Toyota: What to do when your gas pedal sticks

Toyota: What to do when your gas pedal sticksToyota USA, facing a PR nightmare due to a massive recall on sticky accelerator pedals, has released an advisory for its customers, which contains recommendations on what to do should the problem appear in their cars. Here’s the official statement:

Each circumstance may vary, and drivers must use their best judgment, but Toyota recommends taking one of the following actions:

• If you need to stop immediately, the vehicle can be controlled by stepping on the brake pedal with both feet using firm and steady pressure. Do not pump the brake pedal as it will deplete the vacuum utilized for the power brake assist.
  • Shift the transmission gear selector to the Neutral (N) position and use the brakes to make a controlled stop at the side of the road and turn off the engine. If unable to put the vehicle in Neutral, turn the engine OFF. This will not cause loss of steering or braking control, but the power assist to these systems will be lost.
  • If the vehicle is equipped with an Engine Start/Stop button, firmly and steadily push the button for at least three seconds to turn off the engine. Do NOT tap the Engine Start/Stop button.
  • If the vehicle is equipped with a conventional key-ignition, turn the ignition key to the ACC position to turn off the engine. Do NOT remove the key from the ignition as this will lock the steering wheel.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Maverick on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:25 pm

I think the best option is to put to Neutral la.. Happened to my Merc 280 also.. the sound was spine tingling… but it only happened for a while, the pedal got stuck to the switch below it.. LOL

• alldisc on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:52 pm

first!! ha ha..

whoa, why so quiet? becoz KL holiday is it? many forumners online at office kaa?? aiyohh…

anyway – my comment is year 2010 will be remembered as the year of recalls. other manufacturers will not be that shy anymore on recalls after what happened to Toyota…

• Proton should do recalls now…good time also.

• drMpower on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:15 am

toyota,

what advise u can offer when the accelerator sticked

and then i die

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:23 am

danny,i have another suggestions

go sell your toyota,and buy a new car which is not toyota,honda…bla2

easy right

• mirror mirror on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:34 am

There is no harm for Toyota owners to practise some of those emergency drills, most people will be too panic to do so if their cars encounter the pedal problem.

• just buy other make and we don't have to practice this exercise…lame jap car…

• This is bad news for Toyota. I think after this fiasco Toyota will built even better cars… why…. once in a while big giants need a bit of shake up to stop them from being complacent…..You can be hero and zero very fast….

Sometime when you are untouchable ego grows and product suffer..

Now a wake up call for Toyota to be better than before which is win win for consumers.

Unlike Euro cars still complacent riding on their badge…… matter of time the bubble will burst… and the real deal will surface…

• Mysticmind on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:57 am

So many things to do to stop the car.

Hallloooooo.. it's only less than 3 seconds when this happen you already BANG THE 'whatever there' lah!. Stupid .

if on highway then oklah . but if in the town etc? you think everyone can PAUSE the time to all of this thing? Stupid.

Moral of the story : Don't buy overated and overpriced Toyota. It make them more BIGHEADED.

• hsyeow (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:03 am

Accelerator stuck pedal to the metal? Turn off engine loh. Happened to my '91 Saga and scare the crap out of me. Well, not pedal stuck but carburetor stuck (the mechanic say so) while changing 1st to 2nd gear and the RPM went past the meter limit.

Immediate instinct was to turn engine off and look for place to stop while on/off engine to keep going bit by bit. Scared engine blow..roflmao

• Annihilated on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:05 am

".. firmly and steadily push the button for at least three seconds to turn off the engine."

Three seconds would be more than enough to cause your head to stuck under front car's rear if the the acc pedal stuck hard. Get real Toyota.

I personally don't hate Toyota (read UMW), but the are just plain greedy with their profit margin that is obviously high. Yet, people are buying them.

• Annihilated on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:06 am

*I personally don’t hate Toyota (read UMW), but they are just plain greedy with their profit margin that is obviously high. Yet, people are buying them

• m'sia-boleh makes should follow but never bother lah…

• Korean on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:20 am

Turn off the engine?? are you sure, once the engine is off, no more power steering and braking—-the whole car will be like ……a loose cannon….

• littlefire on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:17 am

Some Saga dont have power steering, and braking still can use handbrake to support.

Have done it a few times in my Wira, suddenly engine die off due to the faulty trottle body. You still can steer without power steering, just that it just damn heavy compare to normal.

It just matter about how well u act against the situation.. If you are easily panic, pray to god…

If i not mistaken, have seen a few footage that the carpet also is one of the culprit. It slow down or block the pedal from going up..

• Abzaja on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:44 am

Toyota should put this in all their cars

• Tiadaid on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:57 am

hsyeow said,

February 1, 2010 @ 5:03 pm

Accelerator stuck pedal to the metal? Turn off engine loh. Happened to my ‘91 Saga and scare the crap out of me. Well, not pedal stuck but carburetor stuck (the mechanic say so) while changing 1st to 2nd gear and the RPM went past the meter limit.

Immediate instinct was to turn engine off and look for place to stop while on/off engine to keep going bit by bit. Scared engine blow..roflmao

———————–

You can't do that with the cars today. Power steering will be gone, as well as the assisted braking system. You'll end up worse for wear, perhaps even crash harder since you can't control it with the car turned off…

• sam2288 on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:18 am

my altis last time was 20k~30k/km the gas pedal cable [putus] when i was drive at highway >100km/h

• actually turning off engine seems to be a good idea to me…when engine stop, the tyre will lock causing immediate stop…although lost control is possible but i think the will stop before it lost control…

• sohaikiller on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:35 am

danny,i have another suggestions

go sell your toyota,and buy a new car which is not toyota,honda…bla2

easy right

wow selling a car is that easy,

tambai betul

• sohaikiller1 on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:37 am

this toyota has come out instructional for their failed car.

how to brake your failed toyota car for DUMMIES

• ganz (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:06 am

disclaimer: now toyota can neglet any lawsuit due to this problem.. we already issue a complete instruction to follow.. :D

• viosuser on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:19 am

bro dont scare me i am using a toyota……..

• Cocobear on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:38 am

sohaikiller1: "How to brake your failed toyota car for DUMMIES"

Haha, this is so true. I believe the best way is to put the stick into neutral. I would never turn off the engine during an emergency. It is suicidal and stupid.

• slimershine on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:39 am

How to brake your failed toyota car for DUMMIES : search for any nearest KUBUR.

hahahaha..

• rexis on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Toyota: Moving forward.

Hahahahaha, so true.

• alldisc on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:13 pm

solutions found now and problems are being rectified…. life goees back to normal, eh?

• Eyesore on Feb 03, 2010 at 12:08 am

well logically it should like that… alldisc…

but damaged reputation are hard to recover…. prime example… P1..

• Toyota: Moving forward,and forward,and forward becoz SAP lol walakakakak