Negaraku will be played if Lotus Racing wins a race!

This is an interesting piece of news. When a driver wins a Formula 1 race, the national anthem of the country his team represents will be played during the podium ceremony along with the national anthem of the driver’s home country. So which anthem will be played if Lotus Racing wins a race in 2010? As the title suggests its Negaraku, according to our source that is.

You see Lotus is based in the UK so one might assume that it will represent the country hence God Save The Queen will be played. But Lotus is first of all owned by Malaysian auto maker Proton and the Formula 1 team is also backed by Malaysian companies so it only makes sense for the team to represent Malaysia and the Negaraku to be played.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• fisker on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Bagus2… buat apa nyanyi lagu bangsa penjajah tu..

• gooddaymate! on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:04 pm

1st

• so the 2 drivers did not bring in any sponsorship?

• No Name on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:08 pm

if win… :p

• bmpower81 on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Yeah! agree..

• Honda City on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:09 pm

1st!

(ke?)

:D

• EricG on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:11 pm

ayo..pening kepala

• M. Hariharan on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:12 pm

What happen to Bob Marley Song? I don't see anything Malaysian about the Team in fact they can be mistaken for a Jamaican F1 Team Seriously! i hope they make a joke out of it like the Jamaican bobsled team like in the movie Cool Runnings…..

• agreed!!

• 1st !!!!

wow !! great news !!!

that is if they win =P

• neokid on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:29 pm

the nation's pride!

• Nerddy on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:29 pm

really..? Not by the nationality of the driver?

• negarakuku

• nasi goreng kampung on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:31 pm

hehehe… good move… ok la for the Negaraku…. but better u don't put 1 Malaysia song together sudah laa… hahaha… :p

• nice.

• armandd on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:35 pm

that would be sweet!

• viva9934 on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Bravo Lotus!

• Keith Duckworth on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:38 pm

WOW

• oldman on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Does it matter…? They're not gonna win a single race anyway….

• Firstttttt!!.. Yee Haww.. Negaraku Rocks! may God guide the Lotus Racing all the ways!

• wow! the last time i heard Negaraku on podium was during Alex yoong won the Ai race

• funkbanana on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:49 pm

totally agree! God save our King..

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:51 pm

they should play God Save The Queen by Sex Pistol.haha

• i like it…

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:55 pm

the we should change the team name to LOTUS 1MALAYSIA F1,right.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:57 pm

i heard that today fairuz will test lotus's f1 car in jerez,hoping that he can beat others.

• xavier lert on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:59 pm

then we can say proud to be m'sia…. :p (if we ever win la…)

• donno on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:00 pm

OK that is confirmed… But what about the malaysian jobs? Just gimmicks?

• MyDear on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:03 pm

i tot it will be based on driver nationality before this .. im so wrong .. haish

• firdausyusof on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Negaraku… Waaa, when the time the songs play, I feel very proud to be Malaysian…

• that's the day that i will literally cry… so proud being malaysian…

• Lemb U on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Japanese wannabe want Japanese song..

They feel too shame to said theyre malaysian..

give a chance to Namewee to sing Negaraku..

• kuku stim on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:16 pm

As long as it's not Negarakuku by namewee, it's okay

• roughn3ck on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Podium finish is hard..

• opaque on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:19 pm

interesting but highly unlikely.wish it happen

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:21 pm

emm.. interesting! The national anthem of the country his team represents will be played, just like the Olympic game? It may encourage more F1 drivers from different country as well.

• First my A** on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:34 pm

and the chances of Lotus winning a race? = 0!! :)

• elpaciko on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:39 pm

well.. if its true… it will be a good day

• Chances to play negaraku song if win in the race is almost 0%

• vbkcheng on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Seriously, we all know what is the chance of lotus to win in F1….So, to play our Negaraku, it is like chance of kena ekor…

• vbkcheng on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Spending billion to have our own 1MF1? We the most elite country in the world…

• sutol on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:56 pm

that sounds good, but will they ever win a race in 2010?

• Mysticmind on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:01 pm

fairuz fauzi is taller than anyone else in picture :D

• Hope they play" Setia " as well.. i love that song

• taboogen on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:04 pm

wow…. totaaallllllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy BANGGA

• theanswer on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:05 pm

owh too bad we cant see fairuz on the podium..

• NilsoN on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:08 pm

wow!proud!….

• akmal on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:12 pm

i thought it depends on the driver nationality, not the team.. correct me if i'm wrong..

