Rarer than rare – the Infiniti FX Limited Edition

The shapely Infiniti FX is one of the most distinctive looking crossovers around, with enough fire in the belly to challenge fast 4X4s such as the Porsche Cayenne and BMW X6. It’s an alternative rather than a default choice so it’s not easy to spot one in Europe (Nissan’s luxury brand was launched there in 2008) but the rare is about to get rarer still with this Limited Edition.

The FX Limited Edition will be limited to just 100 units across Western Europe, all individually numbered. Based on the already dramatic FX37S (316 bhp 3.7-litre V6) and FX50S (385 bhp 5.0-litre V8), the Limited Edition features Black Obsidian ‘Scratch Guard’ paintwork as standard, with the pictured Moonlight White pearl metallic available as an option. Specially commissioned 21 inch ‘Turbine’ alloys are finished in dark Graphite. The radiator grille, side air vents and roof rails are similarly coordinated.

The interior reveals illuminated entry guards and fine materials, including supple Graphite leather upholstered seats, upper door panels and dashboard with contrasting stitching and Alcantara headlining. Genuine carbon fibre is used extensively on the dashboard, centre console and door panels, replacing the standard maple wood veneer. Completing the kit list is Infiniti’s Connectiviti+ system which includes an 11-speaker Bose stereo, the Michelin Guide, full iPod connectivity and a 10GB music box with Gracenotes database. An option on the standard FX37S, Connectiviti+ is joined on by Infiniti’s trick Around View Monitor park assist.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=813]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dukenborg on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:21 pm

I dunno, looks kinda ugly….

• Danial on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Niceee….

• Goodaymate! on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:59 pm

better than the new murano

• Gajen on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:31 pm

latest nissan murano, nissan dualis, now this…all dont look good at all

• very stylish,,, i like it

• aaron on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:34 pm

total agree is abit ugly.

• altimate (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Beautiful.. love it..

• 385 HP out of 5L v8? Typically bad Japanese performance.

• mirror mirror on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:58 pm

i like the head lamps.

• staff on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Hoho… This car is lucky because it got nissan influence name on it…

The looks doesnt attract me (by picture)… but who knows the real thing…

• infinity on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Looks very cartoonish..haha..but not bad…something outside the box..

• personally, I think its ugly…..

• Alifz on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Very 'Ganas'..i like..

• nazri on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:23 pm

look like badak air…

• peYno F**K on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:24 pm

this car looks nice in flesh…it has been overshadowed by the other SUV..but still acceptable by the american

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:28 pm

the normal car looks better

• khaix19a on Feb 03, 2010 at 12:50 am

rim make it look ugly….that what i think…prefer the standard one…..

• Looks like aston martin in suv form, i think lagonda suv shud looks like tis. I does looks like a drifting machine

• of course its better than murano, in fact a lot better with its proper transmission instead of 'scooter' cvt tras in murano an also a proper rwd engine setup rather than transverse fwd engine which spell cheapness.

• Jimmy on Feb 03, 2010 at 1:58 am

Don't tell me it has no telescopic steering again, Nissan.

• Matehew Seleigh on Feb 03, 2010 at 2:15 am

Stylishly ugly.

You won't have any problems finding yours in the Giant parking lot.

• Neutral on Feb 03, 2010 at 3:30 am

hmm won't buy..

• Abzaja on Feb 03, 2010 at 3:43 am

one angry badak air

• carput on Feb 03, 2010 at 4:00 am

One of the most beautiful mean machine on Dubai roads nowadays XD

• wei mana designer Proton?????? This car like a BADAK AIR…very ugly BUT…design is very brave la….Proton designer kena BERANI…bukan design hampeh….sorry emosional.

• hmm… Pero2's naugtycar even rarer…

• Maria Cimagala on Feb 03, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Stunningly elegant.. I don't know why the others find it ugly, maybe people are just born with different taste =D

• peYno F**K on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:14 am

maria,

every people have diff kind of taste…but i'm with u..this car is elegant..even nicer in flesh..its gonna cost boom in bolehland…too bad

• carput on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:41 am

You can't find any FX on Malaysian roads. That's why others don't know how it really looks like in flesh. As I said before, one of the most beautiful mean machine XD