If you’re looking for a Nissan SUV and are bored with the aging X-Trail that’s being hawked here for the longest time, you can check out the Nissan Dualis which is being imported by grey importers.
As part of Naza’s Chinese New Year sale, a 2007 Nissan Dualis can be had for RM151,000, and a newer 2008 model is priced at RM166,000. And from what I hear these prices are negotiable at the showroom if you’re really interested. I don’t expect the Dualis to be available from Tan Chong directly anytime soon as across all ASEAN markets except for Singapore (where it is known as the Qashqai), the only SUV being offered is the X-Trail.
Nissan calls the Dualis a ‘hatchback’. It’s a crossover based on the Nissan C platform. The body does look like a hatchback but its ride height is higher, putting the Dualis right in the middle of the definition of a hatchback and an SUV. It is a proper ‘crossover’ in true form, instead of just slapping any vehicle with a coupe-like roofline with compromised rear headroom and calling it a ‘crossover’.
In the engine bay is the MR20DE mated to a CVT transmission that we are already quite familiar with since it has been introduced in the Malaysian market installed in the Sylphy.
As part of the Dualis launch promo in Japan, Nissan actually commissioned Shoji Kawamori (of Macross and Robotech fame) to design a robot (mecha) version of the Dualis. The robot Dualis stands 3.5 meters tall. Check out these Dualis mecha videos which Nissan produced as part of a promo campaign in Japan – after the jump!
the C-pillar resembles that of tucson.. but at least it's better than the aging and bargained x-trail..
the ads quite annoying
i wanna see the car itself
not in robotic form
TAN CHONG MALAYSIA !
Is time to replace the aging X-Trail
dualis sounds too Chinese:P . May affect the sales
Finally!!
TC is very slow in bringing all the models…
They should by now have the new Cefiro. Knowing that they were doing so well with the previous model. Sentra also has been in the market for 10 years already? Slyphy was suppose to replace it but they screwed it by offering a 2.0 liter only. They were targeting those who are frastrated with proton by offering the sentra at low prices. i still can remember my cousin bought his 1.8 SGL at 100k above. Now the resale for the model is now where near the new 1.6 sentra.
Basiclly .. dont buy a nissan if it going to be ur last car.
klguy,
Dualis sound too Chinese??
Then what about the actual name – Qashqai!!! More Chinese???
Why they dun bring in 1.5 latio instead of bring in 1.6 latio???
If it is 1.5L, we can pay less for the latio…
Deculture, I'd thought the robot was real in the youtube video… *facepalm*
Needs a touch of moe for this mecha to appear cool to normal people… not to otaku only.
yes, TC should bring in the ckd Teana, it will surely do well and give camry n accord a run for their money
Tan Chong is becoming worse than a parallel importers. My car a Nissan Sentra, during a routine service, they banged the car to some pillars, resulting damage to my engine number. They kept quite until i went to Puspakom only I noticed the engine number has been tempered by them, not a single sorry frm them. I can t sell my car and miss a good deal from a buyer for my Sentra. Naza should take over from Tan Chong for Nissan dealer
I dont know what is wrong with Nissan…the Sentra is a dinasour, but still selling..X-trail also a dinasour…such an old model still selling also…time to change la..
yes, i totally agreed tan chong is too slow in bringing new model, why tan chong singapore can have so many choice but not in malaysia, come on tan chong dont make us a fool, we are your true supporter, do something, give us better deal…
it's the same here in the Philippines.. they're always too late bringing new generations of their models.. all their models here are outdated, and they bring it to a bargain (for the x-trail, they always say "SUV with a price that of a compact").. the top 5 brands here last year are Toyota, Mitsubishi, Honda, Hyundai and Isuzu.. i'm hoping that Nissan will come to the top again because they're reliable and their after-sales customer service here is very great..
easy answer, tan chong is chinese runned company and because of that, we don't get as much AP as toyota or honda.
possible?
Why so expensive? NAZA suppose to be cheaper wat?
RM15x and RM16x with Nissan badge not much surprise.
But, why Naza also so expensive?
Why not below 100k?
Disappointing…
Ah… cos of fully import…
Tan Chong, pls bring in this model with cheaper price!
Hopeless…
I have never seen Naza cars sold at reaosnable price yet…did u?
for me the forte 2.0 is quite reasonable
Why you want to support Korea ?
Koreans loves to copy other people’s idea only.
Look at Korean they so rich because of Korea supporters.
Gangnam Style PSY he paid money to famous and brainwash the world.
Robotic Dualis vs Ultraman..Who will win?
Please, to those future NISSAN owner…. reconsider your decision. I own a Sentra (2003 model bought it new). extremely BAD choice made. sometimes I think PROTON is better. Never make same mistake twice. Even my dad (use to be proud with TCM's Nissan) complains. For sure Tan Chong Motors has lost two potential buyers here. My brother has put his money in SUZUKI. and me… either KIA forte or Honda CIVIC.
Why car price of Malaysia is high compared to other ASEAN countries ! Ask the government and VVIP la…sure you will get twisted answer !
Can anyone tell me where can i buy the new 2010 Dualis??
i’ve been to Naza & even Tan Chong Motor’s Nissan,they don’t hv it…
kindly email me pls at [email protected] if anyone hv any info.tq.
Dualis looked great!
Why compolain Tan Chong & Naza…why never complain UMNO-BN making Malaysian slaves to make you poor policy and use this to continue your illusion of life. Kick out UMNO-BN and Naza UMNO-BN collapse. You can import this Dualis from Britain for Rm$85,000….Now you Pay double to help make yourselves slaves to UMNO-BN. The extra you pay have not improved anything in Malaysia for 54 years….in fact its getting worst…. wake up and direct your anger at the source!!