• kamal on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:20 pm

1Malaysia… Negaraku…

• Arcane (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:21 pm

That's a big 'IF'..

• kamal on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Tanah Tumpah Nya Darahku… Rakyat Hidup Bersatu Dan Maju… Rahmat Bahgia, Tuhan Kurniakan… Raja Kita… Selamat Bertakhta…

• stupidhead8 on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Lotus is British, should play God Save The Queen, not Negaraku.

isnt it supposed to be where the team is based not who owns it.

naming it team 1Malaysia Lotus F1 is just a marketing scheme at promoting the country. shame.

tony fernandes should be replaced, someone with better insight into motorsports not just business. he is not richard branson and will never be.

• Jaybond on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Doesn't make any sense, that's why the Lotus name should not be used in the first place.

But I doubt this team will win a race anytime soon, unless under bizzare circumtances like chaotic race conditions etc, hehehh..

• apexg2 on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:29 pm

1st……huahuahuahua

• d3niel on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:38 pm

Negaraku !!!!!!!

Tanah Tumpahnya Darah Ku !!!!

Hahahaha BRAVO !!!

• This makes for an interesting clash of wheels at both Sepang and the year end race in Singapore. Lotus Racing team members, and the home crowd, will be super motivated to go all out for those races as they will be performing at a venue that is either on Malaysian soil or just a stone throw away from tanah air tercinta.

Malaysians might debate and speculate as to the reasons behind Malaysian involvement in Lotus Racing but hey, whats done is done, so why dont we throw our full support behind the team rather than continue to nitpick.

• pelams on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:51 pm

nice..

• hashiriya on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:52 pm

well another good news for Malaysia

• subhero on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:55 pm

OMG im 1st again?

• subhero on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:59 pm

its good lah.. Negaraku on World Cup we do know yet..

the white driver country?

• BASHERking on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:05 am

WOw….hope this team will do their best!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:10 am

lol this is so meaningless

• dejavu on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:13 am

Makes sense. We had our shot yrs ago when our Alex was in d seat.

Anyway, quite sure tis arrangement is possible.

• arch747 (Member) on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:22 am

Firsttttt!!! (yeah u wish, u thot u r fitst but not). anyway, this issue is still hanging until someone confirm which anthem to be playes. But the best reference is "the country that the F1 company registered in FIA registration form, will be the anthem…) get me? so Tony, which country did u wrote down when u register Lotus F1 for the F1 grabd prix?

• khazimin on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:35 am

wow also sponsored by NAZA Motor? Interesting 2 national car company working together.

• PersonaGuy on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:36 am

stupid country stupid race stupid thng and stupid negarakuku…..

• Ahmad on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:37 am

Make sense…and it should be to.

• Rijal Yuda on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:41 am

Terang Bulan

• Jarum on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:47 am

First we got to check and see if Alex Yoong and Tony Fernandes knows the words to Negaraku! :)

• redxdevil on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:53 am

negaraku..

tanah tumpahnya darahku..

rakyat hidup..

bersatu dan maju..

• redxdevil on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:54 am

rahmat bahgia..

tuhan kurniakan..

raja kita..

selamat bertakhta..

• chyan on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:06 am

Wow. That is a 1st. haha

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:20 am

If its based on colors, definitely Negaraku will be played.

Based on FIA code of conduct=

Malaysia – Body-Yellow, Other- White, Numbers-Black on white/black

GB – Body-British Racing Green, Number-White

Dont know until the drivers actually wins 1st place, then only everybody will know….

• istvan on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:29 am

proud to be malaysian!!!

• MADBOY on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:42 am

emmm, how the mat salleh sing "negara ku"?

• HfrShah on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:44 am

Lotus Racing is run under a Malaysian licence so it is to no surprise that the Malaysian national anthem will be played if the team wins a race (unlikely to happen in their first 2 seasons at least).

Where teams are actually based hold no bearing whatsoever to which anthem is used for their race wins; e.g. Toyota was based in Cologne, Germany, but would have played the Japanese anthem had they managed to win a race (a pity they didn't), Red Bull Racing is wholly based in Milton Keynes, England, but the Austrian anthem was played instead for their wins so far (apart from the 2009 Chinese GP, in which the British national anthem was mistaken played, to the annoyance of the team's management).

Red Bull Racing, in particular, can be said to be a fully British team – based in the UK, most of the staff including their Team Principal Christian Horner are British. Furthermore, this team rose from the ashes of Stewart GP and Jaguar Racing, both quintessentially British teams, yet after Red Bull's buy out at the end of 2004, the team has been run under an Austrian flag, and they had every right to do so.

