Peter on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:34 pm

I dont understand why some people fight over vios, city, persona, gen2,etc…..These cars are ASEAN cars…They are all budget cars. But because national cars are protected by govt…….Thats why ….But if u got a chance to buy cars in singapore or other countries where the difference of VIOS and Persona is like only abit. Which will you buy?…….

• A'enz on Feb 04, 2010 at 3:57 am

Saidin said,

February 2, 2010 @ 8:15 pm

Frankly speaking if you ask me to drive a Pesona to work, I will park my car 100meters away at those public carpark and walk to my factory . And if stop at traffic lights and next car is a City or Vios , I wil fast2 put the black sun shade cover my window .. jatoh std tauuu…

————————————————-

And if u saw a Japanese tourist then, u can hide u face in a "tong sampah" sebab muka "org Malaysia" xder kualiti mcm muka ko mmg tak layak nak dibandingkan dgn muka org jepun, xder standard langsung.. Proton made in malaysia, crap… so kamu made in malaysia oso crap kan?.. mcm tu boleh ker?? agak2nya mcm tu lah kan??

• haha…good 1 a'enz

• FIXER (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 10:25 am

Saidin said,

>>>>And if you think driving a Vios is 'ada' standard.Then in Thailand or Indonesia you will be called Mr.taxi driver.Standard kah tu? Cheh!

• wochomi on Feb 04, 2010 at 4:51 pm

I don't know why 'name callings'… dugong, potong, etc…. these are just everyday bread and butter cars. Want something nice, get a GTR or Lancer or a Mini. Hey these subcompacts are for u to drive to work and your mamak stall. I think some people are over inflating our Ringgit as if RM80k can buy your dream car. After you finish paying the damn loan, trade in and get another one. They ain't classics. So you put your money on the highest resale value model to minimize your losses (memang akan rugi pun).

Then there's another paper-spec-comparing people. Eh… go test drive lah.. comparing the numbers isn't gonna give you much feel. Go GEMBA….you nerds.

I own a proton and a toyota. Both are good cars at what they were meant to do. It's the people that is the problem.

• Peter Teoh on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Saidin said,

Saidin , you are a CHAMPION ! But sorry for you that you're gonna be bashed by these Proton lovers of your honesty. RM15 -20k difference is a big amount, not all ppl can afford this gap. so those who out of budget can only settle for a Proton model. So lets be considerate to all ppl .. Don't rub salt to wound as they say ..

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Peter Teoh said,

February 4, 2010 @ 9:37 am

Saidin said,

Saidin , you are a CHAMPION ! But sorry for you that you’re gonna be bashed by these Proton lovers of your honesty. RM15 -20k difference is a big amount, not all ppl can afford this gap. so those who out of budget can only settle for a Proton model. So lets be considerate to all ppl .. Don’t rub salt to wound as they say ..

————————–

u peopleever heard of used cars? yea. they are cheaper.

• Buy Proton Last on Feb 05, 2010 at 2:59 am

peYno said,

February 3, 2010 @ 5:55 am

================

Bro, Yes P1 cant beat JDM and REAL TOYOTA cars, but p1 is much better than 2nd grade ASEAN market toyota car such as AVANZA< VIOS, UNSER and INNOVA (even Japanese in JAPAN oso don't know this such so called toyota car exist this the market)

prrrfthhh

prrrrfthhh

____________________________________________________________-

Can all these Proton sales men and so called supporters (bcoz cannot afford an imported car) dont act like an idi0t ? If want to bash please use brain ..

1) Vios is known Belta model sold in Japan. So who say Japanese dunno this model? My japanese colleague refer to my Vios as Belta all the time. Last time Proton Wira export version was called Pesona , mind you.

2) Vios is 2nd Grade car meant for ASEAN ? So since Taiwan and USA (Yaris Sedan) become new members of ASEAN ? Dont tell me you dunno what are the countries comprise ASEAN ? I am more surprised on how you managed to find the Power button on your computer then.

3) What about other models you mentioned as 2nd Grade meant for ASEAN ? Innova is a replacement model for Unser , also sold in Saudi Arabia , India , Middle East . So these countries also new members in ASEAN ? Avanza is a relatively new model , and Toyota chief engineer had stated that this car is meant for ASEAN market considering the geographical and demographical aspects. Avanza also exported to Middle Eastern countries and South Africa. Aren't these countries have large 'rich' population ? Do you think Toyota will insult them in this way ? It is due to the market demand and suitability.

Proton drivers are just id1ots . It is an insult to Toyota to even mention your stup1d car brand in this thread/comment area. Yucks.

• mechanical (Member) on Feb 05, 2010 at 4:35 pm

VIOS the ugliest design or well known as DUGONG WITH WHEELS..No sense of aesthetical..If somebody give me this VIOS free of charge, I would rather sell it back & get P1 or P2 car with a lot of accessories………………………………….

yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahooooooooooooooooooooooo

• buy toyota and u will get free stuck accelerator pedal hahhahahaa……….

