8 videos to catch the Volvo S60 in action!

Volvo has released a few videos of the soon to be available Volvo S60 sedan, and you can catch them all here on this blog, streamed from local servers. The videos cover a few topics such as exterior and interior beauty shots as well as demonstrations of various technology in action such as adaptive cruise control, collision warning and pedestrian protection. Check the videos out after the jump.

VIDEO: Volvo S60 – ExteriorVIDEO: Volvo S60 – InteriorVIDEO: Volvo S60 – Collision Warning & Pedestrian ProtectionVIDEO: Volvo S60 – Adaptive Cruise ControlVIDEO: Volvo S60 – Crash TestVIDEO: Volvo S60 – Driving – CityVIDEO: Volvo S60 – Driving – HighwayVIDEO: Volvo S60 – Pedestrian Detection Log

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wow am i first? and the new volvo is fugly as heck.

• akupunya on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:42 am

no more box, more curves..hehehe..

• Arn-really-is-some-s on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:49 am

somebody gonna say he is first here

• new s60 really looks cool….

1st !!

• razibar on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:48 pm

nice front view but the rear especially the tail light needs some more work imho.I dont see the rear aircon. could that be the reason for the central aircon vent?

• 1ST!!!!!!!!!!!!

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:49 pm

The design look younger & younger.

The head light & dash/control board are great, but it apply to most of its cars, so may not really get suprise on the design.

Will the all new volvo cars also having these type of headlight and dash board?

• the rear air con vents are probably on the B pillars like the 1st generation. works better than the central rear vents which blows into your legs more than your face.back in 2001 it was an innovative move as most cars either did not have a rear vent or used a central one.

• Steven on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Provided the pricing is right and the specifications are right, this car is gonna sell like hot cakes. Its gonna bring Volvo alive. The S80 was not too bad. This will attract more buyers. Called Federal Auto and was informed that pricing should be around between RM260k to RM300k.

• Oh dear, it's just a dream car for some…. when we can have our own luxury and affordable car that we can be proud of?

• Danny on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:27 pm

I got one silly question; if someone block in front of the car for hijack purpose & the car E-stopped due to Pedestrian Protection triggered, how's the driver going to avoid such case? (Especially in my)

• niuhje on Feb 12, 2010 at 1:45 am

we do hve a luxury car we can call our own… the 5-series C-K-D…hahaha…at least its assembled here, does dat count?

N for the V haters out ther… V rocks!!!!! V for Life!!!!!

• mr_3m on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:22 am

what a stupid 'kiasu' culture we hv here in bolehland… we even hv ppl who like to be 1st or think they r first to comment… without actually commenting on the post…

how pathetic… and such a waste of space on paultan's site… i suggest the site moderator delete any post that hv only "1st", "first" or similar word in it…

now that the above is out of the way, the view is split on the Volvo design, you either like it or hate it… depends on how conservative you are… if you like past Volvos more, you may not like the current designs… XC60, S60 etc…. anyway, personally i would reserve the judgement until I see the car in the metal….

• if they sell it for >RM250 no one will buy.the price cannot be higher than a 3 series or C class.although the body if bigger but because the doors are so thick,the inside is less spacious. the volvos are inbetween sizes….S40 smaller than 3 series,S60 in between 3 and 5 size.even if they sell <250K sales will not be high because of poor resale value,high maintenance cost and lower badge factor especially after being sold to china

• razibar on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:40 am

s60T

you're right. the photo from this website shows aircon vent at the b-pillar. greattt. ….i hope they resolve the roof-lining issue that i'm currrenty facing in my S40 2.4i …

http://www.worldcarfans.com/110020924472/2011-vol…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:59 am

i'd buy one if volvo is not sold to chinese

• does this mean i can never run over ppl?

• 1malaysia on Feb 12, 2010 at 5:53 pm

niuhje, CKD? u got the point!

in some country like china, they call "made-in-china" for those cars assy there, & they call "national-brand" for those local chinese brand cars. in general, both cases they treat as national car (lower tax). they impose high tax only for CBU units. thats why AUDI, TOYOTA, HONDA, etc.that CKD there sale cheaper than Mal. VOLVO soon to be chinese national car too!

if the new S60 price higher than 3-series & C-class, it will not received well from market.

• wajarays on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:26 am

who already own and drive volvo will know what is volvo x factor … currently i drive volvo s60 t5 06 model with newer engine 2.4 T5 260hp geartronic … last time bought brandnew at RM260k at SWEDISH MARQUE sungai besi …. seriously i dont know why many people say this car is high maintanance and very expensive to maintain ….every service schedule is 20,000km and one time service is only rm600 plus…. the car and engine very reliable and seriously im heavy footed person … for me volvo is more reliable continental car compare with bmw…. and not only that, s60 also pack with higher safety feutures, very comfortable cars and at the same time loaded with hi performance turbo engine that give you very fuel economy saving… can other car give you that like volvo have ?? .. i will wait for this all new s60 come to our shore … VOLVO FOR LIFE :D

• Tahar on Feb 13, 2010 at 9:36 am

In Reply to 1Malaysia

Please note that we are buying specifications and features of the car and what the car got to offer BEST !!! instead of just buying the BADGE of the cars whereby specifications and features is below par of others. We got to compare properly value for money and features to features .

Basically not everyone likes a BMW or Mercedes but maybe to you . Some prefer Japanese Cars rather any German Cars and so vice versa. You cannot just dictate telling everyone if Volvo is more expensive than BMW and mercedes than it cannot sell. This is just sheer nonsense .

Most that prefer a VOLVO more than a BMW or a Mercedes are willing to pay whatever selling price provided it is a VOLVO. If they can afford a VOLVO obviously they can afford a BMW or Mercedes easily . They prefer a VOLVO beacuse they know what the virtue a VOLVO cars can offer more than a BMW or Mercedes .

As to me LOTS OF MONEY IN MY POCKET IS TEN THOUSAND TIMES BETTER THAN HAVING A BMW OR MERCEDES IN MY GARAGE . THE VALUE OF MONIES CAN MULTIPLIES OVER THE YEARS THRU PROPER INVESTMENT BUT A BMW OR MERCEDES DEPRECIATES SUBSTANTIALLY OVER THE YEARS . So driving a BMW or Mercedes this modern days does not necessary tell everyone you are RICH or able to do but a matter of facts all new premium cars are mostly or partially owned by finance companies until you pay up fully then it is yours.

Latest BMW and Mercedes models maintenance are not cheap also and could be higher than a Volvo . However, the old mercedes 123 or 124 model maintence are cheaper because they can get Parts made from China or Taiwan in replacement for German parts at times.

So we have to weight our pro and cons in our comments to be objectives

• wajarays on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:31 pm

100% agree with you tahar …. :D last time maintanance cost of bmw and merc maybe low, but not now …. for me , since i already drive volvo, the cost maintanance actually not that expensive like many people says …. somemore it is hi performace T5 turbo engine, come with twin scroll kkk hi pressure turbo, not normal aspirate engine like merc or bmw…

i agree that merc is a very luxury and offer you comfort ride but it is the boring car to drive because its engine is lack of power …. bmw come with agressive exterior outlook and also have a good handling pakage which is give you satisfaction of driving… but many people still concern their maintanance cost, even you just own basic 318/320 bmw model

brand image and resale value is not my concern but the whole pakage of the car that is what im looking for :) so volvo is my choice :D

• haha… new s60 collision warning system fail!!!

http://www.wired.co.uk/news/archive/2010-05/07/video-volvo-accidentally-smashes-new-car-in-safety-demo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-eeLMsOk9c&feature=player_embedded#!