Mirroring that, it makes absolute sense that Negaraku will be played for Lotus Racing wins.

• Gajen on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:49 am

lol

• paparadzi (Member) on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:59 am

This is now just academics, but if Toyota and Honda won a race, would the Japanese national anthem be played? Toyota was based in Germany; Honda I believe was based in the UK.

• Lancermania on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:06 am

=.=speechless……..that is IF thy can win…

anyway, all the best.

• Tengkurex on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:06 am

update on Jerez testing

http://live.autosport.com/commentary.php/id/178

• insy'allah… moga kedengaran lagu negaraku… but no arcohol at podium…

• Negaraku-ku?

• FIREPOLICY on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:18 am

strongly agreed..it should be NEGARAKU

• anti-morons on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:28 am

LoL! nice. They(British people) gonna be pissed off… so, Lotus F1 team. Please do win!

• kimi_ on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:30 am

It may need to wait maybe 10 years or 20 years before Lotus F1 can really win

races!!!

• osh_kosh on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:43 am

ok… hmmm

• if……if…..if

yeah right…

if they put me in the driver seat, I can even beat schumacher and break his records.

If they put me in the driver seat, I shatter all race track records.

if….. if,,,,,if

• john joe on Feb 18, 2010 at 3:37 am

must win

• poyolahkau on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:10 am

If Lotus loses, then what?

Can't wait to see Tony Fernandes looking like a Virgin stewardess…

• the fighter on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:23 am

that's sound great!!

• Composer on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:28 am

Kuku..?

• Chong Yew on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:33 am

Isn't the national anthem of the native country of the driver who wins the race played rather than the team?

• mohgui (Member) on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:37 am

that will take some time to realised though…

• acerman on Feb 18, 2010 at 5:21 am

PersonaGuy said,

February 17, 2010 @ 4:36 pm

————————————————————–

Whats with this guy???

• tokpaya on Feb 18, 2010 at 5:23 am

it would be great if it happen,

but who among the drivers can we really see the drivers singing it with proud? must force lotus drivers to at least lip-synch negaraku. ha ha ha,

• run budget on Feb 18, 2010 at 5:48 am

i rasa italian song laa..kalau Jarno grab podium. tapi, kalau fairuz, mungkin Negaraku. represent by driver la…..setahu aku.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 18, 2010 at 5:51 am

PersonaGuy said,

February 17, 2010 @ 4:36 pm

———————————————————-

you're not stupid,but you're a DUMB ARSE!

what kind of malaysian are you

better leave this country,we really don't want a bloody citizen like you

• Negaraku…………….this isn't olympic……..

• Kamyongkai on Feb 18, 2010 at 6:37 am

don't sweat about the small stuff.. its all small stuff.

• guanerrr on Feb 18, 2010 at 6:57 am

Lotus wins the race if all other vehicles hit each other. Then you can hear Negaraku.

• if they lost, they say they are just newbie….

if the win, they say they are damn good…..

Biasa la….

But I think their chances of winning is almost ZERO.

• RH PumpkinKing on Feb 18, 2010 at 7:07 am

If any of you missed out, there will be 2 national anthem to be played in this sequence

1. National anthem for the driver nationality

2. National anthem for the team nationality

If you watch F1 long enough during MS era, every time he wins, there will be 2 national anthem being played, first is the slower one for Deutschland, and the second one with faster rhythm is for Italiana,

For this year, if MS or Mercedes GP do win, the Deutschland anthem will only be play once, because the driver and team are from the same country.

Same goes for McLaren, Good Save the Queen will only be play once.

It make sense if NEGARAKU is to be played as national anthem for Lotus Racing. Anyhow, I believe the registration country is Malaysia.

• opaque on Feb 18, 2010 at 7:11 am

there will first play the national anthem of the driver and the team after that. anything can happen in f1. hope both lotus and merc on the podium

• skiborne on Feb 18, 2010 at 7:26 am

good! go malaysia.

only non loyal chinese would sing communist's negarakuku

• To me, it doesn't matter whether Negaraku is played or not. Malaysia is long dead in spirit :(

• midie on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:21 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idtAvNkaMBQ&fe…
    erm…semua yg tlibat dlm pmbikinan keta ni xde org malaysia pon…:(

npe r petronas xnk jd sponsor…

• we shall wait we're all officially retired. =DD

• Arcane (Member) on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:46 am

midie said,

February 18, 2010 @ 12:21 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idtAvNkaMBQ&fe…
    erm…semua yg tlibat dlm pmbikinan keta ni xde org malaysia pon…:(

npe r petronas xnk jd sponsor…

===========================

back in the UK, at the headquarters manned by Gascoyne and his team, they have Malaysian delegates involved in it too. They even built a prayer room for the visiting muslims too.