• Carl Chin on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:53 pm

To all Proton lovers ;

Read this qoute :

".. We don’t know what Malaysian motorists did to upset the gods, but it must have been something pretty serious, judging by the punishment they seem to be getting. Still, at least the domestic audience thinks this stuff is the norm – what on earth do they think they’re doing bringing it to the UK? Walk away. "

Source : http://www.topgear.com/uk/proton

Pls tune to the URL given , read the contents and reviews there , and get lost . Dont come back to here.

• gen2lama on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:56 pm

proton drivers are just idiots?….

hahah i own not one but 3 proton…mannn…dont know that i'm idiot….

but wait… i dont use my salary to pay for my exora every month!!!!!!!!!!! am i still idiot?…want to know how?….

• Vios=Dugong on Feb 06, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Vios is one stupid looking car… Proton cars much better looking.. ' nuff said

p/s I don't drive any of those cars, I drive a BMW… (berlagak? to hell with it, i work hard to earn it!)

• bystander on Feb 07, 2010 at 12:51 am

i'm driving a vios s spec and frankly speaking, the most dissatisfaction i got from this car is the fact that there are just too many of them on the road.

i admit it is not as good looking as forte but it looks good enough to me compare with 80% of the car on malaysian road including the new city. First of all looks is subjective, i personally think that gen 1 vios design is too conventional n love the gen 2 but many ppl think vice versa. i also admit that material quality is no better than gen 1 but the price stay the same after so many years of inflation so it is reasonable as long as it last, something that persona owner can only dream of. I really think that vios is overpriced, but ppl with brain will know that selling price is not for UMW to decide but is up to our barisan government to approve.

I'm not feeling proud to be a vios owner, i just need a decent car with decent running costs, low fc and acceptable resell value. Honestly it is not fair to compare persona with vios, the outnumber Myvi with higher selling price than persona already put shame to proton, there no need to argue on what is already a fact.

Please be clear that i'm not against any persona owner, what u pay is what u get so it's a fair trade. As a quote i once read : " i'm not paying for the vehicle as it is, i'm paying for the experience that i get from owning it!"

• old one better

• peYno_sux (Member) on Feb 07, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Vios said,

================

prrrfthhh

prrrrfthhh

=============================

Abang,

jgn begitu wahai abang..tidakkah abang mengetahui yang Toyota Vios dikenali sebagai Toyota Belta di Jepang mahupun Toyota Yaris Sedan di US/Canada?? Dimanakah abang dihantar bersekolah oleh kedua ibu bapa abang? adakah abang sudah mendapatkan sarapan percuma di sekolah?

• mechanical (Member) on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:21 pm

The fact is Toyota deliver top quality but not for the aesthical value for Vios Dugong.

The quality of a car or else depending on:

1. Design/aesthetic/ergonomic/etc quality

2. Material quality

3. Assembly quality

The fact is vios a.k.a dugong aesthetic design is the worst ever.

To avoid "lu org blaming x tentu arah", here I give you a figure:

If you are not married yet:

Salary RM2000~RM2500 afford to buy new Proton Persona

Salary RM2500~RM3000 afford to buy new Vios, City, Sentra etc

Salary RM3500 and above afford to buy new Lancer, Civic etc

I am my self afford to buy Vios etc but I choose to buy Proton Persona because of low maintenance, low monthly installment, the aesthetical value more than Vios Dugong, easy to get spare part etc.

It is better balance of my money put in investment.

I am proud to have my persona/RM50k medium line/manual with my Campro Turbo 220HP with "no defect" cost about RM10k..

• mechanical (Member) on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:22 pm

If you want to talk about quality & performance Its depend on your budget, need & wants etc..

If you want to talk about aesthetical/appearance value, "tepuk dada tanya selera"..

You may be a handsome guy but not necessarily have a beautiful wives:p..hahahaha once again, its depend on your need & wants..hahahaha

• pukezzzzz on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:29 am

REAL MANGOSTEENS..VIOS 1.5, PERSONA 1.6..WHY U JOKERS COMPARING THE FC..OF COURSE PERSONA HIGHER A BITLAH…

• 1 malaysia on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:32 am

org jepun dah semakin bodoh dan hilang akal.buruk buruk buruk buruk.org malaysia diperbodohkan pula…

• Freddie on Mar 01, 2010 at 8:03 pm

The T sold in malaysia, namely Avanza, Innova and Vios, is basically Bread and Butter Line-up of toyotas. Since it is a toyota, it is less prone to manufacturing defect, and people know that. However, talk about experience of how these cars ride on the road, that's another story.

At the end, this is what we have, dull-looking, mediocre-handling vehicle that gave us a lot less trouble of ownership. I remember there was an episode in Top Gear, where Jeremy Clarkson condemned how bad MyVi is, and stating that "the manufacturer of MyVi has no intention, passsion to built cars that have souls". Ask Mr Clarkson to drive Innova, Avanza or even Vios, and i'm sure he'll give ultimately negative comments that you'll never imagine before. I personally have tested Vios before, and even if the price of vios is at the level field with persona, I'll but persona. Why?

