Citroen DS3 Racing limited to 1000 units

Here’s a hotter version of the Citroen DS3 that the French company will debut at the Geneva show in early March, limited to just 1,000 production units. The car is rather unimaginatively called the Citroen DS3 Racing and gets its 1.6 litre BMW-PSA Prince engine boosted up to 200 horsepower, up from the original 156hp unit installed in the stock DS3. Torque gets upped to 275Nm from 240Nm.

Citroen achieved the 200 horses with remapping the turbo and ECU control, “modified and optimized powertrain components” (oh such detail) and installed a special tail pipe and exhaust muffler. To cope with the extra power, brakes have been upgraded to 4-pot calipers at the front and all four wheels get new discs, including drilled discs for the rear.

The steering has also had some updates to be more “precise” and to suit the new larger tyros. The suspension gets stiffer springs, adapted front and rear shocks to handle the increased power, front and rear track gets widened by 30mm, and the car gets lowered by 15mm. Finally, the ESP programming has been updated to suit the new components.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=852]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• is this car coming to malaysia??

• droll on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:27 am

nice small little car!

• kelah (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:28 am

pocket rocket beauty…

• Nice car indeed but doubt this ride will arrive Malaysia!! We don even hv the awesome Renault R26R Sport!

• neokid on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:59 am

nice combination of colours. but citroen..hmmm

• somesay on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:05 am

super duper hot. drizzling saliva just by looking at it

• ago87 on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:17 am

Nice and hot…(Both car and girl)

• seancorr on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:34 am

i will get one if the girl was included in the package =D will definitely wow all those evo n impreza owners haha

• eposuer on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:02 am

drooling…!!

• BASHERking on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:06 am

nice one

• niuhje on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:59 am

Dang, they all look the same!! to me anyways

• Anonymous on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:18 am

Citroen join the club! Cool super hatchback!

• I still can't decide. Whether I should go for the car, or the chick with attitude.

• If this Cit DS3 is using the same engine as the Mini / Peugeot 308

then its only a matter of time we will be able to re-map the

308's. :)

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 7:49 am

Luk's liKe MiNi has a RiVaL..!! BeasTy i wouLd say…!! watch-out JCW

• droll on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:40 am

honestly speaking, i wouldn't be caught dead driving one in m'sia. the car is just too "loud" visually.

i'll take the plain vanilla version with power tweaks!

• Citroen is getting better, nice car indeed. Too bad we wont have it in Malaysia.

• orange?ewww….so ugly i can't look at it…

• fique D on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:52 pm

orange n green combi… i say no no…

beige / white with cf will look better

• I just realized the electronic banner ads displaying this car during the last night Arsenal vs Southampton match.Like the slogan " Anti-retro,creating history rather re-visiting it" sumthin like that!

• nice car indeed! doubt it will makes it way to our Malaysia soil leh..

• awg1031 on Feb 22, 2010 at 2:27 am

neo should come up with this type of make up for its special edition..plus upgraded engine, performance etc…this is really cool~~~~~!

• DiscoStick on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:10 am

same engine as Peugeot 308T but tuned to 200bhp? :) kewl huh. heard 308T with potential gearbox problem. anyone has something to share about this?

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Nice looking de.. of course the apperance judgement is very subjective one.

By the way, is this alike the new Mini Coupe Concept Car?

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:29 pm

this is a cheap car in other countries. how disgraceful our country.

• Nerddy on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:11 pm

riz said,

February 20, 2010 @ 9:06 pm

I still can’t decide. Whether I should go for the car, or the chick with attitude.

………………….

The chick looks ok…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 23, 2010 at 6:56 am

i like the guy

• business is business on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:03 am

one of my favourite!!!!

1.6THP can tune to 200bhp and 275NM. good news for 308 owners here.

already someone tune to 200++ in KL for his 308.

check it in the forum.