Petronas has signed a contract with Mercedes GP, and it would breach their contract if Petronas sponsors another. Same case as Lotus F1 sponsored by Tune Group since Air Asia sponsors Williams

• bobdbilder on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:59 am

Petronas is only investing in Merc and Schumi based on a 'purely business sense'. How about 'betting on a sure win'? Not a very good gesture from my POV. I'll definitely be rooting for the darker green team.

When Petronas had Sauber they sent local guys to do…what? Setup a Formula BMW circus. When Tony and guys built this from scratch, it was owned by Malaysians. We never had a Malaysian owned team. We had a driver. We had big decals at the side of cars. But this is a leap.

• elite on Feb 18, 2010 at 9:21 am

all this trouble just so proton can put "handling tuned by lotus" in their advertisement.

• skiborne, do you even understand what's communism in its entirety , or is your feeble brain so easily manipulated by our corrupted government like most of weak minded malaysians ? To have not understood what comes out of your mouth when you speak it , really tells us all about the depth (or lack of) of your thought process. You're just blindly echoing rubbish as uttered by our low life power hungry politicians.

And i'm totally baffled by Zam's comment going "but no arcohol at podium" ( typo – alcohol ). It's an international race, it's a MALAYSIAN team (remember Malaysia being a plural country? hello ?) , there are no Muslim drivers being assigned into racing roles … In fact what's wrong even if a Muslim driver was spraying alcohol ? Read your book again , it says Muslim do not drink alcohol because it will impair the judgement of your actions under the influence. Nothing about handling it . Or has your judgement ability been impaired as a result of being mind numbed by the government over the years, you're just nodding to whatever commands they throw at your brain ?

• Jeffrey Chew on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:34 pm

I don't think so..

• ford_ton on Feb 18, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Simple maa.

Just get JPJ to register a WTQ 1 and WTQ 2 as the cars numberplate. Will be the birth cert for both cars and is automatically considered Malaysian cars winning the race.

Jokes aside; what a whack to the british face if ever their once colonised nations' anthem played. I for sure will be standing up in front of the TV if by any chance Negaraku is played. Just looking forward to the moment.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 18, 2010 at 5:38 pm

kah kah kah, suddently this topic became nationalistic and political….Wait till Eyesore come n hallucinate about his theories of denial….

• ford_ton on Feb 18, 2010 at 5:52 pm

k. said,

February 18, 2010 @ 2:22 am

And i’m totally baffled by Zam’s comment going “but no arcohol at podium” ( typo – alcohol ). It’s an international race, it’s a MALAYSIAN team (remember Malaysia being a plural country? hello ?) , there are no Muslim drivers being assigned into racing roles … In fact what’s wrong even if a Muslim driver was spraying alcohol ? Read your book again , it says Muslim do not drink alcohol because it will impair the judgement of your actions under the influence. Nothing about handling it . Or has your judgement ability been impaired as a result of being mind numbed by the government over the years, you’re just nodding to whatever commands they throw at your brain ?

Dear k.

Please do not insult muslim community here. We the real muslims are not allowed to touch alcohol at all. be it transporting in a closed bottles is a big no no for us. What you see here in Malaysia is the watered down faith muslims that regards alcohol is ok as long as it is not consumed. So please keep this issue at rest and respect our beliefs as we respect yours.

• Tiadaid on Feb 18, 2010 at 6:00 pm

k. said,

February 18, 2010 @ 2:22 am

And i’m totally baffled by Zam’s comment going “but no arcohol at podium” ( typo – alcohol ). It’s an international race, it’s a MALAYSIAN team (remember Malaysia being a plural country? hello ?) , there are no Muslim drivers being assigned into racing roles … In fact what’s wrong even if a Muslim driver was spraying alcohol ? Read your book again , it says Muslim do not drink alcohol because it will impair the judgement of your actions under the influence. Nothing about handling it . Or has your judgement ability been impaired as a result of being mind numbed by the government over the years, you’re just nodding to whatever commands they throw at your brain ?

