Ford Focus Wagon body joins hatch and sedan

NewFordFocus_03

Here’s the third body variant of the new Ford Focus – the wagon. I think what’s left would be a new Focus CC. Ford says the most popular bodystyle for the Focus in Europe is the 5-door hatch followed by this wagon. The sedan comes after that. But this is different in other countries, for example the sedan is the top body in Russia and China. So each body style is equally as important.

We only get the hatch and sedan here in Malaysia. The closest thing to a Focus wagon over here is the Volvo V50, which is based on the same platform and even uses the same engine. The same Focus global C-platform has also spawned other cars such as the C-MAX, Grand C-MAX, and Kuga.

Look after the jump for hi-res photos of the new Focus Wagon as well as a new set of 5-door Focus photos finished in a different colour compared to the one displayed when the car was first shown in Detroit.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Malaysians not used to wagons.

• harum on Mar 02, 2010 at 11:29 pm

ugly

• mitlanevo on Mar 02, 2010 at 11:38 pm

i think the car looks good, just that the color is a bit weird…

• littlebe3tle on Mar 02, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Some how they need to improve the wagon if they want to commercialise it

• I_want_a_wagon on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:23 am

It's a pity that estate's are not sold in Malaysia. I usually carry my dog (a super-cute beagle) with me whenever I travel outstation and would just sleep in his pet-cargo travel crate for the whole journey.

The pet-cargo definitely would not fit into a sedan and I have to remove the rear tray and drop 2 of the rear seats to fit it in comfortably. Since there is usually only 3 of us (2 humans and 1 dog) in the car, we still have space to bring our baggage.

Thinking in the long-run, I am seriously considering moving to a wagon (because an MPV would be far too big and I don't like the design of the Alza or the Freed). Too bad that all the choice I have so far is either a Volvo V40, V50, V70 (my current fav. choice), or a Pug 307sw.

But then, even if they launch the Focus Wagon here, I most likely would stick to the V50 especially since they are likely to fall in the same price bracket. Only thing that might change my mind to the Focus would be if they bring it in a diesel variant.

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:29 am

I_want_a_wagon said,

March 2, 2010 @ 4:23 pm

It’s a pity that estate’s are not sold in Malaysia.

——————-

They really should sell 'em here. Do we really need all those MPVs on the road? I bet most of them are bought because of their status symbol rather than any practical use.

• nabill on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:39 am

the dashboard is a classic case of 'trying too hard'…very messy

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:42 am

Protn patut ikut Ford…Cadangan saya, platfrom Persona di jadikan Wagon or Estate…'Persona Estate'….

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:01 am

Let's see…BMW 5-series estate is excellent. Seen a Saab estate, also excellent. Been in 3-Series estate – also excellent (and with the two GSD as well).

Oh ya…seen on TV, Tom Ford driving a M5 wagon/touring.

Merc reminds me of a funeral parlour…sigh

• ^Hobbes^ on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:05 am

Looks a bit like caldina

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:19 am

^Hobbes^ said,

March 2, 2010 @ 5:05 pm

Looks a bit like caldina

—————–

As a matter of fact, on Wikipedia the Caldina's classified as a 5-DOOR WAGON!

So Malaysians DO use wagons! Although called as mini-MPV.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 03, 2010 at 2:27 am

this is what we need. not mazda 5's

• Henry Tang on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:02 am

The last affordable wagon was the Nissan AD Resort. I had one which served me well on my mountain bike rides.

What we have now are all the expensive ones, more status symbol than utilitarian e.g. Audi A4 Wagon, Beemer 3 Wagon, Beemer 5 Wagon, Volvo V50 and V70.

Being a Ford, the Focus Wagon should undercut the Volvo V50 in price.

• nice…..

• Hisham on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:17 am

Agree with Tiadaid, just hopefully that the price will be affordable cos everything here in Boleh Land that got 4 tyres and above is VERY EXPENSIVE…compare to other country.

• Add 2 seats at the back, walla you get a 5 + 2 MPV like Stream or Wish.

• Any news on when the new focus will be reaching to our shores?…

• kitty on Apr 08, 2010 at 7:11 pm

love wagons, very practical. used it during my time in Melb. dunno why msian anti-wagon!

• Malgen Wong on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:06 am

I wonder when it is going to launch?

• malaysian are not used to wagon?? hmm…..

wagon or sport wagon??

if sport wagon is cheap i bet everybody will own one,

zool,zool….. and harum is soo blind and tasteless