1. Chasis rigidity of persona is way much better than vios, Try to drive those cars at curve, and you'll notice how bad Vios oversteer compare to Persona.

2. Vios use Live axle, whereas Persona use independent, multilink suspension, thus, potholes is less pronounced in persona's cabin.

Other than that, vios triumphed in

1. Fuel economy

2. It's super ECT

Talk about QC. Before DSZ, yes, the quality is poor, but post DSZ, it is way much better. I had not, in 2 years of ownership, experience any problem with my persona.

If you want good handling cars, Go for proton.

If you want status, go for Vios.

You decide.

• Freddie on Mar 01, 2010 at 8:22 pm

Can all these Proton sales men and so called supporters (bcoz cannot afford an imported car) dont act like an idi0t ? If want to bash please use brain ..

1) Vios is known Belta model sold in Japan. So who say Japanese dunno this model? My japanese colleague refer to my Vios as Belta all the time. Last time Proton Wira export version was called Pesona , mind you.

2) Vios is 2nd Grade car meant for ASEAN ? So since Taiwan and USA (Yaris Sedan) become new members of ASEAN ? Dont tell me you dunno what are the countries comprise ASEAN ? I am more surprised on how you managed to find the Power button on your computer then.

3) What about other models you mentioned as 2nd Grade meant for ASEAN ? Innova is a replacement model for Unser , also sold in Saudi Arabia , India , Middle East . So these countries also new members in ASEAN ? Avanza is a relatively new model , and Toyota chief engineer had stated that this car is meant for ASEAN market considering the geographical and demographical aspects. Avanza also exported to Middle Eastern countries and South Africa. Aren't these countries have large 'rich' population ? Do you think Toyota will insult them in this way ? It is due to the market demand and suitability.

Proton drivers are just id1ots . It is an insult to Toyota to even mention your stup1d car brand in this thread/comment area. Yucks.

Those bashers (from p1 i suppose) must be idiot.

But have a slalom test between wajunk@personal and vios@belta.

Who will win? Vios' rear suspension setup is a major letdown in a continent where sheer driving pleasure is a most. How often you see contis with vios' rear suspension setup?

Talk about innova/avanza,…. yes, it is on sale outside ASEAN, and Innova, Hilux and Fortuner, were bulit under IMV floorpan, which in this case, use Ladder-Frame chasis. Good for off road (best for hilux) and cheap as well, but on road handling…… Hmmmm YUCKS!

Here in malaysia, although been regard as developing countries, we might also see BMW 7 series on our road…..

And avanza, innova are designed for poor people in that countries. If they have money, they'll drive R-class Merc.

The real funny thing in malaysia is that Vios, Innova and even Avanza owner are very proud to own them, because it's a toyota. It is way overpice. Take a look at Peugeot 308VTi…… Just check how many airbags it have. Check the climate control….. compare that with vios'.

Proton is the real culprit in this case….. But UMW T is another culprit because it knew the demand for T is always there, they simply increase the price…..

At RM 50,690.00 (langkawi price)……. do you think it is overprice? BTW it's manual, J-spec version

Your money, you'll decide

• vioslover on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:42 am

to japanesecarsuck….behave your mouth and idea…even dont like japanese

car plz show that we malaysian have a manner and good thinking idea.every thing have a pro and contra…i have a proton persona,iswara and i oso have toyota vios.all have their pro and contra.no need to feel bad at something u dont know…i sometime think..do you have a car ?….

• aku suka nissan.more quality car.jgn marah..vios ringan ,city berat ncm tak cukup power…livina 1st ..sentra next.aku dah test drive 3 3 keta vios,city,sentra.aku pilih sentrA.HE2 HIDUP NISSAN….

• oldwira on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:22 am

congrat toyota for remaining the ugly look of vios

• plupp on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:03 pm

proton is nice…easy to find spare part and accessories..interior is very nice..many accessories…2007 i bought persona….2 days there were oil licking….!!what is this…..and then there were many sound in the cabin,,like mouse

sound…chit chit chit….SO i sell the car and now i use toyota vios….and there is no sound trouble and no licking.very nice dugong..!!…..but i am still use proton wira…oso nice…..

the fact is what type of car…if it nice we just use it…dont blame to other car…..listen to your heart..

• Hang Jebat on Apr 10, 2010 at 12:04 am

My 1st car is Toyota Corolla GL 1.3 1982…bought second hand
    then proton… proton… Myvi… because its cheap
    after that I bought Wish 1.8 2003.. recond
    & I have booking this new Vios 1 month ago…still waiting
    …..
    FYI even 1982 GL 1.3 drive very good

• Simon Yeoh on May 20, 2010 at 11:40 am

Bro,the new Vios facelift when you book?What type J/E/G?Received the vios already? I book mine E type on 14/04/2010 have not received mine yet. How long you wait?Hope you can share …

• Jason on Aug 05, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Corolla ftw!

• hi every1 here….any SA to recommend?im planning to get 1 vios 2…….