—————————–

Actually, for a Muslim even associating yourself with alcohol, such as producing, selling or transporting alcohol can be considered as subahat, which means you still get sinned. But that distinction has been blurred because of so many factors that you can now see Muslim bartenders, Muslims working in alcohol making factories, even Muslims drinking alcohol drinks openly. I certainly don't mind if non-Muslims drink, it's their right and I respect that. But I abhor Muslims who either drink or associate themselves with alcohol. Call me conservative but that's how I feel.

FYI, the precedent had been set in the 80s when Williams was sponsored by the Saudis. In deference to their Saudi sponsors, whenever their driver won, they celebrated with a splash of orange juice on the podium. If the Lotus team want to spray the bubbly or not, its up to them.

• race fan on Feb 18, 2010 at 6:48 pm

LOL…

Why are we even discussing about issues around spraying the bubblies?? This is so typical.

1.The season hasn't even started yet!

2.Lotus this year is not a a podium contender

3.Fairuz is not driving.

But just to calm down the overly concerned,

1.Champagne can be substituted with sparkling grape juice as F1 and other racing series have done in sensitive territories. No issue. 'Been there done that'

2.Fairuz and his family are conservative Muslims. When champagne spraying is involved, he will disappear from the podium just before it starts as he always does in his career.

So there you go. No issue

• klingon on Feb 18, 2010 at 7:56 pm

fellow earthlings,

NO RELIGION craps on sports event please.

keeps your taboos at home.

spirits of sportsmanship.

• proud to be Malaysian…. LOLzzzz

• Abzaja on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:19 pm

errr…good luck, you really need it

• leonardo on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:38 pm

It's a long shot, but anything can happen in F1, even a Negara Ku on the podium, God willing.

• vbkcheng on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:53 pm

So, any one know what is the chane "IF" all other car hit each other and Lotus win the game?

If it ready happen, it will be the end of F1 as they failed the safety creteria…

So, continue of "IF" dream lar..

• i dun understand these ppl (some of them, not all). y do u like to bash our own country's team? i mean, where's the patriotism spirit?

The race hasn't even started yet and they are already questioning whether we are able to win or not. These ppl are the type that make noise all the way & if our country wins, they'll be the first to be proud of it. that's so pathetic!

at my neigbourhood in damansara perdana, there's a big Nike billboard that says-Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku. That really makes me feel proud of being Malaysian. if a foreign company can appreciate our country, why can't we?

• staff on Feb 19, 2010 at 2:48 am

Some malaysian are just ungrateful…

I Pray for the BIG IF to happen…

• fazron80 on Feb 19, 2010 at 3:09 am

It will be a miracle pulling feat from Lotus if we can even hear 1 negaraku during their 1st season.

• Bigsby on Feb 19, 2010 at 3:52 am

There are some comments in here that make no sense and is reflective of a group of people who know nothing about F1.

I'm no Malaysia banner kid despite of all the rubbish going on here. But I'm not going to be the fool going around telling all my friends what a shithole my family is.

• oldman on Feb 19, 2010 at 5:26 am

The only possible way Lottus to win when all other cars were crushed by a BIG DINOSAUR came from nowhere….That's the closer lotus would get….

So quite a 'big odd' to win, is it…?

• staff on Feb 19, 2010 at 5:29 am

@Bigsby…

That's the problem with most Malaysian mind… Some are just like to talk bad about their own country as if they have other nationality… the fact is, they are reflecting themselves…

• staff on Feb 19, 2010 at 3:44 pm

oldman said,

February 18, 2010 @ 9:26 pm

The only possible way Lottus to win when all other cars were crushed by a BIG DINOSAUR came from nowhere….That’s the closer lotus would get….

So quite a ‘big odd’ to win, is it…?

you are one pessimistic oldman i guess… The chances are there like what Brawn GP had grasp in last season…

I bet most of the ppl had their BIG IF in their mind when Brawn GP first join the F1… and when they prove it… suddenly ppl have faith in them…

Just be positive for a while, cant you?

• initial R on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Lotus builds in British land for few years ago & yes it builds by British… But today Lotus is under Proton management (Malaysian)…. Team Lotus F1 is register under Malaysia country. If you all ever see the F1 race neither live on track or on TV still on the podium they will play driver national anthem & then Team national register anthem…. so what the big fuss about ?…. What ?… U all shame that 'Negaraku" been play when we winning any international event ?… How shame are we…. We talk about tax, monopoly, bribe, etc… but we not look on how to improve our country…. upgrade from 3rd world to 1st world…. some of us said they are more good on managing country but the reality is know nothing about own country…. some time I also shame to tourist came to Malaysia that they know Malaysia batter than own resident….. anything can be possible if we have dream & strive to achieve it…. not to condemn blindly without any contribution to national…. please ok, for those PPL that they think that they deserve batter live anywhere else on this world rather than Malaysia, We will not force u to leave Malaysia & stay in your prefer country….. But if u do so & prove me to "Malaysian yang sanggup mati untuk negara tercinta" are wrong….

