Mercedes GP Petronas takes on Nick Heidfeld as test and reserve driver

Mercedes GP Petronas takes on Nick Heidfeld as test and reserve driverEx-BMW Sauber driver Nick Heidfeld will be the test and reserve driver for Mercedes GP Petronas this year, after failing to find a permanent race seat for 2010.

The German was linked with a drive at Mercedes before Silver Arrows opted for the returning Michael Schumacher. When that happened, “Quick Nick” was reported to be in talks with Renault and Lotus but none materialised.

“I am very pleased to be joining the Mercedes GP Petronas Formula 1 Team. It’s the team which has attracted the most interest in the close season, not only because of the comeback of Michael Schumacher, but also because this season sees the return of the Silver Arrows cars as a Mercedes-Benz works team for the first time in over 50 years

“While I would of course have preferred a seat as an active driver, I am really proud to be part of the new Silver Arrows team. I have seen how committed everyone at the team is and I feel the same. I will be doing my very best to support Michael and Nico this year,” Heidfeld said.

With Heidfeld on board, Mercedes GP Petronas now has three German drivers!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Aryan power fot Team Mercedes

• sudirman on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:44 am

looking forward this season's F1…

• techtitan on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:52 am

Nick is good… but i think he is also like Jenson, smooth driving style that must coupled with perfect car….and sadly that opportunity has not arrived for "Quick Nick" after 10 years in F1…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:54 am

omg….heidfeld a reserve?

• scanzew on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:10 am

haha still nick bound in petronas territory… wherever he go…

• I guess nick is "anak emas" PETRONAS

thehehehe…

just a joke

• trav_da_man on Feb 06, 2010 at 3:21 am

If i not mistaken Mclaren's test driver is also a Brit. So bring on the new battle of Britain! Mclaren vs Mercedes! But we have to support Mercedes in this matter due to petronas involvement!

• Squawk on Feb 06, 2010 at 4:11 am

One of the most underrated drivers around. He's been described as driving like a robot – smooth and precise. And his feedback to engineers is also very precise.

• reserve driver…..kesian heidfeld..gara2 xde tempat dlm mana2 team….terpaksa dia berpatah balik ke tmpt asal….bos2 team f1 bodo…nape la x pilih dia..he is very experience n i like his driving style…lg pun dia masih pegang rekod penamat paling byk iaitu 41 perlumbaan..tp x boleh lupa masa kat litar sepang thn 2008…he overtake two cars in one occasion…bkn semua pemandu f1 boleh buat mcm tu…he is quick n consistent….aku rasa ralat kalau tgok f1 kat screen board xde nama heidfeld….

:(

• i think nice is good. really hope that he'll win 1 day.. :)

• correction *NICK*

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 07, 2010 at 12:04 am

I guess nick is “anak emas” PETRONAS {TSN}

True enuF, he's been wit PetRonas sinCe it's 1st inVoLvemnt!!

Nw.. frm BMW to MerC?!

riVaLry swaP?!

• Lets go to Sepang guys.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 07, 2010 at 10:19 pm

when is race start?

• no wonder, mercedes is a german brand..

• Ferruccio on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:29 pm

DiVo D27 said,

February 6, 2010 @ 4:04 pm

I guess nick is “anak emas” PETRONAS {TSN}

True enuF, he’s been wit PetRonas sinCe it’s 1st inVoLvemnt!!

Untrue. Heidfeld first drove for Prost before joining Sauber Petronas, Petronas was already in F1 for a number of years then.

Heidfeld also drove for Jordan and Williams later on