Let Lotus F1 team race first than we can talk about that with constructive comment….

• vbkcheng on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Spending bilion for Sepang F1 track is a mistake, spending anohter billion on 1MF1, is another mistake…

Do we ready have so much of billion to pull down the drain?

THis is not about loving the country or not. Giving negative comment about the country? We are just want to bring our 1M to the ground instead of keep bullshit by " Boleh".

And, pls list the advantage of getting Negaraku to be play at the international F1 live… what is the meaning of getting #1 in F1 but in our country it self, we not even have a good transport policy, good policy to set min requirement of dafety feature of Malaysia car whioch travel on road daily?

ABS and Airbag pun tak ada lagi, taking about F1, high technology autosport game?

We just want Malaysian to wake up and be realistic…focus on those relevant things…

• Cross Polo on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:54 pm

vbkcheng said,

February 19, 2010 @ 12:13 pm

—————————————-

Tukar cara memandu dulu sebelum dapat semau nie… Tak kisah le kalau ada kereta canggih pun tapi kalau bawak kereta macam haram jadah setan tak guan jugak…

• Tiadaid on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:12 pm

bkcheng said,

February 19, 2010 @ 12:13 pm

Spending bilion for Sepang F1 track is a mistake, spending anohter billion on 1MF1, is another mistake…

Do we ready have so much of billion to pull down the drain?

THis is not about loving the country or not. Giving negative comment about the country? We are just want to bring our 1M to the ground instead of keep bullshit by ” Boleh”.

And, pls list the advantage of getting Negaraku to be play at the international F1 live… what is the meaning of getting #1 in F1 but in our country it self, we not even have a good transport policy, good policy to set min requirement of dafety feature of Malaysia car whioch travel on road daily?

ABS and Airbag pun tak ada lagi, taking about F1, high technology autosport game?

We just want Malaysian to wake up and be realistic…focus on those relevant things…

——————————–

If you said spending money on an F1 track is a mistake, let me ask you 1 thing. Why did the Mentor Minister of Singapore said that he regretted not having F1 in Singapore? This was before the Singapore GP started. Why did he regret not having F1? It's not about prestige, mind you. It's about all the money brought in from the tourism! Malaysia is home to the cheapest F1 race (well, for Westerners that is) in the world. People from all over the world travel here to watch the race, and they don't just stay for 1 or 2 days. They spend several days and bring an influx of money to our country. Is it not worth it to have an F1 track?

And on the safety issue, yes I admit there's a need for a safety standard here in Malaysia. But even if we have the standard how useful it would be if the man or woman behind the wheel still drives like a maniac on the road. Tell me, do you really think ABS, airbags and the like can help you if you're driving at 160-180 kmh? All the safety tests, the NCAPs and the like are done at 30 mph, around 64 kmh! Of course, safety systems can help reduce injuries IF the accident occurs at the prescribed speeds, but at high speeds, it's a proven fact that it's not that effective.

As for public transport, yes there's room for improvement. Trains could be more accurate to schedule. The capacity offered can be increased. Buses can be run according to a more accurate schedule. But let me ask you this, have you ever gotten stuck in the morning traffic jam? See inside the cars. Many of them contain only one person. ONE. And since buses share the same roads with cars, how can they maintain a schedule if they're stuck in the traffic jams caused by too many people driving too many cars into too few spaces? See what I'm getting at?

All of the problems that are currently facing Malaysia can be solved if WE take an active role in solving it. Why wait for the government if WE can do it for ourselves? Why not carpool? Why not drive safely? Why not plan and get going earlier? If you want things to be done, you have to do it yourself.

• Neo S2000 fan on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:35 am

Agree with Tiadaid…=)

• nicely said Tiadaid =)

• buttercity on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:47 am

First!! Am I late? Hahaha.. What's the fuzz of being the 1st to comment. Btw, really2 proud If Negaraku going to be played.

• proud to be a Malaysian & looking forward to hear Negaraku when they create history by winning the 1st race.

• sy8_nemesis on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:58 pm

nicely said……Tiadaid……!!!! I AGREE……!!!!!